Assassin's Creed II PlayStation 3

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1257 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Assassin's Creed 2 is an example of how to improve on pretty much everything from the first iteration (Assassin's Creed). The game looks excellent and the design is still as impeccable as the original game. The game-play mirrors the original greatly and this is not a bad thing. The audio design is top notch as you feel that you really are in these events that are taking place. The story isAssassin's Creed 2 is an example of how to improve on pretty much everything from the first iteration (Assassin's Creed). The game looks excellent and the design is still as impeccable as the original game. The game-play mirrors the original greatly and this is not a bad thing. The audio design is top notch as you feel that you really are in these events that are taking place. The story is quite engrossing and is bolstered by side quests that actually relate back to the main storyline. If you found yourself finding that the original was a little repetitive but enjoyed the story then you will love the sequel as it retains the strong story elements and makes the game a lot more varied and interesting. Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2010
    9
    This game is just so much fun and it is so beautiful to look at, each area is rendered in amazing detail, so it's a real joy just wandering (or leaping and climbing) around the fully realised cities of Italy. I wasn't expecting it to be so much of a 'sandbox' style environment, you can just roam around for hours. I'm really taking my time with it and doing all the side missions, all theThis game is just so much fun and it is so beautiful to look at, each area is rendered in amazing detail, so it's a real joy just wandering (or leaping and climbing) around the fully realised cities of Italy. I wasn't expecting it to be so much of a 'sandbox' style environment, you can just roam around for hours. I'm really taking my time with it and doing all the side missions, all the extra bits and pieces will give you a huge amount of game-time. I am fairly new to this era of gaming, but I have swiftly become a huge fan of this game and am very excited about continuing the story. The story is really engrossing and even the NPC's are endearing characters. An Assassin's whole raison d'être is to kill people, so I'm not certain what people who have said its repetitive were expecting, even so there are quite a few other bits to do. It has taken up a large part of my life since I bought it at the beginning of August. Epic, enjoyable and even educational. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    I could go on for hours in terms of how Assassin's Creed II improves and expands upon it's predecessor in terms of gameplay, combat, visuals, and overall presentation. All of these elements have been perfected and make Assassin's Creed II one of the best games in the open world genre. What makes Assassin's Creed II the king, however, is it's narrative, which introduces one of the mostI could go on for hours in terms of how Assassin's Creed II improves and expands upon it's predecessor in terms of gameplay, combat, visuals, and overall presentation. All of these elements have been perfected and make Assassin's Creed II one of the best games in the open world genre. What makes Assassin's Creed II the king, however, is it's narrative, which introduces one of the most likable characters in videogame history and brings the player on an emotional journey as he transforms from a boy into an Assassin both in the past and present. It's emotional, thrilling, and breathtaking. One of the industry's best games. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    I had days and days of fun with this game, for those who love the free roaming games like me, you are going to have a lot of fun jumping from building, diving into the river and jumping into enemies from hiding, it takes a while to get used to the controls but it's not impossible. Beautiful backgrounds, sounds and voice acting. AI could been better and story it's hard to follow since youI had days and days of fun with this game, for those who love the free roaming games like me, you are going to have a lot of fun jumping from building, diving into the river and jumping into enemies from hiding, it takes a while to get used to the controls but it's not impossible. Beautiful backgrounds, sounds and voice acting. AI could been better and story it's hard to follow since you have the natural flow of the game plus two or three parallel stories to follow. Expand
  5. [anonymous]
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Manages to improve on the original. This game is great from the sandbox gameplay, to the conspiracy stories.
  6. KaelemB
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Perfect, it had enough similarities to hold onto what made AC 1 great and enough changes to make it still more interesting but didn't deviate to much from the original formulae :)
  7. JakD
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    ACII Exceeds the first game in every way. Great graphics, great music, divers gameplay and an awesome setting. This is what Assassin's Creed needed to be!
  8. MarcosL
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Amazing...incredible... thank you for have the oportunity to trip to Italy with my xbox360.
  9. SillyT
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    While the prequel was boring in many aspects, part 2 is on a whole different level and is indeed a perfect gaming experience. Should be Game of the year 2009. Sadly, it probably won't due to mediocre games hyped by the industry, as always.
  10. Blade2
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    Don't let the AC1 fool you. AC2 is different in many ways. Lot of effort has gone into making the cities in the game. A must have/play-and-sell.
  11. HarrisonD
    Jan 22, 2010
    8
    Like marmite, you love it or you hate it. I loved it, i loved it so much that i got platinum. and i love it still.
  12. RallenS.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    This is an improvement on the original in every single way, and a game of great proportions. AAA grade title!
  13. JosephK
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    an amazing game!! After being dissapointed by the first game, I was apprehensive about this but seriously everything in AC2 has been polished and perfected with all the crap cut out from the first title. Graphics, gameplay and plot all get a 10 and dont even start me on longetivity, its an RPGers dream. Pretty much if you liked the first game you'll go bonkes for this and if u hated an amazing game!! After being dissapointed by the first game, I was apprehensive about this but seriously everything in AC2 has been polished and perfected with all the crap cut out from the first title. Graphics, gameplay and plot all get a 10 and dont even start me on longetivity, its an RPGers dream. Pretty much if you liked the first game you'll go bonkes for this and if u hated the first game, kinda like me, you'll still love it, buy it!! Expand
  14. MarkW
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Assassin's 2 is EVERYTHING I had hoped the first game was going to be from the initial vids. The first game was a huge disappointment. Thankfully Ubisoft et al have heeded the criticisms and come back with an accomplished sequel.
  15. EvanB
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    I was a pretty big fan of AC1, and was very hyped for this sequel, and I must say, it delivers. It's the best Action/Adventure game I've ever played. Assassinations feel a lot better than they did in AC1, free-running flows very well, the quests are more than just 'Pickpocket this guy, now kill your target'. I'm also glad that there's shops! In AC1 I really I was a pretty big fan of AC1, and was very hyped for this sequel, and I must say, it delivers. It's the best Action/Adventure game I've ever played. Assassinations feel a lot better than they did in AC1, free-running flows very well, the quests are more than just 'Pickpocket this guy, now kill your target'. I'm also glad that there's shops! In AC1 I really sometimes got bored of my same old sword. AC2 has a great frame-rate as well, not to mention an interesting story. Right now it's my GOTY candidate. The only thing I have against AC2 is sometimes free-running can get a bit buggy, but this only happened to me maybe twice so far, so I still feel fine giving it a 10. Expand
  16. Kgg
    Dec 9, 2009
    10
    They took all the things you were complaining about with the first one, fixed it... and made everything that was good, better and more varied
  17. EliV
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Fantastic game. It is hard for me to find any other game in recent memory that continually kept me wanting more, throughout the entire game. I rate games based on 4 main categories: Graphics, Gameplay, Extras, Overall Enjoyability. I am an EXTREME critic of these concepts of games, and give a thorough rating on each category. This is the first and only game that I have given a perfect 10. Fantastic game. It is hard for me to find any other game in recent memory that continually kept me wanting more, throughout the entire game. I rate games based on 4 main categories: Graphics, Gameplay, Extras, Overall Enjoyability. I am an EXTREME critic of these concepts of games, and give a thorough rating on each category. This is the first and only game that I have given a perfect 10. I can rebut each and every argument that anyone has toward slandering this game, including main complaints about the control scheme and the lack of multiplayer. The control scheme is difficult to use only to those who do not take advantage of the training ring located outside of Ezio's villa. Any problem you have with the controls can be learned by practicing your combat and your movement skills there. As for multiplayer, the game can be played by one's self, or with a friend or family member. I found it extremely enjoyable to decode the puzzles from the glyphs with my wife, who HATES video games. It has everything a game should have. Action, adventure, gore, sex, violence, suspense, conspiracy and history, while combining all of these concepts into a true masterpiece. Fantastically done. Perfect 10. Expand
  18. dannyf
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    This game was the greatest game I have ever played in my entire life. everything about assassins creed II stands out from the crowd. the game play is intense, the characters are quite intriguing and the mix of history with fiction gives the game a "da Vinci Code" feeling. Highly Recommended
  19. MiKE
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    Great game! intresting, amazing graphics, great gameplay. Tooke me a 3 week adventure to finish the game. excellent!
  20. MOCD
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    A brilliant game. As critics have pointed out, it improves over the original in every way and there's nothing conceivably wrong with it beyond a few odd glitches (I find it disproportionately difficult to pick up objects like corpses and boxes sometimes, with the contextual O button easily distracted and often doing something different to what it says), and the graphics, which, while A brilliant game. As critics have pointed out, it improves over the original in every way and there's nothing conceivably wrong with it beyond a few odd glitches (I find it disproportionately difficult to pick up objects like corpses and boxes sometimes, with the contextual O button easily distracted and often doing something different to what it says), and the graphics, which, while amazing, seem to be odd and tacked on during the present day sections - Lucy's face looks like a stretched low resolution jpeg, and she's one of the first things you see in the game. Beyond these tiny flaws, the game is unbelievably good, being addictive and having a clear narrative far from the contorted original. I strongly believe this to be one of the best videogames released in this generation and very much look forward to the next in the series with baited breath. Expand
  21. BobbyR
    Nov 27, 2009
    9
    I find it funny that people either love this game or love to hate this game. I can see some respects of both, it's not the perfect game, but it is NOT worth a 2 rating unless someone was looking for a shooter and stumbled on this thinking "wait this isn't halo?WTF, i'm giving this a 2!" It's easy to overlook some flaws in the game such as minor glitches that will see I find it funny that people either love this game or love to hate this game. I can see some respects of both, it's not the perfect game, but it is NOT worth a 2 rating unless someone was looking for a shooter and stumbled on this thinking "wait this isn't halo?WTF, i'm giving this a 2!" It's easy to overlook some flaws in the game such as minor glitches that will see your character get stuck on a wall, but the overall look, feel and story to the game is incredible. Compared to the first game, this is better, there is an actual plot to this story other than politics. The AI may not be the best, but compared to other games, this is far better. One reviewed said that the crowd didn't react to the character falling out of the sky... well this is a game and not every little aspect can be taken into account, especially with the depth this game has. Anyways I think this game is one of the best games I have played in a while, incorporating all the right features for a spectacular adventure. Expand
  22. CiaranH
    Nov 28, 2009
    10
