Ace Combat: Assault Horizon Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Climb back into the cockpit with another installment of the Ace Combat series.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Oct 29, 2011
    90
    Flight sim fans looking for more realism won't find it here, but if there was ever an argument for fun over reality, Assault Horizon is it. [Dec 2011, p.68]
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    86
    Overall, Ace Combat: Assault Horizon is an excellent diversion from most modern military shooters which take place, you know, on the ground.
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    83
    The first Ace Combat game on the PlayStation 3 does not disappoint. On the contrary, Namco Bandai delivers an incredibly satisfying game with an engaging storyline, a lot of variation and most of all: a huge amount of equally spectacular and accessible dogfights.
  4. Oct 11, 2011
    80
    It's a good all-around package, but I expect that it will sneak under the radar now that the fall release season is in full swing. It's a shame because the single-player is every bit the addictive sugar rush that Modern Warfare is, and it's handsomely produced to boot. It's the perfect palate cleanser for a game like Dark Souls, which is the diametric opposite in terms of mood and gameplay. After being lost in a dungeon for hours on end, sometimes you just want to jump into a jet fighter and blow stuff up for a while. And in that regard, Ace Combat fits the bill perfectly.
  5. Play UK
    Nov 18, 2011
    78
    For about an hour Ace Combat: Assault Horizon will feel like the most exciting game you've ever played. [Issue#211, p.90]
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    75
    Dogfights are exciting, the helicopters are interesting (though underdeveloped), and the real world setting and story ground the game in reality.
  7. Oct 11, 2011
    33
    Really the only thing Ace Combat has to offer that its predecessors don't is a couple of new flight modes and real world locations. This would be enough to recommend the game to die-hard fans, but the camera cut aways make the game a worse experience than its predecessors. If you want a good Ace Combat experience, you should play an earlier game in the series.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 33
  2. Negative: 11 out of 33
  1. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    While it can take some time for veterans of the series to adapt to the new "Dogfight Mode" the game overall has the stuff to take a place withWhile it can take some time for veterans of the series to adapt to the new "Dogfight Mode" the game overall has the stuff to take a place with the other great Ace Combats like Shattered Skies, The Unsung War, and The Belkan War. Now, yes the switch from the fictional universe of Strangereal to our very own Earth is a bit disappointing the story that is told is as wild and imaginative as any told in Strangereal. Mechanically the game is solid as a rock. The flight mechanics on planes are smooth and responsive and Dogfight Mode is surprisingly fun and useful. Things can get sticky when using an attack helicopter, but you don't use one often enough to get angry with it. The graphics are amazing. The planes look sleek and realistic and jaggies are far and few in between. Surprisingly the ground doesn't look like a low resolution composite image anymore, it actually looks realistic. The game has large amounts of replayability when it comes to 3 player co-op and 8v8 competitive multiplayer. Capital Conquest is a base defense game that requires a large amount of teamwork to win at. Overall while the game may have a few quirks, it is still the best Ace Combat game since The Belkan War Expand
  2. May 23, 2012
    10
    This game is not Ace Combat, it's a freaking COD clone with planes. Regenerating health on a plane? Seriously?! Everything has been dumbedThis game is not Ace Combat, it's a freaking COD clone with planes. Regenerating health on a plane? Seriously?! Everything has been dumbed down to a mini-game, and yet it's incredibly frustrating to play. I hated the rail shooting section, I hated the bomber section, I hate they force you to go into the godamn ASM mode for ground bombings. There are no fictional planes, no memorable aces, no enemy radio chatter, no mid-air refueling. If you liked the previous AC games, you'll hate this one. If you like COD or BF3, then you'll love this. Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I personally was (and still am) an ace combat fan. I love Ace Combat Assault horizon, and how it added a new mechanism to the game and itI personally was (and still am) an ace combat fan. I love Ace Combat Assault horizon, and how it added a new mechanism to the game and it promised everything it advertised. Only main problem with the game is that it's set in real locations. Previous Ace Combat games were set in their own parallel universe and what not. But that is about it, I would recommend this game to anyone who is new to this type of genre or who has been a fan for years since the first ace combat (A.K.A Air combat) had been released. Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    Being new to the series, i didn't know what to expect, was I happy with result? Yes, but not blown away. Although flying is something I love,Being new to the series, i didn't know what to expect, was I happy with result? Yes, but not blown away. Although flying is something I love, I find it hard to find any flight games that really stand out. Assault Horizon features nice graphics, fun and slightly challenging gameplay, and a variety of vehicles to fly. As well as flying the player can gun from such things as an ac130, however by now many games have used the plane and it's not quite as fun as it used to be. Story wise it's nothing spectacular, featuring respectable but not overly likeable.

    Overall a fun game that maintains challenge but doesn't stand out in the crowd.

    Good, not great.
    Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2011
    5
    The helicopter missions are a disaster and completely ruin the game as far as I'm concerned. The last thing you want to be doing in an AceThe helicopter missions are a disaster and completely ruin the game as far as I'm concerned. The last thing you want to be doing in an Ace Combat game is trying to control a clunky helicopter against tiny ground targets in missions that completely outstay their welcome. Worst still, there are turret sections where you are a door gunner. What place does that have in an Ace Combat title?

    The actual air-to-air combat is as great as ever, arguably better, the DFM system is excellent and keeps the adrenaline going but I'm sorry, I can't play another one of those awful helicopter missions and don't want to proceed any further in the campaign as a result.
    Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2015
    4
    I played Ace Combat 4 and 5 and this game was a HUGE disappointment. What happened to the epic story line? There is no Razgriz or StonehengeI played Ace Combat 4 and 5 and this game was a HUGE disappointment. What happened to the epic story line? There is no Razgriz or Stonehenge and no epic boss fights. What happened to AWACS? And the chatter of enemy and friendly planes on the radio? Dogfight mode was a feature that was cool at first but gets extremely repetitive after a dozen times or so. Did I mention that you are forced to use dogfight mode to take down bosses? That's right, you can't shoot them down with missiles. Campaign was bland and you won't remember any of it. I didn't care for the main character and just wanted to get it over it. Multiplayer is what saved this game from me giving it a lower score. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    1
    They Took away every thing that made the old ace combat games special. They added "airstrike" mode And "dogfight" modes wich Took away most ofThey Took away every thing that made the old ace combat games special. They added "airstrike" mode And "dogfight" modes wich Took away most of the challenge in the game. Terrible reboot. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews