• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 17, 2002
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 83
  2. Negative: 12 out of 83
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    It is a fighter that will provide countless hours of fun. Plenty of characters coupled with great graphics, intense fighting, and a lot of combo moves that can be done.
  2. AnonymousMC
    Aug 11, 2003
    1
    Ok, M.D PhiloSHIT
    If you spent your rewiew explaining what was good about the game, someone might have taken you seriously, instead you came off as annoying... I explaned myself and why i disliked the game,every aspect of it, the sound, gameplay, graphics.....Your just some hardcore fighter 4 gamer that can't play any other fighter games ex- mortal kombat, street fighter(any of
    Ok, M.D PhiloSHIT
    If you spent your rewiew explaining what was good about the game, someone might have taken you seriously, instead you came off as annoying... I explaned myself and why i disliked the game,every aspect of it, the sound, gameplay, graphics.....Your just some hardcore fighter 4 gamer that can't play any other fighter games ex- mortal kombat, street fighter(any of them), DOA, Tekken... And my facts straight, the sega saturn version was almost completely different, and the music is garbage, maybe you like techno shit but i as hell sure don't...Oh yea the gameplay, i never saw so many moves that is a waste to use.

    Next time, before you write something to insult someone about there review...Try and write a decent review asshole
    Expand
  3. RamiW.
    Apr 8, 2006
    3
    I bloody gave this game to my cousin because it sucked hard. How on this earth would you be giving this game 10 or a 100 by the critics jesus everything sucks i cant bloody fight. I opened the manual and there was like 1000 moves for every character and i cant even do 1 there are no new characters to unlock and it was boring as soon as i put it in my damn ps2. I dont want to embarress I bloody gave this game to my cousin because it sucked hard. How on this earth would you be giving this game 10 or a 100 by the critics jesus everything sucks i cant bloody fight. I opened the manual and there was like 1000 moves for every character and i cant even do 1 there are no new characters to unlock and it was boring as soon as i put it in my damn ps2. I dont want to embarress this game anymore. Expand
  4. AinaR.
    Nov 7, 2002
    2
    Extremely interesting game.
  5. JakeM.
    Jun 1, 2002
    3
    This game blows, yes i can admit i was glued to the T.V. playing this game for..... oh.... lets see, 15 minutes. This game has no replay action, its always the same thing. I'm disappointed in Sega for making crappy games, like 18 wheeler. This game is a shame on how stupid the nation is to waste 50 bucks on a game that i can pull out my butt. But on the bright side of things, i gave This game blows, yes i can admit i was glued to the T.V. playing this game for..... oh.... lets see, 15 minutes. This game has no replay action, its always the same thing. I'm disappointed in Sega for making crappy games, like 18 wheeler. This game is a shame on how stupid the nation is to waste 50 bucks on a game that i can pull out my butt. But on the bright side of things, i gave this game a 3 because this game is pretty fun when i'm playing with my friends. Expand
  6. ShawnT.
    Mar 31, 2003
    3
    Mortal Kombat is 10x better.
  7. JavierA.
    Jan 4, 2004
    4
    This game was fun for about 10 minutes, then it felt like any tekken version, same slow fighting game with cool graphics buy just nothing new!
  8. JimmyW.
    Aug 20, 2004
    5
    I'm surprised y everybodys voting this game so high. i mean its good and all but i think u guys r just scared of putting this game down and wat a tag of stone cold is that canadian wrestlers move( if you dont no wat ime talkin about then use him in sparring)
  9. Alex
    May 20, 2002
    5
    Damn, I might be the only one, but I thought this game was kinda boring and the only really good part was the scenery like if there is snow on the ground an you knock somebody down, it leaves a print in the snow and stuff like that.
  10. [Anonymous]
    Jul 28, 2002
    1
    Boring. too much time spent on graphics and not enough on gameplay/music/everything else... the comp is a joke to beat on very hard despite akwardly designed controls. gimme a psone tekken before this filth anyday.
  11. AJ
    Aug 12, 2003
    3
    This game is really not all that good, infact its pretty lame..Y you ask?.. Ok the critics gave it 93, yet any tekken game did't even come close... Let me explain, there is no ending, no story, nothing, you finish the game and you get credits..Thats all.. And Kumite is just a stupid survival mode with little bonus..Then the gameplay, its nothing like DOA, or Tekken, its worst..First This game is really not all that good, infact its pretty lame..Y you ask?.. Ok the critics gave it 93, yet any tekken game did't even come close... Let me explain, there is no ending, no story, nothing, you finish the game and you get credits..Thats all.. And Kumite is just a stupid survival mode with little bonus..Then the gameplay, its nothing like DOA, or Tekken, its worst..First you block with squre and its a waste(blocking that is), then they have reversals that have a slow response time,you'll get hit like 3 times with someone fast before your reversal works, and no its like DOA where you reversals actually mean something.. You have a ton of moves that you need to remember, but only like 3 will be all you need..Talking about the gameplay, there are some characters that are way better than others, very unbalanced, i'm not talking ryu better than oh guile, its more like Akira, and prob Vanessa better than everybody.. The stages are weak and boring,the moves seem thrown together, the moves doesn't flow like other fighting games.. The music is ok, i mean what game doesn't have techno in it... Well i was going to buy the new Virtua Fighter, so i bought this one first, good move there, i would have wasted my money...It all comes down to if you want a game you can dive into and have fun with leaving room for experts, don't buy this.... If you feel you can be somewhat of a hardcore fan(or already is), then buy this and V fighter Evolution thats coming out, if anything take me and that guy(Rick's) warning.. Stay away from the series............. Expand
  12. GNARLY161
    Mar 29, 2004
    3
    This was the worst fighting game i ever played. i am embarrased to say that i once owned the game.
  13. Oct 21, 2015
    0
    A few hits, a few options, horrible characters with no charisma, crude and children's story, cliche to maximum, graphics outdated for the time it was released. This game was made with the ass, his rival, the Incredible Tekken, it was far superior even to put the 3, it's better than Virtua Fighter 4, the first VF until it was mass play in the classic Mega Drive. Make a well yourself, do notA few hits, a few options, horrible characters with no charisma, crude and children's story, cliche to maximum, graphics outdated for the time it was released. This game was made with the ass, his rival, the Incredible Tekken, it was far superior even to put the 3, it's better than Virtua Fighter 4, the first VF until it was mass play in the classic Mega Drive. Make a well yourself, do not play Virtua Fighter 4. Expand
  14. KevinS.
    Jul 26, 2002
    10
    The druunken master old man is the best. This game is sick tight...
  15. DogLover
    Jun 20, 2003
    9
    This game is so cool. I like it alot. There are lots of players, but I wish that you could choose the level in which you fight in.
  16. Rom
    Mar 20, 2002
    9
    First day I played this game I felt it was way to difficult. It was completely my fault, I had been applying my Tekken Techniques which do not work here. After 2 days I realized the beauty of this game. The game is not so easy for beginners which I find as great. The modes are fantastic, especially the Kumite feature. It helped me build up my gaming experience as well as unlock little First day I played this game I felt it was way to difficult. It was completely my fault, I had been applying my Tekken Techniques which do not work here. After 2 days I realized the beauty of this game. The game is not so easy for beginners which I find as great. The modes are fantastic, especially the Kumite feature. It helped me build up my gaming experience as well as unlock little add-ons for my character such as sunglasses, different colored shoes, etc. The only reason I gave this game a 9 is because Kumite lacked 2 players. Expand
  17. PerseenR.
    May 16, 2002
    10
    Amazing just amazing...
  18. TweetyBurd
    May 5, 2002
    8
    This game is one of my favorite fighting games for PS2. It has a realistic amount of characters, unlike Tekken Tag Tournament; with 34 fighters. I also like recoordinating the people's clothes with the Data Files mode, and adding items like braclets and sunglasses. The scenery is very interesting, but the graphics could've been a little sharper. The Kumite mode is very creative, This game is one of my favorite fighting games for PS2. It has a realistic amount of characters, unlike Tekken Tag Tournament; with 34 fighters. I also like recoordinating the people's clothes with the Data Files mode, and adding items like braclets and sunglasses. The scenery is very interesting, but the graphics could've been a little sharper. The Kumite mode is very creative, but sometimes unbearable to work with (at times, the CPU fighters kick your butt as if it's the end of the world. And I don't like that.)This game could look great in your collection of fighters. You should buy this game. Expand
  19. MattS.
    Jun 11, 2002
    10
    It is just amazing. Great visuals and game play makes it one of the best fighter games since snes.
