Army of Two: The 40th Day Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When a disaster of epic proportions strikes Shanghai, China, Rios and Salem find themselves right in the middle of it all - the wrong place, the wrong time, but the right team. A carefully orchestrated series of mysterious catastrophes is dragging Shanghai to the brink of ruin, and now theWhen a disaster of epic proportions strikes Shanghai, China, Rios and Salem find themselves right in the middle of it all - the wrong place, the wrong time, but the right team. A carefully orchestrated series of mysterious catastrophes is dragging Shanghai to the brink of ruin, and now the Army of Two must fight their way through ravaged city districts as they try to beat the odds and uncover the secret of the 40th Day. ARMY OF TWO: THE 40th DAY features a bigger playbook of new co-op moves that either player can use at any time, opening up new strategies and countless choices for both players. The result is a bigger, better, more organic and immersive co-op experience that lets gamers put their best two-man tactics to use whenever and wherever they want. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. The feature-rich, action-packed gameplay—co-op and solo—is a blast, but it’s the explosive presentation, that literally sees Shanghai falling to flaming pieces all around you, that steals the show and will have you watching your—and your buddy’s—back.
  2. 85
    A disaster movie in a game package, Army of Two: The 40th Day capitalizes on its co-op play to deliver an awesome action experience that's incredibly fun to play. Co-op moments feel more natural.
  3. A solid, not groundbreaking, action experience for its fans. If you like to shoot stuff, and your friend does too, you've got a winner.
  4. It has some issues that at this point in a generation are pretty much unforgivable, but if you are willing to look past them, you’ll find there’s a decent cooperative shooter there.
  5. Army of Two: The 40th Day doesn’t hide that it's all about the cooperative game mode. But for a purely cooperative game, it is quite low on content. The other game modes might be decent, but have been done better by other games many times before. Army of Two: The 40th Day could have been the ultimate cooperative game, but failed because it wanted to be everything else as well.
  6. It's still dumb but a lot tighter and more fun than the original. Just make sure you play it in co-op, okay? [Mar 2010, p.74]
  7. Pass on this title and save your money for the better games coming out this year. There will be no lack of them.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    Just did a play through on a very used copy. Totally enjoyable. I am a third-person fan and this is fun, only downside is short length.Just did a play through on a very used copy. Totally enjoyable. I am a third-person fan and this is fun, only downside is short length. Characters are awesome, great weapons, totally enjoyed it. No super frustrating points and great saves. Just fun! Expand
  2. May 5, 2012
    9
    It took me a long time to realize, but this game is better than average. In fact, I think it can compete with any of the Gears of War games.It took me a long time to realize, but this game is better than average. In fact, I think it can compete with any of the Gears of War games. There is great gameplay, with quite a bit of strategy required. Collapse
  3. Sep 18, 2011
    9
    this is hands down the best game out there if you want to play with a friend or you have a sibling that you fight with about who gets to play.this is hands down the best game out there if you want to play with a friend or you have a sibling that you fight with about who gets to play. ill start off by saying that you must play this game with someone else or you wont enjoy it as much because your partner in single player is pretty stupid. this game has so much replay value since it also has online mode as well my only problem with the online is that you cant play split screen on that as well. the story doesnt really pull you in and the characters you meet are forgettable but it has good graphics amazing sounds and enough people to shoot at that you will play it over and over again as well you can invite a friend through playstation network and you can play the campaign and online with them. if you have a sibling or a friend to play this with then this game is a must have especially since the price has dropped down to below 20$ Expand
  4. MattR
    Jan 25, 2010
    8
    This was an excellent game. I didn't care much at all for the story and the only problem I had with the game was I had connection This was an excellent game. I didn't care much at all for the story and the only problem I had with the game was I had connection problems with a friend and it took almost forever to join after restarting our Internet. So a solid 8; two points taken off, one for story, the other for the connection issues. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    7
    Jut fished this lovely game. I in general love action third person games like gears of war. This game has a lot of positive vibe in it self.Jut fished this lovely game. I in general love action third person games like gears of war. This game has a lot of positive vibe in it self. A lot of pure action, where your partner and you cooperate to eradicate the enemies ( by the way , I don't know who those enemies are , only that there are a lot of them and that they wore red. I think there are five or six types of enemies. Cooperation with your partner is actually very functional, and i like how the aggro system function. I played alone, but my AI companion was smart i can say.
    About the story, i know nothing,(some guys in red attacks Shanghai and two of us are trying to extract our selves and during the course we killed all invading force:).
    But what matters to me regarding this game is very fluid action, functional cooperation with partner ( off course weapon modification system is great). Level designs can vary but all in all i found sometimes atmosphere very enjoyable and immersing.
    Graphics are very good and very fluid.
    This game is not excellent it lacks personality , maybe a little short, but it was very fun an enjoyable experience.
    Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2010
    6
    The thing about Army of Two: The 40th Day is that it is reliant too much on the original game. That is to say that it relies way too much onThe thing about Army of Two: The 40th Day is that it is reliant too much on the original game. That is to say that it relies way too much on the co-op feature and because of this throws everything else out of the window. The story isn't the best and could have been so much more considering that it is an extension of the original. The visuals are inconsistent as sometimes they are really good and other times can become dull and poor. If you are itching for a co-op game to play with a friend then this is a good choice (As there are not many "serious" co-op games out there) but be warned that this game carries a lot of negatives that can ruin your experience by becoming frustrating. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2014
    4
    Army of Two 40th Day
    Game-play:Not very different than the first game but very mediocre
    Story:Really bad story and very short about 4 to 5
    Army of Two 40th Day
    Game-play:Not very different than the first game but very mediocre
    Story:Really bad story and very short about 4 to 5 hours
    Graphics:Their is no change from the first game very average
    Notes:The weapons and their attachments are great i really like them also the masks are good too.Level design is poor.The game is much better with a partner.
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews