User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1188 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    First of all, the negative reviews on this game are sick and tiring. Everything in this game is incredible, and everything about this game is epic. Let me get all of the minor flaws out of the way first. Yes, this game does have a few hiccups, but so what? It's not like the game of the year last year (Skyrim) wasn't full of bugs, right? Wrong. Other than that, Desmond's face looks aFirst of all, the negative reviews on this game are sick and tiring. Everything in this game is incredible, and everything about this game is epic. Let me get all of the minor flaws out of the way first. Yes, this game does have a few hiccups, but so what? It's not like the game of the year last year (Skyrim) wasn't full of bugs, right? Wrong. Other than that, Desmond's face looks a bit like a prehistoric monkey, so I suggest him wearing the hood is much cooler, but that's about it. The technical achievements in this game is mind-blowing. The vast open-world is full of things to do, from hunting, to side missions to just exploring the living and breathing world. The weather affects in this game are magnificent, whether it's the snow glistening brightly in the sun, or the lavish leaves and tree branches, or the foggy rain pouring down, it is all beautiful. The weather takes an important toll on gameplay as well. For example, if you are trudging through snow, it will make it easier for you to decide to navigate through the trees instead. Speaking of navigation, this game is flawless. The free-running is the best the series achieved, and climbing through trees is even more flawless and free than navigating your way through the city's rooftops. The graphics in this game are outstanding. The motion capture makes it very realistic and brings you even deeper into the story. The character models as well are fantastic and are almost all very diverse. Just looking at the fantastic view of the wilderness is breath-taking... even looking at what the city has to offer (namely Boston) is incredible. The crowds are significantly updated and improved upon as well. They will take note of your action, excuse themselves when bumping in to you, and so on. Each individual person is all doing their own thing, which is cool. This time around, there are kids in the game. Some of their character models can be the same, but that's not the main problem there. They are plainly annoying. They all have the same laugh and will not stop bothering you unless you throw money at them. However, if they notice you are thieving quite well, then they will send you on missions or give you tasks to complete. The voice acting in this game is superb and brings memorable moments just as memorable as the faces you see and will come to remember. The animals in this game, such as bears, deer, elk, moose, goats, dogs, cats, rats, foxes, rabbits, hares, sheep, etc. are all very different in both the way they act and the way you act to them. For example, if you see a pig you can't kill it but you can feed it, and if you see a domestic dog you can pet it. But bears, on the other hand, let's just say you should try to kill it before they kill you... oh and I forgot to mention wolves.... yeah, they're dangerous as well. Foxes will just scatter away. Performing air assassinations on animals is just as fun and fulfilling as performing them on redcoats. New weapons, such as the rope dart, tomahawk and bow and arrow are all thrilling to use. The feeling of sitting there in a bush an knowing that at any given time you can assassinate either an animal or a person is awesome. The bow and arrow works very well, and feels very realistic. The rope dart is probably the most fun weapon to use, as you can list people up to trees or lever them closer to you for an assassination, sort of like the inverted takedown or the bat-claw in Arkham City except here you can kill. The story is also extremely exciting at certain points and jaw-dropping at others. The eye-popping visuals and top-notch voice acting and sound effects contribute to that highly. The Desmond bits in this story are very fun to do, and are always a nice break from the wilderness. Navigating through underground tunnels can be fun at times, but honestly can be a little boring too. Building up a Homestead is fun to do, and you will meet a vast array of characters, each with their own personality along the way. Your brotherhood is acquired through in-depth missions of recruitment, making it more meaningful than in the past. The naval combat in this game is outstanding. Just the feeling of commanding a vessel on the high seas with speedy winds blowing in your face is chilling... never mind destroying other ships with your cannons. Overall, this game is an excellent mix of Red Dead Redemption, Batman: Arkham City and Uncharted with it's courageous own twist on history. This game is not only the best of the series, but the best game of 2012 as well. While I haven't gotten to multiplayer yet, I am sure I will love that just as much, but the fact that I haven't even got to it yet, show you the wealth of gameplay in single-player. