Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pursue your enemies through 1775 America in an ever-changing environment. From the legendary battlefields of Lexington and Concord and the bustling streets of Boston and New York, to the snow-covered Appalachian wilderness, you’ll wage war in a stunningly mutable environment. Whether you’rePursue your enemies through 1775 America in an ever-changing environment. From the legendary battlefields of Lexington and Concord and the bustling streets of Boston and New York, to the snow-covered Appalachian wilderness, you’ll wage war in a stunningly mutable environment. Whether you’re tracking your quarry’s blood trail through fresh snow, or taking advantage of driving winds and thick fog to hide your attack, liberty is on the line, so unleash your killing power in Assassin's Creed 3. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    100
    With the game's mix of a hugely interactive open world, a compelling setting, and a finely tuned combat system, I'm eager to return to delve even further into the Animus.
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    95
    Assassin's Creed III is unavoidably, inescapably epic.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    93
    Freerunning has taken on new life with Connor's ability to flit through the trees, and the new weapons hem nicely into the freedom and wealth of options of the series...I can personally guarantee it'll see the top of many Game of the Year lists, perhaps even our own – Assassin's Creed III is a masterpiece.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    88
    A great continuation of the Assassin's Creed series because of the strong visuals, gameplay and story. Though it must be said that the story gets somewhat boring towards the end, which leaves a sour taste.
  5. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    A gargantuan, lavish historical epic that pushes PS3 to its limits, only to be led down by linear missions and a clunky interface. [Christmas 2012, p.82]
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    Generally, Assassin's Creed III delivers most of the things that fans want. It's a fresh new setting wrapped around the familiar core mechanics. We've lost the less engaging elements that they experimented with in Revelations while adding a couple of new tricks to the range of gameplay.
  7. Mar 6, 2013
    60
    The Assassin’s Creed formula of fighting and parkour is starting to get old, even with the ability to climb trees now. Maybe it’s the repetitiveness of the series, or maybe it’s just less interesting to toss crates of tea into the harbour than to hunt and kill corrupt bishops.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 338
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers,AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    What an amazing game. First thing I must compliment is the open world environment. It was so big so beautiful and so believable that it putsWhat an amazing game. First thing I must compliment is the open world environment. It was so big so beautiful and so believable that it puts Skyrim to shame. I love the new combat mechanics it did take a little while to get used to the new button layout but once I did the redcoats never stood a chance. I spent at least my first hour as Connor killing all redcoats I could see. Also all these people complaining about the Desmond and Modern day plot. Well WHO CARES. We didn Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    I don't understand why this game is getting such bad reviews. Let me cut to the chase, the game is simply outstanding and some people are justI don't understand why this game is getting such bad reviews. Let me cut to the chase, the game is simply outstanding and some people are just not realizing that. For me, I am more of a "history" kind of person, so I enjoyed the game very much. I consider this game the best of the franchise, not the worse. With more positives than negatives for this game, I am going for another positive here. Some people are in the middle, or undecided about the game almost, for me, I'm not. The game had everything in it that made it both fun, and suspenseful. I got my hands full whenever the twists of the game began, whenever I saw some parts of the game, I was completely mind-boggled, and wanted to keep playing more and more. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    well the game wasn't bad good story but connor is like mhhhhhhhh the worst assassin so far but singleplayer gameplay was good fighting waswell the game wasn't bad good story but connor is like mhhhhhhhh the worst assassin so far but singleplayer gameplay was good fighting was amazing best ever in an assassin game but after you played the story it's like what can i do i mean there is just1 shop wtf + way tooooo short i beated it in 12 hours full synch not good after you finished the game you can't do anything you don't need to buy anything and no medcins damn that was one of the best things in an assassins game you couldn't heel immediatly but oh well just get it from a friend for a week 65 euros no sorry Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    Que decir de unas de las decepciones mas grandes de mi vida, lo anunciaron por todos sitios, publicidad y mas publicidad, para indicar lo queQue decir de unas de las decepciones mas grandes de mi vida, lo anunciaron por todos sitios, publicidad y mas publicidad, para indicar lo que seria el mejor juego de la saga, hoy puedo decir que es de largo peor que el Assassins Creed 2, con eso es suficiente como para saber que Ubisoft se ha cargado una saga, es mas de lo mismo pero peor, repetitivo, sin sentido y absurdo, solo le salva los graficos y el doblaje, por lo demás, es un juego mas. No lo recomiendo, me gaste 100 euros en la edicion especial y la he vendido, si, ¿porque? Porque es una verguenza como me han engañado, me he sentido estafado, ultrajado, jamás volvere a comprar un Assassins. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    5
    This game is... quite honestly this game is rather bad... this is coming from a guy who has quite a high tolerance level for glitches and justThis game is... quite honestly this game is rather bad... this is coming from a guy who has quite a high tolerance level for glitches and just general bad gamedesign. I can stomach a glitch here and there, I can take unresponsive control, in Assassin's creed 2 and Brotherhood these existed as well and those are my favourite titles in the franchise by far... but this game just takes it to a whole new level, begging me to question wether Ubisoft really finished this game, and this is coming from someone who's played the game nearly half a year after it was released, and hearing the game was even buggier back when it hit the storeshelves! The story is a complete boring on-rails experience, woven into a mission system that almost seems afraid to let go of your hand out of fear of you getting hopelessly lost. This is coming out of personal preference but the colonial times are just not as appealing to me as renaisance Italy was, probably because I am european and I'm not too educated on american history I don't know but the setting, aside from the graphically amazing frontier, felt incredibly bland and most buildings seemed more like a copy paste job than anything else. The combat, while definitely fun on its own, is a case of don't fix what isn't broken, what was wrong with ACII's combat? The music, wherever it is present, is still amazing, Jesper Kyd's feel for making this series sound awsome is still very apparent in this title. But none of these things come even close to how utterly broken this game feels. free running is a disaster, i can't count how many times I have pressed forward on my controller and Connor ACTUALLY went backward! the mission constraint don't feel like bonus objectives at all, they take the fun out of the game for any completionist out there and in some missions they actually punish players for being thorough, such as some of the naval missions where having a fully upgraded ship actually makes achieving bonus objectives a complete and utter excercise in frustration. I have loved this franchise since day one, the pseudo-sci-fi backstory of Desmond aside, I adore the historical feel of these games, but the way I see it this game was a nail in the franchise's coffin. One final word of advice to Ubisoft, give us an ASSASSIN's creed! If I wanted to play an action adventure game I would go play God of war. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    played AC since the first one released, this one is a total disappointment. Assassin running is wood or walking on ground are missing theplayed AC since the first one released, this one is a total disappointment. Assassin running is wood or walking on ground are missing the original merit of this game, stupid and nothing cool. This will stop me from buying the game for the coming years. Who dare to being an assassin without style. Expand

See all 338 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.