Wipeout Fusion PlayStation 2

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Every single aspect -- the controls, the gameplay, the graphics, etc. -- has been improved 110%. You may not notice all of the improvements at first, but the game will suck you in immediately.
  2. The most accessible, fastest, most potent version of the series. It’s arguably the best of the four games that make up the series, but nobody can deny that’s easily the prettiest.
  3. 90
    There is so much to do and so many different ways to play that you will get at months of playing out of this game.
  4. The response of each craft, no matter how demanding, feels gloriously authentic and exudes the same order of weighty behaviour which so successfully separates A-Spec from GT2.
  5. Fast gameplay and tons of features turn what could be an ordinary churned out sequel into a new benchmark for anti-gravity racers.
  6. 85
    It is in many ways the best of the bunch, but somewhere along the line it has lost that cool edge that made the series so legendary.
  7. Fast, slick, pretty and still fun despite only being related to the original “WipeOut” series by name, “Fusion” is as good as off-line futuristic racing can feel and play on the PS2 right now.
  8. 90
    Although it doesn't break much new ground and the series' vibe has become more mainstream with age, Wipeout Fusion is simply an excellent, action packed racing game. [July 2002, p.73]
  9. 80
    This is without a doubt the single best looking and playing hovercraft racing game on any next generation platform.
  10. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    85
    Fusion's control, graphics and tracks are so spot-on that once mastered, weaving through the curves at supersonic speeds becomes second-nature. [June 2002, p.112]
  11. Play Magazine
    100
    A much deeper and more immersive racer. WipEout fusion less an exercise in memorization and precision than 3...A triumph, as expected. [June 2002, p.52]
  12. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    90
    It was worth the wait; this is every bit the Wipeout you've been waiting for. [June 2002, p.100]
  13. Taking hairpin turns and navigating loop-the-loops at 500 mph is Wipeout’s equivalent of a boring straightaway.
  14. GameNow
    91
    If you've never played this series before, Fusion will have you searching the bargain bins for the original PSone titles. [June 2002, p.62]

Awards & Rankings

#32 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
#34 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Gus
    Jan 7, 2005
    7
    This game is okay. the racing is fun and most of the weapons are cool (except the photon cannon) I HATE the music. Its like a really bland ripThis game is okay. the racing is fun and most of the weapons are cool (except the photon cannon) I HATE the music. Its like a really bland rip off of prodigy from the wipeout xl game. Also sometimes I'm really annoyed at a track instead of looking forward to doing it again. Full Review »
  2. Alex
    Nov 19, 2003
    8
    A good game with furious speed!
  3. AdrickR.
    May 6, 2003
    4
    While I will agree this is a good looking game while racing. It is filled with bugs and crappy load screens that aren't even While I will agree this is a good looking game while racing. It is filled with bugs and crappy load screens that aren't even entertaining. The music is pure class b trance garbage. Also the game centers WAY too much on the poorly designed weapons. I also notice no one mentioning the extremely poor two player mode which is such a let down. The game continued to slow down every time we played a track that had even the slightest bit of advanced graphics. All in all this had the potential to be the next Wipeout XL and did not even come close! I wish the original designers would step in and show these yahoos how to really make a hover racing game. Maybe we can glimmer some hope from the new HSX:hypersonic extreme series. Full Review »