• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Virtua Fighter 4 Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two new characters (Lei Fei and Vanessa Lewis) join 11 VF veterans, each with their own unique styles based on real martial arts. New counters and defensive moves allow players to switch up their stances and fighting styles mid-bout. Train a computer-controlled character through sparring andTwo new characters (Lei Fei and Vanessa Lewis) join 11 VF veterans, each with their own unique styles based on real martial arts. New counters and defensive moves allow players to switch up their stances and fighting styles mid-bout. Train a computer-controlled character through sparring and an easy-to-use rewards system, then pit your character against a friend's or challenge the arcade mode. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. The depth of this game is staggering. [Feb 2003, p.93]
  2. 100
    The best fighting experience available on home consoles...One of the slickest fighting games ever.
  3. Underneath its silky shine is a feast of fighting goodies that will change everything you have ever come to expect from this genre. [May 2002, p.78]
  4. 93
    The amount of variety for toe-to-toe fighting is the best the series has ever seen.
  5. It is not only the best fighter available for the system, but pretty much the best console gamers have seen since "Soul Calibur."
  6. Teach your PS2 well, and the phrase “the A.I. sucks” will no never be spoken about this title.
  7. There are an awful lot of moves assigned to each character and that means a lot of thinking. But this kind of thinking is good, it's deep and it relates to the gameplay.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 44
  2. Negative: 10 out of 44
  1. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    It is a fighter that will provide countless hours of fun. Plenty of characters coupled with great graphics, intense fighting, and a lot ofIt is a fighter that will provide countless hours of fun. Plenty of characters coupled with great graphics, intense fighting, and a lot of combo moves that can be done. Collapse
  2. VengeanceF
    Dec 16, 2002
    10
    This game is GREAT! It has stuff for everyone...some characters for button mashers then some for the experts...great practice modes and of This game is GREAT! It has stuff for everyone...some characters for button mashers then some for the experts...great practice modes and of course KUMITE!!! ANd the graphics...tho aliasin is a prob effects, details and animation is superb! Expand
  3. FarooqA.
    Oct 19, 2005
    10
    The next gen brought only one thing in 2000, that was "Authenticity" ! If a product adhered to it, it went just great, created its new self, The next gen brought only one thing in 2000, that was "Authenticity" ! If a product adhered to it, it went just great, created its new self, got a re-birth superiority and marked a new era of its life-time...while the others remained just the next-gen versions of their former selves, that's it. With Virtua Fighter 4, it was the actual first time that we saw something so authentic that the eyes teared. Perfectly mastered and authentic martial arts, extremely coloured graphics, never before seen and never to be seen level of model detail and design, physics-perfect water effects, awesome reflections, breakable walls, counters to each a every possible attack, a most original and atmospheric soundtrack and never to be compared depth of gameplay. Tekken, Soul Calibur and DOA are great games in themselves but they rely upon retaining the work they did in their first or second iterations, so not a complete conversion to the next-gen is ever seen in them...that is why comparison between these and VF4 doesn't actually exist, for they are more to the 'fun' side of gaming, while VF4 is like Gran Turismo among racing games : The best, The most original, The most real, the most beautiful but hardest ! requiring the mastering of gameplay, much effort is done in ways to blend the mood of the gameplay with individual characters, and a brand new mode that has never been seen before...The AI training...Yeah ! you can actually get to train the AI you have to pit against to win the game. This game is a certain "WOW" !!! in every term of fighting genre. Expand
  4. Rom
    Mar 20, 2002
    9
    First day I played this game I felt it was way to difficult. It was completely my fault, I had been applying my Tekken Techniques which do First day I played this game I felt it was way to difficult. It was completely my fault, I had been applying my Tekken Techniques which do not work here. After 2 days I realized the beauty of this game. The game is not so easy for beginners which I find as great. The modes are fantastic, especially the Kumite feature. It helped me build up my gaming experience as well as unlock little add-ons for my character such as sunglasses, different colored shoes, etc. The only reason I gave this game a 9 is because Kumite lacked 2 players. Expand
  5. ByronL.
    Jan 30, 2006
    9
    Id just like to say i enjoy the Dead or Alive and Soul Calibur series of games and that the Dreamcast Soul Cailbur still looks and plays Id just like to say i enjoy the Dead or Alive and Soul Calibur series of games and that the Dreamcast Soul Cailbur still looks and plays great 6 years after its release. I also think Saturn Dead or Alive is underrated and that its visuals still look good and it plays well. This game however when released was the greatest 3D fighter to be released. There are not 700 pages books released in Japan about the Virtua Fighter games for nothing these are deep games. The casual gamer will dismiss this game as boring or overrated but the dedicated gamer will get so much out of this game. The AI like it did on the Saturn Virtua Fighter 2 learns your fighting style the more you play the game and adapts accordingly. This means it gets harder the more you play meaning you have to improve all the time to beat the computer. The better you get the more fun you will have as you try to learn more and more movies. In two player mode the fun continues as you will be rewarded for being a good player as an inexperienced player should never be able to beat you. This is the same with the 2D beat em ups of choice Street Fighter and the King of the Fighters series. This is what a lot of people hate about DOA and Soul Calibur in that you can learn all the moves but still get beat by an eleven year old who likes to keep pressing strong attack with Knightmere. Virtua Fighter is not like this and you will be beaten easy by someone that knows what they are doing if you just press kick. This is why this game is best played between two people will simiar skill levels then you have a contest on your hands. I often organised touraments in my street with this game and it was a lot of fun and you will got into the game wanted to get better all the time. This game has now been surpassed by its update Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution on the PS2 but is still an outstanding game and i cant wait to play number 5 down the arcade. I would recommend this only to people with the time to put into as that is the best way to enjoy it. The other fighters on the market are not as good as this but are more suited to people who want a quick fight now and again. Expand
  6. DanteSparda
    Mar 14, 2002
    7
    I know this game deserves better than 7, but I just can judge it for what i've experienced of it so far. And what i've experienced I know this game deserves better than 7, but I just can judge it for what i've experienced of it so far. And what i've experienced is a 7. No more, no less. I know that the game has a deepness comparable to none, and that I just've played it a couple of times, and I have so much left for discover, but the problem that hasn't allowed me to experience it deeper is the same reason that takes away the 3 points from my calification, that would've made it a solid 10. And that problem is just one: It's so goddamn difficult!!!! Why can't they make the game more accessible for newcomers like me? I mean, we know that the game has a lot to offer, but it's unfriendly difficulty level, and Semi-impossible learning curve, haven't allowed me to taste it's real flavor. A real shame. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jul 28, 2002
    1
    Boring. too much time spent on graphics and not enough on gameplay/music/everything else... the comp is a joke to beat on very hard despiteBoring. too much time spent on graphics and not enough on gameplay/music/everything else... the comp is a joke to beat on very hard despite akwardly designed controls. gimme a psone tekken before this filth anyday. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews