• Publisher: Namco
  • Release Date: Oct 1, 2001
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2017
    8
    The second part of the Timé Crisis series went worse than the third part, but better than the fourth and fifth part of the series. This part was mainly made for arcade machines, rather than for the home console PlayStation 2. This is noticeable in the plot of the game, because in the third part of the game it was more open. There is also a problem with split screen, it was not fixed evenThe second part of the Timé Crisis series went worse than the third part, but better than the fourth and fifth part of the series. This part was mainly made for arcade machines, rather than for the home console PlayStation 2. This is noticeable in the plot of the game, because in the third part of the game it was more open. There is also a problem with split screen, it was not fixed even in the third Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2016
    10
    This game is my childhood it is so great I just which we could have rail shooters like this instead of how they are now why does the modern age have to piss on the old Generation.
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    Time Crisis II started in the arcade and now it is at home on the PlayStation 2! First off if you are going to buy this game, get the $10 gun because trying to aim the icon manually with a controller is torture. I liked the feeling of the gun in your hands because it is the closest thing to the arcade version (although the arcade is far superior). The voice acting was funny and interestingTime Crisis II started in the arcade and now it is at home on the PlayStation 2! First off if you are going to buy this game, get the $10 gun because trying to aim the icon manually with a controller is torture. I liked the feeling of the gun in your hands because it is the closest thing to the arcade version (although the arcade is far superior). The voice acting was funny and interesting and the entire title was very much action packed from beginning to end. There were a few problems I encountered, though. It turns out that the gun does not work on a high-definition television. I tediously bring out another smaller standard-definition television to find out that the gun cord is too short to connect the PlayStation 2 and television. After arranging everything around, I now need an adapter for the gun and PlayStation 2 to be connected at the same time, which I extremely luckily just happened to have. What a tedious nightmare! The story mode takes only about a whole 15 minutes. That is a very disappointing length due to the fact that it took two hours to set up! I would never pay that much just to get to the end in the arcade, so the PlayStation 2 shines in that aspect, especially considering the game itself was only $4. Overall, a good arcade game transfer that really is made quite fun with the light gun, but disappointing in length and replayability. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This is my all-time favorite first-person shooter. Of any game that involves guns, this is my favorite by far. If you love games that have guns, it is impossible for you to not love this game. This game is absolutely one of my favorite games. I've played this game hundreds of times, and I never get tired of it. It is truly beyond words...
  5. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    If I had to choose one shoot 'em up game to play for the rest of my life, I would pick Time Crisis 2 in a heartbeat. The gameplay is largely improved over the dissappointingly short original, and the enemies are challenging but fun to kill at the same time. However, gaming aficionados should track down the arcade version, seeing as the light gun action is far more effective on a big screenIf I had to choose one shoot 'em up game to play for the rest of my life, I would pick Time Crisis 2 in a heartbeat. The gameplay is largely improved over the dissappointingly short original, and the enemies are challenging but fun to kill at the same time. However, gaming aficionados should track down the arcade version, seeing as the light gun action is far more effective on a big screen with surround sound. It gave rise to what I call the arcade boom, and spawned countless rip offs, the highlight being the House of the Dead series, a horror survival where you play a secret agent who battles off zombies and monsters inside a creepy old mansion armed with just a pistol. Sounds an awful lot like another certain famous horror game, don't it? But now back to TC2. Overall, one of the best action games ever created. Collapse
  6. DesL.
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    What really makes this game is the Crisis Mission mode that is unlocked when you finish the arcade levels. The scenarios are far more challenging and offer much better variety, often requiring you to avoid hitting hostages, or giving you limited ammunition and time to complete your goals. This is still my favorite gun game, as it concentrates on the basics and does not get overly fancy. What really makes this game is the Crisis Mission mode that is unlocked when you finish the arcade levels. The scenarios are far more challenging and offer much better variety, often requiring you to avoid hitting hostages, or giving you limited ammunition and time to complete your goals. This is still my favorite gun game, as it concentrates on the basics and does not get overly fancy. Skeet shooting rules too! Expand
  7. AldrichC.
    Jul 4, 2004
    10
    I love this game.I love to play it in stores.I am planning on buying it sooner or later.
  8. Chuckm
    Mar 2, 2004
    5
    the gun breaks about after 2 days of play. sad.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Aug 5, 2003
    10
    If you love shooting virtual people on your TV screen, fast paced action and a good multiplayer mode, this game is for you.
  10. JoeS.
    Dec 31, 2001
    5
    Cool graphics, very easy to beat, shooting is easy, and it's just too easy to fire only one shot at an enemy and they're dead. I think the games' worst fault is that it is too damn short--I beat it in 20 minutes!!
  11. ReidL.
    Dec 23, 2001
    10
    AWSOME GAME!! If you buy this, get GunCon2 w/ it!
  12. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    If I had to choose one shoot 'em up game to play for the rest of my life, I would pick Time Crisis 2 in a heartbeat. The gameplay is largely improved over the dissappointingly short original, and the enemies are challenging but fun to kill at the same time. However, gaming aficionados should track down the arcade version, seeing as the light gun action is far more effective on a big screenIf I had to choose one shoot 'em up game to play for the rest of my life, I would pick Time Crisis 2 in a heartbeat. The gameplay is largely improved over the dissappointingly short original, and the enemies are challenging but fun to kill at the same time. However, gaming aficionados should track down the arcade version, seeing as the light gun action is far more effective on a big screen with surround sound. It gave rise to what I call the arcade boom, and spawned countless rip offs, the highlight being the House of the Dead series, a horror survival where you play a secret agent who battles off zombies and monsters inside a creepy old mansion armed with just a pistol. Sounds an awful lot like another certain famous horror game, don't it? But now back to TC2. Overall, one of the best action games ever created. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

38
57
#57 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2001
65
#65 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2001
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. It's got everything you're looking for in an arcade shooter and more. Just don't expect it to last forever.
  2. The thrills don't last long, but they still place Time Crisis 2 at the top of the console gun game food chain, especially with the Guncon 2.
  3. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    It simply looks and works great on the PS2. [Oct 2001, p.134]