    I was a little concerned about this game after all the hype that proceeded it but thankfully I had nothing to worry about. The story runs smoothly and even if you decide to wander off and do some of the side missions you are never too far away from the action. The fight scenes do sometimes feel a little choreographed but the variety of extra things to do in the game mean that you soon I was a little concerned about this game after all the hype that proceeded it but thankfully I had nothing to worry about. The story runs smoothly and even if you decide to wander off and do some of the side missions you are never too far away from the action. The fight scenes do sometimes feel a little choreographed but the variety of extra things to do in the game mean that you soon forget about that. A nice addition to the game is UPLAY, a trophy style system introduced by Ubisoft that allows you to "buy" extra things for your game (like extra throwing knives, an Altaïr costume and an exclusive map that lets you explore the Auditore family crypt as well as getting you a nice wad of cash) once you have achieved certain conditions in game. It adds to the trophies that you also get from the game by giving you a tangible reward. I would recommend this game to everyone as it improves on the previous incarnation and allows you to become immersed in the story and the environment. Expand
  23. RafaelShekarchi
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    It is a BRILLIANT game with a good story and amazing graphics. But it does take a little while before you get used to the controls because there are so many!!! But it is a really good game and you should get it for PS3 of Xbox360 (i played both).
  24. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    This game was almost infinitely better than the first, it combines a more rpg element with classic adventure gameplay. I beat it in a little under a week but it has a pretty solid replay value. The story is interesting and helps keep you motivated to continue playing although i thought the end of the game story wise was a bit disappointing. Where the first game was very linear andThis game was almost infinitely better than the first, it combines a more rpg element with classic adventure gameplay. I beat it in a little under a week but it has a pretty solid replay value. The story is interesting and helps keep you motivated to continue playing although i thought the end of the game story wise was a bit disappointing. Where the first game was very linear and repetitive this game improves giving you new abilities and a variety of missions definitely worth playing at the very least a rental. Expand
  25. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Most of us means, that a sequel to a game is not as good as the first one, or even bad... But I think that Assassin's Creed 2 is a HUGE upgrade from the first game (which sucked). The minigames makes the game extremely long and varied, the fights works alot better, the weapons are awesome, it's cool that Leonardo Da Vinci is in the game etc. I could continue with the good things! The onlyMost of us means, that a sequel to a game is not as good as the first one, or even bad... But I think that Assassin's Creed 2 is a HUGE upgrade from the first game (which sucked). The minigames makes the game extremely long and varied, the fights works alot better, the weapons are awesome, it's cool that Leonardo Da Vinci is in the game etc. I could continue with the good things! The only bad thing about the came is, that the free-run still needs some work. So I'll give it 9/10. Expand
  26. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    Bought this game on sale 9 months after release - 12,99 eur complete edition. First I tried to play but just couldn't go on 'cause game sucked heavily. Later on I gave it a second go and got addicted. With over 50 hours of game-play and platinum trophy unlocked (yey!) that was money well spent. And I got refunded amount of 19,99 euros in trade for LBP 2.
  27. May 26, 2011
    9
    AC2 shows some true beauty in this generation. The fact you can get a game like this, with a lot of AAA greatness oozing from in for $30 bucks or less. Probably for less than dinner out with your favorite dining companion you can enjoy over 30 hours of gameplay if you dig into AC2 as your next meal. That's how I came across AC2. I despised the first game, which was more or less a tryout ofAC2 shows some true beauty in this generation. The fact you can get a game like this, with a lot of AAA greatness oozing from in for $30 bucks or less. Probably for less than dinner out with your favorite dining companion you can enjoy over 30 hours of gameplay if you dig into AC2 as your next meal. That's how I came across AC2. I despised the first game, which was more or less a tryout of next-gen hardware at the time. The original featured a bland story, somewhat disappointing graphics despite being lauded, and worst of all repetitive game design. The latter is something I think developers battle in any game. Every game has repetition, and every game has certain confines limited by it's own design. Life itself has repetition, but for some reason it's something we want disguised in the form of "fun" when it comes to gaming. Super Mario Bros. on the NES had tremendous amounts of repetition and it's still fun to run through all the familiar levels. No one really complained upon it's release or ever, that the levels are all basically built around the same premise. Personally for this meta-reviewer, games like GTAIV do a poor job of this and I find myself yawning as I strain to finish the same errand missions over and over. AC2 manages to make it feel as if the player is stumbling upon more than just the plot. The discoverable items in the game just kind of fall into your way without much effort. If you want to 100% the game, however, it's going to/ take some serious dedication. The main point here is that none of the scavenging is really required nor does it detract from the meat of the game. Something I hope they expand in the future (I haven't played Brotherhood) is the village monetary system. It was the one thing I searched out during my play through. Every item you purchase including weapons, clothes, paintings, and other collectibles all translate into improvements for your home villa. It's a fun way to express historically, how traded technology and wares would equate to value for parts of the world engaged in trading. The more you trade/buy at other locations the more income you'll receive. Soon Ezio is in the mint receiving some fat pay checks after every 20 minutes of the game clock goes by. This in turn frees you up to scour the world for treasure or just let it be and wait until pay day. The narrative itself is the driving force of this game. Things start off slow explaining the background of the Aldetorre family, Italian culture, and a bit of history. The latter of which takes more of a forefront than it ever did before. Using the "animus" matrix style jack in and time travel method of the first game Ezio is fed knowledge on historical landmarks, people, and dynasties from a team of people in the "real" world. The interface is very well done, and blends easily into the game. While linear, the narrative takes you from place to place with ease and has you exploring the tourist spots of Italy centuries ago; Venice, Rome, Florence... And they're all done with believable style and form, so much so you feel as if you're actually trekking around a replica of historic Italy. The brisk story and colorful characters draw you in with solid acting and one mission to the next. It never gets stale or repetitive, even doing similar tasks you never feel like you're forced to cover the exact same ground all the time. As the first game suffered from a lack of polish, AC2 stands greater than the sum of its parts.Everything comes together here in a package worth far more than today's asking price. If you skipped Assassin's Creed II like I did when it first came out, you can now visit Italy for less than the price of dinner. Expand
  28. Jul 29, 2011
    8
    this game is absoulutly breath taking it has amazing graphics an interesting story line which is also pretty long as well. after playing this game it made me want to go outside and just start climbing stuff the way ezio does and this game is also a great way to learn about italian history if you read the facts that they have collected. the only problem i had with this game was i usuallythis game is absoulutly breath taking it has amazing graphics an interesting story line which is also pretty long as well. after playing this game it made me want to go outside and just start climbing stuff the way ezio does and this game is also a great way to learn about italian history if you read the facts that they have collected. the only problem i had with this game was i usually got frustrated with the fact that often times when i want ezio to do something he would do something compleatly different or try to climb or jump off of something in the wrong direction especially in the tombs but other than that the game is simply amazing Expand
  29. Jun 28, 2011
    9
    After picking this game up for a ridiculous price I couldn't believe i'd forgotten just how spectacular Assassin's Creed 2 is. The first game was an interesting and in many ways inspiring idea but ultimately a huge disapointment and initially I can recall avoiding this game, how stupid was I? Everything that was lacklustrous and poor about the original is simply non-existent in thisAfter picking this game up for a ridiculous price I couldn't believe i'd forgotten just how spectacular Assassin's Creed 2 is. The first game was an interesting and in many ways inspiring idea but ultimately a huge disapointment and initially I can recall avoiding this game, how stupid was I? Everything that was lacklustrous and poor about the original is simply non-existent in this successor. Gameplay is so much smoother and has a much more natural feel to things. The simplicity in this game just wasn't what it was its predecessor, its more flowing and much less frustrating. Also, the variety on offer compared to the first outing is superb! Theres much more to do and so much things to explore and theres new toold and weapons to keep you satisfied it is truely remarkable how much of an improvement this game is. The storyline is the game sees you switch from Altair to Ezio, an Assassin this time however the game is set in Italy. The game follows Ezio Auditore de Firenze who seeks revenge on all those who have betrayed him and his family however he soon uncovers that his families deaths are part of a much larger conspiracy. Ezio's journey will take you to several different locations in Renaissance Italy and you even get to know Leonardo da Vinci! But the storyline isn't all you can do, theres side missions including assassin contracts and races. Yes at times its reptitive but the majority of games fall victim to that but even so its not so reptitive it becomes dull and boring! Visually the game looks great, its not the best on offer but that is irrelevant in all honesty! Theres no multiplayer with AC2 but there really is no need. Not every game requires online to be a success and AC2 is certainly in that category. The bottom line is at the price this game is selling for for those who haven't yet played it you really ought to do yourself a favour and buy it! Its possibly the most improved game Ive ever played because the AC franchise came back bigger, bolder and better, a hell of a lot better, so much so that now the Assassins Creed franchise is up their with the best and rightly so! One of the best games of recent times make no mistake AC2 is a game you should play. Expand
  30. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    this is such an amazing game that even after playing for more than 40 hours you would be hard pressed to put down the controller because of its addicting nature. Completing different quests never get old and the majesty of being an Assassin keeps the fun going.
  31. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    The fuss is right. ACII delivers! Set in several beautiful Italian cities during Renessaince, it features a rich boy Ezio that's popular with the ladies and leads a great life. The story slowly but surely expands, and as it does, you get more and more sucked into it. It's a nearly perfect game - the difficulty is right, there are a lot of things to do, and the only problem is when AC stopsThe fuss is right. ACII delivers! Set in several beautiful Italian cities during Renessaince, it features a rich boy Ezio that's popular with the ladies and leads a great life. The story slowly but surely expands, and as it does, you get more and more sucked into it. It's a nearly perfect game - the difficulty is right, there are a lot of things to do, and the only problem is when AC stops being AC and tries to be Tomb Raider: running around caves, setting off contraptions, having limited time to jump through hoops in order to get to hidden door. That feels a bit unoriginal, especially to those who have played all those Tomb Raiders through the 90s... But as soon as you get to run on the rooftops again, and the weather is changing above your head, and you hear city life down below, it's all good, and that's a world worth spending time in. Expand
  32. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    The first Assassins Creed was pretty impressive, with great ideas and concepts which were ruined by the repetitiveness , however Ubisoft found a way of making the gameplay much more varied, and definitely more exciting. This is a true sequel with around 18 hours of singleplayer and tons of sidemissions and diversions. One of the best games of 2009.
  33. May 15, 2014
    10
    Often considered the best of the series, and it's easy to see why. An extremely deep and well-developed game with huge levels with variety and many hours of game-play and things to uncover. Many hidden things with great reward, amazing story and fun narrative.

