User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 96
  2. Negative: 4 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    The best game in Time Splitters history
  2. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    It's by far the best console shooter ever created, the single player is great, the story hilariously awesome. The multiplayer is fantastic, fun and never gets old. The weapons are all fun and balanced, And many of which are hilarious! there is a dart gun that makes people get fat until they explode. The BEST Part of the game is Co-op mode where your friend would play the companionIt's by far the best console shooter ever created, the single player is great, the story hilariously awesome. The multiplayer is fantastic, fun and never gets old. The weapons are all fun and balanced, And many of which are hilarious! there is a dart gun that makes people get fat until they explode. The BEST Part of the game is Co-op mode where your friend would play the companion character from each timeline and you would play the main character. If you want to play any game with your friend Co-op PLAY THIS GAME! It will make you laugh, it won't be boring, it has challenging missions. Above all it's a very very fun run and gun console FPS. the mapmaker is also the best mapmaker for any console game allowing you to build maps that look like it came from the game! there is 150 playable characters most of them are actually just separate skins from characters. the vehicles are rare and only on 1 or 2 maps but they are REALLY fun. Even if you are a PC only guy (i am) this is still a must have for classic home gaming. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    Absolutely THE BEST First Person Shooter imaginable for people that want to have a good time with friends. This game has it all, folks. TimeSplitters Future Perfect has an insane mapmaker with 50 slots for custom maps (and a way to trick the game to give you more), a great campaign, cool arcade modes, an endlessly fun multiplayer, and (my personal favorite part) a mind blowing soundtrack.Absolutely THE BEST First Person Shooter imaginable for people that want to have a good time with friends. This game has it all, folks. TimeSplitters Future Perfect has an insane mapmaker with 50 slots for custom maps (and a way to trick the game to give you more), a great campaign, cool arcade modes, an endlessly fun multiplayer, and (my personal favorite part) a mind blowing soundtrack. One of the best times you can have gaming with your friends is through this game. Expand
  4. DermotR.
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest achievements of the 21st Century.
  5. AlS
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    Nothing but the best FPS game on the market. Absolutely DESTROYS Halo in every catagory. I can't recommend it enough!
  6. MarkJ.
    Mar 30, 2005
    5
    Looks nice. but it breaks some of the good stuff from TS1 and TS2. continuous checkpoints mean that you can't get back very far, which seems bad if you are nearly dead at checkpoint. but since the game is so much more shallow than previous games, actually it doesnt matter. lots of locked door and other contrived things keep the game strictly on rails.(is this a memory limitation on Looks nice. but it breaks some of the good stuff from TS1 and TS2. continuous checkpoints mean that you can't get back very far, which seems bad if you are nearly dead at checkpoint. but since the game is so much more shallow than previous games, actually it doesnt matter. lots of locked door and other contrived things keep the game strictly on rails.(is this a memory limitation on the PS2?) of course, the game engine rocks, so the multiplayer deathmatch etc are great. shame about the game, though. feels more like an arcade game. Remember twin calibre? Collapse
  7. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    This is a decent game. You can't play online anymore, but if you have the friends, it can still provide hours of entertainment.