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a great game. It has a great time period for the setting and the story is excellent. There have been so not so positive reviews but I will say this, if you like adventure games with a lot action and if you like to take the time to explore then you will like this game. I have played all the assassins creed games and this is by far my favorite. It does not do a whole lot differentAC3 is a great game. It has a great time period for the setting and the story is excellent. There have been so not so positive reviews but I will say this, if you like adventure games with a lot action and if you like to take the time to explore then you will like this game. I have played all the assassins creed games and this is by far my favorite. It does not do a whole lot different from the previous games but it does fine tune the game into a much better game. The graphics are excellent even though the frame rate can slow down it is nothing major, the gameplay is easier but better and like I said the story is the best for the series. I recommend this game to anyone that just enjoys playing games. Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    6
    The sad truth is that one of the most hyped games of 2012 just wasn't very good by any stretch of the imagination. Assassin's Creed III is by the far the worst entry in the series to date and its greatest achievement include making the American Revolution boring, creating a boring protagonist, having one of the worst endings of 2012, and owning some hilarious bugs. I guess I will say theThe sad truth is that one of the most hyped games of 2012 just wasn't very good by any stretch of the imagination. Assassin's Creed III is by the far the worst entry in the series to date and its greatest achievement include making the American Revolution boring, creating a boring protagonist, having one of the worst endings of 2012, and owning some hilarious bugs. I guess I will say the positive things first. Maybe I should say thing. The graphics are really great and the game actually looks beautiful. At least when you aren't slipping into holes in the geometry or clipping through walls that is. You play as Connor, or his true name Noonecares. I didn't much care for Ezio, but Connor has got to be one of the dullest personalities I have found in recent games. Despite having more character development than Ezio, he still falls short when compared to Ezio. The rest of the story somehow manages to be boring too. Many of the exciting moments take place in cutscenes and then you just walk from one cutscene to another. Sounds fun? You're right it doesn't. There's also a 6 hour tutorial. Yep! You don't even play as Connor then either! I know right?! Look just wait for this to drop to 20 dollars. If you must play you may find some enjoyment, but don't expect a godsend. A fantastic game this is not. Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2013
    6
    I have played all the Assassin Creed games and was looking forward this one so much, but when reading other reviews was a little worried, so waited until the price dropped before buying! A good choice, while the game is nice to look at it, it is very frustrating and the characters are pretty dull. I have played every game through to completion and enjoyed collecting all the trophies thatI have played all the Assassin Creed games and was looking forward this one so much, but when reading other reviews was a little worried, so waited until the price dropped before buying! A good choice, while the game is nice to look at it, it is very frustrating and the characters are pretty dull. I have played every game through to completion and enjoyed collecting all the trophies that go with it, but for the first time I can't be bothered with all the side missions, this game has really disappointed so far(up to sequence 5), I hope the further I get it improves! Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    I can't believe how much I'm hating this game right now. I've always loved the AC storyline. AC2 being superb. AC3 story and character have been a complete failure. Although, the prologue was interesting, its quite strange to see the initial characters you played suddenly act evil. Didn't really sell well for me. Connor is too serious all the time. His baggage becomes your baggage and youI can't believe how much I'm hating this game right now. I've always loved the AC storyline. AC2 being superb. AC3 story and character have been a complete failure. Although, the prologue was interesting, its quite strange to see the initial characters you played suddenly act evil. Didn't really sell well for me. Connor is too serious all the time. His baggage becomes your baggage and you tire of it quickly. The graphics look washed out. I don't find the world interesting to explore. The main missions drain so much out of you that you really don't feel like investing yourself in that world. The controls aren't all that great either. I'm glad I'm able to check out this game through PS Plus instead of shelling out actual money because its really not worth it. Worst AC3 game. Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    8
