User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 100
  2. Negative: 6 out of 100

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    A bizarre mish-mash of ideas that though well executed, never quite seem to fit together. However at the launch price of $30 it provides more entertainment than most $60 games.
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    7
    Let me just make this perfectly clear. I rarely ever play games online anymore. Not with all the **** that's been happening with online passes, server glitches, and account hacks (yeah, i'm looking at you Sony >: | ), and with the fact that most online games are bloody shooters, but i have been slowly getting back into interacting with other players with the games that are out. And, in theLet me just make this perfectly clear. I rarely ever play games online anymore. Not with all the **** that's been happening with online passes, server glitches, and account hacks (yeah, i'm looking at you Sony >: | ), and with the fact that most online games are bloody shooters, but i have been slowly getting back into interacting with other players with the games that are out. And, in the case of Anarchy Reigns, i can safely say this is one game that delivers with no strings attached (no online passes, and so far, no server glitches). The game itself is very simple in concept. 16 characters, all have a similar move set, but their pros and cons shine through their animations, their strengths, their flaws, and their kill strikes. Every character is deliciously over the top. Even the no-nonsense characters seem so campy that you can hardly take anything they say seriously. And with the tone of the game, that's just fine. The single player campaign, however has a few let downs. It is, as it stands, very repetitive, and actually quite short if you sit down and play it for a while. And the story is even less than weak. Play as Jack (from Madworld), or Leo (this games version of MGS2 Raiden), fight a bunch of dudes, fight characters as bosses, progress to the next stage. Sometimes a big-ass boss enemy kaiju or robot comes in to wreck your good day of won-ton destruction, but they end up being more of a speed bump rather than a "HOLY **** challenge. You might like the music if you're into Rap. I'm not, but the tone of the game and the way it's built seems to have the rap music fit nicely with it, so i can let it slide (much like how i can let slide the jazz/lounge music in Bayonetta) The setting is an average "post-aPUNKalyptic" hell hole filled with trash, fires, and broken roads, teeming with mutants and cyborgs galore. Seeing that can get repetitive after a while... though the Asian stage was rather neat, even though it couldn't decide on either being Chinese or Japanese. The real meat and potatoes come from the Multiplayer, though. Have you ever wanted to play a classic CTF game that WASN'T just in another shooter? How about a football clone? Massive 16 player brawls? Yes, yes, and more yes. Killing each other with the same number of players as an average Halo slayer match in more ways than just pointing a gun or bashing hammers is just awesome. Sometimes, the colors can seem a bit over-saturated, and can cause eye strain in the more chaotic battles, but that's kinda the price to pay when the chaos of it all is kind of the point. All in all, if you like online gaming, but are sick of shooters (even just a little), you'd have alot of fun with this, I assure you. And the best part? IT'S CHEAP TO BUY! You can pick it up new for $30, and that's not because it's been tossed in the bargain bin. It's because Sega did the smart thing and lowered the price of this game, passing the savings onto us. Pick it up, and have some fun. Let Anarchy Reign! Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2015
    6
    As a 3D brawler, it performs and delivers what I suppose people like about that genre. It added to my enjoyment that one of two characters in the 5-hour campaign played a lot like Raiden from Metal Gear Rising. Oh, and Bayonetta is in the multiplayer game.

    One huge downside is that I rarely found any matches online, and the dozen game modes were 100% inactive compared to standard
    As a 3D brawler, it performs and delivers what I suppose people like about that genre. It added to my enjoyment that one of two characters in the 5-hour campaign played a lot like Raiden from Metal Gear Rising. Oh, and Bayonetta is in the multiplayer game.

    One huge downside is that I rarely found any matches online, and the dozen game modes were 100% inactive compared to standard deathmatch brawl. If fans of Platinum Games could organize a period of more activity, the gameplay is a setup for classic Platinum action taken online.

    As for qualities in the single player campaign, the most striking feature was the plasticky toy-like designs of characters and vehicles. Cars and helicopters and mechs in particular were quite the show.
    Expand
  4. Jan 8, 2013
    7
    Not as good as Madworld,but has good characters,a serious story,and a good bunch of action. Only problem is the gameplay might be awkward at some times and the ending a little dissapointing,but overall,its a great game,go buy it!
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    5
    There's a little bit too much Anarchy in Anarchy Reigns online multiplayer. Free for all brawls against other players are too chaotic and frustrating to enjoy. The single player mode fare's better. A very simple but addictive combat system makes for plenty of button mashing fun. Unfortunately the small levels feel empty and it's not long before you've seen everything the game has to offer.There's a little bit too much Anarchy in Anarchy Reigns online multiplayer. Free for all brawls against other players are too chaotic and frustrating to enjoy. The single player mode fare's better. A very simple but addictive combat system makes for plenty of button mashing fun. Unfortunately the small levels feel empty and it's not long before you've seen everything the game has to offer. The game remains fun for a single play through but there's little incentive to sit through it's forgettable, long winded cut scenes for a second time. Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    7
    This game just oozes style and over the top action. Its what a lot of games have been missing. SImple fun. Where when you play, you just have this big smile on your face. The games controls are great and are simple yet have a lot of depth. There's a great amount of characters to choose from along with a lot of arenas and game modes. The story always seems like its going somewhere butThis game just oozes style and over the top action. Its what a lot of games have been missing. SImple fun. Where when you play, you just have this big smile on your face. The games controls are great and are simple yet have a lot of depth. There's a great amount of characters to choose from along with a lot of arenas and game modes. The story always seems like its going somewhere but ultimately never delivers. The universe is pretty well thought out though. The enemies and anarchy theme is really well done. The voice acting is top notch. The cinematics are vey well done and beautiful. The soundtrack is awesome and one of my favorites. The art style is awesome as well. It's Pure escapism fun. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    0
    Single player story is nothing special, but a riot to play through. I enjoyed the unique play style that hasn't been shown in any campaign for a while, even though it is quite short. The only mission that are repetitive are the first free missions, requiring you to kill enemies. However, the combat is so satisfying that it really never gets old. Plus, the game has very well-done cutscenes,Single player story is nothing special, but a riot to play through. I enjoyed the unique play style that hasn't been shown in any campaign for a while, even though it is quite short. The only mission that are repetitive are the first free missions, requiring you to kill enemies. However, the combat is so satisfying that it really never gets old. Plus, the game has very well-done cutscenes, and achieves in making Oinkie the most annoying character ever.

    Multiplayer is extremely chaotic, fun. Pick-up-and-play friendly, but not when it's online. You're gonna need to know how to play well to get good.

    Also, $30. Perfect value at that price.
    Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Mar 20, 2013
    70
    A good multiplayer beat 'em up action combat video game with a solid ground and a tutorial campaign for lone gamers. However, all of its colourful characters you may use to smash your faces up in a great number of multiplayer modes are lacking the most important thing - gamers themselves.
  2. Feb 25, 2013
    70
    The single-player game is entertaining enough and full of replayability but the structure and narrative suggest it was an afterthought when the idea of a multiplayer only title, or the challenge of learning the game in an online arena, was deigned unreasonable.
  3. Feb 13, 2013
    70
    Anarchy Reigns is one of the cheesiest games in recent years. It’s limburger, gouda, mozzarella and various other assorted dairy products rolled up into one package of lactating violence and rap songs that will leave your head spinning and your thumbs broken. But if you happen to take a bite of that cheddar, you might just fall in love with it.