Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Mar 12, 2012
    90
    There's also a fantastic variety to the undead. [Apr 2012, p.87]
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    As much as I seem to be overloaded with the amount of zombie media out now, All Zombies Must Die!, really held my interest much longer than I thought it would. It's good old-fashioned enjoyable zombie slaying fun with plenty of humor to go around. Doublesix took their previous endeavor and made something even better by adding RPG elements.
  3. 80
    All Zombies Must Die provides an afternoon of fun creating weapons and shooting zombies, without the cliche of its genre.
  4. Jan 10, 2012
    75
    I don't regret the time I spent with All Zombies Must Die, but there isn't enough about the game that sets it apart from the myriad other titles like it on the digital marketplace. If you're looking for some decent Zombies Ate My Neighbors-style couch co-op action, you can do a lot worse for your $10. If you want a game that innovates on the twin-stick shooter genre in a meaningful way, however, I wouldn't look here.
  5. It's mainly gore-splattered fun. [March 2012, p.103]
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    70
    Even with the repetitive nature of All Zombies Must Die, the overall experience is fun. It's recommended for times when you need to play something with a few buddies. It's not earthshattering, nor will it change your opinion on zombie games or twin-stick shooters. But for the cheap entry fee, it will supply entertainment for you. Just take it steady like a zombie and play it in small spurts.
  7. Jan 23, 2012
    70
    Despite some good stabs at satire and humor, the overall experience of All Zombies Must Die! is uninspiring. A light crafting system adds a bit of variety, but we've all killed an awful lot of zombies by now.
  8. Jan 17, 2012
    70
    It might not reinvigorate the tired zombie arcade game formula, or push any boundaries, but it knows what it is. Think of it as Dead Island's simplified arcade cousin, but with a very different look to it. If that sounds like your thing, All Zombies Must Die! isn't likely to disappoint.
  9. We found the added button-press a bit cumbersome. [Jan 2012, p.87]
  10. Jan 23, 2012
    65
    I was disappointed with this game. Killing zombies with friends is a fun, if short, adventure, but highly repetitive gameplay makes the game stale. A great deal of backtracking and monotonous quests holds the game back even further. The nail in the coffin is no online multiplayer, because this game is just screaming to be played with friends over Xbox Live.
  11. Jan 3, 2012
    65
    Once you've taken your first quest from a gatekeeper and moved to the next area, you know what to expect for the rest of the game. That's not the worst thing in the world, but it's not the most exciting.
  12. Jan 25, 2012
    64
    It offers very little that hasn't been seen elsewhere. [Feb 2012, p.81]
  13. Yet another twin-stick shooter involving brainless, brain-eating monstrosities. All Zombies Must Die tries to change things up a bit by throwing in RPG-elements en co-op, which unfortunately you can only play locally. [February 2012, p.100]
  14. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    All Zombies Must Die! is cute and quirky in tone, and there's a lot to like about its self-referential narrative and bonkers arsenal of augmented weapons - radioactive sword anyone? - but the game's unwillingness to extend further on its own great concepts leaves the experience feeling a tad repetitive.
  15. Jan 12, 2012
    60
    There's some great design in here and the game is genuinely entertaining in short bursts, but its weaker aspects add up over time to produce an experience that's less satisfying than its best ideas deserve.
  16. Jan 4, 2012
    60
    There's no denying that All Zombies Must Die! has potential. The crafting idea is a good one, and with a few people round the gameplay is certainly enjoyable. However, the repetitive nature of the quests, frustrating single player experience and lack of online co-op really does drag the game down.
  17. Feb 10, 2012
    58
    Doublesix's All Zombies Must Die! has major problems that almost destroy what little good the game has going for it. The spiritual successor to Burn Zombie Burn, All Zombies Must Die! throws in story and dialogue just to say it did, and it doesn't hide it very well.
  18. Jan 12, 2012
    50
    What is unforgivable is that All Zombies Must Die! commits the ultimate video game sin by becoming boring. Much like the classic example of Castlevania II: Simon's Quest, (that's right, I went there) quantity must not come at the expense of quality or even a basic level of enjoyment. It's a real shame because with more variety and less padding AZMD could've been so much more.
  19. Jan 5, 2012
    50
    Mindlessly repetitive, the control is smooth but somewhat loose (standing and aiming is the best way to progress, which seems silly), and a quest system that is hardly inspired. It's just too frustrating and underwhelming to be considered for a purchase, in my opinion.
  20. Jan 20, 2012
    40
    Too bad, that the multiplayer offers no online mode. Playing it with a friend is almost fun.
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jan 5, 2012
    9
    Loved this game! not sure what all the fuss about no online is... I have mates who I see in person so it all makes sense to me :P Had a few of the boys round and we haven't laughed so much in ages! Spent most of the time killing each other rather then the zombies, but eventually got to killing them too. Really enjoyed the comedy in there too :-P Full Review »