User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 81
  2. Negative: 22 out of 81

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    6
    Knowing the first two games I can tell you this: you NEED to play this game with a friend on the couch. That's the only way any three Army of two game is worth playing.
    That being said, this third one has improved on some things. It's made to play in short bursts. Missions are around 20 minutes long (not including retries off course) which is a good thing when playing with a friend. The
    other most noticeable thing about this game is the destrutable enviroments. Your cover gets shot the whole time.
    Now for the bad: the controls are not very intuïtive but they are do-able, the game gets repetitive pretty fast, the buying off weapons and the balance is pretty stupid (the last guns you unlock are not good at all and the you can just complete the whole game easily with the first standard weapons, gold color is the last thing you unlock, I actually didn't even unlock that color even though we completed the game on the hardest difficulty), lots of bugs (for example: when a car explodes beside an ememy he dies, when it explodes besides you, not much happens)...

    En yet, despite all off this I still recommend to play this with a friend in short bursts because there aren't a lot off alternatives for it and it's still a fun game.
    Expand
  2. May 1, 2013
    8
    Say whatever you want: Army of Two TDC is a solid 3rd person shooter and a more mature, evolved entry in the franchise. Honestly? I think this is the best one so far. I loved the first AoT, thought the 40th day was a bit boring (though it did bring some new features) but the Devil`s Cartel, in my opinion, is more polished and committed to the sole purpose of being a game all about testosterone: irrelevant story and the chance to blow s**t sky high. The "Overkill" feature is a awesome and I really like that they brought 2 new heroes, Alpha and Bravo, to replace Rios and Salem (who do appear in the game, by the way). In the end, although a bit generic and not bringing anything new to the table, the franchise keeps its soul and stands out as a game that is always a blast to play, either solo or with a friend. Totally recommend it. Expand
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    4
    I may have gone on about how I dislike like shooting games; with the exception of Transformers Fall of Cybertron, so why am I here talking about this? Well because my step dad keeps trying to find co-op player games, and this one couldn't scream it any louder. We started playing, then I saw the EA logo and started to worry. I've always heard that EA was a bad company, I honestly don't know why, but I am not saying they're good either. The game the released however is just, Meh. That sums up this whole thing: Meh. The graphics are really uninteresting, the gameplay can be either okay or annoying, and the story & characters are completely boring. I probably could get more out of call of duty than this, and that's saying something. I think) Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2013
    4
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel sort of continues the story of Salem and Rios but you do not play as the bruiting duo. Instead you play as the new protagonists, Alpha and Bravo, who are not as interesting or fun as the original two. The story has you run through Mexico shooting gang members, blowing up cars, and destroying cartels. The campaign has a descent story but is your typical summer blockbuster affair. The game play has improved slightly over its predecessor, the cover mechanics are better and also the shooting is more refined. The graphics have also have been improved but the environments themselves are bland and drab. Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel does not do anything new so if you are a fan of the series you will be right at home. But if you were expecting something new, you will be disappointed. Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2014
    6
    Army of Two:The Devil's Cartel
    Game-play:Basic 3rd person shooter with very good co-op I really enjoy.Smoother and faster game-play than the other 2 games
    Story:Average story but as you continue the story becomes more interesting.The length of the game is about 7 to 8 hours
    Graphics:Ok graphics nothing special
    Notes:Very good level design with destructible areas in the game,fun game
    specially if you play with a friend, but the weapon are disappointing. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    6
    okay the graphics arent great your doing the same every time but the action is awesome as the shooting is cool yes that is what you wound from a shooter ride you can upgrade your weapons that is a litle small but how you can custumase your mask is cool even for men that hate shopping or somthing the story is pretty only in every missions some won inportent dieds afteral its a cool game not that good looking but pretty fun Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    great game, graphics, destructible areas, awesome design 4 lvls, like a methlab n grow warehouse, realistic explosions decent campaign lenght 8hours, i'd give it 8,5 but since some are giving it low, i think it deeserves a lil high, most important this game is fun
  8. Mar 31, 2013
    3
    A better title for this game would've been Army of Two: Gun Collector, because customizing your weapons is about the only fun you'll have with this game. The graphics are pretty dull looking, even for a military shooter, there's also something just off about the sound in this game. The story seems slapped together just to make another buck off the franchise and having to be online all the time to play for a crummy shooter like this is terrible. Army of Two has always been bottom rung, but this time it just fell off the ladder. Expand
  9. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    The game seems slightly underrated to me. Apart form the fact that it relies solely on its 6-10 hour campaign, it has a good amount of action, destruction and fair plot with funny dialogue. While some cliches are at it in The Devil's Cartel, without any, you'd be playing a strange game. I understand that it's not the type that critics or some users like because of it's action, it's really what most shooter games center on. What some games excel at, others beat them in different categories. Expand
  10. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    i'm amazed how the current so called reviewers hited a new low. they list a serious of cons and then axe the score but at same time with the same con but in another shooters we know they give perfect scores. double standards and hypocrisy at best! is not the best shooter and it never wanted to be a call of duty or battlefield. this is a shooter made for you and a friend only and have a a good time with some jokes and explosions. this is a game that makes you feel good and have a great time, resuming this is a game that understands what games are made for!! if you dont buy this game because of the reviews then you're missing out a great game. Expand
  11. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Good example DO NOT TRUST REVIEWS !
