User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MiguelPaoloL.
    Mar 6, 2004
    10
    AMAZING!!! it gives fps a better look good gameplay and good storyline how great.
  2. DudeH.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    I thought this game was one of the best PS2 games made. I found the gameplay to be fun, and the visuals engaging enough to make me want to see what was next. The reason I give it a 10 is because it also had great online play.
  3. DarrenL.
    Oct 2, 2003
    10
    I have played a demo of the PC version of this. What struck me was the cell shaded graphics. It all looks a bit cartoony but it works well. All the effects are ace. When you hit someone or shoot them, speech bubbles appear a bit like Batman. Again sounds naff but really works. Playability was also spot on. Standard FPS controls are still used in game. The sound and music was also very I have played a demo of the PC version of this. What struck me was the cell shaded graphics. It all looks a bit cartoony but it works well. All the effects are ace. When you hit someone or shoot them, speech bubbles appear a bit like Batman. Again sounds naff but really works. Playability was also spot on. Standard FPS controls are still used in game. The sound and music was also very fitting for the type of game. Overall i would say excellent graphics, sound and playability and i can not wait to play the full version. This is a game to look out for. Expand
  4. StevenG.
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    My favourite game of all time.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I loved this game since it came stand I love the unique game play. There was one flaw in the game play. Though the deathmatch and team games are the same for ps2 and xbox. The flaw is that on the xbox you can select a character type before each round (assault sniper ect) and change.it during game play. On the ps2 that does.not.exist or I missed something. If I did let me know
  6. KyleK.
    Jan 25, 2004
    9
    I'm a fps fan as i love timesplitters 2 and red faction 2. I played x111 for ages and it is a really fun enjoyable game for something different. The weopons are cool. Loads of levels and good graphics grading it from a cartoon point of veiw. This game is sometimes repeadative but it makes up for the 34 story mode missions and the 21 multiplayers levels. Pretty cool game. As i said I'm a fps fan as i love timesplitters 2 and red faction 2. I played x111 for ages and it is a really fun enjoyable game for something different. The weopons are cool. Loads of levels and good graphics grading it from a cartoon point of veiw. This game is sometimes repeadative but it makes up for the 34 story mode missions and the 21 multiplayers levels. Pretty cool game. As i said it's something different. Expand
  7. MichaelR.
    Feb 14, 2009
    9
    This is by far one of my favorite first person shooters. XIII is a fun first person shooter that uses cell graphics shading technology simulating comic book or graphic novel imagery. The game has a well assembled story line intertwined throughout a suspenseful gameplay environment. In this game you play as agent XIII. Your aim: to uncover your identity and the truth as you dodge bullets This is by far one of my favorite first person shooters. XIII is a fun first person shooter that uses cell graphics shading technology simulating comic book or graphic novel imagery. The game has a well assembled story line intertwined throughout a suspenseful gameplay environment. In this game you play as agent XIII. Your aim: to uncover your identity and the truth as you dodge bullets and bad guys around every turn. Recently the movie XIII starring Stephen Dorff as Steve Rowland (XIII) was aired on national TV on the NBC network and is based on the game XIII. A well done live action version of the game. Very suspenseful and full of action just like the game. Expand
  8. EfeB.
    Jul 4, 2006
    9
    yeah this is one of those instant classics. usually for me, rag-doll effects is a MUST in FPS's...and realistic graphics...but this game is so elegantly put together that i dont even mind that. great story and cool levels, nice "comic book" style picture in picture pop ups and the fact that u can use normal items like ashtrays and whatever for weapons is a nice touch. if you have a yeah this is one of those instant classics. usually for me, rag-doll effects is a MUST in FPS's...and realistic graphics...but this game is so elegantly put together that i dont even mind that. great story and cool levels, nice "comic book" style picture in picture pop ups and the fact that u can use normal items like ashtrays and whatever for weapons is a nice touch. if you have a ps2 or any machine and havent played this game, you are missing out big. Expand
  9. WillJ.
    Dec 10, 2003
    8
    There have been a lot of criticisms of this game, and those might be very valid for people who are pretty jaded about the FPS genre. But as someone who puts more of a premium on story, style, and the sheer "did I enjoy it?" factor, I can only recommend this game. Reminded me of "No One Lives Forever".
  10. BrianB.
    Jul 19, 2005
    8
    It has a really cool look to it. The gameplay is fairly average for a FPS. It was fun, and had a good story, but I was actually more impressed with the Bond-esque bonus games like deathmatch and capture the flag. At a $7 used price, I'd recommend it in a second!

Awards & Rankings

91
90
#90 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
50
#50 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. For all the niggles, gripes and irritations, XIII is a class act that has some supremely impressive aspects that you will thoroughly enjoy. This is a game that delights and infuriates in turn and our advice is to ration your XIII sessions so the frustration doesn't ruin what remains a standout title.
  2. The more you play XIII the less you'll care about the gimmicky graphics, and the more you'll feel the drag of the "same old, same old" action.
  3. Problem is, the missions are largely cookie-cutter (do tasks like "destroy four generators without being spotted" sound familiar?) and lack the thrill found in similarly themed games, like "GoldenEye 007" (N64). Worse yet, your opponents are unbelievably excellent shots who almost never miss.