Assassin's Creed III PlayStation 3

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1317 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Ok after playing a good half hour of it I can safety say that this will probably be my game of the year. Without spoiling much, the game seems to be much more cinematic that the previous titles. Even the theme song is epic and seems like something pulled put of a movie. Same goes with the intro mission of the game. It feels grand. The score really does it for me though. Its just epic.Ok after playing a good half hour of it I can safety say that this will probably be my game of the year. Without spoiling much, the game seems to be much more cinematic that the previous titles. Even the theme song is epic and seems like something pulled put of a movie. Same goes with the intro mission of the game. It feels grand. The score really does it for me though. Its just epic. Anyone who's having second doubts, just buy it. Anyone who's new to the series, a great place to start although I would recommend playing the previous ones (maybe skip ac1 ) Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    OK Im a fan of the franchise but Ill try and be honest here. From what I've seen of the game so far impresses me. Im not sure why its getting such negative feedback from others. Maybe because they played it before launch day and missed the patch. Have played for several hours and not seen any of the mentioned glitch. One thing I will say it that its SLOW to start and maybe that's why itsOK Im a fan of the franchise but Ill try and be honest here. From what I've seen of the game so far impresses me. Im not sure why its getting such negative feedback from others. Maybe because they played it before launch day and missed the patch. Have played for several hours and not seen any of the mentioned glitch. One thing I will say it that its SLOW to start and maybe that's why its turning people away. Yes its a bit controlling at the start and holds your hand alot but I guess that's just Ubi making the franchise playable to new people.

    I actually started by playing multiplayer and thought it was great. Now Im a COD fanboy too but this beats COD by a long shot. You actually have to use tactics and observations. Yes, your target might be right in front of you but killing them might reveal you to the bloke hunting you. Being the hunter and the hunted at the same time give a new kind of thrill.

    The single player game looks great. Graphics are very nice so I can only assume PC will be even better. I think Ubisoft should be congratulated for trying something new. Yes it isnt going to pleas everyone but I think we were all getting a bit sick of Ezio
    Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    6
    Unfortunately it looks as if its left to Dishonored and Far Cry to impress me. I was TO MY SURPRISE, taken aback with the level of polish in assassins creed 3, or lack there of. this game does not deliver what its theme leads you to expect. what is happening to video games. this is not a stealth assassination game. It IS a poor looking action game with some pretty outdoor areas (prettyUnfortunately it looks as if its left to Dishonored and Far Cry to impress me. I was TO MY SURPRISE, taken aback with the level of polish in assassins creed 3, or lack there of. this game does not deliver what its theme leads you to expect. what is happening to video games. this is not a stealth assassination game. It IS a poor looking action game with some pretty outdoor areas (pretty outdoor areas are my favorite in any game). however even the beautiful scenery and attention to detail do not make it an enjoyable way to spend your time beyond the initial OOOOOOOOs and AAAHHHs. Why does the industry keep assuming that we only want action, and hyped up trailers with ill-fitting hip-hop/pop music. for a game with an M rating it feels shockingly insulting to my intelligence. for being such a GROUND BREAKING game and all, shouldn't I want to actually finish it? then why do I just want to put dishonored back in and wait for far cry 3? I wont go into details about the game its self, there are plenty of critic reviews to get an idea of whats there. another sign of the industries plunge into greed, gamestop's logo is printed plainly on the cover art of my copy of AC 3 yay......... Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    I just got the game tonight, and so far it's my favorite AC, even beats 2. New animations looks slick and smooth, graphics are pretty good, and game-play is your typical AC-game. Connor is on par as a character with Ezio for me. I also liked the first naval battle, it was something fresh for the series. Also the scenery is really nice in the game, I've already grown tires of Italy, soI just got the game tonight, and so far it's my favorite AC, even beats 2. New animations looks slick and smooth, graphics are pretty good, and game-play is your typical AC-game. Connor is on par as a character with Ezio for me. I also liked the first naval battle, it was something fresh for the series. Also the scenery is really nice in the game, I've already grown tires of Italy, so that's also +. I highly recommend this game. :) Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    If you're a fan of the Assassin's Creed series, you'll feel right at home with AC3. Ubisoft has breathed new life into the series with a Revolutionary War setting in colonial America, and its just as authentic as you've come to expect. Every aspect of the game has been improved, free running is faster, easier, and more fluid and combat is an absolute joy, although the controls have beenIf you're a fan of the Assassin's Creed series, you'll feel right at home with AC3. Ubisoft has breathed new life into the series with a Revolutionary War setting in colonial America, and its just as authentic as you've come to expect. Every aspect of the game has been improved, free running is faster, easier, and more fluid and combat is an absolute joy, although the controls have been slightly tweaked so it may take a battle or two for fans to get accustomed to. As usual the story and realism of the environment is what really stand out here, developers have outdone themselves this go around. It all culminates into one spectacular experience that players won't soon forget. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    4
    I have been playing games and perusing Metacritic for years. ACIII is the first game to disappoint to such a degree as to drive me to comment. Wandering, lackluster, and frustrating. Ubi should be ashamed. This game can only meekly stand in the shadow of its predecessors. Go back, do it again, and get it right.
  7. Nov 1, 2012
    8
    Assassin's Creed 3 is a good game, it's probably the best in the series. The game looks great and the controls are smooth. I found a few bugs,but nothing too serious. It pretty well improved on almost every aspect. Although they improved on many things, it still feels like the same game as before,which isn't a problem but it's more of a been there done that. Then again it's hard to findAssassin's Creed 3 is a good game, it's probably the best in the series. The game looks great and the controls are smooth. I found a few bugs,but nothing too serious. It pretty well improved on almost every aspect. Although they improved on many things, it still feels like the same game as before,which isn't a problem but it's more of a been there done that. Then again it's hard to find originality today anyway. This game reminded me a bit like Red Dead Redemption, and I shouldn't have to explain why, then again it's not a bad thing. The game still looks great,sounds great and plays smooth, I give it an 8 because I have played better games than this which are more fun. This game IS fun but I do not think it deserves a perfect score. The negative reviews on this game do not make any sense. A game where it controls bad,looks awful and isn't fun, should get a low score. This game has all the elements for a good game,there is nothing wrong with it in terms of playability. I found the game to be a little ont he easy side, but then again, most games today like to cater to the casual gamer anyway. It is really a personal preference, but by no means does this game deserve a 0-6 or even a 10. It's just a solid game and it's worth a look. If you loved the other AC games, then you will love this one even more. If you did not like the other AC games, then you wont like this one either.... 8/10 - Great! Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    It is a great game not as good as Assassin's Creed 2, but it is a great new addition. The only problems that makes it from being a perfect game are the small glitches like people disappering into the background and when Conner free runs he'll grab objects I don't want him to and at one point some lip syching takes away from the experience. But don't let these small problems keep you awayIt is a great game not as good as Assassin's Creed 2, but it is a great new addition. The only problems that makes it from being a perfect game are the small glitches like people disappering into the background and when Conner free runs he'll grab objects I don't want him to and at one point some lip syching takes away from the experience. But don't let these small problems keep you away from enjoying this big, beautiful game it is a must buy. Expand
  9. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I thought this game was brilliantly done! I loved the beautiful detail in the graphics. I also loved the story line of Connor. The fighting, personally to me, was a tad bit harder in this game which is a good thing because ACII made it too easy to fight and kill everyone. I don't to spoil anything, but I loved the background stories that you able to interact as Desmond which explains someI thought this game was brilliantly done! I loved the beautiful detail in the graphics. I also loved the story line of Connor. The fighting, personally to me, was a tad bit harder in this game which is a good thing because ACII made it too easy to fight and kill everyone. I don't to spoil anything, but I loved the background stories that you able to interact as Desmond which explains some of the unanswered questions in the second one, and opens up things that could happen in the next game. I think one of my only complaints is that it was glitchy at times, and sometimes the targets would glitch out and disappear, or you were unable to kill them. Other then that, this game is defiantly worth it, and the good does outweigh the bad things about it. Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2012
    0
    Way too many glitches in this game to take it seriously. People you are supposed to defend just freezing up, horses that are harder to drive than tanks, and glitchy enemy AI that can see through walls and never loses your trail. If you are a person that likes to 100% games, this is definitely not for you. Something as simple as "do not get damaged while crossing this path" is impossible asWay too many glitches in this game to take it seriously. People you are supposed to defend just freezing up, horses that are harder to drive than tanks, and glitchy enemy AI that can see through walls and never loses your trail. If you are a person that likes to 100% games, this is definitely not for you. Something as simple as "do not get damaged while crossing this path" is impossible as there are no warnings to locations that are hit, and "do not get detected" is like threading a needle with an elephant. I would not recommend anyone to play this game as they would likely end up as I am, ready to throw my controller through the tele. Expand
  11. Nov 9, 2012
    0
    99% of the 10's are just Ubisoft employee's. The game isn't much of a step up from the last 3 AC games. That being said, its a waste of money. I'd rather spend that hard earned money on a hooker or drugs rather than Assassin's Creed 2.4

    Please Try Before You Buy!!!! Don't listen to the reviews here! Have a nice day. Its up to you to form your own opinion after trying it, personally I
    99% of the 10's are just Ubisoft employee's. The game isn't much of a step up from the last 3 AC games. That being said, its a waste of money. I'd rather spend that hard earned money on a hooker or drugs rather than Assassin's Creed 2.4

    Please Try Before You Buy!!!! Don't listen to the reviews here! Have a nice day. Its up to you to form your own opinion after trying it, personally I thought it was appalling.