    This game is a total blast in coop, offline splitscreen and online. Best FUN i had in years in a coop game.
    The gameplay is great, with an excellent and smooth cover system. The melee kills are brutal, and every weapon has a great powerfull feeling. Weapons customisation is a blast.
    The graphics are good, except some models have quite few polygons...
    BUT the whole enviroment is destructible, adding an extra layer to strategy and to the gameplay. Effects are great, with big explosion.
    The game is action loaded and BRUTAL, limbs coming off and guts coming out enemies !
    This game is meant to be played with a real buddy, and also my rating is related to that.
    it looses half of the fun if you played it alone.
    Collapse
  12. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    I give this game a 9 only because of it's couch co-op play. There isn't too many couch co-ops that exist like they did back in the old days. I like how you can work together as a two man army and give cover fire for reach other. I think the graphics are great, the story is full of excitement kinda like watching a crazy action movie. The ability to customize your guns, armour, and mask are a huge plus and make your characters unique. If you have a buddy, a family member, or a friend who you would like to hang out with and play an awesome game together, then you must buy this game! If you are solo and want the online option, it may or may not be worth the money. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2013
    8
    I'm really hating the amount of hate this game is getting. The gameplay in this one is by far the best its been in the whole trilogy. Although I was a little sad to see Salem and Rios go Alpha and Bravo are just as fun to play as. My favorite part is the villian El Diablo. I was shocked when I was revealed who El Diablo was and I think everyone who plays this game will feel the same way. Now I think this game combines the customizing from the 40th day with the general feel of the first Army of Two. The gameplay in this game is solid; sliding from cover to cover and popping up to shoot some enemies heads is more fun than either of the first 2 games were. This game i think is underrated and I think you should at least rent Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel. Expand
  14. Mar 26, 2013
    4
    Decent story, great graphics and excellent gameplay make Army of two The Devil's Cartel a experience that you don't want to miss. The customization aspect is better than ever with a lot of weapons and masks that you can personalize any way you want. The story is simple our new protagonists Alpha and Bravo are in a fictitious city in Mexico named La Puerta the objective remove The Cartels from the city. The story can sometimes become bland and boring but the new characters can definitely be enjoyable and welcomed, sadly the game can get repetitive at times but it never becomes a game breaking issue. The co-op is excellent by taking different paths and covering your friend from a top building to just decide to rescue or leave someone it just adds more replayability to the game. In conclusion Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is a great game that delivers a fun and interesting experience at times if your not a fan of the franchise or just not love that much third person shooter games you should wait for a price drop. Expand
  15. Mar 28, 2013
    2
    Good fun but very similar to the previous Army of two. The graphic doesn't look like it's from the Frostbite 2. The graphic is not bad but far from what would be expected especially since it's from the frostbite 2 engine. Gameplay is fun but gets repetitive too quickly. It's best to play the campaign in coop mode and shoot things up with your friends. The story is too predictable and gets really boring. Army of two could really do with a reich story and the experience would be very different. The customisation n the game though is great. There many many choices you can customise on your weapons and the customisation is a good experience. Overall the performance of this game is disappointing and not what i have expected. I expected a lot more of AoT devil's cartel but it is a let down. The recommendation is to buy the game when it gets cheap or on sale. Rental is also a good option. This games is NOT worth it's retail price and I highly recommend NOT to buy it until it get cheaper. If you want a solid and fun third person shooter experience there are a lot of choices both older games and new games. Expand
  16. Jun 25, 2014
    8
    The graphics are good
    The weapon customization is still there
    Story's good even if the endings a bit obvious
