• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Suikoden III Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fifteen years after the events of "Suikoden II," follow the intertwining stories of Hugo, the son of a village chief, Chris, the virtuous Knight of Zexen, and Geddoe, the rebellious unit commander, as their fates bring them together in order to gather the 108 Stars of Destiny. Suikoden IIIFifteen years after the events of "Suikoden II," follow the intertwining stories of Hugo, the son of a village chief, Chris, the virtuous Knight of Zexen, and Geddoe, the rebellious unit commander, as their fates bring them together in order to gather the 108 Stars of Destiny. Suikoden III breaks new ground in the RPG genre with 3 different battle systems, 3 main characters, 3 styles of combat and a fully detailed 3D world. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    I've just played the most majestic, delicately crafted role-playing game since "Chrono Cross." [Dec 2002, p.77]
  2. On top of that flexibility lies one of the better written stories in recent memory, and then thrown in is one of the most ingenious ways of telling it.
  3. netjak
    96
    A masterpiece in the world of console RPGs...bringing in one of the most engrossing storylines ever, impressive battle systems, and some good visuals into an overall incredible package.
  4. PSM Magazine
    90
    Phenomenal storyline. [Holiday 2002, p.37]
  5. Epic in scale, grandiose in presentation, and fun to play. This kind of game comes along so rarely, and when it does it shows off what a RPG can be.
  6. 84
    Suikoden fans will immediately "hate" the new battle system, while they will probably just "dislike" the world map and the move to 3D graphics with no camera control.
  7. Edge Magazine
    60
    Although Suikoden 3 is better than the average Japenese RPG, it's clear that with the move to 3D Konami has tried to freshen the formula. But by watering down the series' bastion gameplay elements it may have alienated all but the fanatics. [Sept 2003]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Oct 3, 2010
    10
    Extremely refreshing game in an era that was saturated with mediocre RPGs. This game stood up heads and shoulders over most of the other gamesExtremely refreshing game in an era that was saturated with mediocre RPGs. This game stood up heads and shoulders over most of the other games of it's time. Expand
  2. TylerR.
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    I consider it to be the best in the series. One of the greatest and best-written plots, a huge and developed cast of characters, and a unique I consider it to be the best in the series. One of the greatest and best-written plots, a huge and developed cast of characters, and a unique and beautiful graphics style. While it doesn't have the best music or battle system of the series, it's plot more than makes up for the "flaws." Anyone who loves a good story should definitely buy this game. Expand
  3. DanielL.
    Dec 4, 2002
    10
    I like the flamechampion.
  4. Jan 20, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall Suikoden III is an amazing game. I played it a little after it came out and just finished playing it again (for a third time). Here's a breakdown of my score.

    Battle System: 8.5/10 It's turn based so it's nothing to get too excited about but the series unique magic casting system (runes) and the partner attack system allow for it to be innovative. The game also features larger battles which are a lot of fun. Honestly I wish that there were more of them and one on one duels which are great for the story and are fun but are basically a high tech version of rock paper scissors. Also as an aside the leveling system in the game is great so you don't have to grind very much.

    Graphics: 8.5/10 Considering that this was a early ps2 game the graphics aren't bad but they're not great either. I wish that there were some cutscenes with better animated graphics but that's my only real complaint.

    Soundtrack 8/10 The soundtrack is pretty solid. The songs fit the settings well but there's only a few that are few bits of the soundtrack that are particularly memorable (Chisha Village's theme is probably my favorite).

    Characters: 10/10 The characters are great. You have the chance to experience 5 characters from a POV standpoint (1 optional, 1 bonus, plus a dog). The multiple perspective story telling design of suikoden III really allows for many of the members of the 108 stars to be very fleshed out which is awesome and the optional characters are all fun to recruit. The motivations behind each character are very interesting as well and their individual chapters allow for that too be really fleshed out.

    Side Quests/Bonus Material: 9.5/10 Certain item gathering side quests are really fun because they pay off, such as collecting the scripts, but other things like obtaining all the recipes or old books doesn't seem to be worth the time. But Suikoden excels at bonus material because it allows you the option to gather (as always) 108 characters (plus a couple extra dogs) at your castle. It's a lot of fun gathering the characters and it's fun to watch the castle grow and watch as new shops open. Also recruiting all 108 unlocks a very special extra POV which is an absolute must.

    Story: 10/10 (If I could give it an 11/10 I would). The story is amazing and innovative. The game starts out with three chapters from three different protagonists (Hugo, Chris and Geddoe) this allows for multiple different scenes to be viewed from different perspectives and it allows for the progression of the story in a unique way. There's also an optional 2 chapters following Thomas, the rather goodie-two-shoes protagonist but his chapters are fun and offer a bit of comic relief in the middle of the other three characters' chapters and it allows for some recruitment early on which is a big plus to Suikoden fans. Also the game allows you in chapter 4 to choose your flame champion. This allows for the last two chapters to vary fairly significantly depending on who you pick giving the game good replay value. Also breaking apart into different points of view allows you to become aquatinted with far more of the 108 characters than one normally would in a suikoden game. And on top of all this if you recruit all 108 characters then you get a sixth perspective from Luc, the villain, which is amazing because you probably remember him from Suikoden I and II so it's natural to want to know what is driving him in Suikoden III. It's great chapter because it humanizes him, which is something rare for a JRPG villain, and it's a great bonus from the developers to give the fans a real bonus for their extra work recruiting characters and it gives great closure on his character.

    Overall Score: 9.5/10
    Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It has not a lot of music and the graphics aren't the best, but the story is so good, that I couldn't stop playing. It is one of the best storylines that I ever saw! Expand
  6. VidM.
    Feb 28, 2005
    8
    This game sports the finest character development and design of any game in the series. The art design is top-notch. The music, story, and This game sports the finest character development and design of any game in the series. The art design is top-notch. The music, story, and graphical style are all lacking however. Lots of fun and a full eighty hours of gameplay to boot. While I do appreciate a good hour/dollar ratio for my games, SIII drags quite a bit. There tend to be sequences of intense action breaking up several hours-long chunks of unnecessary fluff. Expand
  7. KeganH.
    Dec 11, 2002
    1
    This game was absolutely terrible; there was hardly any music and you constantly see the same events over and over again with the main This game was absolutely terrible; there was hardly any music and you constantly see the same events over and over again with the main characters. It bites all kind of ass and hell I love almost every rpg but not this one. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

16
21
#21 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
21
#21 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002