• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Jan 17, 2005
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 47
  2. Negative: 4 out of 47

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    A pretty decent game that mimics Manhunt in many ways. I was really suprised at how graphically violent it was, considering it's a Marvel game. But, it does stay true to the comic (more or less) and Frank Castle comes across as the Badass he is perfectly. Overall: One of the unsung PS2 hits that is worthy of the limelight.
  2. Sep 14, 2014
    7
    Capta com maestria toda a essência das hq's do brutal anti herói da Marvel. Além do legado Castle é um jogo de tiro em terceira pessoa bastante funcional, com uma grande variedade de arsenal e uma boa ambientação.
  3. Aug 6, 2014
    8
    The Punisher, released in 2005 for PS2, Xbox and PC, is a great, overlooked comic book adaptation. Everything you've heard is true - it's absolutely a generic third person shooter. However, what it does, it does well.

    The graphics scream of that PS2 life-cycle, GTA III inspired, cartoony, exaggerated character model look, that games like Freedom Fighters relished in. The exaggeration is
    The Punisher, released in 2005 for PS2, Xbox and PC, is a great, overlooked comic book adaptation. Everything you've heard is true - it's absolutely a generic third person shooter. However, what it does, it does well.

    The graphics scream of that PS2 life-cycle, GTA III inspired, cartoony, exaggerated character model look, that games like Freedom Fighters relished in. The exaggeration is not to insulting extents, mind you. The game does have a very clean look to it. Colors come off as bright and contrasted (even though most of the levels take place in the dark), the animations are smooth, but there's certainly no way to mistake this for anything other than it is; a PS2 era game. Since it did release so late in the console's life-cycle, it does look good. The only issue I have in the visuals department is with the unsteady framerate. It never gets too horrible, but its noticeable.

    What makes The Punisher stand out slightly as more than a generic shooter is the way the game is constructed. Every level runs on a point system, which you can choose to entirely ignore, if you so wish. However, in doing so, you're missing a lot of the fun of this game. This is an arcadey action game, at its heart, and it should be played as such. The game allows you to get creative with your kills. There are a metric sh*t ton of weapons in the game, including melee options, and you have the ability to quick kill enemies. One of the other notable abilities is being able to induce a "rage mode", of sorts. Press the triangle button, and the visuals of the game will appear in black and white, granting The Punisher unlimited throwing knives, invincibility, as well as health regeneration.

    While none of the mechanics the game uses are anything new, they do mesh extremely well together. The well implemented, often controversial interrogation scenes of the game also add to the experience. The game allows you to feel as though the thug's lives that you're threatening are up to your judgment. Go too far in one of these interrogations, which uses a health and stress meter on these thugs, and you'll end up killing the target instead of getting information out of him. It's works well, the animations are all interesting and entertaining, and it makes you feel like The Punisher.

    While every level is essentially a set of corridors, leading to open environments, leading to tons of thugs to kill at The Punisher's pleasure, there are more than enough options that the game allows you to play with to make it all interesting, and most importantly, make it all work. The Punisher is rarely ever not fun to play. Some levels can be too short, and others can feel barren, but these moments happen so few and far between, that the rest of the game is totally forgivable.

    Another great thing The Punisher gets right is the story. It's penned by one of the Punisher MAX writers, and it shows. It takes established villains of the franchise, and manages to do interesting things with them, often tying them to the film that released a year prior. Normally, I would be totally against this, but it just meshes so well with the narrative that's told here, that it's hard to not enjoy. It's a well crafted narrative that fans of the character will get a lot out of, and especially Marvel fans, in general. There are numerous appearances from other huge Marvel characters, and none of these appearances feel half-baked. They all play into the story wonderfully.

    While The Punisher may be a simple, arcadey action game at face value, it's absolutely an enjoyable one. I'd go as far to say that this is one of the most underrated Marvel games ever made, especially so considering how violent it all is. It's fun, it's frantic, it controls well, it has a solid narrative, and it makes you feel like The Punisher. Volition, who went on to develop the Saints Row series, did a fantastic job with this title, and I can't recommend it to fans of the franchise enough. It's hard to ask for more out of a Punisher game, especially one from 2005.
    Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2014
    8
    Fine action game. Expecially interrogations are the best!!!!

    Graphic is average.Music is very good.

    If you like mayhem and killing villains-it is game for you.