    Had one glitch at the end took 3 try's before it fixed itself
    All in all fun game alone or with friends
  17. Mar 29, 2013
    8
    Army of Two the Devil's Cartel is a solid entry to the series. It has the most refined control scheme and is more polished than the previous entries. The Frostbite 2 engine looks spectacular and its insanely fun to completely destroy cover and buildings, the destruction on display is phenomenal and showcases the intensity of the action. That being said it doesn't deserve all the negative reviews I've been reading. I rated this an 8 based on my single player experience, I'm willing to bet co op would bump it up a notch. The story is nothing special, and I do miss Salem and Rios as the playable duo, but Alpha and Bravo get the job done and have potential to become interesting characters. Another disappointment is the lack of optional objectives to earn bonus cash and the true co op moments are few and far between. However the game still looks pretty, plays great, and has an addicting customizable armory that will keep you playing to unlock your favorite guns and attachments. Overall it's a fun experience lacking in some important ways, But what the game does right is amazing. Expand
  18. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Greatest game in the poop ppwodspodpsodspdospopdospopfopfopfodpfopfodpfospfosdpfosdpofspdfosdpfosdpfosdpfospdofpdofspofpdofpdofpdsofpdsofpsdofpdopfospofp just making chartes
  19. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    Hi guys, love some of the negative comments about this game, I wonder have some reviewers lost touch with the gamers, ok this is not a spectacular game and the graphics are average at best, however, there is no denying that this is a fun game to play (love the overkill mode) and the weapons, clothing customisation is really cool, bring along a mate and you will have good fun, the story line is ok, a bit weak at times but does that matter when its good enough you want to finish it? I give this a game a 7 or 8, but I decided on a 10 because some of the negative reviews.....a 3?? come on lads Expand
  20. Mar 28, 2013
    1
    EA is at it again. This game requires that you sign in to Origin before you are allowed to play it. If you have lousy internet you will not be able to play this mediocre title, so maybe that's actually a good thing (unless you already paid for the damn thing). Gameplay is always linear; AI is watered down, even on the hardest difficulty. The only way to enjoy this game is with a friend and while you both are intoxicated. Otherwise the game is unchallenging, unimagintive, and the repetitive. Oh and did I mention the story was written by a 12 year old. Skip this one and invest the money you save on a worthier title. Expand
  21. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    A really fun game for one or two walkthroughs with a friend. Story is really nothing to write about, somewhat like any generic hollywood blockbuster movie about good guys shooting tons of bad guys. It's a shame, as if the story was anything like Spec Ops: The Line, this game would really be great. The sounds are somewhat lacking, you don't really feel most of the guns kicking, anything else about sound is nothing really to write about as well. Graphics are quite decent, not as enjoable as Uncharted 3 could pull off on ps3, but well... It's on par with most of multi platform games coming out. The real fun beings with gameplay. Lots of the surroundings is destructible, the enemies can be ripped apart, in overkill mode you have infinite health, infinite bullets, and enemies disappear in red clouds with occasional limbs flying out. It is indeed fun game for two players, especially considering there aren't that many coop games coming out. Expand
  22. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    Nice cutscenes, nice action. I enjoyed. It's just a TPS u cannot wait something extra ordinary. Enjoy shooting and decide u like the story or not. Frostbite 2 is a plus.
  23. Sep 6, 2014
    6
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel это шутер от третьего лица вышедший в марте прошлого года на консолях PlayStation 3 и Xbox 360. Данная игра является третьей во франшизе Army of Two. к сожалению с прошлыми проектами этой серии я не знаком, но судя по тому что пишут в интернете они были довольно не плохими играми, с не плохим сюжетом, бодреньким геймплеем и весьма типичными но обладающими своей харизмой персонажами Риосом и Салемом которые были главными героями на протяжении первых двух частей.
    Devil's Cartel, представляет нам совершенно иных протеганистов, под кодовыми именами альфа и браво. Именно им под нашим контролем предстоит противостоять мексиканскому картелю .
