Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1065 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pursue your enemies through 1775 America in an ever-changing environment. From the legendary battlefields of Lexington and Concord and the bustling streets of Boston and New York, to the snow-covered Appalachian wilderness, you’ll wage war in a stunningly mutable environment. Whether you’re tracking your quarry’s blood trail through fresh snow, or taking advantage of driving winds and thick fog to hide your attack, liberty is on the line, so unleash your killing power in Assassin's Creed 3. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    100
    With the game's mix of a hugely interactive open world, a compelling setting, and a finely tuned combat system, I'm eager to return to delve even further into the Animus.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    95
    Assassin's Creed III is unavoidably, inescapably epic.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    93
    Freerunning has taken on new life with Connor's ability to flit through the trees, and the new weapons hem nicely into the freedom and wealth of options of the series...I can personally guarantee it'll see the top of many Game of the Year lists, perhaps even our own – Assassin's Creed III is a masterpiece.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    A gargantuan, lavish historical epic that pushes PS3 to its limits, only to be led down by linear missions and a clunky interface. [Christmas 2012, p.82]
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    Generally, Assassin's Creed III delivers most of the things that fans want. It's a fresh new setting wrapped around the familiar core mechanics. We've lost the less engaging elements that they experimented with in Revelations while adding a couple of new tricks to the range of gameplay.
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 71 out of 321
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Great game! The new location is a good change of pace than the rooftop heavy predecessors of the series. Combat and the new techniques have good additions too. Loved the AC series and this is a good step for the assassin. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    I have been a fan of the series since it first released and was excited for the final chapter in the series. I was extremely impressed with Connors story as I have been with Altaïr and Ezio's as well. Though those stories were strong, the 'main' story following Desmond was really weak and disappointing. I feel like Desmond's story has been neglected since the first game and I feel we as gamers were robbed of the development of Desmond and having another great character in the series. You could take his story completely out and it would not bother me one bit. I wish more time would have been spent on developing Desmond but otherwise the series has ended strong. The new game mechanics are impressive, especially combat. It used to be combat was a breeze and you could take down multiple enemies in seconds, now it is more challenging and adds more depth to combat with the gun play since most enemies carry guns. The sailing was also well done, to my surprise. The ship was easy to control and also offered a challenge by having to gauge winds but lowering your sails. The game overall was impressive and I will definitely have another play through. Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2013
    7
    Excellent storytelling,, awesome scenario, awesome graphics, but the bugs, combat glitches, and many quest glitches plague this game endlessly, you will be forced to do the same mission 20 times as you keep getting spawned in unlucky spots, or randomly generated npc's will block you, i won't spoil much about the ending, but if you can suffer through the numerous glitches and errors that plague this game, you will enjoy it, the games centered around Ezio are still superior imo. It feels like they took a couple steps back in this game, almost assassins creed 1ish in its approach. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    Que decir de unas de las decepciones mas grandes de mi vida, lo anunciaron por todos sitios, publicidad y mas publicidad, para indicar lo que seria el mejor juego de la saga, hoy puedo decir que es de largo peor que el Assassins Creed 2, con eso es suficiente como para saber que Ubisoft se ha cargado una saga, es mas de lo mismo pero peor, repetitivo, sin sentido y absurdo, solo le salva los graficos y el doblaje, por lo demás, es un juego mas. No lo recomiendo, me gaste 100 euros en la edicion especial y la he vendido, si, ¿porque? Porque es una verguenza como me han engañado, me he sentido estafado, ultrajado, jamás volvere a comprar un Assassins. Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2013
    5
    ACIII is a desperate try on Ubisoft's side; a try to be new, refreshing and innovative, a try to be patriotic, heroic and meaningful. I'm not sure what the original story was, but there are so many bugs and issues (honestly, it is so far the most problematic title I have ever laid my hands on) that you can't even get to the core of it. An almost complete abandonment of the legacy of the previous titles, ACIII is surely to make more enemies than friends. Connor has some big shoes to fill after Ezio, and fails miserably, looking more like a spoiled brat than a hero you could identify yourself with. There is a somewhat good game buried in there, but because it's trying too hard to be too many things, and fails as far as simple mechanics is concerned, you have to force yourself to find it enjoyable. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    played AC since the first one released, this one is a total disappointment. Assassin running is wood or walking on ground are missing the original merit of this game, stupid and nothing cool. This will stop me from buying the game for the coming years. Who dare to being an assassin without style. Expand

See all 321 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.