    This game is very cheap ( I write this in 11.09.2014)
  5. [Anonymous]
    Jan 20, 2005
    7
    This game would have gotten a 10 if the interrogation kills didn't get censored with that black & white nonsense. Why did they tone down what could have been the ultimate Punisher game???
  6. JamesF.
    Jan 21, 2005
    8
    A fun, if somewhat linear, outing for the popular Marvel character after the somewhat disappointing Film. The action is entertaining, and the interrogations bring some good old ultraviolence and dark humor. What I find interesting is that this game was originally going to be rated "Adults Only", but THQ edited out some of the violence for an "M" rating. Basically, the fascinating A fun, if somewhat linear, outing for the popular Marvel character after the somewhat disappointing Film. The action is entertaining, and the interrogations bring some good old ultraviolence and dark humor. What I find interesting is that this game was originally going to be rated "Adults Only", but THQ edited out some of the violence for an "M" rating. Basically, the fascinating interrogation system, dark humor, and Marvel cameos easily balance out the lack of original gameplay for an all-around entertaining experience. Expand
  7. JimmyD.
    Feb 1, 2005
    8
    Combine Max Payne and Dead to Rights and you will get Punisher...a very enjoyable ( if not original game)...but then, what IS original anymore...good for what it tries to be with a few clunky angles to conquer.
  8. BrentE.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    This game is like crack so addictive.
  9. SherlockH.
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Excellent.
  10. John
    Jun 5, 2005
    8
    Great game, would of got a 10 if not for the ending... lol
  11. RichardB.
    Apr 7, 2009
    9
    The Punisher has its flaws but it's still one of the best shooters I've ever played. Many aspects of the game are average at best (for example the controls which do not allow to move diagonally while aiming or crouching - or the bad "shoot dodge") but the atmosphere, the story, the voice acting (featuring Thomas Jane as the Punisher), the graphics and also the gameplay itself The Punisher has its flaws but it's still one of the best shooters I've ever played. Many aspects of the game are average at best (for example the controls which do not allow to move diagonally while aiming or crouching - or the bad "shoot dodge") but the atmosphere, the story, the voice acting (featuring Thomas Jane as the Punisher), the graphics and also the gameplay itself are actually on a very high level. If you're playing for a high score you actually have to fight very professionally, planning your steps, looking for cover and using your equipment and capabilities the best way you can. And collecting the upgrades and the unlockable flashbacks and comic covers may tie you to this game for a really long time. Although Max Payne 1 & 2 definitely are better and more memorable games, The Punisher actually may be more entertaining if you try to enjoy it. And for fans of the comics this game is a must since it's as close to the original as it can be. The game is like a very long and interactive Punisher comic and even made me love the comics againg when I already had stopped collecting them. So really: I can recommend this game to anyone who likes brutal shooters requiring some brains to win and any fan of black humor. Expand
  12. SeanM.
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Awesome Freaking Game!!
  13. EfeB.
    Feb 18, 2005
    9
    The max payne references below are correct, meaning...if you enjoyed that, you will love punisher. i am a "rag doll" nut...i just love shooting bad guys and watch them tumble around, down the stairs and over chairs and tables. if you are like me, then you will be in heaven with this game...because unlike max payne, punisher can throw people off windows, roofs, use flame throwers, bazookasThe max payne references below are correct, meaning...if you enjoyed that, you will love punisher. i am a "rag doll" nut...i just love shooting bad guys and watch them tumble around, down the stairs and over chairs and tables. if you are like me, then you will be in heaven with this game...because unlike max payne, punisher can throw people off windows, roofs, use flame throwers, bazookas and 'torture" bad guys. here's a nice "moment" i had i want to share with you, i walked into a room full of bad dudes, the room looked like a teenagers t.v room, couches, pizzas and beer bottles on tables...i was wielding two shot guns (left and right trigger independently fire both) i leaped over the couch blew one dudes head clean off...grabbed another fella used him as human shield to take the other dudes left arm off...i then put a magnum to that human shileds face and asked him some questions, he told me to make love to my mother or something so i threw the man out the window, he fell 3 floors down on his cranium. grabbed the last guy...dangled him off the balcony holding his feet...when he told me what i wanted to hear, i thanked him and let him fly to the pavement below to meet his other dead pal. yeaaah!....now that is fun. i wish only, that this game had a bullet time mode. otherwise....awesome. better than max, because this game doesnt have those idiotic "dream" sequences. go BUY it. Expand
  14. HponeMyatK.
    Feb 8, 2005
    9
    This game is totally awesome. i like the "special interrogation" methods as they are soooo cool. If u like action-packed games, this game is for u. There's only i problem, i agree with "Anonymous". If the game is rated "Mature" why should the kills be in black and white? However, this game is still cool.
  15. FrankS.
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    Great.
  16. MattE.
    Jan 25, 2005
    9
    Very good game. i enjoyed it thouroghly. i uno if it has much replay value though. i rented it and beat it in 3 days. if i was you i would rent it first to see how it is then if i like it then buy it. better to waste 5 bucks then 50.
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 44
  2. Negative: 3 out of 44
  1. 80
    A blast to play. Yes, there are many moments where it starts to get monotonous, but then you suddenly hit a new interrogation zone and suddenly it's a bloody fiesta.
  2. It's not all brutality. The Punisher is also one of the most immersive strategy games ever created. Aim for the head and enjoy.
  3. Laughable enemy AI, a poor targeting system, and sluggish movement really hold it back from being anything more than average. [Feb 2005, p.112]