    Expand
  12. Nov 22, 2012
    0
    Wow. Having owned (AND STILL OWN) every Assassins Creed since the beginning, this is especially disappointing. AC2 was perfection... Brotherhood and Revelations were obviously re-skinned cash grabs, so I was hopeful for AC III. But, unsurprisingly, it has been the worst, robbing me of EVERYTHING I loved from the series. And at this point I honestly, wholehearted WISH they would've justWow. Having owned (AND STILL OWN) every Assassins Creed since the beginning, this is especially disappointing. AC2 was perfection... Brotherhood and Revelations were obviously re-skinned cash grabs, so I was hopeful for AC III. But, unsurprisingly, it has been the worst, robbing me of EVERYTHING I loved from the series. And at this point I honestly, wholehearted WISH they would've just re-skinned AC II AGAIN. No freaking wonder Patrice Désilets left such a garbage company. You don't deserve the rights to his game. I hope the same series that saved you from bankruptcy drives you right back down into the ground when your "fans" realize you're robbing them. Expand
  13. Oct 30, 2012
    1
    I just started it but so far i hate it. The Gameplay is the only thing that covered everything else. I hate the new system for everything. Animus Messages .. The **** and the gameplay itself is **** it was to fluent and you could barely control what was happening. In the last 5 games (including the one for the psp) the game felt stabilized and calm but in this ugh..... I wish they didn'tI just started it but so far i hate it. The Gameplay is the only thing that covered everything else. I hate the new system for everything. Animus Messages .. The **** and the gameplay itself is **** it was to fluent and you could barely control what was happening. In the last 5 games (including the one for the psp) the game felt stabilized and calm but in this ugh..... I wish they didn't change that up the game is honestly a sack of **** and i Loved this series sooooooo much but the control's like changing the counter button to be and the camera angles when you're in combat is why i hate this game. Also the menu. OMG it's to ****ing retarded the way how you have to use the right stick ad thing's like that, this is a bad way to end a series. Expand
  14. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I was worried at first about the setting but its really turned out to be a great experience. The graphics first off are great. Landscape and buildings are good enough to interest you in walking around old america to see the original cities. Combat is fun as expected and guns dont damage it nearly as bad as id expected. Theres plenty of cutscenes to keep you fully interested in whats goingI was worried at first about the setting but its really turned out to be a great experience. The graphics first off are great. Landscape and buildings are good enough to interest you in walking around old america to see the original cities. Combat is fun as expected and guns dont damage it nearly as bad as id expected. Theres plenty of cutscenes to keep you fully interested in whats going on and who it involves so you always want to keep playing just to see more story. It really is an amazing entry to the series and i find myself hoping to see more games come out involving this timeframe.so knowing i walked into this game uninterested and not wanting such a jump in time setting to saying hey this game is a 10 was a shock to me. But i do love it thats for sure. It was well done Expand
  15. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    This is so disappointing, missing audio, floating rifles, people disappear in the middle of a battle, assassinate mission where the target is missing... Never, and i mean never have i played a more flawed game, Ubisoft should be kicking themselves for delivering this piece of garbage...
    How can you release such a flawed game and still demand money is beyond my comprehension...
