User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1177 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    a lot of technical error harm this great game the graphics very good and sound tracks impressive and the story not as good as the last 4 games but still very good and must by for ps3 owner
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012.
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't say that I was expecting much from new "Assassin's Creed". Neither I can say that all previous games in the series were bad. At some point they had their problems that made me wish to see the credits rolling. New changes that we could see in the trailers were fascinating. Ship sequences, new protagonist, wild life, new to the series environment and, of course, new time period and setting made fans wonder what the game would be. Playing as two protagonists, who were on the opposite sites of conspiracy gave a fresh look on the main story. Connor, a native citizen of new world, is as good character as Ezio in AC II, but yet Connor manages to let player understand hate and moral choices more than you could image earlier in the series. Storyline of 18th century is mixed with gameplay in the future, that finally became as important and interesting as any other in the game.
    Gameplay was significantly rebuild adding some new features like quick death scenes using different animation from time to time. Fighting scenes became very cinematic not letting you take eyes of your screen. During the game you will also have to command a group of soldiers that are defending their line.
    Other important part that should be mentioned is warship navigation. Although there are only few sea fights in the game, and it is not a flaw, they are the ones you can't forget because they are epic.
    The first thing that comes to mind when I think of AC III is Connor running with his axe in the grass, suddenly appearing behind enemy soldiers and assassinating them. This memory is so strong that it is easy to forget about some minor bugs that appeared during walkthrough. I would even say, that AC III is the buggiest game in the series (after some flaws in first AC), although these bugs were never critical, but they took me out of the game to realize that I was back on my coach. Probably they all were fixed in following patch that I never installed.
    "Assassin's Creed III" is a must buy game for each AC fan and any gamer who likes detailed and original world of a game. I have to add that 3rd big installment of assassin is in my top 5 games list that were released in 2012.
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    Not a fan boy of the AC series as this is the first game I have played in the series. I will definatly be getting some of the older titles off the back of this one. As such my review is purely based on my experience of this game and not how it compares to the previous. I loved it. Graffics are cutscenes are great. So much to do apart from the main storyline. Battle system is wonderful.Not a fan boy of the AC series as this is the first game I have played in the series. I will definatly be getting some of the older titles off the back of this one. As such my review is purely based on my experience of this game and not how it compares to the previous. I loved it. Graffics are cutscenes are great. So much to do apart from the main storyline. Battle system is wonderful. Only real issue if you can called it that is that it is far to easy to make money and nothing really to spend it on. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    AC3...is a great game. It is a bit slow but that shouldn't be a fault. The twist at the beginning and giving the character depth isn't something that should be frowned upon. That being said the gameplay is very slick. Performing multiple assassinations, while moving nonetheless, feels great. Running and jumping through the cities, and the trees, feels great. The hunting is fun and, in myAC3...is a great game. It is a bit slow but that shouldn't be a fault. The twist at the beginning and giving the character depth isn't something that should be frowned upon. That being said the gameplay is very slick. Performing multiple assassinations, while moving nonetheless, feels great. Running and jumping through the cities, and the trees, feels great. The hunting is fun and, in my opinion, better then Read Dead Redemption. The combat is actually somewhat challenging, enemies won't wait to attack and you cannot heal during a fight, Notoriety has been improved with each level being harder then the last, compared to the other AC games where if you were notorious all they would do is look then come over. Essentially what I am saying is this is a very good game and I don't understand why the score isn't in the 90's. Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give Assassin's Creed III a 10 out of 10 review because, not only did it have and epic open world setting but the campaign was longer then the other Assassin's Creed games and it had an epic twist in the original story. I also thought that the combat was fantastic because not only did Ubisoft choose to make Connor a Dual Wielder but they added some great cinematic combats too. Finally I think that the new Multiplayer modes were Incredible! Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2013
    9
    Excellent game. The first AC game I actually enjoyed. I loved the old colonial Boston and New York. as well as the frontier. Overall it is a great open-world game.