  20. M.DPhilosophy
    Mar 16, 2003
    10
    Listen Rick S. this game is one of the best games out there. & a bit of info for you this game came out b4 tekken so get your factz straight (Sega Saturn). Graphics are gorgeous and the stages I do think are just square but who cares pay attention to the game play not the stages. And i rarely ever get knocked out of the ring so if your getting knocked off you should practice the game Listen Rick S. this game is one of the best games out there. & a bit of info for you this game came out b4 tekken so get your factz straight (Sega Saturn). Graphics are gorgeous and the stages I do think are just square but who cares pay attention to the game play not the stages. And i rarely ever get knocked out of the ring so if your getting knocked off you should practice the game because your talent must be just as good as your rating. It has easy controls unless your being one of the expert characters. If you are facing a good player like myself, you cannot button mash because a good player will take advantage of every punch and or kick using reversals. The music you can't even notice over the people's FX so stop trying to find flaws of the games and have some fun with them unless you got beat by all your friends and that's why you are giving this game such a bad review. Expand
  21. ByronL.
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    Id just like to say i enjoy the Dead or Alive and Soul Calibur series of games and that the Dreamcast Soul Cailbur still looks and plays great 6 years after its release. I also think Saturn Dead or Alive is underrated and that its visuals still look good and it plays well. This game however when released was the greatest 3D fighter to be released. There are not 700 pages books released in Id just like to say i enjoy the Dead or Alive and Soul Calibur series of games and that the Dreamcast Soul Cailbur still looks and plays great 6 years after its release. I also think Saturn Dead or Alive is underrated and that its visuals still look good and it plays well. This game however when released was the greatest 3D fighter to be released. There are not 700 pages books released in Japan about the Virtua Fighter games for nothing these are deep games. The casual gamer will dismiss this game as boring or overrated but the dedicated gamer will get so much out of this game. The AI like it did on the Saturn Virtua Fighter 2 learns your fighting style the more you play the game and adapts accordingly. This means it gets harder the more you play meaning you have to improve all the time to beat the computer. The better you get the more fun you will have as you try to learn more and more movies. In two player mode the fun continues as you will be rewarded for being a good player as an inexperienced player should never be able to beat you. This is the same with the 2D beat em ups of choice Street Fighter and the King of the Fighters series. This is what a lot of people hate about DOA and Soul Calibur in that you can learn all the moves but still get beat by an eleven year old who likes to keep pressing strong attack with Knightmere. Virtua Fighter is not like this and you will be beaten easy by someone that knows what they are doing if you just press kick. This is why this game is best played between two people will simiar skill levels then you have a contest on your hands. I often organised touraments in my street with this game and it was a lot of fun and you will got into the game wanted to get better all the time. This game has now been surpassed by its update Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution on the PS2 but is still an outstanding game and i cant wait to play number 5 down the arcade. I would recommend this only to people with the time to put into as that is the best way to enjoy it. The other fighters on the market are not as good as this but are more suited to people who want a quick fight now and again. Expand
  22. Tiptoe
    Nov 16, 2002
    10
    This game is amazing. Anyone who doesn't like it is definitely confused with another game. This game totally beats Tekken and all other fighting games. I am so proud of sega. P.S- GO LEI FEI.
  23. FullEnergy
    Mar 15, 2002
    10
    One thing to say: PERFECT GAME.
  24. MattW.
    Mar 23, 2002
    9
    This game is great. While the graphics don't stand out as well as other titles such as DOA3 and Soul Caliber, it plays much better than the former and equally as well as the latter. Buy this now if u have any interest in video games.
  25. BarryC.
    Mar 25, 2002
    10
    I love it.
  26. GhyhalF.
    May 24, 2004
    7
    This game is over-rated. I rented it for a week from my local rental store, and I bet the game in about I'd say twenty times within that week. But that's not the thing that is only disapointing, it's the over-hyped Kumite mode. It's just Survival mode whre you give a different name to your chosen character. It's honestly way too over-rated. Where as Arcade mode is This game is over-rated. I rented it for a week from my local rental store, and I bet the game in about I'd say twenty times within that week. But that's not the thing that is only disapointing, it's the over-hyped Kumite mode. It's just Survival mode whre you give a different name to your chosen character. It's honestly way too over-rated. Where as Arcade mode is short, Kumite mode is just as boring and pointless as all the other Survival modes in other fighting games, this game stil manages to be quite fun to play, although just barely being able to make-up for its rip-off flaws. First of all, this game RIPPED OFF tekken BIGTIME. where as teken was original gameplay mechanics, Virtua fighter 4 takes the complete basis and elemental value of those gameplay mechanics and made 150+ two-hit combos for your characters. Maybe three hits, if your lucky. Geez, I thought the bouncer was more original and more fun than this game, and yet that game is so under-rated. Another thing I despise about the critics giving this a metascore of 93 (OVER-RATED!!!!!!!!!) IS THAT IN 99.9% OF THE REVIEWS OF THIS GAME, THEY'RE ALWAYS COMPARING SOUL CALIBUR II TO THIS AND SAYING THIS GAME IS "waaaaaaay better, because of t's lovely addictive gameplay. oh, please. Soul Calibur is much, much, much better than this, and unfortunately, the critcs may have loved that too, but they loved Virtua Fighter 4 much better, and I think that's just plain stupidity. Expand
  27. T.O.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    VF4 is the best fighting game on any system. Many will be turned off by the learning curve, but if you give it some time, read the manual, and use the training modes, you'll soon find a deep and fun game that can be played indefinitely. Others, Soul Calibur, Tekken, DOA, are fun, but the depth of the combat moves is the key. The defense is more important than in most fighting games VF4 is the best fighting game on any system. Many will be turned off by the learning curve, but if you give it some time, read the manual, and use the training modes, you'll soon find a deep and fun game that can be played indefinitely. Others, Soul Calibur, Tekken, DOA, are fun, but the depth of the combat moves is the key. The defense is more important than in most fighting games and this gives skilled players a distinct advantage. Kumite mode, along with the single player game in Soul Calibur are the best avalible. This is one of the few games worth 50, but for 20 bucks this is the best deal on the PS2. Highest recommendation. Expand