    Рассматривая главных героев и местный сюжет стоит лишь сказать что оба этих пункта были удачно слиты Electronic Arts. Протегонисты представляют из себя типичных персонажей которых вы видели в любом шутере. Если приводить пример то мне они напомнили Севченко и Веласкеса из Killzone 3. Сюжет так же не блещет орегинальностью и какой бы то ни было глубиной. Это весьма стандартная история о злых ребятах которые украли важную шишку и только наши бравые и бесстрашные парни смогут им противостоять. Но заеженый сюжет и плоские персонажи не единственные проблемы данной игры. Первый час пройдет без каких либо интерессных ситуаций и вцелом будет давольно скучным. И только после первой миссии будет заметно разнообразее в геймплее игры, в основном это всем знакомые пострелушки со стоционарного пулемета или аналог погонь из sleeping dogs где нам предстоит изтреблять вражеские мошины под сретством пробивания шин или награждая хедшотом водителя.и кстати именно в этой части игры нас столкнут с первым боссом если его так можно назвать знакомьтесь бронивик…иии это еще не верх неорегинальности разработчиков в игре так же присутствует босс вертолет, и что уж тут говорить главный антегонист игры по прозвещу эль диабло будет вести с вами бой стоя на бронивике вооружившись все тем же треклятым стоционарным пулеметом. В случае с другими перестрелками в игре все слегка не однозначно. Враги как и в большинстве нынешних шутеров берут не тактическим подходом как в том же Halo а тупо колличеством. Врагов выбрасывают на вас пачками, они появляются у вас за спиной, за углами и прямо перед вами. Испровляют эту ситуацию два преятных факта, первый из них это кооперативный режим который сводит уровень боли к минимуму, ну и играть с живым напарником гораздо весилее, учитывая еще тот факт что игра поддерживает функцию сплит скрин которая позволяет играть за одним телевизором чтоо не может не радовать… так же добавит фана к прохождению оверкилл иначе говоря режим берсерка. Который позволяет тебе выносить врагов с большей эффективностью а так же оброщать в пыль укрытие и другие объекты местного интерьера. Да разрушаемость в этой игре впечатляет как и ее картинка за которую отвечал движек Frostbite 2. Говоря о шутере нельзя не упомянуть оружие с каторым тут так же все в порядке есть драбовики, винтовки, пулеметы, и пистолеты на любой вкус так же полкуй уровень в Army of Two условно поделен на 4-5 частей по окончанию каждой части вы получаете деньги на которые сможете прикупить новые пушки открываемые по ходу игры а так же на маски и экипировку. Локации же в этой игре не то что бы пестрят разнообразиями в основном это не чем не примечательные улицы либо огромные здания…мне лично запомнилась миссия в фавеллах, ну уж очень она мне напомнила уровень из последнего Макс Пэйна. И тот участок игры где нашим героям нужно выбраться из плена выглядит и играется очень атмосферно.
    Подводя итоги выше сказанному, я не могу назвать Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel полность провальной игрой. Да местами она давольно скучна, парой демонстрирует заеженные геймпленые приемы сюжет у нее не первой свежести, и парочка багов но разрушаемость не плохая картинка оверкил кооператив и скромная продолжительность 6-7 часов подтверждают ее права на существование…моя оценка этой игре 6.5 из 10.
    Expand
  24. Oct 8, 2014
    8
    Best game of the 3 in my opinion,decent length,great co-op & the overkill is done well,better than the back to back overkill from the previous Army of twos.
  25. Apr 2, 2013
    0
    Good example DO NOT TRUST REVIEWS !
    This game is a total blast in coop, offline splitscreen and online. Best FUN i had in years in a coop game.
    The gameplay is great, with an excellent and smooth cover system. The melee kills are brutal, and every weapon has a great powerfull feeling. Weapons customisation is a blast.
    The graphics are good, except some models have quite few polygons...
    BUT the whole enviroment is destructible, adding an extra layer to strategy and to the gameplay. Effects are great, with big explosion.
    The game is action loaded and BRUTAL, limbs coming off and guts coming out enemies !
    This game is meant to be played with a real buddy, and also my rating is related to that.
    it looses half of the fun if you played it alone.
    Collapse
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27
  1. Not every game (or player) needs a riveting story, sometimes some fun gameplay is all it (and the player) needs. Unfortunately nobody told Visceral en EA that. The Devil's Cartel is nothing more than “Duck, Shoot and Reload”, until the end of times. [May 2013, p.80]
  2. May 27, 2013
    44
    A humdrum shooter that runs on unabashed machismo and is completely devoid of imagination. [Issue#231, p.68]
  3. Sometimes ugly, often stupid and always unoriginal, but it still does 'shooting men with guns' well enough to be fun. [June 2013, p.100]