    Everything (that we've learned to love and hate) is here. Gameplay, graphics, mechanics, we all know what to expect. Does this mean A3 is more of the same? No. And this is why I'm giving it a positive review. A3 is a breath of fresh air, even though it's pretty much the same game from before. It's the small tweaks that made the difference. The environment (finally leaving old Europe) isEverything (that we've learned to love and hate) is here. Gameplay, graphics, mechanics, we all know what to expect. Does this mean A3 is more of the same? No. And this is why I'm giving it a positive review. A3 is a breath of fresh air, even though it's pretty much the same game from before. It's the small tweaks that made the difference. The environment (finally leaving old Europe) is gorgeous, with a beautiful scenery and an open world that reminded me of Red Dead Redemption. The whole concept is fantastic as well (the assassins and the templars involved with the American Revolution). The new character, Connor (it's impossible to write his Indigenous name) is an interesting one, with a charm of his own; and it's great to play with someone else then Ezio. Another great addition are the naval battles, which function as the best mini-game in the series so far. I don't know where Ubi is taking this franchise but this time, at least, they really offered something with a new taste. And, for me, gave the series some lifetime to burn. Not the best game in the world (and not the best game of 2012) but a great game nevertheless. Must not be missed. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    First off - Big Assassin's Creed Fan, so naturally I was waiting for this to hit the shelves since its announcement. In short - It's a game that will not disappoint however in my opinion, hasn't got enough to blow it out of the park. The character development was all too quick (even though the intro was quite long), I just thought Connor went from being a boy to a 'man on a mission' all toFirst off - Big Assassin's Creed Fan, so naturally I was waiting for this to hit the shelves since its announcement. In short - It's a game that will not disappoint however in my opinion, hasn't got enough to blow it out of the park. The character development was all too quick (even though the intro was quite long), I just thought Connor went from being a boy to a 'man on a mission' all to quickly. For example, one second Achilles is going to train him and BAM 6 months later: Master Assassin. Connor himself is a great character but he lacks the charm and likeablilty the Ezio has. He reminds me a little bit of Altair, and to be honest, the game resembles AC-I quite a lot (Long travels in between cities and horse rides that have become not all that fun anymore). The combat however is really good (however it does take some getting used to), new weapons are great, naval missions are superb and hunting is also well executed. This game is by no means a bad game, however I think if it had more elements of Ezio's installments mixed in with these new features, it would of made for a masterpiece. Still a must have in your AC Collection. Expand
  8. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I came into this with much baggage, thinking the team had gone too far in implementing an era that didn't really suit the previous chapters. How wrong I was! This period in time was sublime, fitting and engaging for almost all of the game. It does take a while to warm up, but once it does, the characters, environments, story and voice acting swallow you in for one amazing open world ride. Although the engine is aging, AC3 looks stunning almost all of the time, especially during the naval missions. My only gripes revolve around it's lacklustre protagonist, it's occasionally sketchy combat mechanics and...it's bland, bland ending. If you think Mass Effect 3's was a letdown, wait till you see this brain fart! But at the end of the day, you're still left with one of the best titles of the year, and one that will be a thrill for anyone who appreciates a game that isn't riddled with the ADD swamped fury that our consoles have been plagued with a la FPS. Expand
  9. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    First impressions of Assassin's Creed III is that it's amazing. It's beautiful. The intro although a bit too long lays the foundation for something epic. But that's about it story wise. And for a series that depends so heavily on a story, this is devastating for AC3. I spend the entire game waiting for that extra gear to kick in, for something to happen that takes this game to a newFirst impressions of Assassin's Creed III is that it's amazing. It's beautiful. The intro although a bit too long lays the foundation for something epic. But that's about it story wise. And for a series that depends so heavily on a story, this is devastating for AC3. I spend the entire game waiting for that extra gear to kick in, for something to happen that takes this game to a new level. But it never happens. Instead we are served this rather bland and predictable story that doesn't really grabs a hold of you. There are no interesting plot twists. It's such a shame. What AC3 is missing is an overlook, something or someone to tie all the knots togheter. You have this beautiful setting but they could have made better use of it. The now famous naval missions are great but irrelevant for the story. There's a protagonist who's rather boring when he could have been so great if the writers would have just tried harder to mediate the feeling of "whatever I do I'm doomed" or something like that. A lot of elements in AC3 reminds me too much of the pointless collecting from AC1. A lot of stuff is utterly pointless in AC3. Collect various trinkets for no really useful reason. And the ending is horrible, a cliche unworthy the AC universe. Was this the best they could come up with? Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    It is definitely a different AC. There are things that are so different that takes away the fun from it, but some of the differences also add to it as well. Whilst recruiting assassins is a little bit more tedious, they make made up for this fact by actually having a back-story. They do feel like real characters. Especially also the characters in the homestead and others that you interactIt is definitely a different AC. There are things that are so different that takes away the fun from it, but some of the differences also add to it as well. Whilst recruiting assassins is a little bit more tedious, they make made up for this fact by actually having a back-story. They do feel like real characters. Especially also the characters in the homestead and others that you interact with. There is definitely a lot more focus on making a more realistic feel to the story. The game-play is good as usual though the combat still repetitive. Expand
  11. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This is gonna be short and sweet this is by far more superior of a game then all the other assassins creed games they took out all the crap that sucked in the other games and added a **** load of cool features sure there are a handful of bugs but for a game this good and this big its a small price to pay so you people that always **** and complain deal with it or just go sell your copyThis is gonna be short and sweet this is by far more superior of a game then all the other assassins creed games they took out all the crap that sucked in the other games and added a **** load of cool features sure there are a handful of bugs but for a game this good and this big its a small price to pay so you people that always **** and complain deal with it or just go sell your copy some of gamers and critics game of the year games have more bugs then this so my hats off to UbiSoft for a great job oh and I'm surprised one of you complainers haven't said something stupid yet like oh I don't like this game because its not like call of duty lol Expand
  12. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Finally, Assassin's Creed gets some renovation. After 2 COMPLETELY UNNECESSARY half-sequels, half-add-ons a full-scale part of the franchise is out. But does it live up to the expectations of the grand ending of the trilogy? Not quite. Firstly, the story. AC3 introduces a new era - American Revolution, and with it, a new character - Connor Kenway (who also has some long unpronounceableFinally, Assassin's Creed gets some renovation. After 2 COMPLETELY UNNECESSARY half-sequels, half-add-ons a full-scale part of the franchise is out. But does it live up to the expectations of the grand ending of the trilogy? Not quite. Firstly, the story. AC3 introduces a new era - American Revolution, and with it, a new character - Connor Kenway (who also has some long unpronounceable Indian name) The main plot is quite alright, with Ubisoft actually fulfilling the promise not to make the game pro-american. It's not, you have to fight against the patriots as well as the redcoats and the Founding Fathers aren't idealised at all, with George Washington himself being shown as a weak leader and a poor tactician. I personally don't have problems with the main character (and I certainly don't find him worse than the overrated Ezio Auditore), but one thing can't be denied - when compared to his own father (who serves as a secondary protagonist for like, 4 hours of gameplay), he lacks his charm and charisma. If Ubisoft decides to make another annual half-baked "sequel" (and they will, everyone loves money), they should definitely devote it to Haytham's backstory. However, as for the modern-age plot with Desmond struggling to save the world, things are not as bright. Desmond's missions are stupid and boring, and the ending is totally underwhelming, it's not an ending in fact, just an open gate for a sequel of some kind. I was hugely disappointed by that, since I liked Desmond's story before. Now to the technical part of the game. It looks just beautiful - AnvilNext provides some beautiful scenery, especially the Frontier. The protagonist's animations have been remade, and now just watching Connor climb the trees and jump over fences is a joy. The game suffered from some glitches in its 1.0 version, but that didn't ruin the game for me. Anyway, to the gameplay. It's still the AC gameplay you're all used to, no revolution here, sadly, just a few tweaks. Same lame "stealth", ending with you forced to go into an open fight 9 out of 10 times, basically the same combat system (with one change - you don't need going into the blocking stance to counter, so it's a bit faster and smoother) One welcome addition is the sea battles. Connor takes the role of the Captain of the Aquila, the Assassins' fleet flagship, and crosses the seas, fighting other vessels, while boarding some of them. One thing that I'd like to mention, is the soundtrack. Ubisoft somewhy didn't hire Jesper Kyd for it, so Lorne Balfe took his place. While the main theme is memorable, most other tunes are not, and that is a shame, since Jesper Kyd's music helped a lot to dive into the atmosphere of a particular age. To sum up, it's a good game, neither much better nor worse than AC2 in my opinion, mostly improving over its predecessor. One thing that it shows is that the franchise doesn't need to go Call-of-Duty-like annual. It's the first game in the franchise since AC2 that I actually enjoyed. Expand