  28. LandonA.
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    For those who only like button-smashing, avoid this title!! and get mindless tekken, doa or soul calibur, this one has performed through years a way to avoid this ugly/nonsense way of playing fighting games.For those who really like fighting games, please keep reading. This one is perhaps the most rewarding game of all time, following the lane of it's prequels but improving For those who only like button-smashing, avoid this title!! and get mindless tekken, doa or soul calibur, this one has performed through years a way to avoid this ugly/nonsense way of playing fighting games.For those who really like fighting games, please keep reading. This one is perhaps the most rewarding game of all time, following the lane of it's prequels but improving everything to the top. It doesn't forget his arcade roots, but gives too many depth to the playability so you'd think this is a simulation game. Is that good, you'll have to be pacient and fast at the same time, you can do counterattack techniques and change your way to play in the middle of a combat. Fighting with a tought opponent you'll have to train and be concentrated because a missmatch pushing buttongs will cause you lose a half-bar. It's so hard that you will think you're stuck, but when you discover that you can "see matrix" you'll have one of the most glorious time in videogaming history. This is not new, most of these features lived eer Expand
  29. SA
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    please dont listen to that guy Rick its silly that he attacked AM2 the premier arcade game creator of the last 20 years. Outrun, Daytona USA, Virtua Cop, Virtua Fighter, Virtua Racing this innovative titles are the reason why Time Crisis, Ridge Racer, Tekken exist. They did not make Shenmue that was made by another part of Sega called CRI. To call a game that has thousands of moves a please dont listen to that guy Rick its silly that he attacked AM2 the premier arcade game creator of the last 20 years. Outrun, Daytona USA, Virtua Cop, Virtua Fighter, Virtua Racing this innovative titles are the reason why Time Crisis, Ridge Racer, Tekken exist. They did not make Shenmue that was made by another part of Sega called CRI. To call a game that has thousands of moves a button basher is insane. If he was even born its people like him who brought dull games like Mortal Kombat over Street Fighter. To the people that say there is no ending no story i say this. This game is like the Ryu winning quote its all about the fight. Its a fighting game not a movie. The boring pointless endings to DOA are a waste of disk space. The storyline is not needed but there is one if you bothered to look in the manual you will see that it is the fouth world fighting championships. Its like a Bruce Lee film it does not need a plot to work. Im 22 and have being playing games since i was 4 before the causal gamer came along when the PS1 did and ruined gaming for forever by buying the same pointless rubbish like the 800th Tomb Raider or endless sports games. This game is a hit in Japan as they have a clue about games sadly here in the West idiots lead the way. Expand
  30. VengeanceF
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    This game is GREAT! It has stuff for everyone...some characters for button mashers then some for the experts...great practice modes and of course KUMITE!!! ANd the graphics...tho aliasin is a prob effects, details and animation is superb!

Awards & Rankings

4
12
#12 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
30
#30 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Play Magazine
    80
    Visuals are but one aspect of this game's worth. It's the play that really matters, and VF, as always, plays marvelously. [Mar 2002, p.44]
  2. Though DOA3 may have it beat graphically, no game can touch VF4’s fighting engine. This is the deepest, most dynamic fighter ever created.
  3. 100
    What’s awesome about the gameplay is that you can just pick up a controller and start fighting. Three buttons (block, kick, punch) are all that are needed to master a basic set of moves.