• Publisher: Crave
  • Release Date: Apr 18, 2006
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    Closest game to initial d besides the arcade.
  2. OMARN.
    Feb 17, 2004
    10
    BETTER THAN INITIAL D SON!!!
  3. BuddyL.
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Ohh man this game looks tight, i can't wait to buy it!!
  4. Ashneal
    Jun 4, 2004
    10
    Initial d in a video game/ touge battles/ and drifting.
  5. AlexT.
    Jun 8, 2006
    9
    Tokyo Drift is very different from its predecessors. The graphycs are ok. The game play is intense. 2 things I don't like in this game: 1. I think you should win money by winning the battles and not by doing drifts in Category Races; 2. Drift King is too easy to beat. I beat him with a STI -B22 Subaru Impreza. Also the game should have, just like Tokyo Extreme Racer Zero, more Tokyo Drift is very different from its predecessors. The graphycs are ok. The game play is intense. 2 things I don't like in this game: 1. I think you should win money by winning the battles and not by doing drifts in Category Races; 2. Drift King is too easy to beat. I beat him with a STI -B22 Subaru Impreza. Also the game should have, just like Tokyo Extreme Racer Zero, more encounters that rise to the challenge when Drift King is beaten because in the end, you get all these hot cars from modifier shops but you don't get to use them because the game is over already. Expand
  6. RaulC.
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    This game is complicated but if you ever tried to slide sideways thru a turn at 50-60 miles per hour in real life and tried to make it thru the turn without hitting a wall, you know that it really is a hard task. Tokyo Xtreme Drift takes a bit of getting used too but as of yet it may be the closes thing to drifting in a video game that I have experienced. The graphics are pretty accurate, This game is complicated but if you ever tried to slide sideways thru a turn at 50-60 miles per hour in real life and tried to make it thru the turn without hitting a wall, you know that it really is a hard task. Tokyo Xtreme Drift takes a bit of getting used too but as of yet it may be the closes thing to drifting in a video game that I have experienced. The graphics are pretty accurate, gameplay is slow, control is accurate, and vehicle physics are almost life like. I enjoy this game being that it is what it is, a street racing and drift game. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. 70
    The level of skill that it's possible to gain in this game is by far its greatest strength. The excellent physics model allows a very fine degree of car control and this gives the player an opportunity to hone their techniques almost to perfection. [JPN Import]
  2. Overall, the game still feels too familiar, which keeps it from the lofty heights of TXR2. [Apr 2006, p.74]
  3. Narrow, winding roads take TXR's already bad handling and make it feel that much worse. [Apr 2006, p.80]