  8. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    This title is my Game of the Year. While a few bugs do exist, they were expected knowing that this is a brand new engine. However, none of the glitches are "game-breaking" which is definitely good news. Quite frankly, there is so much to do with this title, it's bound to keep you busy for weeks, if not months. Graphics are gorgeous. Controls work well. And running around inThis title is my Game of the Year. While a few bugs do exist, they were expected knowing that this is a brand new engine. However, none of the glitches are "game-breaking" which is definitely good news. Quite frankly, there is so much to do with this title, it's bound to keep you busy for weeks, if not months. Graphics are gorgeous. Controls work well. And running around in Revolutionary America is a whole lot of fun. You cannot go wrong with this game. Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, I wanted to write a short review, but there's too much to say about AC3. There must be said that it was one of the most hyped games of the year, so the expectations were high, leading some to disappointment. There must be said that Ubisoft took chances introducing new characters and gameplay mechanics in a well stated franchise. And, above all, it must be said that people don't know what they want. If a game is pretty much the same than its predecessor, people complain saing that the developer lacks ideas and only want to milk the gamers. If the game differs too much, people complain as well stating that they sacrificed the good points in the previous game and replaced it with bad points.
    That said, I must say that, indeed, AC3 was a bit disappointing, but it doesn't fail to deliver a fun gameplay, engaging story, sweet graphics and an overall really great experience. The game starts slow. This is a point that, for some, may drag down the experience of the game as a whole. But that slow start server to the purpose of introducing the story. You'd be lost if weren't for the first "slow" hours of the game. You're introduced to the new gameplay features in the first hours too. So, you can't skip it.
    As the story develops, you come across several sidequest, as in the previous titles. In the city, among the woods, farms, etc. The addition of the naval missions was the highest point in the game, in my opinion. It works so well and it is so fun and smooth you can't stop playing. They almost reached perfection simulating sails and stuff. The game is smooth like butter when you're exploring the woods. Climbing the trees, hiding in bushes, hunting, everything works just fine. I don't know about other players, but I found the gameplay in the cities very glitchy. The parkour is sometimes confusing and you end up climbing or jumping in places you don't want to. This is serious, once almost the entire game is based in parkour. I failed several missions because of a failed jump or a ledge. I don't even have to mention riding a horse in the cities. Not only in the cities, actually. It's painful. The horse just get stuck for no reason, and controling it can be a pain. Plus, there's the guards sometimes starting to chase you for no apparent reason, even when you are incognito. Besides, there are moments when animals or people get stuck in trees or walls. It's kind of funny a AAA game such as Assassin's Creed shouldn't have such silly glitches.The combat has changed a little from the previous titles. There's now a counter button, when an enemy attacks you. But it seems sloppy, because Connor hits the air so many times I can't count, but still the enemy is damaged. It's an aesthetic glitch, and I don't like it.
    About the graphics, there's nothing to complain. Is simply amazing. Everything is absolutely gorgeous. As I said, the framerate in the woods is smooth. In the city, there's occasional drops and screen tearing, specially in the pursuits.
    Now, the disappointing part. The Assassin's Creed series got me so engaged because of its complex story, involving history, religion, apocalypse, and so many other interesting things mixed up together. AC3 was supposed to be the climax of the story built upon the 4 previous titles, closing it up in a unbelievable way. Well, in fact, the ending wasn't what I expected, and it isn't a good thing. They put too little effort closing the story and (BEWARE OF THE SPOILER) just killed everyone. I think with myself that this was the inevitable way that the story would end. The first civilization, with all their powers and resources did not prevent the world from "ending", who would say the humans would do. But it seems like the effort from the assassins throughout the games were pointless. I say it again, I don't think that prevent the end of the world was possible, but I expected something far more dramatic and elaborate, just like the whole series.
    Assassin's Creed 3 is a kickass game, and as a fan, I can assure it's a great game. But the glitches prevent you of enjoying the game in full. The ending is not so bad in my opinion, but could've been better. Perhaps Ubisoft will release patches fixing the glitches in the next weeks or months. When it happens, the game take a 10 from me. Right now, it's a 9.