    I also have to admit that I am not the biggest fan of console shooters. But this isn't a bad game by any stretch.
  8. Sis
    Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I think that this is the best FPS ever made. I love everything about this game; The story, the multiplayer, the challenges, the league matches, the characters, the weapons, the maps, the power ups, the settings. It's perfect. If you have a Ps2, Xbox or Gamecube, get this game NOW! I mean it! Go on Ebay right now and get yourself a copy, don't waste another second being on Metacritic, whenI think that this is the best FPS ever made. I love everything about this game; The story, the multiplayer, the challenges, the league matches, the characters, the weapons, the maps, the power ups, the settings. It's perfect. If you have a Ps2, Xbox or Gamecube, get this game NOW! I mean it! Go on Ebay right now and get yourself a copy, don't waste another second being on Metacritic, when you don't own this game! DO IT!!! Expand
  9. ApocalyseBrown
    Aug 2, 2005
    8
    Multi-player ten! Single player six! Overall all eight out of ten. With online enabled its manic shooting at its best but the single player is much worse than ts2! Ninja monkey anyone?
  10. MikeV.
    Mar 24, 2005
    9
    I've played the first three levels, and is more fast paced and provides more weapons, locales, strategies, and speed on the XBOX version than Halo 2. Game magazines rating this an 80 out of 100 are puppets of the gaming industry cashing checks for something they don't really believe, or quite possibly smoking some really good s**t.
  11. JimmyD.
    Mar 29, 2005
    9
    Excellent graphics and great story line..excellent controls..more of the same of what you would expect only done better...this is what first person shooters are all about...and the extra game choices are a bonus...a terrific escape for hours on end....
  12. WillieW.
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    Great game.
  13. AbdulA.
    Apr 6, 2005
    10
    This game is FUN. FUN. it may not have amazing graphics or great gameplay, but its FUN. last time i checked thats what games were made for...
  14. AlexD.
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    This is one of the best first person shooters i have ever played on the PS2! It is mostly a run and gun like serious sam for the pc but has a great Co-Op system which makes it even more incredible! The best part is the muitiplayer. Sure the arcade is fun, but only to an extent. There is nothing like a 4 player shooting experience with over 150 characters and TONS of different guns and This is one of the best first person shooters i have ever played on the PS2! It is mostly a run and gun like serious sam for the pc but has a great Co-Op system which makes it even more incredible! The best part is the muitiplayer. Sure the arcade is fun, but only to an extent. There is nothing like a 4 player shooting experience with over 150 characters and TONS of different guns and different muti player options such as deathmatch and vampire. This is a must own for First Person Shooter fans and it will be VERY fun with your friends! Expand
  15. AnsonG.
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    Never play Timesplitters before, I heard many people like to play this FPS game, so I buy it and see how nice this game was. Wow, this one is the most impressive and amazing FPS I ever played. The story was blast through of each level and those weapons are amazing. So did the multiplayer online, you can choose how many players bot you add or 2 players for each other. Also u can create Never play Timesplitters before, I heard many people like to play this FPS game, so I buy it and see how nice this game was. Wow, this one is the most impressive and amazing FPS I ever played. The story was blast through of each level and those weapons are amazing. So did the multiplayer online, you can choose how many players bot you add or 2 players for each other. Also u can create your own map. The character was abit funny but quite nice. I really enjoyed this game very much. U guys must buy and try play this game. Its interesting and nice action FPS mode. Expand
  16. GeorgeS
    Jun 6, 2008
    10
    If you're a 1st person war type shooting game then this isn't the game for you.It's a si-fi and simply brilliant!The first level is hard but most timesplitters story mode number one always difficult. If you like other timeplitters than you'll love this.Me and my friend play it whenever I see him.
  17. JayS
    May 21, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome the mapmaking is better that the the 2nd game. it would be better if you could have a larger memory for each game. the choice of weapons is very large.
  18. TimB.
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    How can anyone not like this game it is amazing. You get to play as dead monkeys. You can also make your own maps and you can make race tracks .You have got so many characters and levels to chose that you can sometimes cant make up your mind.This game is the best game ive played on.
  19. RickN.