    The Italian-culture is well explored with beautiful scenery and history embedded into the game. The plot reveals are jaw
    Often considered the best of the series, and it's easy to see why. An extremely deep and well-developed game with huge levels with variety and many hours of game-play and things to uncover. Many hidden things with great reward, amazing story and fun narrative.

    The Italian-culture is well explored with beautiful scenery and history embedded into the game.
    The plot reveals are jaw dropping at times and unlike many other open-world games with exploitative levels, solving the extra puzzles and searching in hard-to-reach places, dramatically extends the plot and adds a real sense of challenge.

    The biggest flaw with this game is the same as the previous game, the over-arching story with Desmond's capture is not explored well, and it treated purely as a plot device to launch you into the time-frame of the game.

    At least the first game forced you of of the Animus to interact and learn about the capture and the reasoning. This game just throws you into the Animus, and there's really no need to ever come out of it, and the game will not force you out until the game's basically over. While this allows you to explore and live as Ezio, it means your connection to Desmond thins, and really ceases to be important until the end.
    Expand
  34. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    after playing the first one I wasn't expecting much, but knew this one got some good reviews and knew there had to have been a reason. I started playing and this one really took of. But unlike the first one that after taking off landed rather quickly this one continued to fly. I more involved in the story, I enjoyed the characters and finding different object in the map to completeafter playing the first one I wasn't expecting much, but knew this one got some good reviews and knew there had to have been a reason. I started playing and this one really took of. But unlike the first one that after taking off landed rather quickly this one continued to fly. I more involved in the story, I enjoyed the characters and finding different object in the map to complete different objectives. I enjoyed the cities and thought that this game corrected everything and really pushed the open world game forward. I loved the combat as I enjoyed it in the first game and am looking forward to playing the next one in the series. Expand
  35. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    With It's outstanding gameplay, exiting story and flawless body animations, Assassin's Creed 2 is one of the most exiting gaming experience ever. This game is a terrific historic video-game that will grow on you. What Assassin's Creed 2 needs is a better AI. Like, when guards are on water, they die immediately. And the creators could work more in cinematic animations, Still, this game is aWith It's outstanding gameplay, exiting story and flawless body animations, Assassin's Creed 2 is one of the most exiting gaming experience ever. This game is a terrific historic video-game that will grow on you. What Assassin's Creed 2 needs is a better AI. Like, when guards are on water, they die immediately. And the creators could work more in cinematic animations, Still, this game is a must have. 93 out of 100. Expand
  36. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    Assassin's Creed II brings alot more to the table compared to it's predecessor.

    It improves on any aspects of the game that were bringing down the first game, including getting rid of it's linear and repetitive questline. This brings more meaning and a much better and stronger story and main questline. All other aspects from the previous game still remain and there's tons more stuff
    Assassin's Creed II brings alot more to the table compared to it's predecessor.

