The Da Vinci Code PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: 2K Games
  • Release Date: May 15, 2006
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 43
  2. Negative: 14 out of 43
Buy On
  1. Offers a challenging and varied gameplay experience that will satisfy the amateur cryptographer in everyone. However, the game is brought down by subpar production values and a dialogue-heavy story that has a tendency to drag at times.
  2. While far from perfect, this game perfectly captures the mood and delivers a great adaptation of Dan Brown’s bestseller novel.
  3. Game Informer
    60
    It feels like National Geographic and Ultimate Fighting mushed together in a bad, bad way. [July 2006, p.106]
  4. The combat is kind of strange. It doesn't seem congruent given the subject matter. It's like adding a new book to the Bible called, Popeye.
  5. The Da Vinci Code is difficult in all the right areas for fans of the book's unique blend of fact and fiction, and all the wrong ones for most gamers.
  6. 50
    Perhaps one of the most boring games to ever grace a home console...The horrendous combat and boring mission objectives really don't take the game in any fun directions. Apparently the code is all about putting you to sleep.
  7. Games Master UK
    63
    It's horribly flawed in many places and unintentionally funny, but we'd much rather play this than something like "X-Men 3," a movie-licensed game that only tasks the brain without locating the punch button on the joypad. [Aug 2006, p.60]
  8. With a clunky combat system, woeful A.I. and uninspiring presentation, I recommend you steer clear of this game, and just re-read the book for the 15th time. Go on-you know you want to.
  9. So then, another Hollywood movie, and another so-so game based on it. The Da Vinci Code has the right heritage but unfortunately suffers from the same disease as many of its ilk - it has been rushed to meet a release date without receiving the kind of polish that could have made a great game out of the subject matter.
  10. While the puzzles aren’t bad, the rest of the game is. That leaves you with something that’s just not that much fun to play and that is downright frustrating far too often. Leave this one to the most obsessive of Da Vinci Code fans.
  11. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    50
    The stealth is way too easy, and the exploration is too open-ended. [Aug 2006, p.76]
  12. Like the movie, the videogame isn't as bad as some have made it out to be, and whilst it's far from being a perfect experience, it's also got some solid ideas and elements that'll keep a certain section of gamers hooked.
  13. The Da Vinci Code isn’t the worst game based on a movie, but its dependence on puzzles and unbalanced action make it hard to recommend to anyone but the the most devout fan of the source material or those who simply can't get enough of puzzle-based adventure games.
  14. The whole thing takes about 10 hours to play, and with little to no replay value, this doesn’t exactly represent fantastic value for money. Overall, the Da Vinci Code game is like a disappointing pleasure cruise, with one or two sunny islands floating in a big, grey sea of tedium.
  15. Overall, my biggest complaint is that the game seemed to drag on. It can be tough to pace a game that relies so heavily on puzzle-solving, but this game seemed really dull at points.
  16. What The Da Vinci Code the game does best is provide that sense that you're cracking some kind of ancient code. The devices used to do this are recycled, sure, but it doesn't make them any less fun.
  17. There are elements of the game that are enjoyable, particularly when it comes to the puzzles, but often the Da Vinci Code is as flat as its voice actors.
  18. 53
    There's about ten hours of play, much of which is an explanation of the plot, while the rest is a pedestrian and pretty boring romp in terms of game play mechanics, meaning that in the end you'll probably just want to complete the game for completing its sake.
  19. It’s a collection of decent puzzles surrounded by a bad movie tie-in.
  20. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    50
    A pain to control and not that rewarding if you persist, this should have been a top puzzle-strewn adventure. It isn't. [July 2006, p.92]
  21. Because I like puzzles, I enjoyed much of Da Vinci despite its flaws. But there are many of them, and the game's sloppy implementation can be seen in a number of questionable design decisions.
  22. It follows the plot while trying to integrate gameplay and ultimately fails. I was hoping it would turn out for the better as I did enjoy the book but sadly the end product feels rushed and very unpolished.
  23. But what it does well it does very well. It gets the feel of the book bang on, offering plenty of new locations, puzzles and setpieces to play through for fans. Newcomers will find a meaty mental test awaiting them with each new problem proving infuriatingly addictive.
  24. PSM2 Magazine UK
    68
    The odd clever puzzle is overshadowed by rubbish fighting bits. Watch the film or read the book. [July 2006, p.75]

Awards & Rankings

#79 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. [Anonymous]
    May 28, 2007
    9
    Nice puzzles, interesting story, new additions, great atmosphere.
  2. MohammadR.
    Dec 21, 2006
    9
    Actually i didnt play for many years but i had so interest to play this game.it was so nice and complicated and these things make you to sitActually i didnt play for many years but i had so interest to play this game.it was so nice and complicated and these things make you to sit and play for more than 3 hour like me.but i think something wrong in fighting of this game but by the way it is so nice and you can learn something even the evidence is so good you can follow them to get the real answer like me. Full Review »
  3. Joldie
    Aug 18, 2006
    8
    I'm still near the beginning.Am enjoying it and the puzzles are good but the combat moves are rather awkward at times. Glad I got it though!