    What a do-over -_-
  16. dpc
    Nov 2, 2012
    9
    To say this is not a good game is ridiculous. There are a few technical issues to be sure, which hopefully will be addressed in a patch. But the setting is incredible, the character development is excellent and it is freakin' fun as hell. The beginning is slow, being an excuse to act as a tutorial of sorts, yet the story and action are still very compelling all the same. So I, at least,To say this is not a good game is ridiculous. There are a few technical issues to be sure, which hopefully will be addressed in a patch. But the setting is incredible, the character development is excellent and it is freakin' fun as hell. The beginning is slow, being an excuse to act as a tutorial of sorts, yet the story and action are still very compelling all the same. So I, at least, can forgive that. Once you get to Boston, things pick up. In reality, I'd give it an 8.5, which is still excellent overall. I wanted to offset the idiots who are saying it's a "0". Come on. But being honest, it's also not exactly a 10 either. What it is, however, is a truly unique experience with an amazing chance to play in the world of colonial America. If you're a prissy fanboy tool, don't bother getting it. Everyone else using a 10th of your brain or more will love it. Expand
  17. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I was quite disappointed with this game to start with, conversations were quite scruffy with two people talking at the same time and once someone was talking without even moving their mouth!!
    However, once you get past the early part of the game and you become Conner this game really shines.
    Graphics are amazing, I spent nearly an hour just walking in the woods looking in wonder at
    I was quite disappointed with this game to start with, conversations were quite scruffy with two people talking at the same time and once someone was talking without even moving their mouth!!
    However, once you get past the early part of the game and you become Conner this game really shines.
    Graphics are amazing, I spent nearly an hour just walking in the woods looking in wonder at stuff! Its a new game with a new lead, and therefore comparing this with earlier Assassins creed games is unfair. AC2 is my fav game ever & its true AC3 is not quite as good, but the standard was very high. If, like me, you love assassins creed then get this game, Its beautiful, with an amazing score and I nearly cried with laughter when Conner tried to sit down on that old chair!
    Expand
  18. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Hours and hours of gameplay, great history, great naval battles, Great characters, and hunting... VARIETY!! Of course it will not please everybody, but... HEY!! IT'S VERY FUN!!
  19. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    Game isn't perfect, few are. Combat system is different than past AC titles and a bit more annoying to get use to. audio between npcss can be annoying as well, as the files seem to be a little corrupt at times. For those complaining, again, about Lucy storyline not being told, you obviously haven't played this game, there are many conversations involving her this time. Most of theGame isn't perfect, few are. Combat system is different than past AC titles and a bit more annoying to get use to. audio between npcss can be annoying as well, as the files seem to be a little corrupt at times. For those complaining, again, about Lucy storyline not being told, you obviously haven't played this game, there are many conversations involving her this time. Most of the negative reviews seem to be from people trying to rush through the game and skipping side quest stuff and not allowing themselves to be fully emersed with the conversations with npcs. As for it feeling different than the other AC titles...of course it is, it would be ridiculous if the eras felt the same dont you think?? Beginning of the game is kinda boring and ver cinematic, however, give the game till you're using Connor fully before you make a full opinion on the game. Expand
  20. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    This game in all was beautiful. The story was incredible and the fighting and free running was so epic and flowing. I dont think ive ever played a game as amazing and groundbreaking as this. The only downfall it had was a few glitches and the horses were disappointing. But those could all easily be fixed with a patch which id expect to be out soon(:
  21. Nov 9, 2012
    4
    Unlike previous installments, this one doesn't really tell a story, it's just a series of strung together missions with minimal transition between. The numerous gameplay and graphical glitches make it a chore to play, and I find that I am forcing myself to play through and just not enjoying this game like I did with the previous installments. Even the original AC was easier to swallowUnlike previous installments, this one doesn't really tell a story, it's just a series of strung together missions with minimal transition between. The numerous gameplay and graphical glitches make it a chore to play, and I find that I am forcing myself to play through and just not enjoying this game like I did with the previous installments. Even the original AC was easier to swallow than this because it had a cohesive storytelling mechanism, but this lacks the thought and polish of even the original installment. Had Ubi put even a modicum of polish into this installment that they had in any of the previous ones, or taken the lessons learned from any of the prior 4 major console releases, this would have been a masterpiece, but in its current state, this is almost a big a steaming pile as Duke Nukem Forever. Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2012
    4
    NO SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW Well, thanks god I'm not the only one who sees that this game is really bad. As more people here, I've been an AC fan since first day, I've all cómics, books and games, even the little ones for Android and IOS, I've beaten AC1 ( my favorite ) 18 times, AC2 12, BH 8 and Revelations 3 and I have all superior editions ( Black, Códex, Animus and FreedomNO SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW Well, thanks god I'm not the only one who sees that this game is really bad. As more people here, I've been an AC fan since first day, I've all cómics, books and games, even the little ones for Android and IOS, I've beaten AC1 ( my favorite ) 18 times, AC2 12, BH 8 and Revelations 3 and I have all superior editions ( Black, Códex, Animus and Freedom ). Not much people can say that they love AC as I do, but this game, AC3 is such a s**t. It's like Ubisoft got all the ingredients, but they didn't know how to cook it, this game could have been the very best AC, they had the history context, they had the graphics, the maps, the varied missions, the best combat in all the saga, and they have screw it up. AC is not famous for his combat or varied missions, it's famous for the story that it has, one of the best stories ever on videogames industry, it's almost as epic as Metal Gear Solid ( which I love even more than AC ), but this game has ruined that history, I wish this game didn't exist, what a boring and EMPTY story, the "epics" moments in this story are empty, that's the main problem of this game, If an important character dies, it doesn't hurt, not like previous games when I almost cried, and the whole history has holes, it's not narrated properly.

