Star Wars: Battlefront II Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Star Wars Battlefront II improves upon the original game's single-player experience with open-ended, mission-based objectives inspired from all six Star Wars films. The compelling storyline spans more than 12 new locations, many from Episode III, including volcanic Mustafar and the space battle above Coruscant. All-new classic movie moments complete the Star Wars Battlefront II experience, as players battle within the interior of the Death Star and visit Princess Leia’s blockade runner, the Tantive IV, as seen at the beginning of Episode IV A New Hope. In addition, at certain key moments within the battles, players can feel the Force as a Jedi. For the first time ever, Star Wars Battlefront II players can engage in space combat and, during the same battle, board enemy ships to attack from within. Starting on foot inside a capital ship, players can enter the spacecraft of their choice and travel into space to dogfight with the rival faction. From there, they can dock within the enemy’s capital ship, overtake the ship’s command posts, man its turrets to disable its shields and destroy it from within! Or, they can simply stay inside their own capital ship and defend it from attacks and enemy fire. The choice is theirs. The stellar online play that marked the original Star Wars Battlefront returns even bigger and better for Star Wars Battlefront II. Players can locate their buddies and track their stats as they battle alongside more players than ever (up to 24 on PS2, 32 on Xbox, 64 on Windows). [LucasArts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. This is without a doubt the best Star Wars game ever created.
  2. Unlike some of the movies, everything about Star Wars Battlefront II is an improvement over its predecessor - exactly what a sequel should be, and then some. [PSW]
  3. Space battles can be overwhelming at first, but once you get used to them, it's pretty amazing. [Dec 2005, p.82]
  4. 85
    The sequel to last year's third-person/real-time strategy game set in Star Wars land once again manages to be the 'Nam of Wars games. In other words, the disc does a heck of job of trying to make you feel like you're really "in the sh.t" on Coruscant.
  5. As with the last Battlefront, I still feel like I'm controlling cheap plastic toys rather than real soldiers, tanks, or spaceships. Everything looks and feels so insubstantial, with no tangible weight or physics.
  6. A fun romp that stays interesting no matter how you play it.
  7. 70
    And so more than its predecessor, the faults and quirks of Battlefront II stand out and become glaring because the new adds feel unpolished while the old gripes manage to rear their heads for a second time.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 68
  2. Negative: 5 out of 68
  1. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    this is best game I've ever played i can't tel u how good this game is it strategy , action , adventure . but if you are looking for a good graphic game this not the one , but otherwise it is excellent . Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    this is an amazing game and i have had it since the day it came out which was almost 6 years ago and i still play it to this day because it is so good. this game is so much better than the original with the ability to run and being able to play as a jedi instead of having an invincible one that you cant play as and they also added space battles which i was never any good at but again i never flew around in the one before it. this game does not have a very long story but the story is just the begining when it comes to the replay value on this game you can play instant action on any map you want and have a small battle with a small amout of troops or have a full scale battle that will last about 30 mins with almost 1000 troops that need to be killed. there is also galactic conquest which you can be any of the factions that you want and you must conquer the galaxy and you must purchase each unit and power up with the credits you win from battles and each has thier own cinimatic ending once you own and conquer all the planets. there is even a mode where you can play as good V.S evil and have the good heroes face off against the evil villains in a fight to the death and as if that wasnt enough the game rewards you for being good at it with special upgraded weapons and power ups that eventually become permanent with enough experiance. everything about this game is amazing and is a must buy especially now that you can pick this game up at an EB Games for under $5 so what are you waiting for go out and get it asap Expand
  3. LuciW.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    This game is so much bigger than the first and it has a Single Player experience!!! :) I haven't played much of it but its really Awesome so far. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    Star Wars: Battlefront II is its predecessor, but even more! The game is easy to pick up and play and the replayability is through the roof! I occasionally put this title in when I'm looking for a good time and it always delivers. Although, there were some minor details I could not overlook, such as: mediocre graphics, lack of much variety, horrible voice acting, and easy gameplay overall. I never really lost too many battles, unless me or my comrades were being careless. That is really every negative thing I can think about it. It and its predecessor are truly must-have games! I have enjoyed this and will continue to because of its amazing gameplay and who can resist playing as Darth Maul blowing everyone anyway, right? What I really found a lot of fun was the assault mode on Mos Eisley where the villains are pitted against the heroes. I'm surprised how hard it is to find, but it is the game's best kept secret! I would really love to see a Star Wars: Battlefront III, but it got canceled, very sadly. As of now, however, DICE is developing a reboot which is really exciting, but I don't intend on getting the expensive next-gen consoles which it is exclusive to, so maybe I should reconsider them. I would absolutely pre-order it had it been made for Xbox 360, especially if it included more game modes and better online connection. Overall, anyone with an Xbox, PC, or PS2 really must have this title, even if they are not interested in Star Wars. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    Even better than the first. Battlefront 2 has space battles, you can play as jedi's, and lots of vehichles. It was by far one of the better games of the PS2 it had a great multiplayer weather you had an internet connection or not. I played this game for 3 years until i got my 360 unfortunately mine did break so seeing no other games worth playing on the PS2 i traded mine in. The PS2 was a great system much better then the PS3 and maybe the xbox 360. If battlefront comes out with a new game for the PS3 i might consider getting it, but for now i much rather prefer my 360 with halo, and my favorite gaming controler. But i would consider buying a PS3 for battlefront 3. I give it a 9 out of 10 Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2014
    8
    This is the best Star Wars game ever made no doubt that. If you played the first one imagine that but better. The combat feels great and fluent as an infantry, jedi, tank, speeder or as an starfighter too. And there's the famous instant action mode with spilt-screen co-op and online compability too. The graphic quality is not the best the Xbox Classic and the PC (modding all the way) version of the game looks much better. But if you still have a PS2 pick up the game a must have. Expand
  7. awxw
    Jul 22, 2007
    0
    Terrible its just not good the first game is much better!

See all 68 User Reviews