  13. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    Sadly, this is a game that just doesn't feel fresh. There isn't enough new or exciting in terms of gameplay to distinguish this from AC2 part 4. After playing all the Ezio games I was not only beginning to tire of the same old stuff gameplay wise, but also very disappointed in how unlikable Connor is, especially when compared to Ezio or even Haytham. I wish I could have played asSadly, this is a game that just doesn't feel fresh. There isn't enough new or exciting in terms of gameplay to distinguish this from AC2 part 4. After playing all the Ezio games I was not only beginning to tire of the same old stuff gameplay wise, but also very disappointed in how unlikable Connor is, especially when compared to Ezio or even Haytham. I wish I could have played as Haytham for the entire game instead. I did play the game through to the end, which is saying something I guess, but I really have no desire to go back and try to complete more side missions or unlock or explore anything else. The ending also felt like a real let down. I remember almost crying at the end of Metal Gear 3 because of how beautiful it was. The ending of this game left me feeling empty and thinking "That's it?" Expand
  14. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here is my review of the game, first the graphics, the graphics in this game are really detailed and beautiful, the character models and the environments are great and when you reach a highpoint, you will not want to go down just because you want to apprecciate the scenery, especially in the frontier, now the gameplay, this is your typical ac gameplay but with some cool tweaks, the controls have changed, now you counter with o or b in ps3 or xbox, you knwo have double counters and combos which feel great , it is also dual wielding , the combat if done right you can teke out large groups of enemies like a boss because of the dual wielding you can now kill cleanly and quickly, it also has a greater stelath feature with some new itmes like the bow or the rope dart, and some other new functions that meake the steakth easier and cooler, you also have hunting, where you can hunt animals and sell their pelts at a certain cost based on the way you killed the animal, which is really cool and interesting, you also have club challenges which are also fun to complete, the naval warfare is good, ot is fun and keeps the game fresh, and you can also upgrade your ship, all of the gameplay is a ton of fun, the only minor problem I had though was the crafting interface, at the beggining it was confusing as **** characters: the characters in this game are really likeable and well done, i almost cried when achilles and haytham died, connor for me is in par with ezio as a character and all of the characters are really deep and they make you care about them, at least for me, i wanted every memeber of the templar order to die , and at the same time i was worried of what would happen to connor and his companions throughout the story.
    story, it is a direct sequel to assassins creed revelations you start the game as desmond where he and his friends find a crypt but then desmond starts to have allucinations and he eventually faints, i'm not going to say anymore to don't spil anything more than i did, but the story is so well done that i never wanted to stop playing, and i LITERALLY dodn't want too, if i had to pee i would say to myself **** IT!! i want to know what happens next.
    Overall in MY opinion it is a 10 out of 10, it has some minor issues and bugs but i think it raises the bar so high that it doesn't deserved any pints of. Peace
    Expand
  15. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    Assassins meet Red Dead Redemption, Batman Arkham Asylum, Uncharted, and Skyrim. EXCELLENT game with some forgivable glitches. I was not a fan of the previous titles in this series. I played AC II and while I enjoyed it, I couldn't get into it. ACIII has me hooked however.

    The open world format is incredible, and seeing Boston brought to life is absolutely amazing. I love the fact
    Assassins meet Red Dead Redemption, Batman Arkham Asylum, Uncharted, and Skyrim. EXCELLENT game with some forgivable glitches. I was not a fan of the previous titles in this series. I played AC II and while I enjoyed it, I couldn't get into it. ACIII has me hooked however.

    The open world format is incredible, and seeing Boston brought to life is absolutely amazing. I love the fact that I can climb on buildings that are still standing today. The crafting is handled in one of the best ways I've seen yet. No more of this 'my character does it all' (fight/explore/blacksmith/leatherman, etc.), but rather, these things are managed by you but w/ a quite an explicable backdrop whereby you are recruiting others to do the work for you, while you're off saving the world. The free running through the forests and trees is phenomenal but this is where some of the glitches come to light. As I said, this is forgivable as one takes in how much the dev's accomplished with transferring the style to the forests, as if the cities weren't cool enough. Well done! The horseback riding is similar to Red Dead Redemption but doesn't flow quite as well especially over and around some of the rocky terrain.

    But those are minor things for a game that has added some pretty phenomenal stuff to the mix. When I played Uncharted 2 and 3, I envisioned how cool a game like that would be with a Ninja or Assassin; now I have it. Excellent game world to lose yourself in for hours upon hours.