    It improves on any aspects of the game that were bringing down the first game, including getting rid of it's linear and repetitive questline. This brings more meaning and a much better and stronger story and main questline.

    All other aspects from the previous game still remain and there's tons more stuff you can do whilst free-roaming.

    Overall, it's a great open world adventure game that can keep you entertained for quite some time.
    Expand
  37. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    Assassin’s Creed II. Good Points:
    ● The addition of new gameplay elements such as, swimming, driving boat, so etcetera... ●Combat, it has improved a lot than its predecessor, having more variety like picking an enemy's weapon from the floor and use it, or dodge an enemy attacks and with counter-attacks you don't have to be so precise in the moment you do it. Variety in the missions, you
    Assassin’s Creed II. Good Points:
    ● The addition of new gameplay elements such as, swimming, driving boat, so etcetera... ●Combat, it has improved a lot than its predecessor, having more variety like picking an enemy's weapon from the floor and use it, or dodge an enemy attacks and with counter-attacks you don't have to be so precise in the moment you do it. Variety in the missions, you don't have to only kill your target in this game, it changes a lot. You maybe have to follow him, or wait until the exact moment to kill him, or maybe pursue him/she. The Length and quality of the campaign, it is a long game and not linear so you always want to know what comes next. The character, Ezio Auditore da Firenze. He's very likeable, he's a strong and bad-ass when he wants, but he also has his soft side. The recreation of The Rinascita of Italy. Side missions and objectives, which were not present in the previous game. Such as races with the horse, or doing parkour. Assassinating different objectives and collecting different objects for rewards in the game, or trophies. Graphics. Variety of weapons and wide inventory.
    BAD POINTS:
    ● Still can't get with the horse into the city. Present day didn't improve, it's still VERY boring. Stealth is okay, but many would prefer a face to face battle.
    Final score:
    Assassin's Creed II is an amazing game which accomplished almost all the things the previous wanted to do, but there are a lot of things that can be improved but they're not very important. Average Score: 9.4
    Expand
  38. May 3, 2013
    9
    AC II is the best game of the entire Assassin's Creed franchise and an example of improvement from the first game. The characters have an amazing personality and Ezio in very well put in the story it doesn't looks like he was forced in to the story. The story is just amazing and the best part is visiting this amazing cities of Italy. The game play is very fluid and easy to handle. TheAC II is the best game of the entire Assassin's Creed franchise and an example of improvement from the first game. The characters have an amazing personality and Ezio in very well put in the story it doesn't looks like he was forced in to the story. The story is just amazing and the best part is visiting this amazing cities of Italy. The game play is very fluid and easy to handle. The combat system is brilliant both armed and unarmed. It has some glitches but nothing special. Expand
  39. Apr 11, 2016
    8
    This game is just so much fun and it is so beautiful to look at, each area is rendered in amazing detail, so it's a real joy just wandering (or leaping and climbing) around the fully realised cities of Italy. I wasn't expecting it to be so much of a 'sandbox' style environment, you can just
  40. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Definitely the best game in the series, it took all the good things from the first game and perfected them. Many new features were also added such as random non-story related quests and challenges throughout cities and rural areas. The classic Assassin's Creed combination of real historic figures and fiction also works great. I would recommend this game to anyone. You'll get a fair shareDefinitely the best game in the series, it took all the good things from the first game and perfected them. Many new features were also added such as random non-story related quests and challenges throughout cities and rural areas. The classic Assassin's Creed combination of real historic figures and fiction also works great. I would recommend this game to anyone. You'll get a fair share of fast action, conspiracies, slowly progressing story elements, or whatever else you might like. This game truly has it all. Expand
  41. Apr 5, 2014
    10
    Beautiful. Simply beautiful. Having just moved from PS2 when first played it, it served me the best welcome to the (then) new generation. The graphics are superb, the game play is fun especially when you come down on targets with your twin blades and the cool blade sound is cued. Venice and Florence were the best looking cities but the Assassin's home-town was sort of pointless. Overall, 11/10
  42. May 12, 2014
    8
    Released in 2009 and developed by Ubisoft Montreal, Assassin’s Creed II is a unique and compelling adventure through renaissance Italy, placing the protagonist at the front lines of history in a way that no game has ever done prior. It expands on the foundation laid down by its predecessor, improving on many different mechanics while remaining faithful to the formula. In this way,Released in 2009 and developed by Ubisoft Montreal, Assassin’s Creed II is a unique and compelling adventure through renaissance Italy, placing the protagonist at the front lines of history in a way that no game has ever done prior. It expands on the foundation laid down by its predecessor, improving on many different mechanics while remaining faithful to the formula. In this way, Assassin’s Creed II signifies what makes a true sequel, and does it exceptionally well. It certainly has a few loose wires in its system, but nothing that keeps it from being a wonderful experience that should not be missed.

    Assassin’s Creed II is an inspiring success as a sequel, improving and expanding on nearly every aspect and mechanic of the first game, and adding plenty of new and meaningful features into a wonderful mix. It does this with an excellent story with plenty of characters, a good economic system, improved gameplay, a good amount of worthy optional-missions, fantastic cities and atmosphere, and a superb soundtrack. It does have some snags, such as slightly repetitious assassinations, some poorly designed side-activities, and combat that has remained clunky. But fortunately, the experience is not overwhelmingly hindered by those blights. Assassin’s Creed II is one of the most inspiring game experiences of its time, and Ezios quest for vengeance is one that you will not regret taking part in.

    The Positive
    __________
    + Splendid story with plenty of characters
    + Various new and useful features and improvements
    + Most of the side missions are gratifying
    + Ambient cities and atmosphere
    + Superb soundtrack

    The Negative
    ____________
    - Somewhat repetitious assassinations
    - Some side-activities are poorly designed
    Expand
  43. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 9.5 (rounded up to 10).

    The second Assassin's Creed is where the series really hit its stride, evolving into something that could be churned out on an annual cycle. However, with a character like Ezio Auditore Da Firenze, this really isn't a bad thing (my username was inspired by him). The plot picks up right where the first left off, with an entertaining escape from the Abstergo base. As soon as you get into the Animus 2.0, there is a feeling that this game will feel completely different in tone to the last- and that isn't just because of some pretty new visuals.

    As soon as we meet Ezio, he oozes charisma. The first level is standard tutorial, but you instantly fall in love with the characters. When Ezio finds out his dad's dark secret, things pick up like they never did in the first game. When Ezio watches his father and brothers die, I had a tear in my eye. This is a story of revenge, but the writing, pacing and action is so perfect that it doesn't feel cliched or predictable at all.

    The gameplay has been rightfully improved, with better parkour and free running mechanics and more refined combat, with better, bigger enemy types. The multiple new weapons are badarse, with the double hidden blades being standout combat options. The new economy and money systems are in their early stages of design, but are refined enough to be enjoyable. Once again, there is plenty to do. The open world of Italy is larger than the original's Holy Land and is immaculately detailed. The graphics are spectacular. While the animation and character work is still brilliant, the city steals the show with sweeping architecture and multiple landmarks that are done justice in the Anvil engine. The soundtrack and acting is top notch and the controls fit like a glove.

