• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE SmackDown! vs. Raw 2008 lets players take the fight into their own hands with the debut of Superstar Fighting Styles. The game features eight unique styles, each having its own strategy and exclusive attributes. A brand new Struggle Submission System gives players intuitive and natural control over their WWE Superstars by using the game's popular analog controls. Realism and strategy are at the forefront, as players now control the amount of pressure they apply to their opponents. In addition, WWE SmackDown! vs. Raw 2008 features a significant Extreme Championship Wrestling (ECW) presence, including a variety of Superstars, arenas and weapons. The game is also packed with significant updates requested by fans, including new rosters, more environmental hotspots, a combined Season and General Manager Mode experience, improved out-of-ring action, enhanced online community support and much more. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Everything else is pretty much the same as the PS3 version, though, sadly, the online play has been stripped out. [Dec 2007, p.73]
  2. As solid as ever but lacks next-gen dazzle and is inevitably weaker online. [Dec 2007, p.44]
  3. While some PS2 owners will be glad their old platform is getting some port-down love, the game just isn't getting any better from a graphical standpoint.
  4. A good rental for most and a decent buy for the super-hardcore wrestling fanatic, WWE Smackdown Vs. Raw 2008 doesn’t push the series forward. But with the next-gen consoles in full swing, it doesn’t seem like there is much room for the game to grow without jumping ship.
  5. However, considering how affordable the previous versions get when the new titles hit the shelves, you’re better off picking up one of those games and saving your money.
  6. 68
    The graphics are stale, single-player 24/7 Mode is a step backward for the series, the Create-A-Superstar and GM 24/7 are basically rehashes of last year's product, and the same complaints we've had for years -- awful AI, lame commentary, poor collision detection -- are still rampant.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    This is my first wrestling game so from what I've played, the game is alright. It's good in multi-player and the graphics are pretty much what I expected so for a wrestling game, it ticks all the boxes. Expand
  2. BryanM.
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    This years WWE game is great. the one big problem is the very small roster. I dont know who really cares about some of those people. I dont care if I have snicksy and yes I know I spelled his name wrong. I want some other person like the boggeman he is cool, and as for the legends they are almost the same as last years. why not put people like Hulk, Owen heart I mean hello the last time he was on a game was way back in the 64 days. also include chris B I know they just did that becasue of the bad things chris did but it was there fault to begen with. yes WWE forces their superstarts to use paformise drugs. why do you think vince was suced way back Hulk told the police what vince was doing and then hulk whent to WCW! thats what needs to be back WCW! I also think that this years GM mode is gay. 1st thing is it is almost imposible to beat the computer in it. 2nd we all know thats not how it really is. the graphics for the ps2 are what I expected. controls are great that is the one thing also gameplay that keeps me from trading this game in! next game better have the spinny US title that John Cena had I loved that titlle. also whats up ECW needs more titles! Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    While 2008 doesn't innovate the series in any way, fans will be more than enthralled with the new ECW roster to play with. Pros: Additional ECW roster; excellent graphics and controls; improved online play. Cons: Doesn't take a step back or forward since its predecessor; limited roster. Expand
  4. Locc0Locc0
    Nov 12, 2007
    6
    Dis game realli bites, expected so much, d graphics wer lookin great, at 1st, but wen u play a match or 24/7 mode, u can see how bad it is, worse even 2 svr 2007, n d gameplay controls get more complicatin evry year, except for d new submission hold, which is better than d butt0n mashing needed for past games, d onli high i can get from dis game is dere is always next year..... Expand
  5. HaydenE.
    Feb 1, 2008
    6
    WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008 game is awsome but it lacks in a lot of different ways.First im ganna start off by telling you the good things about WWE Smackdown vs Raw 2008. Good Things: 1.ok graphics i was expecting better but they where good unuff. 2.New Belts including the WCW belt. 3.The new Desighn in Exbedition Rocks! 4.Music 5.there is no five because thats all thats good. Know for the bad things..... 1.24/7 Mode is the worst you cant even play the ECW Charcters on it. 2.24/7 mode General Manger style is awful period. 3.Online Play is worser than 2007. 4.Hall of Famers that I Have never even herd of becieds a couple. 5.Small and I meen small Roster! So its a buyer but Next year i expect way more! Expand
  6. CzheckC.
    Mar 24, 2008
    0
    Are you kidding me? ive been a wrestling fan since 1997 and have bought every wrestling game. this is buy far the worst one i have played. No shelton benjamin. all tournment modes suck u cant pick whos in the king of the ring there are so many things that suck in this game it makes the 2006 smackdown vs raw look like the best wrestling game. if your a true wrestling fan and u dont care about all the smoke and mirrors about graphics id get fire pro wrestling returns i just got it its amazing. i hope they never make a smackdown vs raw game again unless they start over from scratch and have real legends. i had to throw this game in the trash it made me so mad no joke. Collapse