    So... I've been talking about Connor's story, but Desmond story is horrible too, I don't want to spoil you, but seriosly, what a bad story, It's ruined. And the bugs in this game are really upseting, fast travel points that desapear, NPCs that doesn't walk, NCPS popping in front of you as you walk on the city, game freezes, lot of secondary missions bugged, it's really horrible, please don't buy this game. I'm realy disappointed with UbiSoft, they did the worst work ever, they are really important developers and they have lost all my respects and all really fan's respect. And... you know what? The worst thing they did, it's that they have lied to all of us. They said that they would end Desmond's story and they didn't. When I was at the end of the game, I was like, well, after 5 years, finally I'm gonna give and end for this amazing story, but It doen'st end. If you say that this game is good, you have no idea about what you are saying, I can't handle a 7, but no more than that, this game s**ks, thank you so much UbiSoft, you have ruined one of the best sagas ever.
    Expand
  23. Jan 18, 2013
    2
    Really disappointing. Have played all the other AC games, and this seemed like a return to the bad points of the first game. Quite repetitive and constrained, and also really annoying how you can't fully upgrade your homestead if you miss an upgrade during an earlier sequence. Hope the next one is an improvement...
  24. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    It's sad really, it's sad how people troll games that compete with thier favourite games, Yes, this game isn't perfect, Yes, Connor (the protagonist) isn't really that good compared to Ezio/Altair, but it's the best game this year along with Max Payne 3 and that is obvious imo, if you deny that you're simply a biased fanboy for another series, i gave this a 10 to counter all those negariveIt's sad really, it's sad how people troll games that compete with thier favourite games, Yes, this game isn't perfect, Yes, Connor (the protagonist) isn't really that good compared to Ezio/Altair, but it's the best game this year along with Max Payne 3 and that is obvious imo, if you deny that you're simply a biased fanboy for another series, i gave this a 10 to counter all those negarive 0's from trolls, my real score is 8.5/10. Expand
  25. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    AC3 is the best experience i have ever played. Tree climbing pushes the limits and really feels next gen, The Combat has improved tremendously and is now more challenging. The side missions have a lot of effort put in to them. The story of Connor is the most compelling i have played and he is now my favourite assassin. The story of his village and community and how he becomes an assassinAC3 is the best experience i have ever played. Tree climbing pushes the limits and really feels next gen, The Combat has improved tremendously and is now more challenging. The side missions have a lot of effort put in to them. The story of Connor is the most compelling i have played and he is now my favourite assassin. The story of his village and community and how he becomes an assassin is the best yet. Expand
  26. Nov 4, 2012
    4
    Story was, by far, the worst of the entire series.

    Conner was a mental midget who spends the entire game acting like a petulant six year old.

    On the flip side, actual game mechanics were mostly solid, with some improvements over previous games in the series. Unfortunately, I love(d) the AC story, and Conner's story was so bad, and Desmond's "end" was so bad, I have to give AC 3 a 4.
