Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell PlayStation 2

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Infiltrate terrorists' positions, acquire critical intelligence by any means necessary, execute with extreme prejudice, and exit without a trace! You are Sam Fisher, a highly trained secret operative of the NSA's secret arm: Third Echelon. The world balance is in your hands, as cyberInfiltrate terrorists' positions, acquire critical intelligence by any means necessary, execute with extreme prejudice, and exit without a trace! You are Sam Fisher, a highly trained secret operative of the NSA's secret arm: Third Echelon. The world balance is in your hands, as cyber terrorism and international tensions are about to explode into WWIII. [Ubi Soft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 100
    While the PS2's levels are noticeably shorter than those of the Xbox version, their design hasn't changed and the overall gameplay remains completely intact, making this game a wonderful adventure within the Tom Clancy universe.
  2. Takes stealth action and realism to all new jaw-dropping heights in this game that’s just too good to pass up.
  3. 92
    Where the PS2 version really shines is in the control department. The controls become almost second nature after only a few minutes of running around.
  4. Superior to the Xbox version in every way... Massively enjoyable yet enormously painful, Splinter Cell is a serious game whose brilliant realism should shake up a few complacent gamers. [PS2 MAX]
  5. Game Informer
    85
    The graphics, while inferior overall compared to the Xbox version, benefit from added effects such as enhanced heat distribution, reflective surfaces, and focus blurring. [Apr 2003, p.82]
  6. Good game, Good graphics. Not as good as "Metal Gear Solid 2." Not enough content. Kind of short.
  7. This is one of those games you’ll sit down to play for 45 minutes and then realise you’re 2 hours from the end without even an inkling of the time spent on the game.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 51
  2. Negative: 7 out of 51
  1. Xelitexdesecrator
    May 1, 2003
    10
    This is by far the best first person shooter game I've ever seen. The control, graphics, story, everything is great. It's a breath This is by far the best first person shooter game I've ever seen. The control, graphics, story, everything is great. It's a breath of fresh air in a fog of horrible money-maker games. Expand
  2. BanditG.
    May 16, 2003
    10
    Beyond Perfect.
  3. NickT.
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    Can we say, "amazing game?" this game changed stealth games forever!! probably not for people who only like action. it takes some patience. Can we say, "amazing game?" this game changed stealth games forever!! probably not for people who only like action. it takes some patience. it's a great game!! Expand
  4. BrianM.
    Jul 3, 2003
    9
    Having spent a major part of my youth and adulthood crawling through bushes and climbing walls in strange places, I can say that the ethos Having spent a major part of my youth and adulthood crawling through bushes and climbing walls in strange places, I can say that the ethos behind this game is about as totally accurate as you are going to get. Kind of stripped down on the equipment and support, but the heart is there. Kind of like the zen of stealth...except for the splits on the wall thingamabob...can't/won't do that. Expand
  5. Aug 19, 2016
    8
    Esto no es un Metal gear (que me encantan) aca hay que ser sigiloso en serio, usar las sombras y disparar solo cuando sea necesario. GranEsto no es un Metal gear (que me encantan) aca hay que ser sigiloso en serio, usar las sombras y disparar solo cuando sea necesario. Gran juego, que para ser de PS2 se ve bastante bien. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    This is a stealth game with some decent missions. Most of the fun is hiding in the shadows. It doesn't quite match the excitement of JamesThis is a stealth game with some decent missions. Most of the fun is hiding in the shadows. It doesn't quite match the excitement of James Bond or detail of Metal Gear Solid. Splinter Cell is a slower paced 3rd person game. If you do get in a pinch, you seem to end up dead instead of having any fighting chance. Saves obviously help a lot and there is a lot of replaying the same level. Careless mistakes will burn you or make you fall into forbidden zones that game over. The controls are easy and more fluid than Metal Gear. The gun play is not really here though, and is more clumsy with a not-so-great crosshair. The first training mission bogs the game's pacing a little bit. Mostly these are just small criticisms. They did an awesome job for a 2003 title. It looks like it could be on PS3. I find myself wanting to play this casually and progress a couple of levels every once in awhile. I'm not super attached to this game.There are so many options on the PS2 for this style. It did help define the genre and become is on phenomenon, but that doesn't free it from criticism or competition. With a slower paced game there needs to be more in-game cutscenes (close ups) and atmosphere. You mostly get voiceovers. With the media powerhouse that is the PS2, it just became a necessity to do extra character animations and I didn't see many. Since the gameplay is more about navigation and cleverness, and not arcade style, they could have made it more comical or add some more flavor (which MGS does best). Great graphics, controls, jungle gym levels and nice progressing game. Would I recommend a buy in 2013? I'd probably say YES. This was a popular game, on multi-platforms, and adheres to a common 3rd-person style that has been adopted in so many other games, so maybe not the most essential game to collect. It would have been more fun with crazier weapons, vehicles, and over the top baddies. The realism is null these days. Its just a game. You probably won't feel bad if you don't play Splinter Cell, but hey, its not bad at all if you manage to find a copy! Kinda fun, but not mind blowing or difficult. Expand
  7. BillG.
    Apr 12, 2003
    0
    This game is rubbish for 1 its to hard 3 shots and your dead and even the so-called lighting effects are fake its crap.

See all 51 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.

Awards & Rankings

#18 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#28 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003