    Expand
  10. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    Let me start of by saying Assassins Creed II was one of my favorite games because it was such a step forward from Assassins Creed 1. . I Hated brotherhood and revolution because i felt like they where the same game. And they didnt change much at all compared to AC2. I was worried that this might happen for AC3. Apsolutely not.! the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is amazing and they areLet me start of by saying Assassins Creed II was one of my favorite games because it was such a step forward from Assassins Creed 1. . I Hated brotherhood and revolution because i felt like they where the same game. And they didnt change much at all compared to AC2. I was worried that this might happen for AC3. Apsolutely not.! the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is amazing and they are after changing alot of things about this game. i would mark it a 10 but i find one thing wrong with this game. it sometimes lags a bit ! but other than that. Perfect Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Just reviewing these reviews..I can't believe there's a negative review @ all..I mean to each is own, but to say this game isn't creative brilliance is just ridiculous..If u are a fan of AC series, then you'll be happy to know, that it has everything you love about it, times 10!!!!...I'm not going to spoil it for anybody, but with the size of the game and the wealth of content, itsJust reviewing these reviews..I can't believe there's a negative review @ all..I mean to each is own, but to say this game isn't creative brilliance is just ridiculous..If u are a fan of AC series, then you'll be happy to know, that it has everything you love about it, times 10!!!!...I'm not going to spoil it for anybody, but with the size of the game and the wealth of content, its probably the best bargain in video games this year..AC games are meant to be played patient and methodical, just as their protagonists are...so if you're not playing the game the way it was created, then its an injustice to the franchise...Great game in every facet Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    I'm about to laugh at all the negative reviewers because I think they just need to calm down. The introduction of the game is about 2 hours and yes it "forces" you through a lot of stuff, but AC3 wasn't designed for idiots with no patience. AC3 is for those die-hard fans who love the plot, and so these 2 hours are putting you through plot that you MUST endure if you have followed the storyI'm about to laugh at all the negative reviewers because I think they just need to calm down. The introduction of the game is about 2 hours and yes it "forces" you through a lot of stuff, but AC3 wasn't designed for idiots with no patience. AC3 is for those die-hard fans who love the plot, and so these 2 hours are putting you through plot that you MUST endure if you have followed the story previously. DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME UNTIL YOU'VE PLAYED THE OTHERS. And if you're impatient and lazy and stupid then just don't bother. You will love the graphics and gameplay because the devs have put blood sweat and tears into those domains, but the game is mostly for the plot and the love. It's deep and will keep getting deeper. AC 4 LYFE!!! Expand
  13. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    I'm going to give it a 9 out of 10 just to let you know this game is awesome! i love the AC games and to me this is the best so far....so if your looking for a fun and awesome game get Assassin's creed 3
  14. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing from the start I could see that this was Ubisofts most innovative and daring Assassins Creed game yet, and it paid off. There were many things in this game that should be commended such as the great new combat system and the new open frontier area that opens up so many possibilities and introduced along with it the "fun" ability to climb trees. Amazing story, greatThis game is amazing from the start I could see that this was Ubisofts most innovative and daring Assassins Creed game yet, and it paid off. There were many things in this game that should be commended such as the great new combat system and the new open frontier area that opens up so many possibilities and introduced along with it the "fun" ability to climb trees. Amazing story, great gameplay and awesome characters all together make the best Assassins' Creed game to date. Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Take what has made the series great so far, and give it a face lift, then tweak the combat. Toss in a killer multi-player, and sprinkle in some good story points and you have this game. Its not without faults. I have had a few visual glitches with the environmental as well as a main character talking in a cut scene without there lips moving. But over all, the combat is what shines thru.Take what has made the series great so far, and give it a face lift, then tweak the combat. Toss in a killer multi-player, and sprinkle in some good story points and you have this game. Its not without faults. I have had a few visual glitches with the environmental as well as a main character talking in a cut scene without there lips moving. But over all, the combat is what shines thru. The enhancements to the flow just feel right. I so far have greatly enjoyed this game and would recommend even if you have skipped a few or not played any at all. Expand
  16. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely AMAZING!!! After the second game, assassin's creed kind of went downhill but now its right back on course. I wasn't particularly impressed with brotherhood and revelations but this time I got that fresh feeling I got when I played ACII for the first time. The graphics are awesome and there is so much to do. So many side quests. I also found the story better than theThis game is absolutely AMAZING!!! After the second game, assassin's creed kind of went downhill but now its right back on course. I wasn't particularly impressed with brotherhood and revelations but this time I got that fresh feeling I got when I played ACII for the first time. The graphics are awesome and there is so much to do. So many side quests. I also found the story better than the previous games. Connor is the best protagonist yet with a sense of honor and his story threads are very thoroughly explored. All in all, Assassin's creed III is the best assassin'screed yet and definitely (in my opinion) the best game of 2012. It is a must buy for any TRUE assassin's creed fan Collapse
  17. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed 3 is the best game I've ever played in my whole entire life. That's all I really have to say about this title. You can see details from other reviews.
  18. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    It takes a little while to get into (the story doesn't really "start" until you're halfway through, which is a little odd I admit). But once Connor's story starts rolling, and the game is finally opened up, boy is it great. It's easily (very easily) the best AC yet.