    Expand
  16. Nov 9, 2012
    6
    To me it seems as the Assassin's Creed serie has lost their charm. The serie has been going downhill ever since Revelations. Assassin's Creed III does not offer much new, the story is not as touching as the other AC games before it. It lacks drama. You don't get attached to the assassin Connor as you do with Altair and Ezio. The gameplay needs to be polished I have experienced a couple ofTo me it seems as the Assassin's Creed serie has lost their charm. The serie has been going downhill ever since Revelations. Assassin's Creed III does not offer much new, the story is not as touching as the other AC games before it. It lacks drama. You don't get attached to the assassin Connor as you do with Altair and Ezio. The gameplay needs to be polished I have experienced a couple of bugs during fighting and climbing. Expand
  17. Feb 5, 2013
    5
    This game is... quite honestly this game is rather bad... this is coming from a guy who has quite a high tolerance level for glitches and just general bad gamedesign. I can stomach a glitch here and there, I can take unresponsive control, in Assassin's creed 2 and Brotherhood these existed as well and those are my favourite titles in the franchise by far... but this game just takes it to aThis game is... quite honestly this game is rather bad... this is coming from a guy who has quite a high tolerance level for glitches and just general bad gamedesign. I can stomach a glitch here and there, I can take unresponsive control, in Assassin's creed 2 and Brotherhood these existed as well and those are my favourite titles in the franchise by far... but this game just takes it to a whole new level, begging me to question wether Ubisoft really finished this game, and this is coming from someone who's played the game nearly half a year after it was released, and hearing the game was even buggier back when it hit the storeshelves! The story is a complete boring on-rails experience, woven into a mission system that almost seems afraid to let go of your hand out of fear of you getting hopelessly lost. This is coming out of personal preference but the colonial times are just not as appealing to me as renaisance Italy was, probably because I am european and I'm not too educated on american history I don't know but the setting, aside from the graphically amazing frontier, felt incredibly bland and most buildings seemed more like a copy paste job than anything else. The combat, while definitely fun on its own, is a case of don't fix what isn't broken, what was wrong with ACII's combat? The music, wherever it is present, is still amazing, Jesper Kyd's feel for making this series sound awsome is still very apparent in this title. But none of these things come even close to how utterly broken this game feels. free running is a disaster, i can't count how many times I have pressed forward on my controller and Connor ACTUALLY went backward! the mission constraint don't feel like bonus objectives at all, they take the fun out of the game for any completionist out there and in some missions they actually punish players for being thorough, such as some of the naval missions where having a fully upgraded ship actually makes achieving bonus objectives a complete and utter excercise in frustration. I have loved this franchise since day one, the pseudo-sci-fi backstory of Desmond aside, I adore the historical feel of these games, but the way I see it this game was a nail in the franchise's coffin. One final word of advice to Ubisoft, give us an ASSASSIN's creed! If I wanted to play an action adventure game I would go play God of war. Expand
  18. Feb 26, 2013
    7
    I believe Ubisoft did good with this one. New big world and new set of quests better controls.
    I just hated the bugs (too many bugs) even after patches.
    Comparing AC3 with Revelation I found that Revelation was better in story and graphics. While AC3 is better in controls variety of quests. Still AC Revelation beats AC3 for me. I'm an Ezio fan, so having a new assassin to master should
    I believe Ubisoft did good with this one. New big world and new set of quests better controls.
    I just hated the bugs (too many bugs) even after patches.
    Comparing AC3 with Revelation I found that Revelation was better in story and graphics. While AC3 is better in controls variety of quests. Still AC Revelation beats AC3 for me.
    I'm an Ezio fan, so having a new assassin to master should really convince me to like him/her. Conner was good but couldn't replace Ezio.
    Over all, it is recommended to play, but I don't think this one could make you an AC fan
    Expand
  19. Jan 26, 2013
    7
    Since Assassin's Creed 3 is the most ambitious AC, It is a disappointing title. However, It has some great additions, thankfully. Parkour is improved, allowing you to climb trees and, obviously, you can still climb building. The combat, love it or hate it, is fast and fun. It is changed, but It's still great. Playing stealthy It's faster here. Hunting is a good addition, too. The navalSince Assassin's Creed 3 is the most ambitious AC, It is a disappointing title. However, It has some great additions, thankfully. Parkour is improved, allowing you to climb trees and, obviously, you can still climb building. The combat, love it or hate it, is fast and fun. It is changed, but It's still great. Playing stealthy It's faster here. Hunting is a good addition, too. The naval battles are fantastic in this game. But what Assassin's Creed 3 succeeds for, is the non-linear gameplay. Exploring is highly entertaining. The multiplayer is fun, with some unique modes. However, what's the problem that I gave it a 7. While the story is good, the main character, Connor, is dull. He is humorless and speakless, and he isn't that well-acted. The voice acting, is fine, but sometimes there's dialogue confusions. The Desmond's ending is downright terrible. The biggest problem are the f**king glitches and bugs! This game has a tons of them, which'll happen frequently. Assassin's Creed 3, is a disappointing title. Expand
  20. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    I just finished playing through the campaign and must say it's been a hell of a ride. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of the game and there were no moments where I wanted to put down my controller, with the exception of spending too many hours playing. I wasn't too huge a big fan of the series, but this game won me over. This game has beautiful animations, great story telling and funI just finished playing through the campaign and must say it's been a hell of a ride. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of the game and there were no moments where I wanted to put down my controller, with the exception of spending too many hours playing. I wasn't too huge a big fan of the series, but this game won me over. This game has beautiful animations, great story telling and fun gameplay with many different things to do around the world. The difficulty is not very hard unless you try to complete all objectives. Would highly recommend for all gamers or anybody who just wants a great story. Expand
  21. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    This game is truly a great game!I It is very realistic,everything has improved, especially the moves!! The counters and the climbing are just great and all this combined with great graphics!
