Assassin's Creed III PlayStation 3

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1203 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing from the start I could see that this was Ubisofts most innovative and daring Assassins Creed game yet, and it paid off. There were many things in this game that should be commended such as the great new combat system and the new open frontier area that opens up so many possibilities and introduced along with it the "fun" ability to climb trees. Amazing story, greatThis game is amazing from the start I could see that this was Ubisofts most innovative and daring Assassins Creed game yet, and it paid off. There were many things in this game that should be commended such as the great new combat system and the new open frontier area that opens up so many possibilities and introduced along with it the "fun" ability to climb trees. Amazing story, great gameplay and awesome characters all together make the best Assassins' Creed game to date. Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    AC3 is the best experience i have ever played. Tree climbing pushes the limits and really feels next gen, The Combat has improved tremendously and is now more challenging. The side missions have a lot of effort put in to them. The story of Connor is the most compelling i have played and he is now my favourite assassin. The story of his village and community and how he becomes an assassinAC3 is the best experience i have ever played. Tree climbing pushes the limits and really feels next gen, The Combat has improved tremendously and is now more challenging. The side missions have a lot of effort put in to them. The story of Connor is the most compelling i have played and he is now my favourite assassin. The story of his village and community and how he becomes an assassin is the best yet. Expand
  3. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    This may be the best game i have ever played. Assassins creed ||| is a giant of a game. I believe it truly deserves a spot among the top five best ps3 games of all time if not the best. The amount of gameplay is enormous and the vast majority of the side missions is a must to play. The story is spectacular. I am a bi tsurprised that the game havent got even better scores. Thats probablyThis may be the best game i have ever played. Assassins creed ||| is a giant of a game. I believe it truly deserves a spot among the top five best ps3 games of all time if not the best. The amount of gameplay is enormous and the vast majority of the side missions is a must to play. The story is spectacular. I am a bi tsurprised that the game havent got even better scores. Thats probably due to the glitches. Yes there are some but they havent been a huge deal for me. A patch in the weeks to come will probably make that problem vanish. I expect ign to re-review the game after a bug fixer has been published and give the game a rating of minimum 9 pts. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    Ok so I just finished this game and must say it's disappointing. The graphics are severely glitchy (i can make cows walk thru each other, soldiers pass thru walls, and dead men stand, etc). The game play/controls are not as user friendly as the last few games and the recruits are a joke. It is a good game but not nearly as good as the 10 out of 10 reviews given to it by some prelaunchOk so I just finished this game and must say it's disappointing. The graphics are severely glitchy (i can make cows walk thru each other, soldiers pass thru walls, and dead men stand, etc). The game play/controls are not as user friendly as the last few games and the recruits are a joke. It is a good game but not nearly as good as the 10 out of 10 reviews given to it by some prelaunch critics. Will I replay it, definitely. However i regret spending the $60 on it new when i could have waited or it to show up in the used bin at my local game store. It was a nice idea but I hate to say Ubisoft should have spent a little more time on the details. I give it a solid 8 it's good, but could have been better. Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Being a hardcore AC fan, Assassin's Creed 3 was a true shift in the wind. Not only is combat different, but the feeling of the game changes drastically as well. You'll find yourself actually worrying about other characters and the regular populace, completing more side-quests than you normally would. Notoriety is also a bigger part of the game, as once it reaches level three, it becomesBeing a hardcore AC fan, Assassin's Creed 3 was a true shift in the wind. Not only is combat different, but the feeling of the game changes drastically as well. You'll find yourself actually worrying about other characters and the regular populace, completing more side-quests than you normally would. Notoriety is also a bigger part of the game, as once it reaches level three, it becomes impossible to navigate the city roads or rooftops without attracting attention. The characters are well-developed, I find myself hating the Templars as much as I love them. Overall, it depends on your point of view and how you're affected by change, as there is a lot of it in this game, give it a try, get used to it. 9/10 for a few glitches, some weird lip synch and for the general length of the game, which is insufficient. Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    I haven't been more excited for an Assassin's Creed game since Brotherhood, and this one is no let down. In fact, it is the best in the series for many reasons, number one being the complete overhaul of the engine and controls. It is as fresh as AC2, and is also miles ahead in terms of story, character depth, and game play quality. Despite many reviews citing the glitches in this gameI haven't been more excited for an Assassin's Creed game since Brotherhood, and this one is no let down. In fact, it is the best in the series for many reasons, number one being the complete overhaul of the engine and controls. It is as fresh as AC2, and is also miles ahead in terms of story, character depth, and game play quality. Despite many reviews citing the glitches in this game (there are a few, but none that completely ruin the experience), I can't seem to run into any of the worst ones. I did pick this up day one, so it is possible these reviews are pre-patch, which is already an issue when trying to determine your purchase. Overall, I give it a 9.5. The graphics are fantastic, the combat (once you get used to it) is very fluid, if not sometimes frustrating when you fail to time your counters and attacks properly, and the story is very well written, down to the normal NPC citizen dialog. The only issue I really seem to have is not being to put this game down. It is not a perfect 10 as there are some glitches that I found a bit annoying when they popped up, and only one really big break on a fort attack where the entire regiment disappeared forcing me to come back later in the story to complete, but these were few and far between in my game. So given the amount of fun I have had with this, I can not honestly rate it any lower. Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    I have been playing the assassin's creed series since the day the first installment came out and it finally comes down to the final installment. Overall, Assassin's Creed 3 is one of the best games I have played this year. It was definitely worth the wait since the cliffhanger in second installment. The story is set during the American Revolution where one will play another Assassin namedI have been playing the assassin's creed series since the day the first installment came out and it finally comes down to the final installment. Overall, Assassin's Creed 3 is one of the best games I have played this year. It was definitely worth the wait since the cliffhanger in second installment. The story is set during the American Revolution where one will play another Assassin named Connor. The story was significantly long but enough to say that it was very well structured and well executed especially with the historic events during the 1700s. Character development was impressive especially the main protagonist in his quest for peace and freedom. I would say out of all the three ancestors you play, Connor is the one assassin that understood his main purpose in which was to achieve peace and freedom. The game play has been moved to the next level since the combat is more effective as well as skills. I am very proud to say that this game is a major achievement to a fantastic game series. I rate this game a 9/10 Expand
  8. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Hey, what is it with everyone??? This is BY FAR the best AC game and I've played all of them at least twice. I'm really having a very hard time here trying to understand why anyone would give this game a negative review... The story is magnificently compelling, the graphics and the engine, seasons and all that stuff is mind-blowing and the character is an all-new, very different andHey, what is it with everyone??? This is BY FAR the best AC game and I've played all of them at least twice. I'm really having a very hard time here trying to understand why anyone would give this game a negative review... The story is magnificently compelling, the graphics and the engine, seasons and all that stuff is mind-blowing and the character is an all-new, very different and interesting and fun character. I finished the game two hours ago and I still have stuff to do enough to make an entire game out of... This is superb AC experience... Yeah, there are an unusual amount of glitches and bugs which aren't as important as some people think. Besides, it caught my eye that these bugs lessen when you progress. Anyway, this is a magnificent game which is, in my opinion, Ubisoft's geatest work. Finally, the ending still left a lot of questions and also many new ones, regarding the outcome of the game's events. I think we're definitely going to be seeing a lot of AC still and most likely connected to this ending. Expand
  9. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Let's be clear here:This game gets a 8.5/10.Nothing below that imo.That is why I chose to rate this 9/10.Now on to the review.
    First of all this game has glitches.Not ridiculous glitches like some other mentioned here but glitches that should not exist in such a game.For example.In the cut scenes,subtitles appear and the person is actually talking,but his mouth is not moving.Also,I have
    Let's be clear here:This game gets a 8.5/10.Nothing below that imo.That is why I chose to rate this 9/10.Now on to the review.
    First of all this game has glitches.Not ridiculous glitches like some other mentioned here but glitches that should not exist in such a game.For example.In the cut scenes,subtitles appear and the person is actually talking,but his mouth is not moving.Also,I have experienced a lot of frame rate issues.FPS is ok but only until you reach an area with a lot of people or a lot of objects.Those are the issues I have experienced thus far.Now to the pros.This game just does not feel as boring as AC Brotherhood and (possibly) AC Revelations.AC Brotherhood in my opinion was a copy of AC II,but well,a lot worse.Revelations felt,once again,generic.This game though,feels interesting,fresh.Of course,the story telling in all previous games is better and Connor is not as like able as Ezio BUT,when all other games failed(with the exception of ACII)this game succeded.If you are a lazy person then do not play game like this,where you have a lot of story telling and a lot of cut scenes.The first couple of hours in the game(make it one hour)you will spend doing things such as climbing and the game will let you familiarize yourself with the controls,before you get into the game.I haven't used the multiplayer feature yet so I cannot say anything about that.Please,PLEASE do not fully take into consideration the negative reviews,which,most of the time,are from people who expect way too much from one game.Of course,it is not as good as ACII and it does have some issues,but it deserves your 45-60 pounds because of the hundreds of games out there,this one is definitely worth it.
    Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Despite some glithches some people are complaining about (only found 3 so far that didn't interfere with the game play) this game delivers awesome graphics and an awesome eviroment to explore, the frontier just doesn't get old.
    I was so immersed in the game that i actually felt annoyed by the Desmond Intreruptions. Buy this games and you will not regret.
  11. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a great game. It has a great time period for the setting and the story is excellent. There have been so not so positive reviews but I will say this, if you like adventure games with a lot action and if you like to take the time to explore then you will like this game. I have played all the assassins creed games and this is by far my favorite. It does not do a whole lot differentAC3 is a great game. It has a great time period for the setting and the story is excellent. There have been so not so positive reviews but I will say this, if you like adventure games with a lot action and if you like to take the time to explore then you will like this game. I have played all the assassins creed games and this is by far my favorite. It does not do a whole lot different from the previous games but it does fine tune the game into a much better game. The graphics are excellent even though the frame rate can slow down it is nothing major, the gameplay is easier but better and like I said the story is the best for the series. I recommend this game to anyone that just enjoys playing games. Expand
  12. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed 3 has everything that I could want in a video game because for me a video game has to be an experience almost like a novel and a movie that you're creating as you experience it. The amount of content is staggering and welcome taking great features from the series' previous titles and other recent hit games. If you are looking for a compelling perspective on the americanAssassin's Creed 3 has everything that I could want in a video game because for me a video game has to be an experience almost like a novel and a movie that you're creating as you experience it. The amount of content is staggering and welcome taking great features from the series' previous titles and other recent hit games. If you are looking for a compelling perspective on the american revolution than this game is most definitely for you.

    p.s. - you can assassinate rabbits...rabbits!...that is all.
    Expand
  13. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    What an amazing game. First thing I must compliment is the open world environment. It was so big so beautiful and so believable that it puts Skyrim to shame. I love the new combat mechanics it did take a little while to get used to the new button layout but once I did the redcoats never stood a chance. I spent at least my first hour as Connor killing all redcoats I could see. Also allWhat an amazing game. First thing I must compliment is the open world environment. It was so big so beautiful and so believable that it puts Skyrim to shame. I love the new combat mechanics it did take a little while to get used to the new button layout but once I did the redcoats never stood a chance. I spent at least my first hour as Connor killing all redcoats I could see. Also all these people complaining about the Desmond and Modern day plot. Well WHO CARES. We didn Expand
  14. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    i love this game it so good more little side quest and main character is british dude which frankly sound little like patrick stewart from american dad anyways it has good killing moves but overall the controller bit meh. The was glitches in game that they could fix.

    but still overall 10 out of 10
  15. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    It's sad really, it's sad how people troll games that compete with thier favourite games, Yes, this game isn't perfect, Yes, Connor (the protagonist) isn't really that good compared to Ezio/Altair, but it's the best game this year along with Max Payne 3 and that is obvious imo, if you deny that you're simply a biased fanboy for another series, i gave this a 10 to counter all those negariveIt's sad really, it's sad how people troll games that compete with thier favourite games, Yes, this game isn't perfect, Yes, Connor (the protagonist) isn't really that good compared to Ezio/Altair, but it's the best game this year along with Max Payne 3 and that is obvious imo, if you deny that you're simply a biased fanboy for another series, i gave this a 10 to counter all those negarive 0's from trolls, my real score is 8.5/10. Expand
  16. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This game in all was beautiful. The story was incredible and the fighting and free running was so epic and flowing. I dont think ive ever played a game as amazing and groundbreaking as this. The only downfall it had was a few glitches and the horses were disappointing. But those could all easily be fixed with a patch which id expect to be out soon(:
  17. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Es sin duda el juego más grande al que he jugado. Además lo tiene todo: buen multijugador, una excelente historia, buenísima jugabilidad y gran variedad de misiones. Hay muchas cosas nuevas con respecto a los otros AC, como los increíbles combos, la escalada por rocas y árboles y el estimulante contraste entre estar en las ciudades y la frontera. LosEs sin duda el juego más grande al que he jugado. Además lo tiene todo: buen multijugador, una excelente historia, buenísima jugabilidad y gran variedad de misiones. Hay muchas cosas nuevas con respecto a los otros AC, como los increíbles combos, la escalada por rocas y árboles y el estimulante contraste entre estar en las ciudades y la frontera. Los gráficos, como era de esperar son increíbles. Su duración es enorme, así que recomiendo este juego antes que otro shooter más, ya que te dará variedad. Es sin duda un juego que no puede faltar en la estantería. Expand
  18. dpc
    Nov 2, 2012
    9
    To say this is not a good game is ridiculous. There are a few technical issues to be sure, which hopefully will be addressed in a patch. But the setting is incredible, the character development is excellent and it is freakin' fun as hell. The beginning is slow, being an excuse to act as a tutorial of sorts, yet the story and action are still very compelling all the same. So I, at least,To say this is not a good game is ridiculous. There are a few technical issues to be sure, which hopefully will be addressed in a patch. But the setting is incredible, the character development is excellent and it is freakin' fun as hell. The beginning is slow, being an excuse to act as a tutorial of sorts, yet the story and action are still very compelling all the same. So I, at least, can forgive that. Once you get to Boston, things pick up. In reality, I'd give it an 8.5, which is still excellent overall. I wanted to offset the idiots who are saying it's a "0". Come on. But being honest, it's also not exactly a 10 either. What it is, however, is a truly unique experience with an amazing chance to play in the world of colonial America. If you're a prissy fanboy tool, don't bother getting it. Everyone else using a 10th of your brain or more will love it. Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I was quite disappointed with this game to start with, conversations were quite scruffy with two people talking at the same time and once someone was talking without even moving their mouth!!
    However, once you get past the early part of the game and you become Conner this game really shines.
    Graphics are amazing, I spent nearly an hour just walking in the woods looking in wonder at
    I was quite disappointed with this game to start with, conversations were quite scruffy with two people talking at the same time and once someone was talking without even moving their mouth!!
    However, once you get past the early part of the game and you become Conner this game really shines.
    Graphics are amazing, I spent nearly an hour just walking in the woods looking in wonder at stuff! Its a new game with a new lead, and therefore comparing this with earlier Assassins creed games is unfair. AC2 is my fav game ever & its true AC3 is not quite as good, but the standard was very high. If, like me, you love assassins creed then get this game, Its beautiful, with an amazing score and I nearly cried with laughter when Conner tried to sit down on that old chair!
    Expand
  20. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    Game isn't perfect, few are. Combat system is different than past AC titles and a bit more annoying to get use to. audio between npcss can be annoying as well, as the files seem to be a little corrupt at times. For those complaining, again, about Lucy storyline not being told, you obviously haven't played this game, there are many conversations involving her this time. Most of theGame isn't perfect, few are. Combat system is different than past AC titles and a bit more annoying to get use to. audio between npcss can be annoying as well, as the files seem to be a little corrupt at times. For those complaining, again, about Lucy storyline not being told, you obviously haven't played this game, there are many conversations involving her this time. Most of the negative reviews seem to be from people trying to rush through the game and skipping side quest stuff and not allowing themselves to be fully emersed with the conversations with npcs. As for it feeling different than the other AC titles...of course it is, it would be ridiculous if the eras felt the same dont you think?? Beginning of the game is kinda boring and ver cinematic, however, give the game till you're using Connor fully before you make a full opinion on the game. Expand
  21. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I thought this game was brilliantly done! I loved the beautiful detail in the graphics. I also loved the story line of Connor. The fighting, personally to me, was a tad bit harder in this game which is a good thing because ACII made it too easy to fight and kill everyone. I don't to spoil anything, but I loved the background stories that you able to interact as Desmond which explains someI thought this game was brilliantly done! I loved the beautiful detail in the graphics. I also loved the story line of Connor. The fighting, personally to me, was a tad bit harder in this game which is a good thing because ACII made it too easy to fight and kill everyone. I don't to spoil anything, but I loved the background stories that you able to interact as Desmond which explains some of the unanswered questions in the second one, and opens up things that could happen in the next game. I think one of my only complaints is that it was glitchy at times, and sometimes the targets would glitch out and disappear, or you were unable to kill them. Other then that, this game is defiantly worth it, and the good does outweigh the bad things about it. Expand
  22. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible. To all the people writing negative reviews, are you playing the same game? Or is it that I just don't get mad at things they changed? I think some people stopped playing and just said it was crap after twenty minutes. But moving along the story of Connor from beginning to end is great and I connected with him more than any other character in the series. GrantedThis game is incredible. To all the people writing negative reviews, are you playing the same game? Or is it that I just don't get mad at things they changed? I think some people stopped playing and just said it was crap after twenty minutes. But moving along the story of Connor from beginning to end is great and I connected with him more than any other character in the series. Granted this isn't going to win any Oscars but the story I think is the best of the series. He frustrated me at times and in the middle it fell flat for a bit but then picked up again. Overall very good. And the prologue was great, it was a fun lead into the story, predictable but still a nice long intro and set up with a little shock and awe to throw you into the game. I loved it so sorry to those who don't. Definitely did not ruin the game. Now graphics because this one is easy, They are gorgeous. Incredible work on the faces of people, mostly noticeable in cut scenes cuz when else are you looking at faces. The faces are a bit shiny tho, minor nit pick. The Levels are huge, and multiple areas like in ACII. I ran through the main story and left side missions