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    I know most people who have reviewed this game have said that it's fun, but thats the best word to describe it! If you liked TS2 you'll love this, sure the story mode is still short lived, but it's still a good laugh. The multiplayer levels are bigger, theres heaps more weapons, there's vehicles to drive, the mapmaker is very in depth, theres LOADS of varied stuff to I know most people who have reviewed this game have said that it's fun, but thats the best word to describe it! If you liked TS2 you'll love this, sure the story mode is still short lived, but it's still a good laugh. The multiplayer levels are bigger, theres heaps more weapons, there's vehicles to drive, the mapmaker is very in depth, theres LOADS of varied stuff to do, 1 minute you'll be blasting zombie monkeys, the next your racing a remote controlled cat (?!) and the whole game retains the wacky humour that the fans of the series have grown accustomed to. People tend to be put off by the cartoony/arcade feel to it, I know I was once, but thats what TS is all about and gamers that dismiss it because of this are missing out on a truly exciting, playable and (of course) fun gaming experience. Buy it. Right now. Expand
  20. GregA.
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    This game is the best FPS I have ever played. Great graphics, awesome controls, and this time each level in the story mode has a place, unlike the TS2, where you could've taken out any levels save the first and last and no one would notice. The only thing I have trouble with is the challenges, some of them seem a bit ridiculous, like some of the hard mode levels in TS2. Other than This game is the best FPS I have ever played. Great graphics, awesome controls, and this time each level in the story mode has a place, unlike the TS2, where you could've taken out any levels save the first and last and no one would notice. The only thing I have trouble with is the challenges, some of them seem a bit ridiculous, like some of the hard mode levels in TS2. Other than that, this game is spectacular and I don't think anyone who likes FPSs should turn this down. I can't wait to take it online. Expand
  21. JoaoA.
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    Good game, extreme effects.
  22. MattC.
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    How can you not love this game?
  23. KevinB.
    Jul 24, 2006
    10
    As a matter of fact, I'm listening to one of the songs from the TimeSpitters FP game as I write this. Whilest the graphics aren't as great as alot of other shooters out there, it's still manages to keep up with other shooters. May be a little too goofy for some gamers. This, as all timespitters games, has a funny, not serious attitude about 90% of the time. The story mode As a matter of fact, I'm listening to one of the songs from the TimeSpitters FP game as I write this. Whilest the graphics aren't as great as alot of other shooters out there, it's still manages to keep up with other shooters. May be a little too goofy for some gamers. This, as all timespitters games, has a funny, not serious attitude about 90% of the time. The story mode in this edition of the series is alright but the REAL treat with this game is the bonus stuff: 150 playable characters, 14 game modes to play with friends (if you got a multitap or something), not to mention that its online. Booyah. And 8 sprite cans, a bag of chips and about 32 different games that night, it was about 330 in the morning...ouch..this game will have you shooting monkeys and blowing up zombies for hours...no bull... Expand
  24. KristN.
    Dec 7, 2007
    8
    I'll get the negatives out the way first - This game can crash randomly, and this is very frustrating at times. Other than that, it's as near perfect as the PS2-Generation of console shooters can get. Single player, as shallow and tedious as it can become, holds rewards, making it worthwhile. Multiplayer is where this game shines though, and once you become proficient with the I'll get the negatives out the way first - This game can crash randomly, and this is very frustrating at times. Other than that, it's as near perfect as the PS2-Generation of console shooters can get. Single player, as shallow and tedious as it can become, holds rewards, making it worthwhile. Multiplayer is where this game shines though, and once you become proficient with the already simple-to-use (and essential) MapMaker tool, you'll be up for several nights with friends, holed-up in your newly created virtual house, with the doors locked, blowing away an endless stream of virus-infected bears! Expand
  25. AnonymousMC
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Phenomenalities abound in this jolly good pranci ng japes across the eras - daddy banned me from playing it in 43 of our 65 room, because they are accessibla by Junior, my dog, and it may be unsuitable for him. He's only a pup. But still, purchase this! I did 3456 times, and I don not regret it!
  26. MikeK.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    This game provides endless hours of action and shootouts. What more could you want from a game? Where it lacks in graphics and story, it greatly makes up for in the multiplayer. What could possiby be more fun than shooting your zombie friend's head off, or fighting alongside him being chased by giant deer with miniguns! A must have for anyone with friends who enjoys either casual or This game provides endless hours of action and shootouts. What more could you want from a game? Where it lacks in graphics and story, it greatly makes up for in the multiplayer. What could possiby be more fun than shooting your zombie friend's head off, or fighting alongside him being chased by giant deer with miniguns! A must have for anyone with friends who enjoys either casual or hardcore shooting games. Expand
  27. NickT
    Dec 27, 2008
    9