  22. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ah...Assassin's Creed, how I love this series.
    Unfortunately, I can't call AC 3 the best of the series, or even my favorite.
    But that doesn't mean it is a bad game, oh no! The start of our Assassin's story begins with quite a twist! ...But I wouldn't spoil to much about it.
    It was interesting to see the story from the point of view from a character who isn't an Assassin though. But after the start it quickly follows the old AC formula, kill these Templars (in an interesting way) to progress with the story, meet interesting people from history and do some free-running. Not that the formula is bad, it's one of the reason I enjoy the games! But there are some things about it that just piss me off, Connor has a chance to kill one of the major Templars on more than one ocassion...But doesn't! Even after the bastard left Connor to die/fend for himself everytime he left! That pissed me off a little... he has his reasons of course, but whatever. Another thing I truly loved were the missions on sea.
    Not only did the ocean look beautiful on a clear sunny day, and terrifying during storms, the combat between ships was some of the most fun I had while playing. Sinking pirate ships, boarding ships and fighting the crew on deck and simply sailing around was tons of fun! I hope Ubisoft makes use of the engine they used for AC 3 to make a pirate game! But let's continue with this review. Though I enjoyed the sailing side-quests (I promise to shut up about them now) I didn't really bother with the rest of the side-quests. You can chase and collect Almanac pages (which frustrated the hell out of me), collect feathers (which I only did in the turtorial mission), hunt, brawl, Frontier mysteries, take Assassination contracts and so much more... Honestly, to me it seemed like all that stuff was just there to pad out the game. Then again, solving some of those Frontier Mysteries was a lot of fun, and I really enjoyed the music they used for the Brawls! The rest I didn't really do. As for the Homestead? I can't say that I hated it.
    I generally liked building up the village and as I did more missions, I felt closer to the people living there. There is this one mission where the abusive husband of one of the women living in your Homestead tries to break into her home and take her back, or beat her up or whatever...I wasn't really paying attention because I really hated that guy and was filled with glee as my fellow villagers and I stomped the **** out of him and his friends. But, unfortunately, in most of the missions you have to do for them to make your village grow and gain more crafting material (more on that later) it feels as if they are to lazy to do it themselves (even though some have good reasons, like being a deserter for example) or that you have to hold their hand while you are doing it. Another part of the Homestead is the whole crafting/trading buisiness.
    ...I can honestly say that I did very little with it. I crafter a few weapons, and traded maybe three or four times in the entire game. It just seemed like something else to pad out the game with, and not really an all that usefull future... But I'm sure there are some people who enjoy micro-managing this sort of stuff. Now to our two main characters.
    Desmond: Honestly? When I first heard of this game I thought that we would finally get to play as Desmond. Jumping around exploring modern cities to find clues left behind by the First Civ that could help save the world, while fighting Abstergo as they are hot on their heels. And maybe finally build up a real relationship with his team through real conversations and fighting side by side, instead of the short talks we get when we leave the Animus (and the e-mails you recieve). But no, even though we do get some short (and pretty fun) missions with Des, I never really got to know him. Or cared for him as I did for Altaïr, Ezio and even Connor. Connor: I liked Connor, but not as much as the previous Assassins. Through Ezio and Altaïr we really got to know what the Assassins stood for, the history of their order in their homeland and why they fought. Connor does have a pretty good reason for wanting to fight the Templars, I give him that. But you never really seem to see him as an Assassin. We only hear about the dissapearance of the Brotherhood through short talks and an entry in the database, and we don't see much of his training either. I still liked him, even though he didn't express much emotion (aside from the occasional angry outburst.).

