• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2002
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. For twenty pounds you get arguably the greatest arcade fighting game ever created. That’s half the price of the forthcoming (and similarly but differently remarkable) "Soul Calibur 2."
  2. Sure, the great graphics and sound and the bonus Tekken Force mode are all good selling points, but the biggest reason to pick up Tekken 4 is that the gameplay not only lives up to the fine presentation; it surpasses it. [Import]
  3. 90
    Mechanically superior and definitely oriented to the expert crowd, Namco's brand of four-limbed combat is comparable to just about anything out there. [Import review previously scored as a 94.]
  4. A leaner, more vicious Tekken for a competitive age - surprising how much two new characters add to an already classy game. [Import, PSM2]
  5. This latest edition has not broken [my heart], although my hopes for what it should have been were slightly disappointed. [Oct 2002, p.78]
  6. 90
    The series could use a bit more depth and original features, but its pedigree as a top-ranked fighter remains intact.
  7. Not as groundbreaking as it should have been. It may be hard to admit, but "Virtua Fighter 4" has taken a giant leap compared to Tekken 4’s bunny hop. But now that Namco has hit the nail on the head when it comes to fighting depth and detail, it is time for change.
  8. One of the best multiplayer games you'll find on the PS2. I loved it at the arcade and I love it at home. I just wish it was a new experience.
  9. There is certainly no danger of Tekken fans, or fight-game fans in general being disappointed by the great, glossy, fast-paced brawler that Tekken 4 is.
  10. Although the improvements are small and some pre-existing flaws were ignored, it’s still a great fighter.
  11. An extremely solid, long-lasting, accessible, and fun-to-play fighting game.
  12. It just seems that there's been little improvement to the overall fighting system and single-player experience. [Oct 2002, p.34]
  13. One can’t help but think that Namco slightly rushed the title to get it out in time for "Virtua Fighter 4," the visuals aren’t exactly eye dropping but the gameplay is fast fluid and consistent. [Import]
  14. STILL a force to be reckoned with, it's just not the must have game of the year it has been in the past. Namco needs to focus heavily on "Soul Calibur 2" for a while and let Tekken take a vacation.
  15. 71
    I have to say that I personally liked this better than "VF4," but they were both a bit disappointing overall.
  16. 71
    It looks a little better, but underneath the new trappings lies the same old game.
  17. The need for strategy, technical handling, and overall expertise with a character has been but on the backburner in favor of interactive environments and limited space to fight.
  18. Feels stale and rehashed. In a lot of ways, this is pretty much the same game we've been playing since 1997, but without the refinement of "Tekken 3" or the added team complexity of "Tekken Tag Tournament." [Oct 2002, p.190]
  19. A solid update to the series that doesn't really break any new ground, but shouldn't disappoint diehard fans of the Tekken line either.
  20. Maybe "VF4" spoiled things for us all, but there's no arguing that the bar was raised back in March, and Tekken 4 has failed to jump over it. [Oct 2002, p.144]
  21. 60
    Fulfills bare minimum expectations of the typical fighting game sequel. It delivers more of the same with slight tweaks in the character roster.
  22. The game itself is also showing slight strain: still not a lot of freedom of movement. [Oct 2002, p.85]
  23. 50
    "VF4" puts it to shame. [Nov 2002, p.58]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 4 out of 35
  1. Feb 2, 2014
    9
    My favorite that the ps2 had to offer. Best artistic cinematic approach. People could actually take these characters seriously (despite the bears) ,different story lines ending with different end bosses. Best Tekken track to date. Interesting battle zones. Switch maneuvers and breakable objects. People complained about competitive play for Jin having overpowered moves that easily dominated matches. With that all i agree, but i dont agree that people complained about the stages. They were innovative and something new. I wish the developers would really remake some stages & songs for their future Tekken titles. Full Review »
  2. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    Tekken 4 was the first Tekken game I've ever played. I bought it at a pawn shop when I was in 6th grade. Now that I've played all of the other Tekken games, I don't play 4 as much as I used to. But I still think it's a great game.

    The story isn't really much. All there is to know is that every character has entered the KOIF4 and for their own reasons. As for why, Arcade mode is there for that. The prologues are quite a nice addition compared to the previous Tekken games. Now you know why the characters are entering the tournament. Plot holes filled. Some stories aren't as exciting as others and some stories (and endings) are intertwined with each other. But if you wish to unlock more characters, you have to play through Arcade mode. No ifs, ands, or buts about it.

    The characters roster is small compared to Tekken Tag and Tekken 3 but I prefer quality over quantity. Kazuya Mishima returns (despite being killed off in Tekken 2) and he's better than ever! There are three new characters introduced in this game: Steve Fox a British boxer, Christie Montiero a female student of Eddy Gordo, and Craig Marduk a Vale Tudo fighter who's the target of revenge, They make a great and diverse addition to the roster and their fighting styles shine quite nicely amongst the other characters.

    The gameplay is probably the weakest point in the game. Apparently Namco decided to experiment with the fighting system, adding things that didn't need to be added. It also confuses a lot of longtime Tekken fans. Namco should've just left well enough alone. The gameplay is also unbalanced which is bad if you play multiplayer. If you're gonna experiment on a game, do it right.

    The music is nice and fits the stages well. It may not be what most Tekken fans are used to but it's good enough. Some of the tracks are a pleasure to listen to and I enjoy listening to them in Theater mode. The stages are realistic and very interactive. You can use wall combos and use the stage to damage your opponent. Very nice. That's one change Namco did right at least.

    Tekken Force returns from Tekken 3 and with a vengeance. The mode is much better in this game and it's actually a challenge. The stages in this mode are based off of stages from the game and look stunning. The enemies have different classes and varying levels of strength and defense. At the end of each stage is a boss which is a character. To unlock one of the stages, you have to complete Tekken Force. The least Namco could've done was put a save feature for this mode so you won't have to start over every damn time!

    Tekken 4 is the black sheep of the Tekken franchise and it's actually a good black sheep. I recommend this game if you're just beginning to play fighting games. If you're a long-time gamer, you may wanna stay away.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    8
    after playing tekken 3 tekken 4 is back with better graphics and cool characters there are not much characters like tekken 3 though but still has that addictive game play Full Review »