    This game is one of the best games I've ever played. It's a great FPS that has endless possibilities. The amount of scenario play you can put into this game is astounding. You want open warfare? Pit yourself against a bunch of marines in an arcade mach with a couple of soldiers on your side as well. You want to battle zombies? Make a level with AI zombies and give yourself a This game is one of the best games I've ever played. It's a great FPS that has endless possibilities. The amount of scenario play you can put into this game is astounding. You want open warfare? Pit yourself against a bunch of marines in an arcade mach with a couple of soldiers on your side as well. You want to battle zombies? Make a level with AI zombies and give yourself a shotgun. The possibilities are nearly endless. IN other words, Go. Go now and buy this game. It's worth the 10 bucks or so you'll need to pay. It's so, so worth it. Expand
  28. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    This game is fighting againts TimeSplitters 2 from the best video game ever made title. Sure this game has flaws like bad AI, it's easy and maps doesn't have any kinds of details. But when you start playing the game, you will forgive any flaws and you will have great time. Story mode is fun to play and you will return to play it gladly. Multiplayer is great, mapmaker is better than everThis game is fighting againts TimeSplitters 2 from the best video game ever made title. Sure this game has flaws like bad AI, it's easy and maps doesn't have any kinds of details. But when you start playing the game, you will forgive any flaws and you will have great time. Story mode is fun to play and you will return to play it gladly. Multiplayer is great, mapmaker is better than ever (Though you can play only with maximum of 8 players, because of a bug). If you find this game on any store, buy it! Expand
  29. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    I dread to think how much time I spent playing Timesplitters 2 with a multi-tap plugged in and three mates sat around a TV screen. When I heard of a sequel I was obviously delighted but unfortunately Future Perfect just lacks the charm of that title with characters now making stupid comments when selected and the far more generic being just two examples of where this game took steps in theI dread to think how much time I spent playing Timesplitters 2 with a multi-tap plugged in and three mates sat around a TV screen. When I heard of a sequel I was obviously delighted but unfortunately Future Perfect just lacks the charm of that title with characters now making stupid comments when selected and the far more generic being just two examples of where this game took steps in the wrong direction. Expand
  30. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    the best FPS i have ever played and will ever play. no nostalgia as well as every time i go back and play some couch co op with mates i still have a blast!
  31. May 26, 2013
    10
    Probably the best FPS I've ever played. A awesome campaign full of memorable moments and cool supportive characters also co-op campaign A ton of challenges and arcade leagues. 150 characters to pick from in multiplayer. 10+ game modes and maps. Cool weapons. A well made OST. Profile stats in full detail. Mapmaker. It's just full with quality content. TS:FP is a great update from TS2. TheProbably the best FPS I've ever played. A awesome campaign full of memorable moments and cool supportive characters also co-op campaign A ton of challenges and arcade leagues. 150 characters to pick from in multiplayer. 10+ game modes and maps. Cool weapons. A well made OST. Profile stats in full detail. Mapmaker. It's just full with quality content. TS:FP is a great update from TS2. The only bad thing that I can come up with, is that I miss some TS2 maps. If you still have your PS2/XBOX/GCN, buy this gem.
    TimeSplitters:Future Perfect 10/10:OMG!!!
    Join a 100.000 strong for TimeSplitters!
    Expand
  32. Dec 10, 2013
    8
    the only reason why is give this game a 8 is because it is so much fun on multiplayer with your friends
    the story well never played it really far about 20 minutes and then i got a bit bored but the multiplayer is awesome so much different game types i really recommend this game if you have no online ps2 and just want to play with your friends it's awesome.
    graphics arren't amazing story
    the only reason why is give this game a 8 is because it is so much fun on multiplayer with your friends
    the story well never played it really far about 20 minutes and then i got a bit bored but the multiplayer is awesome so much different game types i really recommend this game if you have no online ps2 and just want to play with your friends it's awesome.
    graphics arren't amazing
    story is not really good well it's ok but not superb or anything
    campaign is a bit boring
    multiplayer is the best thing about this game
    Expand
  33. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    I know technically this isn't the best game in the world, but it captures the essence of what makes a game great anyway. It's pure, unadultered fun, and even today I find myself returning to my PS2 and firing it up occasionally. I don't know if it's nostalgia since I was 19 when I played it for the first time, but with a few exceptions I loved every second of it and can't resist going backI know technically this isn't the best game in the world, but it captures the essence of what makes a game great anyway. It's pure, unadultered fun, and even today I find myself returning to my PS2 and firing it up occasionally. I don't know if it's nostalgia since I was 19 when I played it for the first time, but with a few exceptions I loved every second of it and can't resist going back to it again and again.

    I have it for both GC and PS2. I first got it for GC, then got it for PS2 when my GC crapped the bed and I wanted to play Future Perfect. I would say the GC version looks slightly crisper, but the PS2 version is superior because of the larger music selection in Arcade (that matters a lot to me). Otherwise there is no real difference, especially today with the online servers gone from the PS2's shelf of advantages. Both the GC and PS2 controllers handle about the same for FPSes.

    I'm a Timesplitters veteran. I've never owned TS1, but I logged 250 hours into the GC version of TS2, about 150 hours into the GC version of Future Perfect, and almost 100 hours into the PS2 version of Future Perfect.

    My reception of FP may have been even better if I didn't have TS2 to compare. FP gets a lot of technical things right. The graphics are undeniably the best in the trilogy, from smooth animations to artistry to character detail and texture design. The music is arguably the best in the series as well, and that's remarkable considering the whole trilogy has a tragically underrated OST. Some of this music is fantastic and worthy of a strong story to accompany it.

    Speaking of which, story has never been a strong point of the TimeSplitters trilogy, and in FP the attempt at a cohesive narrative is lame most of the time, and mouth-agape, face-palmingly stupid other times. There are nice moments in the dialogue and some of the characterization, but overall the narrative did nothing but make me wish Free Radical never even tried it. Two of the characters, one of which talks to Sgt. Cortez throughout the story through some crazy, reason and method the game never really explains, ruin any idea of a story I had about the TimeSplitters in my head. Make no mistake; this game pissed on my perception of the TimeSplitters as an alien race and features one of the worst main antagonists I've ever seen. I would have no problem with any future revival of the series discarding the story in FP as ludicrous hogwash and starting over with some of the same characters.

    The shooting mechanics in FP have been fine-tuned and offer the best balance between precision and speed of any game in the trilogy. In TS2, the focus was on speed, and my accuracy in that game compared to FP reflects that. In Arcade, bots in TS2 can be very imbalanced, with the hardest bots being titans of gunplay and the easiest bots being nothing more than rag doll targets. In FP, greater balance is achieved, and unlike in TS2 when the hardest bots seemed invincible at times, the player(s) always feels like he can kill anyone in the match and come out on top.

    That said, the near-impossible difficulty of TS2's Story mode on Hard is something I always treasured. It's much easier in FP. The balance is welcome in Arcade where you'll be spending most of your time anyway, but it's just another reason why FP's Story mode sucks.

    Improper English is somehow a prevalent problem in the trilogy. If you're an English nerd like me, it'll certainly annoy you to have to read things like, "it's every freak for themselves" in a commercial video game.

    What this game gets right, however, it really gets right. Multiplayer is outstanding. The stages are all awesome and quite varied. Character selection is massive and filled with a delightfully colorful cast, including zombies, robots, and four variations of monkey. It's all customizable too. Everything is up to you down to the smallest detail, like what weapons to use, what CPU bots are present, how good they are, and how many, what music plays in the background, whether you see the radar on the screen or not, whether or not health regenerates as you play, etc.

    Lastly, there's the game's sense of humor, which is stellar when it isn't shoehorned into the context of a bad narrative. It's part of the reason why I keep going back. The game is pure fun in a way that transcends logical thought. That, to me, is why video games exist, and it's why this is one of my favorite games of all time. That many people don't even know of its existence is a travesty.
    Expand
  34. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    Quite possibly the best game in existence. An incredible and diverse range of activities, a quirky and humorous plot, addictive multiplayer and even a mapmaker are some of the many great things this incredible game offers. THIS is the game you're looking for. Get it now! Final Score: 9.8/10
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. What this game contains that is totally removed from everything else out there is a quirky, infectious, humorous character, one that seems to deeply reflect the personality of its makers. When you play it, you really sense a stamp of originality and zany flavor in its presentation and structure. [March 2005, p.48]
  2. Almost exactly what we wanted it to be. Story mode and single-player antics are diverting enough but the game excels in multiplayer, offering fast-paced thrills that only the highlights of the "Unreal" series can really contest. [March 2005, p.122]
  3. What clever things Future Perfect does within its trek-across-the-time-continuum framework... It works in the only way it can: with a whole lot of humor. [April 2005, p.115]