Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    80
    Alien Breed offers fans much more than just a re-release. With an updated version of the game, online co-op, cross play between the PS3 and Vita and universal level and gun unlocks, players can enjoy the game in just about any way they want. If you’ve never played the game before it’s probably not the best use of your money, but fans will enjoy the ability to relive their memories while also creating new ones.
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    76
    Despite Alien Breed’s shortcomings, it still holds the charm of a bygone era. The new level packages, while not quite as extensive as the original Breed or its special edition release, provide more than enough content to justify the $10 PSN price tag.
  3. Aliens: Colonial Marines may not be what it should have been, but maybe you can still get some fun out of this 1991 Amiga-classic. Not that Alien Breed has anything to do with the Alien films or franchise. [March 2013, p.88]
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    70
    Simple as it may be, Alien Breed isn’t unenjoyable. It’s a bit easy and straightforward, sure, but it’s also a very good update of an Amiga classic. You run through corridors, shoot everything that moves, pick up all the goodies, then make a run for the exit to do it all over again. There’s no denying that Alien Breed is pretty mindless, but sometimes a bit of brain-dead xenomorph extermination is a nice way to kill an hour.
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    65
    Alien Breed is still funny and able to captivate fans of science fiction and shooter, but unfortunately this remake is missing the innovative verve of the series, and proves to be poor and mediocre.
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    62
    This old-time classic from Amiga comes to PlayStation 3 as a fulfilling remake that does not bring anything new to the table with respect to the original, but those who loved the classic arcade will enjoy it in co-op mode.
  7. Feb 27, 2013
    50
    Like I said before, unless you have some sort of undying affinity for this series, I recommend you steer clear. Seriously, there are plenty of other titles on the PlayStation Store worth your hard-earned cash.
User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    5
    Never played it when it originally came out, but I can see it hasn't aged well, even with the new graphics. It can be fun, I'll admit, but the coop servers are dead and I completed everything the game had for offer in less than three hours. Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    3
    Downloaded this when it first came out, PS Plus showed it as free, then charged my credit card. Already off to a great start. Normally I'm a pretty big fan of top down shooters, but the slow plodding pace that is supposed to simulate the Aliens films just doesn't work in this genre. Neither does item management. Look elsewhere in the genre if you want to have a good time. Full Review »