for after and I bet I only uncovered 1/3 or less of the areas, especially frontier. And also gorgeous not only in looks but design, the cities have always been great and the two new ones are no less, the docks are one of my favorite views with all the big ships. And frontier is great with lots of vertical and variation on the map. Really got lost in the woods many times, like skyrim almost, not as large as that of course. That leads into the weather, it just adds that extra layer which I really liked. you are in the same places but they look different and snow slows you down a bit which is a nice touch. Now Gameplay, they have stripped this one down I feel, but I feel for the better, they kept what was good and made it work especially combat. no sprinkle fillers like all the grenades in revelations that I never used. Free running took a bit to get used to with the only one button this time and with all the automated corner peaks and so many things to climb on you will run into frustrations climbing the wrong way or jumping off when you didn't mean to etc but nothing more than in previous games. Running in trees and such in the frontier is super fun, especially I was chasing guy on horseback stood up, jumped into the trees air assassinated and stole a bad guys horse, stood up and jumped into the trees again and rope hung the second guy. That was memorable to me. Then the boats! Oh I love the boats!! freaking pirate style and so much fun. People can complain about them if they want but I personally love every single part about the boats. To wrap it up as I am getting lengthy the only bad things I would say is i which they took stealth a step further, like a crouch/sneak i felt would have helped in some situations. The sneak missions i found to be the most frustrating but once you figure out a path then it works you just might have to try a few times. or twenty. but minor gripe because I did feel accomplished once i finally got the missions done, more so than when i just had to run and kill someone, that's easy! So overall a great game and a great experience, oh music, voice acting and sound 10/10 almost forgot that. But so great in fact i'm going to go play some more, maybe jump into multiplayer which i haven't had a chance to do. By far my favorite in the series and a must buy for any fan. and definitely look into if you are just looking for an amazing game worth more than the $60 you put into it. or more like me i got the limited edition just so i could hang the flag on my wall, and it looks awesome! Expand
  23. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    Just finished the game and all I have to say is this game is beautiful. Yeah there are glitches here and there , but thats about the only problem IMO. It literally improves on everything and then some.
  24. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    It is a great game not as good as Assassin's Creed 2, but it is a great new addition. The only problems that makes it from being a perfect game are the small glitches like people disappering into the background and when Conner free runs he'll grab objects I don't want him to and at one point some lip syching takes away from the experience. But don't let these small problems keep you awayIt is a great game not as good as Assassin's Creed 2, but it is a great new addition. The only problems that makes it from being a perfect game are the small glitches like people disappering into the background and when Conner free runs he'll grab objects I don't want him to and at one point some lip syching takes away from the experience. But don't let these small problems keep you away from enjoying this big, beautiful game it is a must buy. Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    I have been a fan of the series since it first released and was excited for the final chapter in the series. I was extremely impressed with Connors story as I have been with Altaïr and Ezio's as well. Though those stories were strong, the 'main' story following Desmond was really weak and disappointing. I feel like Desmond's story has been neglected since the first game and I feel weI have been a fan of the series since it first released and was excited for the final chapter in the series. I was extremely impressed with Connors story as I have been with Altaïr and Ezio's as well. Though those stories were strong, the 'main' story following Desmond was really weak and disappointing. I feel like Desmond's story has been neglected since the first game and I feel we as gamers were robbed of the development of Desmond and having another great character in the series. You could take his story completely out and it would not bother me one bit. I wish more time would have been spent on developing Desmond but otherwise the series has ended strong. The new game mechanics are impressive, especially combat. It used to be combat was a breeze and you could take down multiple enemies in seconds, now it is more challenging and adds more depth to combat with the gun play since most enemies carry guns. The sailing was also well done, to my surprise. The ship was easy to control and also offered a challenge by having to gauge winds but lowering your sails. The game overall was impressive and I will definitely have another play through. Expand
  26. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This is probably The best game of the series. I loved how the start was, because its so important to the story itself, and after two hours it was done. Two Hours isnt that bad, when you think it an tutorial and a story point, I wasnt bored, i just saw it as and introduction the whole new Era you are playing in. Anyway. The free roam is Awesome! Almost like Red Dead Redemption, and the newThis is probably The best game of the series. I loved how the start was, because its so important to the story itself, and after two hours it was done. Two Hours isnt that bad, when you think it an tutorial and a story point, I wasnt bored, i just saw it as and introduction the whole new Era you are playing in. Anyway. The free roam is Awesome! Almost like Red Dead Redemption, and the new mechanics is fun and really creative, Plus the Naval battle is the best Victorian naval simulator i have ever played! Grapichs is Really, really good, but at some points it pretty bad (But acceptable).

    Im only half way, but im having a blast!

    10 for me, because it deserves a 9 in all, so im just trying to push the rating up!

    Nice done Bioware!
    Expand
  27. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Assassin's Creed 3 is a good game, it's probably the best in the series. The game looks great and the controls are smooth. I found a few bugs,but nothing too serious. It pretty well improved on almost every aspect. Although they improved on many things, it still feels like the same game as before,which isn't a problem but it's more of a been there done that. Then again it's hard to findAssassin's Creed 3 is a good game, it's probably the best in the series. The game looks great and the controls are smooth. I found a few bugs,but nothing too serious. It pretty well improved on almost every aspect. Although they improved on many things, it still feels like the same game as before,which isn't a problem but it's more of a been there done that. Then again it's hard to find originality today anyway. This game reminded me a bit like Red Dead Redemption, and I shouldn't have to explain why, then again it's not a bad thing. The game still looks great,sounds great and plays smooth, I give it an 8 because I have played better games than this which are more fun. This game IS fun but I do not think it deserves a perfect score. The negative reviews on this game do not make any sense. A game where it controls bad,looks awful and isn't fun, should get a low score. This game has all the elements for a good game,there is nothing wrong with it in terms of playability. I found the game to be a little ont he easy side, but then again, most games today like to cater to the casual gamer anyway. It is really a personal preference, but by no means does this game deserve a 0-6 or even a 10. It's just a solid game and it's worth a look. If you loved the other AC games, then you will love this one even more. If you did not like the other AC games, then you wont like this one either.... 8/10 - Great! Expand
  28. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    This is one of the biggest and best games I've played this year. I have been a big fan of the series since it started. I've heard a lot of people complain about this game, but from what they said it pretty much represented the first two hours where you have to go through a very slow paced and linear part. This is just to get you into the story and the initial feel. Once you're throughThis is one of the biggest and best games I've played this year. I have been a big fan of the series since it started. I've heard a lot of people complain about this game, but from what they said it pretty much represented the first two hours where you have to go through a very slow paced and linear part. This is just to get you into the story and the initial feel. Once you're through that, you are free to do as you're pleased really. It's a game that really doesn't disappoints. I've been amazed by the sheer scale of that game. It's incredible. The story is very interesting, the gameplay is fun and feels right. I was afraid of setting assassin's creed in america because I thought it would be impossible to beat a game that was set in the renaissance era. As assassin's creed 2 was a giant leap from the first one, assassin's creed 3 is giant leap from AC2. To me it is a big contender for Game of the year. We'll just have to wait and see for there are still other games that need to be released before giving the final judgement. But all in all, it's an amazing that I don't think anyone should miss! Expand
  29. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    10 is a masterpiece, this is as close as you get. From my view, this is definiately the most immersive Assassins Creed experience in the series. The opening 2-3 hours are epic, and its just the start of an epic adventure through the young america. The controls are more fluid than ever, the graphics are beautiful (especially if you have the pleasure as I do, to play it in 3D) and the story10 is a masterpiece, this is as close as you get. From my view, this is definiately the most immersive Assassins Creed experience in the series. The opening 2-3 hours are epic, and its just the start of an epic adventure through the young america. The controls are more fluid than ever, the graphics are beautiful (especially if you have the pleasure as I do, to play it in 3D) and the story grips you tighter than ever. Expand
  30. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    I literally am writing this review because of the people that thought this game deserves a 1 or a 0. All i'm going to say is that this game is an amazing achievement. I understand you may have a couple of issues with certain things in the game, but in no way does it deserve a 0 or 1. The only good thing about you doing that, is that now we all know who not to listen to. Thanks...i guess
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.