    Anyway, this was my review!
    Despite some negativety on my part, I really liked it! I still have some pet peeves (like how everyone politely waits, and attacks one at a time, in combat. Waiting to be slaughtered) but I'm running out of words. All I wish to say is that I enjoyed this series, and hope to see more of it! (Which is pretty damn likely, considering the sequel bait at the end of the game!)
    Expand
  23. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    This may be the best game i have ever played. Assassins creed ||| is a giant of a game. I believe it truly deserves a spot among the top five best ps3 games of all time if not the best. The amount of gameplay is enormous and the vast majority of the side missions is a must to play. The story is spectacular. I am a bi tsurprised that the game havent got even better scores. Thats probablyThis may be the best game i have ever played. Assassins creed ||| is a giant of a game. I believe it truly deserves a spot among the top five best ps3 games of all time if not the best. The amount of gameplay is enormous and the vast majority of the side missions is a must to play. The story is spectacular. I am a bi tsurprised that the game havent got even better scores. Thats probably due to the glitches. Yes there are some but they havent been a huge deal for me. A patch in the weeks to come will probably make that problem vanish. I expect ign to re-review the game after a bug fixer has been published and give the game a rating of minimum 9 pts. Expand
  24. Nov 5, 2012
    5
    They succeeded in making the same game again. It's prettier now but it's essentially the same as the previous two with an even more boring combat system (the old one was already a zero threat snooze fest). Lots of glitches and bugs in this one as well. I've always found these AC games somewhat boring and easy but this one was much worse in respect to combat. I'm surprised there are so manyThey succeeded in making the same game again. It's prettier now but it's essentially the same as the previous two with an even more boring combat system (the old one was already a zero threat snooze fest). Lots of glitches and bugs in this one as well. I've always found these AC games somewhat boring and easy but this one was much worse in respect to combat. I'm surprised there are so many positive reviews it makes me wonder how many employees have metacritic accounts. Expand
  25. Nov 7, 2012
    9
    This is, definitely, the best Assassin'S CreeD ever. The graphics, movements and narrative are great, and you'll enjoy walking around through the Frontier and kill some templars. Definitely, is a good game.
  26. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    Assassins creed 3 is great. There is a huge variety of weapons like: muskets, the tomahawk, and flintlock. The sprinting is now a lot faster.. And the game is actually a challenge, The difficulty was normal, but it is considered a challenge compared to the previous AC's
  27. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    this game has overall great graphics, and great storyline not to mention the new weapons and new moves love it! i would have to say perfect 10 keep it up ubisoft good work
  28. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this game is cool because it got cool warfares and fighting moves but too bad...i had nocticed that MOST of the Assassin's Creed series have endings that ended with u unexpected and a feeling of not enough explanation. (Also, AC series doesnt like boss fight or huge warfares at the end) I always loved how the story goes, like there is Present Day and back to the animus. Too bad for wat? Well, i think its too bad that the game is such a great invention but so short. Sleeping Dogs will be the example of Assassin's Creed III. I thought there will be a long way to play after Desmond plug in the power sourse and we will get back to Connor. Well, we DID. YEAH, AFTER THE CREITS. Everytime i finished a AC game, i HAVE to do research for wat the hell happened at the end or wat s gonna happen. I DID NOT expect touching a ball will be the end of Desmond and all. But the reason why i gave a very high score, is because the warfares and fighting are very fun. I remembered that there are canon warfares and ship warfares but...i think they place the warfares on the wrong spot. Expand
  29. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Ce jeu est tout simplement incroyable!!! Rien à dire le mode en ligne est énorme, le mode en solo pareil. Et le graphisme n'en parlons pas, tout simplement merveilleux!!!
  30. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    Could of been a great game. Still good but AC2 was by far the best assassins creed game ive played. AC3 is filled with bugs and its just too hard to stay undetected which for me spoils the game. Still not sure how people can see you with their back to you. Still good but just not great.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    88
    This review is getting long-winded so let's wrap it up. Assassin's Creed III is the biggest and most ambitious Assassin's Creed title yet, but a few missteps leaves it short of being the series' best. In spite of my excessive nitpicking, Assassin's Creed III is great game and a must-have for any Assassin's fan.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.