• Publisher: Acclaim
  • Release Date: Feb 11, 2003
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. It gets stale after a while and there's really nothing to drive you to the end, save for facing another challenge of making it safely over a bizarre and dangerous collection of platforms.
  2. A charmless, shoddy, unfinished, unplayable mess and does nothing that a dozen other games haven't done infinitely better.
  3. Due to bad enemy pop-up, a lousy camera, and an abundance of crummy underwater levels, it's bad in a different way than intended. [Apr 2003, p.68]
  4. Nothing more than your run-of-the-mill platformer. Though the level design and beautiful visuals are something to admire, the audio, plot and general lack of originality leaves something to be desired.
  5. A lot like the middle-class, suburban kid in high school that tries to make everyone think he's cool by wearing nothing but black and listening to Metallica. It's all an act; a dark pretense put up to hide a depressingly normal game that doesn't really know what it wants to be.
  6. The good parts might not be enough to overcome the poor camera and game control.
  7. Vexx does little more than imitate, which just isn't enough these days... Feels outdated right out of the gate.
  8. 61
    While Vexx eked out a win on the Xbox, its PlayStation 2 outing is held back by considerably worse graphics, longer load times, and stiffer competition.
  9. Unfortunately the gameplay is as uninspiring as the graphics.
  10. Vexx toes the party line for platform games but at least adds more style then most.
  11. Vexx is a stellar, high-quality, praise-worthy game that deserves to be enjoyed by hundreds of thousands of gamers.
  12. While Vexx builds adequately on the 3-D trail blazed by "Super Mario 64," there are others who have taken the next few steps.
  13. It's vexing to play a meticulously crafted and pretty 3D platformer when it's devoid of fun. [Apr 2003, p.71]
  14. 74
    Maybe it's the lack of innovation and cohesiveness in the gameplay, or maybe it's the uninspired character designs.
  15. Vexx is a curiously grim exercise featuring gargantuan free-form levels fraught with danger and a surprisingly combat-heavy fighting system of combos, uppercuts, and vicious slashes.
  16. There's no excuse for such an absurdly awkward control scheme. [Apr 2003, p.92]
  17. Crafted by hard-core gamers - its strong point in terms of sheer satisfaction - and it shows. [Mar 2003, p.56]
  18. A solid platformer that features plenty of clever puzzles and a good deal of variety. [Apr 2003, p.35]
  19. Epic in scope but technically flawed (particularly in its framey and load-happy PS2 incarnation), Vexx is begging for a much-improved sequel.
  20. This thing either found us in an incredibly bad mood (unlikely) or it’s one of the most insulting games we have ever had the displeasure to play (yes). Just don’t buy it.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. AdamC.
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    One of the best games i've ever played. challenging and fun. a must buy!
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Goodness where to start?!
    Vexx for me has to be one of video game's greatest forgotten heroes. He is certainly this centuries most
    unappreciated hero in and out of video games. For me playing Vexx was the pinnacle of my childhood, I also learned a lot from him and his philosophical teachings. He is much like Nelson Mandela in the way his sheer power to forgive in matched by none and his tenacity is by far the most courageous thing you'll see in video games for some time.
    I saddens me to no end to hear that Vexx was incredibly unpopular both critically and consumer wise. I don't think the average gamer has the mental capacity to absorb all that Vexx has to offer intellectually; it's a shame a game so deep can be truly appreciated by so few.
    Acclaim should really be applauded for their creation Vexx, I don't think they get the praise they deserve for such a deep and inspiring character, that's not to say that vectrum the goat wasn't an equally adhering in the Vexx universe, they really did create something magical with Vexx, it's a dying shame that due to poor review scores and poor sales, a sequel was never made.
    Full Review »