    I've heard some people say they don't like Connor which baffles me. Sure he is a little one-note, but the guy epitomizes
    It takes a little while to get into (the story doesn't really "start" until you're halfway through, which is a little odd I admit). But once Connor's story starts rolling, and the game is finally opened up, boy is it great. It's easily (very easily) the best AC yet.

    I've heard some people say they don't like Connor which baffles me. Sure he is a little one-note, but the guy epitomizes courage and an unwavering determination. The difference between him potentially dying, and doing the right the thing, doesn't exist. If something needs to be done, he's going to do it any way he can. I suppose that isn't really a unique trait in a video game hero, but because this story is so steeped in history it dawns on you that a guy not unlike this probably did exist.

    Branching off that, the biggest draw for me is the story (and always has been with the AC series). It's wonderful. The overarching story is great, and how it connects and parallels the modern day Desmond story is really very clever. I wish I could put this into my own words but GameInformer managed to say exactly how I felt about the main story as it's truly one of the best I've played in any game. "The storytelling that weaves through these many threads is stellar. Rather than hiding from the complex themes of freedom versus control at the heart of the series, Assassin
    Expand
  19. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    I have been a fan of the series since it first released and was excited for the final chapter in the series. I was extremely impressed with Connors story as I have been with Altaïr and Ezio's as well. Though those stories were strong, the 'main' story following Desmond was really weak and disappointing. I feel like Desmond's story has been neglected since the first game and I feel weI have been a fan of the series since it first released and was excited for the final chapter in the series. I was extremely impressed with Connors story as I have been with Altaïr and Ezio's as well. Though those stories were strong, the 'main' story following Desmond was really weak and disappointing. I feel like Desmond's story has been neglected since the first game and I feel we as gamers were robbed of the development of Desmond and having another great character in the series. You could take his story completely out and it would not bother me one bit. I wish more time would have been spent on developing Desmond but otherwise the series has ended strong. The new game mechanics are impressive, especially combat. It used to be combat was a breeze and you could take down multiple enemies in seconds, now it is more challenging and adds more depth to combat with the gun play since most enemies carry guns. The sailing was also well done, to my surprise. The ship was easy to control and also offered a challenge by having to gauge winds but lowering your sails. The game overall was impressive and I will definitely have another play through. Expand
  20. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Es sin duda el juego más grande al que he jugado. Además lo tiene todo: buen multijugador, una excelente historia, buenísima jugabilidad y gran variedad de misiones. Hay muchas cosas nuevas con respecto a los otros AC, como los increíbles combos, la escalada por rocas y árboles y el estimulante contraste entre estar en las ciudades y la frontera. LosEs sin duda el juego más grande al que he jugado. Además lo tiene todo: buen multijugador, una excelente historia, buenísima jugabilidad y gran variedad de misiones. Hay muchas cosas nuevas con respecto a los otros AC, como los increíbles combos, la escalada por rocas y árboles y el estimulante contraste entre estar en las ciudades y la frontera. Los gráficos, como era de esperar son increíbles. Su duración es enorme, así que recomiendo este juego antes que otro shooter más, ya que te dará variedad. Es sin duda un juego que no puede faltar en la estantería. Expand
  21. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    Despite some glithches some people are complaining about (only found 3 so far that didn't interfere with the game play) this game delivers awesome graphics and an awesome eviroment to explore, the frontier just doesn't get old.
    I was so immersed in the game that i actually felt annoyed by the Desmond Intreruptions. Buy this games and you will not regret.
  22. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    I don't understand why this game is getting such bad reviews. Let me cut to the chase, the game is simply outstanding and some people are just not realizing that. For me, I am more of a "history" kind of person, so I enjoyed the game very much. I consider this game the best of the franchise, not the worse. With more positives than negatives for this game, I am going for another positiveI don't understand why this game is getting such bad reviews. Let me cut to the chase, the game is simply outstanding and some people are just not realizing that. For me, I am more of a "history" kind of person, so I enjoyed the game very much. I consider this game the best of the franchise, not the worse. With more positives than negatives for this game, I am going for another positive here. Some people are in the middle, or undecided about the game almost, for me, I'm not. The game had everything in it that made it both fun, and suspenseful. I got my hands full whenever the twists of the game began, whenever I saw some parts of the game, I was completely mind-boggled, and wanted to keep playing more and more. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  23. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    Amazing!! Never played a game like it and don't think a single game can touch it. The combat made at first make me hate the game but once I got the hang of it I could see the amazing storyline and captivating scenery. Sometimes I would get stuck on a rock but that was rarely the case. Also once I got the Ezio robes I felt like a true Assassin. BUY THIS GAME!!!!
