• Publisher: VU Games
  • Release Date: Sep 16, 2003
  • Also On: PC
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 91
  2. Negative: 5 out of 91

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    Fun, funny, charming, excellent controls, open world goodness, aesthetically pleasing, challenging enough. The best Simpsons video game ever and a good alternative for children if you think the GTA games are too violent, which they are (for kids, anyway).
  2. Sep 3, 2011
    8
    Fun, what is the world, the content , the colorful graphics makes hit and run a fun game form the beginning to the end. Just like the show , every set piece of laugh out loud is here, it reminds in watching a episode of the series.
  3. Apr 30, 2012
    7
    Since I often start babbling during my so-called 'reviews', I'm going to be short with them from now on. HAR is perhaps the best Simpsons game made to date, even now. Combining GTA style gameplay and a fun array of missions (though a lack of many side-missions), Hit n' Run represents the peak of The Simpsons for gaming. I can however, say that some missions can become a bit overwhelminglySince I often start babbling during my so-called 'reviews', I'm going to be short with them from now on. HAR is perhaps the best Simpsons game made to date, even now. Combining GTA style gameplay and a fun array of missions (though a lack of many side-missions), Hit n' Run represents the peak of The Simpsons for gaming. I can however, say that some missions can become a bit overwhelmingly difficult that they require pixel-perfect driving. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    The Simpsons: Hit & Run will always have a special place in my heart. It was the first PS2 game I ever bought, well the first video game I ever bought for that matter, and I was in love from the beginning. The creators were able to recreate the Simpsons universe fantastically, with a simple, fairly uninteresting story, great characters (as expected of a Simpsons game) and lots of secrets.The Simpsons: Hit & Run will always have a special place in my heart. It was the first PS2 game I ever bought, well the first video game I ever bought for that matter, and I was in love from the beginning. The creators were able to recreate the Simpsons universe fantastically, with a simple, fairly uninteresting story, great characters (as expected of a Simpsons game) and lots of secrets. When I played it when I was younger, I thought it was the greatest game in the world, I loved it so much. The missions were awesome and I just loved going around Springfield messing around, doing random stuff. The missions had insane re playability and thanks to the mission select menu, you could play the missions again and again. The Simpsons: Hit & Run was certainly not a polished, and incredibly made game, but it certainly is a fun game, that I will never forget. Expand
  5. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    Amazing Game!
    Very Underrated Great For A Gamer Or A Simpsons Fan!
    The Best Game In A LONG TIME!
  6. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    I wasted my childhood on this game, it's still worth buying a PS2 for now so back then it was phenomenal it's probably one of the best games I've played. Forget the Simpsons game that linear crap was worthless but this game is something else! Remember this is coming from one of the biggest Simpsons fans ever!
  7. Aug 25, 2012
    10
    I can honestly say... this is my favourite game ever. the humour is great, you can explore Springfield, there are countless cars to drive around in (including some secrets) references to the TV series in the shape of gags and collector cards, lots of collectables, plenty of playing time, 5 characters to play as, a bonus game for unlocking the cards, a great storyline, lots of characters toI can honestly say... this is my favourite game ever. the humour is great, you can explore Springfield, there are countless cars to drive around in (including some secrets) references to the TV series in the shape of gags and collector cards, lots of collectables, plenty of playing time, 5 characters to play as, a bonus game for unlocking the cards, a great storyline, lots of characters to talk to, levels set in the day and night, costumes referencing the series and good graphics. simpsons hardcore fans will love this game and people who are more casual may still enjoy the storyline among other things. I wish they made a sequel... Expand
  8. Jan 22, 2013
    7
    For a Simpsons game, it wasn't half bad. Pretty repetitive, but to be honest I just loved racing around Springfield. The game just has so much detail and references that it'll put a smile on any fan's face. Overall: An OK game that could have used a bit more variety in its gameplay.
  9. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    The game aimed to please a range of audiences and did so very well in 2003. I had never played this game on the PC,Xbox or Gamecube but i imagine that they ran identically. The game overall was a child's GTA which is a good thing when you think how fun GTA is. The game lasts a decent amount of time and even when you finish the main quests you'll still have races, collectables and otherThe game aimed to please a range of audiences and did so very well in 2003. I had never played this game on the PC,Xbox or Gamecube but i imagine that they ran identically. The game overall was a child's GTA which is a good thing when you think how fun GTA is. The game lasts a decent amount of time and even when you finish the main quests you'll still have races, collectables and other things to do just like GTA. The game even today remains the one game i had enjoyed the most, i don't usually finish a game fully twice but with this one i did. 10/10 worth every penny and even better than some things that studios release today! Expand
  10. Jan 6, 2013
    10
    MASTERPIECE the game has great graphics that are amazing even today

    the game is memorable from start to end so many references so many simpsons characters to talk to and see

    great selection of cars and youy get to use most of the family and APU
    great replayable missions great ending

    great clothes and custiomization great gasgs and just a super fun game GREATEST GAME OF ALL TIME
  11. Jun 19, 2013
    6
    Nice classic game for the whole family,perfect game for traveling with.its kind of open world so that makes it nice to play.Wish they would have added more storyline though.
  12. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    I first experienced this game the first time around at the age of 12 and thought it was the best game ever. Obviously times change and so does taste but this game holds its piece it has great game play missions characters its GTA with the simpsons what is not to love this game is amazing
  13. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    A very fun Simpsons game. The writing is up to par with what the show delivers, as well as the story. While its fun to drive through the familiar Springfield areas, the missions get quite repetitive and some just seem forced. There are a lot of throwbacks to older episodes, which is nice for us who watched most to all of the Simpsons episodes when the game came out. The drivingA very fun Simpsons game. The writing is up to par with what the show delivers, as well as the story. While its fun to drive through the familiar Springfield areas, the missions get quite repetitive and some just seem forced. There are a lot of throwbacks to older episodes, which is nice for us who watched most to all of the Simpsons episodes when the game came out. The driving controls are really nice, while the few platforming areas don't feel quite as good as they could be. Overall, this game works well as a Simpsons game, but mission wise could be greatly improved. Expand
  14. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    The first time I played this game when I was a kid, I loved it. I did all of the side quests and races and unlocked every vehicle. The last time I played it was last week. I realized that whilst the first three levels are unique because they are different towns and quests, the rest of them just feel the same. The worlds are the same, the quests are more or less identical and even Homer andThe first time I played this game when I was a kid, I loved it. I did all of the side quests and races and unlocked every vehicle. The last time I played it was last week. I realized that whilst the first three levels are unique because they are different towns and quests, the rest of them just feel the same. The worlds are the same, the quests are more or less identical and even Homer and Bart return in the last two levels. After adding Apu, I expected to see Snake, Ned Flanders, Moe or at least Grandpa as a playable character. However, I will always like this game and it will stay in my box for just a little longer. Expand
  15. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    Man this game is amazing.MIT is like Grand Theft Auto but kids version. WELL DONE VU GAMES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  16. Feb 12, 2015
    10
    This may have been a GTA clone, but it's a good one. I like the graphics and the open world of Springfield. Who doesn't love this game?
    At least it beats all the other Simpsons games
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 80
    Hit & Run may have swiped nearly all of its gameplay ideas from "GTA," but the combination of the vast Simpsons universe liberally applied to the "GTA" formula is pure brilliance.
  2. A solid script, good gameplay and a huge dose of humor makes this game stand out as a nice platformer. Unfortunately, technical issues prevent this game from truly standing out as exceptional.
  3. Perhaps all of the limp comedy wouldn't be so offensive if the game did anything new in the gameplay department.