  27. Jan 8, 2013
    10
    Every single person who vote this below 9 is an unbelievable retard! Before trying out this one I thought... yeah... Assassins Creed again... tryied the first one, second one and the other series... they are just Assassins Creed... you ALWAYS know what the game is about, do the same thing and know that every single mission in all the past Assassins Creed series are actually all the sameEvery single person who vote this below 9 is an unbelievable retard! Before trying out this one I thought... yeah... Assassins Creed again... tryied the first one, second one and the other series... they are just Assassins Creed... you ALWAYS know what the game is about, do the same thing and know that every single mission in all the past Assassins Creed series are actually all the same and the is BORING. I wanted to give this one a try and.... hhhh... I never felt this feeling before. I only had this feeling when I tried World of Warcraft Classic, Burning Crusade and Fable 1 and that's years ago!!! Those days were so GOOD addicting... Those games were sexy games and I loved them :D and you won't believe this.. Assassins Creed 3 is JUST LIKE THEM! The story is actually epic and cinematic just like Uncharted 2 and the gameplay feels facking relaxing just like World of Warcraft Classic and the RPG elements feels just as original as Fable 1: The Lost Chapters. In few words this game is insane and addicting with this relaxing feeling you probably had when you tried the first series of World of Warcraft role-playing games. Why? In Assassins Creed 3 they changed EVERYTHING from start to scratch. They even changed the way you use the buttons. They even changed the health bar and the sound effects. This is not Assassins Creed 1, 2 or the expansions... this is a brand new one which doesn't even remind about the old ones. It's a whole new project WAY different from the other ones. The graphics looks like Uncharted 2 and way more improved than the old Assassins Creed games. You don't hang around the streets everytime and searching for those Eagle Eye buildings to do sidemissions everytime. For the first time the game is actually telling the story just like they do in movies. This time it's DEFINITELY not about running on roofs and killing people. No... Maaaaaan this is a very bad review by me :D sorry about that buy I just can't explain it. It's just too much... it's wonderful! I couldn't explain how good World of Warcraft Classic was at the beginning because it's was good in every perspective you look at. It's a monster because it feels like a real roleplaying-game just like Warcraft 3, Diablo 2... maaaaan... try this out. This game can't be described in words. And no I'm not a nerd :D This is just too much perfect. Expand
  28. Nov 2, 2012
    4
    Game is okay. The story is the only thing saving it at this point. Don't be surprised when glitches occur often and you are able to kill a group of 30 enemies by yourself with ease.
  29. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed 3 has everything that I could want in a video game because for me a video game has to be an experience almost like a novel and a movie that you're creating as you experience it. The amount of content is staggering and welcome taking great features from the series' previous titles and other recent hit games. If you are looking for a compelling perspective on the americanAssassin's Creed 3 has everything that I could want in a video game because for me a video game has to be an experience almost like a novel and a movie that you're creating as you experience it. The amount of content is staggering and welcome taking great features from the series' previous titles and other recent hit games. If you are looking for a compelling perspective on the american revolution than this game is most definitely for you.

    p.s. - you can assassinate rabbits...rabbits!...that is all.
    Expand
  30. Nov 4, 2012
    3
    i really wanted to like this game. i liked the ones that came before and was hoping it would at least come close. but really, the glitches, bugs and AI are a total PITA. riding a horse on top of a house is funny the first time but it gets old fast. in fact, riding a horse in general gets old fast. you're walking around incongnito and get ambushed by 30+ guards but later on you practicallyi really wanted to like this game. i liked the ones that came before and was hoping it would at least come close. but really, the glitches, bugs and AI are a total PITA. riding a horse on top of a house is funny the first time but it gets old fast. in fact, riding a horse in general gets old fast. you're walking around incongnito and get ambushed by 30+ guards but later on you practically jump a guard and they barely notice. wha? and what's with the screwy controls? why make 4 games the same and change the last one when your audience is most likely going to be made up of the ones that liked the first few games? and by "change" i mean "make totally sucky". the main missions are pretty linear and boring and don't leave much for the player to think about. the menus are a labyrinth to navigate, and that's not a compliment. accessing the map alone is a drag. and why are there more cutscenes than gameplay? at least that's how it feels most of the time. and how boring and pointless were the guild/trading elements? it seems to me that ubisoft just tried to cram in too much into one game, not really developing anything except for the scenery, which is the only reason it got any points at all. in a nutshell: a pretty, but boring and frustrating game. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.