  24. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Ok after playing a good half hour of it I can safety say that this will probably be my game of the year. Without spoiling much, the game seems to be much more cinematic that the previous titles. Even the theme song is epic and seems like something pulled put of a movie. Same goes with the intro mission of the game. It feels grand. The score really does it for me though. Its just epic.Ok after playing a good half hour of it I can safety say that this will probably be my game of the year. Without spoiling much, the game seems to be much more cinematic that the previous titles. Even the theme song is epic and seems like something pulled put of a movie. Same goes with the intro mission of the game. It feels grand. The score really does it for me though. Its just epic. Anyone who's having second doubts, just buy it. Anyone who's new to the series, a great place to start although I would recommend playing the previous ones (maybe skip ac1 ) Expand
  25. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    OK Im a fan of the franchise but Ill try and be honest here. From what I've seen of the game so far impresses me. Im not sure why its getting such negative feedback from others. Maybe because they played it before launch day and missed the patch. Have played for several hours and not seen any of the mentioned glitch. One thing I will say it that its SLOW to start and maybe that's why itsOK Im a fan of the franchise but Ill try and be honest here. From what I've seen of the game so far impresses me. Im not sure why its getting such negative feedback from others. Maybe because they played it before launch day and missed the patch. Have played for several hours and not seen any of the mentioned glitch. One thing I will say it that its SLOW to start and maybe that's why its turning people away. Yes its a bit controlling at the start and holds your hand alot but I guess that's just Ubi making the franchise playable to new people.

    I actually started by playing multiplayer and thought it was great. Now Im a COD fanboy too but this beats COD by a long shot. You actually have to use tactics and observations. Yes, your target might be right in front of you but killing them might reveal you to the bloke hunting you. Being the hunter and the hunted at the same time give a new kind of thrill.

    The single player game looks great. Graphics are very nice so I can only assume PC will be even better. I think Ubisoft should be congratulated for trying something new. Yes it isnt going to pleas everyone but I think we were all getting a bit sick of Ezio
    Expand
  26. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    If you're a fan of the Assassin's Creed series, you'll feel right at home with AC3. Ubisoft has breathed new life into the series with a Revolutionary War setting in colonial America, and its just as authentic as you've come to expect. Every aspect of the game has been improved, free running is faster, easier, and more fluid and combat is an absolute joy, although the controls have beenIf you're a fan of the Assassin's Creed series, you'll feel right at home with AC3. Ubisoft has breathed new life into the series with a Revolutionary War setting in colonial America, and its just as authentic as you've come to expect. Every aspect of the game has been improved, free running is faster, easier, and more fluid and combat is an absolute joy, although the controls have been slightly tweaked so it may take a battle or two for fans to get accustomed to. As usual the story and realism of the environment is what really stand out here, developers have outdone themselves this go around. It all culminates into one spectacular experience that players won't soon forget. Expand
  27. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    It is a great game not as good as Assassin's Creed 2, but it is a great new addition. The only problems that makes it from being a perfect game are the small glitches like people disappering into the background and when Conner free runs he'll grab objects I don't want him to and at one point some lip syching takes away from the experience. But don't let these small problems keep you awayIt is a great game not as good as Assassin's Creed 2, but it is a great new addition. The only problems that makes it from being a perfect game are the small glitches like people disappering into the background and when Conner free runs he'll grab objects I don't want him to and at one point some lip syching takes away from the experience. But don't let these small problems keep you away from enjoying this big, beautiful game it is a must buy. Expand
  28. Nov 27, 2012
    0
    This game is absolutely AMAZING!!! After the second game, assassin's creed kind of went downhill but now its right back on course. I wasn't particularly impressed with brotherhood and revelations but this time I got that fresh feeling I got when I played ACII for the first time. The graphics are awesome and there is so much to do. So many side quests. I also found the story better than theThis game is absolutely AMAZING!!! After the second game, assassin's creed kind of went downhill but now its right back on course. I wasn't particularly impressed with brotherhood and revelations but this time I got that fresh feeling I got when I played ACII for the first time. The graphics are awesome and there is so much to do. So many side quests. I also found the story better than the previous games. Connor is the best protagonist yet with a sense of honor and his story threads are very thoroughly explored. All in all, Assassin's creed III is the best assassin'screed yet and definitely (in my opinion) the best game of 2012. It is a must buy for any TRUE assassin's creed fan Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.