    If there is one downside to the game, it lacks a substantial amount of innovation. Combat still isn't as great as it could be and the stealth is slowly deteriorating. But, you will rarely care. With an excellent (if a little drawn out plot) and entertaining historical events, this is an almost perfect sequel to what was an iconic new IP for Ubisoft.
    Expand
  44. Sep 19, 2014
    9
    Assassin's Creed II is near perfection; honestly. The only bad thing is the murky graphics, but that's the only problem. The game has a brilliant story, brilliant combat, brilliant open world and brilliant voice acting. There truly is a wealth of content here; assassin contracts to discovering The Truth, it will keep you entertained for hours on end. the story behind it is amazing, withAssassin's Creed II is near perfection; honestly. The only bad thing is the murky graphics, but that's the only problem. The game has a brilliant story, brilliant combat, brilliant open world and brilliant voice acting. There truly is a wealth of content here; assassin contracts to discovering The Truth, it will keep you entertained for hours on end. the story behind it is amazing, with fascinating, engaging and heart-wrenching scenes. I can sincerely promise you that you will never forget this game. I certainly did. Expand
  45. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Better than it's predecessor in every single way; tighter story, likeable protagonist, better locations and combat, and focuses on what the Assassin's Creed franchise should be about.
  46. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Assassin's Creed II
    Game-play:A big improvement from the first game.Great faster climbing better combat system,and some stealth options that the first game lucked.
    Story:A great story that it will hold you about 14 hours full of great characters that matter to the story both friends or enemies Graphics:Very good graphics.The game looks amazing Notes:It's very easy,it has a lot of
    Assassin's Creed II
    Game-play:A big improvement from the first game.Great faster climbing better combat system,and some stealth options that the first game lucked.
    Story:A great story that it will hold you about 14 hours full of great characters that matter to the story both friends or enemies
    Graphics:Very good graphics.The game looks amazing
    Notes:It's very easy,it has a lot of weapons and outfits,the cites that you visit in Italy are awesome,a masterpiece that everyone who whats to called gamer must have it
    Expand
  47. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    Assassin's Creed 2 is a true sequel. It brilliantly expands on everything featured in the original and adds so much more. Everything is improved and refined in this game. The difficulty level is elevated, making for a more challenging experience for veterans.

    The story is epic, bringing so much action and intrigue to what would be a boring recount of historical events. The gameplay
    Assassin's Creed 2 is a true sequel. It brilliantly expands on everything featured in the original and adds so much more. Everything is improved and refined in this game. The difficulty level is elevated, making for a more challenging experience for veterans.

    The story is epic, bringing so much action and intrigue to what would be a boring recount of historical events. The gameplay retains the core elements of the original, but is more dynamic. Combat is more fun this time around by having the ablility to counter with all weapons, the resulting counter-kill sequences more varied and interesting.

    There is more on offer in the vast open world: More collectibles, more areas and more upgrades, all of which contribute to many hours of exploring an excellent recreation of Renaissance Italy.

    The iconic feature of the game: Double hidden blades!!!

    This is truly one of the best games on PS3 and a must have for fans of Assassin's Creed.
    Expand
  48. Jan 14, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The second entry in the AC franchise was a successful sequel, and a better game then the first in many ways.

    First of all.....cutscenes. These gave more life to the game. The story was far more developed then AC1. Introducing new cities to explore, rooftops to climb and Templars to stab. The graphics have also been updated and the bright Italian city's looked phenomenal. The voice acting of Ezio, for the most part, flawless.
    The missions where varied, the characters had a better background than the ones described in AC1.

    Assassins creed 2 is a great sequel to AC and one of the best games ever imo. Compelling story, great set of characters, unforgettable soundtrack, and better graphics.
    Expand
  49. Dec 6, 2015
    10
    ótimo jogo, foi o melhor jogo que eu joguei do ps3, ótima trilha sonora, ótima história e boa jogabilidade além de ter sido um dos melhores assassin's creed já feito.
  50. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    I can't say I wasn't surprised at what Assassin's Creed II offered after its relatively drab and repetitive predecessor. This game is definitely better than it in almost every way you can think of. The main protagonist Ezio is no doubt much more charming than Altair (who was quite frankly boring) and repetitiveness is no longer a problem. To me the best part of the game was its RenaissanceI can't say I wasn't surprised at what Assassin's Creed II offered after its relatively drab and repetitive predecessor. This game is definitely better than it in almost every way you can think of. The main protagonist Ezio is no doubt much more charming than Altair (who was quite frankly boring) and repetitiveness is no longer a problem. To me the best part of the game was its Renaissance setting. It's very inviting and adds a touch of history to the series. It's easily a must have. Expand
  51. Apr 9, 2016
    10
    Really sets the mark for the series. Great game for the series it starts the popularity and completely over turned the original's disappointing performance but this is a great game should be played by everyone. 100/100
  52. Jun 21, 2016
    10
    This game was my first of the Assassin's Creed series and what a game it was. Absolutely amazing game. The wonderfully expressed story; the charming and memorable characters; the awe-inspiring musical compositions by Jesper Kyd that rippled in the background; the excellent graphics and brilliant gameplay made this an absolute PS3 classic. Even gamers who didn't enjoy this game cannot denyThis game was my first of the Assassin's Creed series and what a game it was. Absolutely amazing game. The wonderfully expressed story; the charming and memorable characters; the awe-inspiring musical compositions by Jesper Kyd that rippled in the background; the excellent graphics and brilliant gameplay made this an absolute PS3 classic. Even gamers who didn't enjoy this game cannot deny the huge, ubiquitous influence it had on the rest of the gaming community at the time and rightfully so. This game was a diamond, a true masterpiece and one that I absolutely will come back to when I'm in the mood for a good old dose of nostalgia. Expand
  53. Oct 31, 2016
    10
    The first Assassin's Creed was a great start to a great new franchise, and its sequel improves on the first game in every single aspect.

    Gone is the repetitive seek and kill mission structure of the original game, introducing a flowing and dynamic story structure that allows for even greater variety and letting you carry out your missions in any way you want. The setting of Renaissance
    The first Assassin's Creed was a great start to a great new franchise, and its sequel improves on the first game in every single aspect.

    Gone is the repetitive seek and kill mission structure of the original game, introducing a flowing and dynamic story structure that allows for even greater variety and letting you carry out your missions in any way you want. The setting of Renaissance Italy is absolutely beautiful, being one of my favorite video game settings ever (though the actual cities do feel a bit small), and the musical talents of Jesper Kyd is used to the fullest to bring this wonderful setting to life with a soundtrack that is one of my favorites from any game.

    Somehow, the story of Assassin's Creed II has managed to surpass its predecessor, feeling even more involved and amazingly presented. The story makes you feel for the characters involved, and though it's of course another quest for revenge against those who wronged you, a story done approximately a billion times before, it's quickly supported by the feeling that you're involved in things much larger than your own story. The Assassin's vs Templars narrative is woven well into the story, as you discover conspiracy and treachery, in the end finding your revenge, but also new purpose as you realize just what is at stake.

    The gameplay is almost the exact same as the previous game, but with some new features that make the gameplay more varied and give you an extra edge. New assassination techniques are available, such as the ledge assassination, hiding spot assassination, and my favorite, the air assassination, the most satisfying way to take down a target in the series. In addition to new weapons and equipment, such as multiple melee weapons, smoke bombs a friggin gun, you are supplied with two hidden blades later on in the game for double the assassinating power, allowing you to take down two enemies at once, and for the more lethal assassin, they can be used in open combat and their counter moves are always instant kills, even for the biggest and baddest enemies in the game (if you can nail the very small counter window they have).

    More freedom to use your new skills is also appreciated, with the open-ended level and mission design allowing for creativity in your missions. Perhaps you'll follow your target from the roof, or maybe you'll follow them using a group of courtesans to distract guards, and once you're there, will you drop down from the roof in the middle of the circle of guards to take them out, or will you use a smoke bomb to cover yourself during your kill and your escape?

    A new economy feature feels more involved, as well, allowing you to purchase new weapons and armor, or even change the color of your assassin garb. Maces, spears, daggers, swords, and axes are all available to use in combat, providing great variety to settle violent disputes.

    Assassin's Creed II is a prime example of what a sequel should be, improving on the previous game in every way and adding new additions that feel right at home. The game holds a special place in my heart, and is one of my favorite games ever. If you can only play one Assassin's Creed game in your life, make it Assassin's Creed II.
    Expand
  54. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    Probably the best game i've played, ever. The story is interesting and complex, the gameplay is brilliant (fixed every bad thing from the first game) and the graphics make you feel like you're really in 1500 and in Italy. Amazing.
  55. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    This is a great historic adventure game filled to the brim with brilliant combat both armed and unarmed, great stealthy kills and most important of all it has a gripping, intense, exciting story! Why a 9 if its that good? Well, for the simple reason that you'll start killing guards, even when you don't feel like playing, the counter move is maybe a little to overpowered an when you jumpThis is a great historic adventure game filled to the brim with brilliant combat both armed and unarmed, great stealthy kills and most important of all it has a gripping, intense, exciting story! Why a 9 if its that good? Well, for the simple reason that you'll start killing guards, even when you don't feel like playing, the counter move is maybe a little to overpowered an when you jump into the water the guards stop following you. If only it had a little bit more of artificial intelligence, Assassin's Creed II, would be an extremely excellent game.
    But other than that the spectacular free-running, the great combat system and the well voice-acted story turn into one of the best games on PS3 and a definitely enhanced version of Assassin's Creed. A must play for every serious gamer who owns a PS3.
    Expand
  56. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    Amazing Game. The around 20 hours of gaming time (came to around 3 days worth of time) spent by myself on this game was extremely fun and immersive. The missions vary and are diverse from each other, and the settings and themes of Renaissance Italy fit in very well with the gameplay. Only held back by the lack of wanting to go back to the game again, however an excellent game netherless.Amazing Game. The around 20 hours of gaming time (came to around 3 days worth of time) spent by myself on this game was extremely fun and immersive. The missions vary and are diverse from each other, and the settings and themes of Renaissance Italy fit in very well with the gameplay. Only held back by the lack of wanting to go back to the game again, however an excellent game netherless. Vast improvements over the first game and now has a place on my gaming shelf. Loved the game, and i recommend it! Expand
  57. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    I loved this game. A great follow up to the first game with some great additions. I liked the story in this one a little more and it also has a ton o fun side missions. Can't wait to play the next one.
  58. [Anonymous]
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed II is one of the best games of the year in my opinion. The story, soundtrack, voices, and everything about the sound is stellar. At minimum, without doing any sidequests, the campaign comes to about 15 hours. I played the first AC at my friend
  59. ShaunS
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Just simply amazing game!
  60. Aug 29, 2011
    8
    Simply best of the Assassin's Creed franchise. It gives you more features for your enjoyment such as dying your armor colors, buying a different selection of weapons, etc. The story itself is great, the 'future' gameplay is still boring rubbish though, it just ends up feeding you the story after jumping around for a while. The city design is overall well done, all the main cities lookSimply best of the Assassin's Creed franchise. It gives you more features for your enjoyment such as dying your armor colors, buying a different selection of weapons, etc. The story itself is great, the 'future' gameplay is still boring rubbish though, it just ends up feeding you the story after jumping around for a while. The city design is overall well done, all the main cities look practically identical though. The combat is much better but is still a bit clunky, the animations are great. There is a flaw with the AI system, it doesn't even have one, they just react to certain actions you do, nothing more. It's overall a great game, it's better played on console as well. If you loved or hated Assassins Creed 1 you should give 2 a try. Expand
  61. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    Best of the franchise! AC2 is almost perfect and there is no much boring missions (follow somebody and walk 30 minutes) like in Brotherhood and Revelations. Will not compare to newer AC's because after Revelations and starting with AC3 this game become unplayable and disgrace of the franchise.
  62. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Its great. apart from the lackluster combat its the second* best game youl ever play. EVER.The climbings amazing and theres plenty of replay value. the story is solid and you cant stop playing it.


    *to assassin's creed brotherhood
  63. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    A much better story than the first one. However, the combat is not as fluid as AC1 causing me to have to flee a lot more than I would have if I was still Auditore. Still the graphics and artwork is stunning and history is fascinating enough to keep me amazed at the work put into this game. The acting is top notch this time around from the main character. My problem with this game is thatA much better story than the first one. However, the combat is not as fluid as AC1 causing me to have to flee a lot more than I would have if I was still Auditore. Still the graphics and artwork is stunning and history is fascinating enough to keep me amazed at the work put into this game. The acting is top notch this time around from the main character. My problem with this game is that the story drags along at the worst rate, and I hate scavenger hunts (whether they are flags or feathers), but I especially detest them when they are part of the plot line. I admit, I cheated on line to finish that portion of the game. Expand
  64. Apr 7, 2012
    10
    This Is one of the greatest games I have ever played!
    The campaign is 20 hours long,which is immense compared to other Ac Games.
    The gameplay is fantastic, stabbing people has never been this much fun in any other game.
    The story is also written fantastically, credit to the writers at Ubisoft.
    NOBODY should miss this masterpiece.
  65. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Assassin's Creed II shows how much a game can drastically change in setting and gameplay. Ubisoft has created a world that is bigger they could have ever hoped for and should be lauded for they're accomplishment.

    10 out of 10
  66. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    This is the best last gen on PS3 for me. I never drunk in a game such deeply and enjoyably. I even platinumed it (I only have 3 games platinumed).
    What a classical experience when fleeting in midage Venice climbing on real Cathedrals listening to post romantic music which creates mystical atmosphere so ecstatic .
    The gameplay is very fruitful with lots of side missions many of which
    This is the best last gen on PS3 for me. I never drunk in a game such deeply and enjoyably. I even platinumed it (I only have 3 games platinumed).
    What a classical experience when fleeting in midage Venice climbing on real Cathedrals listening to post romantic music which creates mystical atmosphere so ecstatic .
    The gameplay is very fruitful with lots of side missions many of which tightly are tied with the main stories as a whole, so you don't feel repetitive and bored of playing them.
    IMO, the graphics is just better than AC III and AC IV. The most respectful is they digitized a midage Venice where besides lots of real great historical architectures some of which I even visited. These architectures are all deliberately digitized.
    In addition, Ezio is one of my favorite game characters. He just reminds me of Al Pacino in The Godfather.
    AC II is a pure antique.
    Expand
  67. Brandon
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Just to comment on Mike K, what he said was bad about the game seemed to be pretty biased. The controller is perfectly fine, I can play games for hours and it is nice and comfortable. The textures are perfectly fine, and there is screen tearing in both games. Also, the PS3 version has the upper hand with being able to connect the PSP assassins creed to it to be able to unlock new weapons Just to comment on Mike K, what he said was bad about the game seemed to be pretty biased. The controller is perfectly fine, I can play games for hours and it is nice and comfortable. The textures are perfectly fine, and there is screen tearing in both games. Also, the PS3 version has the upper hand with being able to connect the PSP assassins creed to it to be able to unlock new weapons and added features. I'd say the PS3 version is the one to get. But hey, I'm just being biased. Expand
  68. DanielS
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic game, worthy of a place in any gamer's collection. I've played both versions of this game, and they are just about equal. The PS3 version does have some graphical issue such as bluriness and the controls aren't as well-suited for this type of game as the 360's are. The 360 version does have some slower loading times though. All in all, they are This is a fantastic game, worthy of a place in any gamer's collection. I've played both versions of this game, and they are just about equal. The PS3 version does have some graphical issue such as bluriness and the controls aren't as well-suited for this type of game as the 360's are. The 360 version does have some slower loading times though. All in all, they are nearly equal but it shouldn't matter because it won't ruin the experience for anyone. Final words: play this game! Expand
  69. MacksonG
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    I was originally going to give this game a 9.5.This game does not deserve a perfect score - it just wasn't seamless enough, just the small things such that no one aged except Ezio, the way he doesn't properly connect with his family and the graphics could have been better.At least it had more good points, the way subject 16 and the whole conspiracy was implemented was so genius I was originally going to give this game a 9.5.This game does not deserve a perfect score - it just wasn't seamless enough, just the small things such that no one aged except Ezio, the way he doesn't properly connect with his family and the graphics could have been better.At least it had more good points, the way subject 16 and the whole conspiracy was implemented was so genius and original.Can't wait for the third game, it can only get better!It was a brilliant game overall!Definitely a must buy!!! Expand
  70. :):(
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    this game is a must buy, i found that in AC1 there was really no point of Desmond Miles they could have of just left him out and it still would have been a good game. but in AC2 there actually is a point of him being in the game. i found that the story was much better than AC1, the graphics have improved and game play is much, much funner. when the game ends you can actually go back in this game is a must buy, i found that in AC1 there was really no point of Desmond Miles they could have of just left him out and it still would have been a good game. but in AC2 there actually is a point of him being in the game. i found that the story was much better than AC1, the graphics have improved and game play is much, much funner. when the game ends you can actually go back in the animus and play around in the cities and towns. this is a must buy Expand
  71. Val
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    One of the best games I have ever played, but starts off feeling like it would be a huge disappointment. In other words, the game is a slow starter and has a bit of emptiness in it.
  72. MichaelH
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Ubisoft has presented gamers with a mature title, with character development that actually makes us attached to the story, and it pulls us along with such an ease that the gives the impression one is actually alive and well in the rebirth of mankind. The gameplay mechanics are flawless, and the removal of repetitive chores that was present in the first game is a welcome change. I have so Ubisoft has presented gamers with a mature title, with character development that actually makes us attached to the story, and it pulls us along with such an ease that the gives the impression one is actually alive and well in the rebirth of mankind. The gameplay mechanics are flawless, and the removal of repetitive chores that was present in the first game is a welcome change. I have so far completed the first 3 sequences, and am quite confident in giving this game a perfect 10. The Renaiisance is the perfect setting for this game, and the foundation of the first game and it's mix of myth and real events and real people is astounding. Nevertheless, it is the originality of the game and how it stands out against everything else in the video game world right now that makes it extraordinary. Expand
  73. CalvinD
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    Assassins creed two has managed to successfully take a project that didn't work and turn it into the sandbox games people like me have been craving. The perfect blend of excitement renders me with a feeling to dig a little deeper every time I play it. From "The Truth" the collection of glyphs that give you more secrets about the Templars to the Tombs that give you a gaming feel lost Assassins creed two has managed to successfully take a project that didn't work and turn it into the sandbox games people like me have been craving. The perfect blend of excitement renders me with a feeling to dig a little deeper every time I play it. From "The Truth" the collection of glyphs that give you more secrets about the Templars to the Tombs that give you a gaming feel lost since the old Prince Of Persia games. Assassins creed 2 isn't gaming perfection, but it sure comes close Expand
  74. BrianH
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    not only does it fix every complaint i had about the first game, it piles so much more on top. the pacing of the story is some of the best i've seen in a video game. it builds great tension leading up to key parts of the plot. buy it! instantly one of my top 3 fave games of 2009.
  75. StevenA
    Nov 26, 2009
    8
    It's a game that takes getting used to. But there's so much content, so much depth and filled with beautiful-looking cities. I am not used to the combat system, because I play games like God of War, Ninja Gaiden and Devil May Cry and all those games are fast-paced action games. Assassin's Creed II is rather more strategic and the button settings are kind of awkward to me. I It's a game that takes getting used to. But there's so much content, so much depth and filled with beautiful-looking cities. I am not used to the combat system, because I play games like God of War, Ninja Gaiden and Devil May Cry and all those games are fast-paced action games. Assassin's Creed II is rather more strategic and the button settings are kind of awkward to me. I heard that the control layout works better on an Xbox 360 controller, but I only have a PS3. Oh well, still a good game. The new mechanics are very interesting, the climbing is challenging and it's fun to get money to buy armor, equipment and weapons. Watching your assassin becoming a master is quite satisfying. I wouldn't say that this game was a contender for Game of the Year, but it comes really close. That's very impressive, on account of the fact that a lot of good games came out in 2009. ESPECIALLY for the PS3. I would want to give this game an 8.5 on 10. But I have to give whole numbers. But I don't feel like it deserves a 9. It's no masterpiece...but it is a HELL LOT BETTER than the first game. For once Ubisoft, I was impressed. Expand
  76. AndrewL
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    I only wish there was more warning when the game was going to end so I could have slowed down! The game was truly amazing, the people who hate it clearly dug deep for dirt on the game, which is disappointing. I can't understand there being graphical issues, when from the moment you enter Venice, you're in awe until leaving. While refresh rates are an issue in the country-side I only wish there was more warning when the game was going to end so I could have slowed down! The game was truly amazing, the people who hate it clearly dug deep for dirt on the game, which is disappointing. I can't understand there being graphical issues, when from the moment you enter Venice, you're in awe until leaving. While refresh rates are an issue in the country-side areas, there honestly isn't enough time spent in those areas to even notice or let it bother you. By now gamers should know that when picking up a Ubisoft game, graphics aren't in your best interest, its gameplay you want. Look at Prototype, amazing gameplay, not so great graphics. I loved the game and anyone who picks it up will. There's so much freedom that it feels like a GTA game set in Renaissance times. You get a ridiculous arsenal of assassination, combat and escaping techniques, all of which are as effective as each other and all at your disposal. Replay value for the game isn't an immediate thing, but I can definitely see myself picking it up again fresh in the coming months. Expand
  77. ChrisS
    Nov 20, 2009
    9
    Awesome, awesome, awesome. If you liked the first one (I know it was repetative) then you will LOVE this one. Everything the first should have been (Read: open world gameplay, money system with shops and stealing from pedestrians, much more variety, you can choose what you do next...) Really makes you feel like you are in Ezio (the protaganist's) shoes. Comparable to Infamous style Awesome, awesome, awesome. If you liked the first one (I know it was repetative) then you will LOVE this one. Everything the first should have been (Read: open world gameplay, money system with shops and stealing from pedestrians, much more variety, you can choose what you do next...) Really makes you feel like you are in Ezio (the protaganist's) shoes. Comparable to Infamous style mission structure. Expand
  78. BD
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    I don't know what you have to be smoking to rate this game a 2. This game is not repetitive at all unless you just played the first 2 missions and put it down. The AI has been great so far, and I haven't noticed any graphical glitches. If there are glitches then they are so small that i cant even notice them. Overall I would highly recommend this game unless you like to complain I don't know what you have to be smoking to rate this game a 2. This game is not repetitive at all unless you just played the first 2 missions and put it down. The AI has been great so far, and I haven't noticed any graphical glitches. If there are glitches then they are so small that i cant even notice them. Overall I would highly recommend this game unless you like to complain about things, in which case don't get it so you won't go writing a lame review. Expand
  79. NickG
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Don't read any comments with a rating of less than 8.It would illogical to rate this game less than 8.This game pales in comparison to the first game - in good way.This is a must buy!I enjoyed it a lot, it had a very twisting and captivating plot.The dialogue and scenery were amazing and the storyline topped it all off perfectly.Can't wait for the 3rd game!
  80. JustF
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Delivered with enough variety to make me enjoy it as a sequel to the first one, taking up right where it left you in the 1st game.
  81. RossA
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    This game was near perfect but gets one point deducted for making me nearly throw my controller through the TV when the credits start rolling. Epic cliffhanger but wished they had put a bit of assassins creed 3 on the end to ease the wait.
  82. TyeS
    Dec 4, 2009
    9
    This is the game i wanted to experience with Altiar. They took all the complaints into account and made the experience they promised on their first outing. Simply put this game is amazing. Did i expect more, Maybe. Was i disappointed... not at all.
  83. YanniV
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic game (one of the best made yet imo). I'm a huge fan and i love the way they've made the game better.
  84. MartyS
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    An improvement on the original in every way, and a game which offers exceptional value for money (except if you're Australian - in which case, do what I did and buy it in a pack - games are way overpriced here on consoles). The graphics are amazing, even running at a mere 720p, the animations are superb and the story is engrossing. The gameplay has a few issues - often imprecise and An improvement on the original in every way, and a game which offers exceptional value for money (except if you're Australian - in which case, do what I did and buy it in a pack - games are way overpriced here on consoles). The graphics are amazing, even running at a mere 720p, the animations are superb and the story is engrossing. The gameplay has a few issues - often imprecise and finicky, but they don't detract from the experience, which is superb. A grade title! Cheers Expand
  85. MichaelS.
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Assassins Creed is not perfect, there are some graphical issues like tearing sometimes, but overall its a incredible Improvement in Gameplay, Story and Design.
  86. PayderS.
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    Great game...fixed everything that was wrong with the first.
  87. MichaelS
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    I cant understand Richard N.'s Voting, the first one was repetitice structured, but to say that to the second one is like saying every game on earth is repetitive designed. AC2 manages to surpass the first one in every kind of way, nice graphical effects, sweet voice acting, a good story and lots of humor. I love it.
  88. ShadD
    Nov 21, 2009
    9
    The story really makes emotionally involved with the main character, Ezio and by the end you will feel well satisfied. Graphics are not the best I have seen but each city is beautifully detailed a full of action. As for the gameplay, I did find it repetitive. There are so many side missions you can do and alternate ways to complete even the main missions. The combat is really simple at The story really makes emotionally involved with the main character, Ezio and by the end you will feel well satisfied. Graphics are not the best I have seen but each city is beautifully detailed a full of action. As for the gameplay, I did find it repetitive. There are so many side missions you can do and alternate ways to complete even the main missions. The combat is really simple at first but as you progress and your skills grow you will feel like a really badass. The only real negative thing I can say about the game is that some of the puzzles are so vauge you really have no idea what to do but the upside is completing them is not required though it is very rewarding. Expand
  89. NathanC
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    As a fan of Assassin's Creed 1, I can firmly say that Assassin's Creed 2 is going to make fans of the first game very happy. I know I am.
  90. IanR
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. Exceeds the first game in almost every facet of its design. The story is more engaging, the mission structure and mission types are more varied, the economy system is a much needed addition, and the parkour is as engaging as ever. The only complaints I have about the game is the AI can sometimes be poor and some graphical issues, but regardless of those issues the Absolutely fantastic. Exceeds the first game in almost every facet of its design. The story is more engaging, the mission structure and mission types are more varied, the economy system is a much needed addition, and the parkour is as engaging as ever. The only complaints I have about the game is the AI can sometimes be poor and some graphical issues, but regardless of those issues the game is absolutely wonderful. Expand
  91. OleT
    Nov 22, 2009
    8
    Good story. However, the game still got issues. Controlling you're character can prove difficult at some time, Ezio dont always jump where you aim you're tombstick, and he often falls down from roofs unintended. The game stil have camera issues at some points, espesially in fights or runaway's. And whats enoid me the very most in this game, was that you can no longer choose Good story. However, the game still got issues. Controlling you're character can prove difficult at some time, Ezio dont always jump where you aim you're tombstick, and he often falls down from roofs unintended. The game stil have camera issues at some points, espesially in fights or runaway's. And whats enoid me the very most in this game, was that you can no longer choose between toggle or hold the L1 button (lock on target), as you could in AC1. But still a very enjoible game with tons to do and a very interesting and original story, where you can choose you're self how to sucseed in you're missions. The game can be repeatible, but only if you do all the sidequests, wich is boring, but if not if you mainly stick to the mainstory. It would be a stright up 10 if it where not for the sometimes clumsy controlls. Oh, and the graphics are good. Expand
  92. JoshS
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    No game is perfect. This one gets pretty close. After 20+ hours of gameplay, the only real issue ive encountered with the game was modeling issues. Because the camera angle for cutscenes has changed, the graphics appear worse than the first one, but with the addition of more assassination contracts, references to Ezio's predecessor and numerous mind-blowing secrets, the implications No game is perfect. This one gets pretty close. After 20+ hours of gameplay, the only real issue ive encountered with the game was modeling issues. Because the camera angle for cutscenes has changed, the graphics appear worse than the first one, but with the addition of more assassination contracts, references to Ezio's predecessor and numerous mind-blowing secrets, the implications and storyline set out by this game make it a modern day masterpiece in video gaming...which is strange to say when discussing an Ubisoft game. Expand
  93. SamJ
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Assassin's Creed 2 is a STUNNING game that improves over the original game in almost every way. It's so addictive and immersive that this is my #1 GOTY 2009 contender. Without a doubt one of the best 3rd person action adventures I've ever played.
  94. brenty
    Nov 24, 2009
    8
    Story is alright game play is great except for the stupid ai concept is still great graphics are great except for terrible framerate (and i mean terrible framerate) still a great game for those who liked the first, combat is improved, new moves make it alot better (expecially the hidden take downs), its been given more of a rpg feel with upgrades and different outfits, the overworld has Story is alright game play is great except for the stupid ai concept is still great graphics are great except for terrible framerate (and i mean terrible framerate) still a great game for those who liked the first, combat is improved, new moves make it alot better (expecially the hidden take downs), its been given more of a rpg feel with upgrades and different outfits, the overworld has mostly been takin out which is both a bad and good thing. flags have been replaced with feathers which is far better. gives a somewhat satisfing wrap up to the first game. If you like the first, get this one, its better in every way (with the exception of the overworld), if you didn't like the first, this one is more varied, however you probably wont like this one either, its more of the same, just more detailed and more stuff. Warning though, depending on how you like to play, the first 20 minutes to 2 hours are boring, after you get the hidden blade though it becomes very fun. Expand
  95. MikeK
    Nov 25, 2009
    8
    If you own both consoles, don't even think about buying the PS3 version. there are far less polygons, the textures are blurry and there is constant screen tearing. Also, the PS3 controller is less suited to the gameplay as it causes uncomfortable hand positioning for extended play. The 360's trigger and A button is a more natural feel with the tighter analog control. Honestly, If you own both consoles, don't even think about buying the PS3 version. there are far less polygons, the textures are blurry and there is constant screen tearing. Also, the PS3 controller is less suited to the gameplay as it causes uncomfortable hand positioning for extended play. The 360's trigger and A button is a more natural feel with the tighter analog control. Honestly, not one review compares how bad the PS3 version is. I returned the game to get the 360 version and the difference is like night and day. Expand
  96. DavidG
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    this game is awesome !!!! you cant deny it the missions and game play aren't that repetitive as in the first game but i still think you should have more options, but then again no other game is that realistic in game play (that's just my opinion)
  97. IliasV
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Great work. In my opinion it is one of the best sequels ever. The gameplay is awesome and the gaphics quite improved. But the most important is that the missions are now really interesting, something that in the first game was missing
  98. vineetb
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    this game is realy awesome.story,graphics&gameplay every thing is at its best.some problem is there regarding graphics.otherwise its a masterpiece
  99. GodhevalC
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    This was the game I had been waiting for all year. Ubisoft Montreal has consistently produced titles that fit into my top ten and AC2 is no exception. About as close to a perfect gaming experience as I could ask for.
  100. MaxW
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    This game has been so intense so far, I mean I can see the parts where they can rank on it a little bit but besides that, totally epic. As soon As I got the game I could not put it down! Very good game!
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    The sequel has arguably changed for the better in just about every conceivable way...Assassin's Creed II truly offers an experience like no other, one that mixes history and brutality to sheer perfection. And it's absolutely massive. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    [Games are] about delivering a world that you want to invest your time in, full of characters you can have an emotional connection with, and Assassin's Creed II does that almost perfectly. [Dec 2009, p.102]
  3. Assassin's Creed II is such an improvement compared to its predecessor that it feels like a completely new game, rather than just a sequel. The varied missions really shine and the narrative is very effective, in all it's Forrest Gump-esque glory. Despite the quite slow start, Ezios adventures in beautiful Florence and Venice both look and feel amazing, and are well worth experiencing to the very end.