User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 480 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 480

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. K_T
    Nov 18, 2011
    0
    AC2 is one of my all time favorite games, and it is tragic that this is whats happened to it. As I'm sure a lot of you know Desilites the man who created Assassin's creed left Ubisoft near the time Brotherhood launched, and that departure has proved devistating. His departure was presumably due to Ubisoft demanding yearly releases from Assassin's creed which is an unbelievably bad idea for this series. This game, which spent 1 year in development being worked on by around 12 different Ubisoft firms, is not only the worst Assassin's creed game of the series, but a game so terrible it frustrates me to my core. The largest complaints I have are that the entire map of the game is the size of at most 1/2 of one of the major cities from the first two games. Meaning its roughly 1/6 of the size of either of the first two games. And the same lack of size could also be said about the game's duration which is pathetically short. And instead of a well devoloped story line they filled the small game with as much side content as they could, which honestly feels more like doing chores than enjoying a game. And incase Ubisoft or you the reader arn't aware, having 12 different studios work on your project, isn't a good thing. Having one studio do the entierty of the project (Assassin's creed 1 and 2 being done soley by Ubisoft Montreal) creates one cohesive project. Meanwhile we have sections of revelations that feel like they're not even part of the same game. There are rather lengthy sections of the game spent finding circular "keys" left behind by Altier, that would have you believe that beneath Constantinople (Now istanbul) lies massive caves that are unfathomable. Remember the bat cave in Batman Begins, basically imagine that encompassing all of Gothams underground, and you have the size of the caves that you have to "explore" (liberally used) to find the keys. But these sequences arn't even worthy of being called Assassin's creed material, as they're mostly comprised of you running one track that can't be construed as challenging by even the most gaming illiterate parent who just happened to pick up the controller. And they're filled with cinematic cut scenes which I guess are suppose to kick up adrenaline from the player but instead just make the player suffer extra time spent in these atrocious creations. And while these segments are awful, they pail in comparison to the awfulness of the desmond sequences as he explores his past. These consist of gameplay that at times seems like a horrible portal rip off, and at other times just seems like you're walking for no reason. These sequences are all in 1st person as far as I've encountered so far and feature no parkour what so ever. The only game play mechanics in these sections are walk slowly forward, jump, and summon blocks from no where for you to walk across to the next platform. At what point was this suppose to be considered a positive addition to the series? They're not challenging, they're not enjoyable, and they're not even good at the one thing they try to do, which is giving depth to the character of Desmond. Hes more winey than ever and it makes you hate these segments even more. Also I'm now about 3/4 of the way through the story line and it seems that Ubisoft montreal's new creative director (former art director on Far Cry though I forget his name) has forgotten one important thing about Assassin's creed. And that is the assassinations. Remember in assassin's creed 1, 2, and even brotherhood, sneaking into secure locations through elaborate sneakyness to isolate your target, or in some cases to just let him out into the open, so you could leap down or walk up and stab him? Well as I've said I'm 3/4 of the way through the game and have seen none of this. Maybe thats the being saved for the end of the game? But it leaves me feeling like this game would be worthy of 1 block of assassin's creed 2. Also theres no compelling story to this game, or even plot for that matter. Your in this city to find these keys but at times that feels like its a side mission to political happenings, that quite honestly arn't well explained or established. I can't tell what the actual story here is suppose to be, and thats not a good thing for a series thats almost entierly built on having a good story. Now when Brotherhood came out after a year (the previous games having 4 years and 2 years of dev time respectivley) I was a little upset at its length, but let it go hoping that 3 would be a full fledged game. But now that 3 has been slated for next year I can only expect more of the same. 1 year is not enough time to make desmond the main protagonist, as AC2 was building to, nor make a game of any length. So unless someone gets through to Ubisoft to push it back, expect another short game featuring an assassin from similar time period and one small city to finish off desmond's story. Expand
  2. Dec 3, 2011
    4
    The worst Assassins Creed game yet. The game doesn't introduce any new elements of game play, besides the tower defense mode which becomes tedious and annoying. As you continue to play through the game, you'll start to feel like your playing Brotherhood all over again. And although Assassins Creed is known for its shocking endings, this game fails to deliver in that area, and shouldn't be called "Revelations" at all, as their are no revelations. The only good part about the game is the flashbacks where you play as Altiar. Collapse
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    This is the worst Assassin's Creed ever made. It just spoil all the previous games because they made too many terrible changes to this game. The best thing about this game are the soundtrack (wich is physically missing on the collector's edition) and the multiplayer mode improvements. About the story, nothing relevant is revealed in this game, so, if you are looking for answers you're not going to find any, indeed there's some big plot holes that I doubt they will be answered in future games. Also, there's a big downgrade in some design aspects of the game, the most notorious is the NEW Desmond face that ruined his part of game experience. (Ubisoft said that is because of an "upgraded" facial recognition technology, but don't make laugh, he looks like a surgery went wrong...) He is not Desmond anymore. Also, some parts of the city, multiplayer characters as well Ezio costumes are awfully designed. I hope they can recover the quality of the previous ones for the next and last AC. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    more of the same, after the Assassin's Creed 2 are all identical, and each year throwing a name it could Assassin's Creed 2011, as FIFA. That would make it easy to identify
  5. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    $60 for another expansion. Just as bad as Modern Warfare 3. I want Altair back! Ezio's so lame I don't care if he is a lady's man. I used the last of my mom's money buying this Assassin's Creed 2 duplicate!
  6. Dec 15, 2011
    4
    Compared to the others this is a disappointment, the story is too short and the game doesn't make you feel like an Assassin whereas the first one does with the planned killings. The way of defending your dens is terrible. I give this game a 4 as it doesn't compare to the others which were great games.
  7. Feb 4, 2012
    3
    Ok Ubisoft, when is enough, exactly enough? We're seeing AC get the CoD treatment. AC Revelations is not a good game, the story is no where near as good as the last two titles. Gameplay is more of the same, you get a new hook-like weapon, but that's really the only notable new feature. If you can call that a feature. I found myself getting bored of this game faster then any other game I think I've played in a while and it inevitably resulted in a grind. The little tower defense strategy mini game is a poor excuse of an addition as well. What's the point? Why should I have to do this. It's fun the first two times you do it then it just becomes a hassle. The problem with AC:R is that it's littered with too much boring fluff content.. I'll take quality over quantity any day of the week if it leaves me feeling rewarded... Also, instead of trying to bank off of your terrible multiplayer, why not put more effort into a better single player. I'd go as far as to say this is the most bored I've been with an AC since the first title. I've made the mistake of playing this game, I won't jump through hoops to play the next installment of the AC series unless there's a radical change, like more RPG elements. Expand
  8. Mar 11, 2012
    2
    For those thinking if they should buy Reveleations before ACIII, you can easily skip this game since it shows nothing new. Just a **** rehash from brotherhood, if you still think that there is a story behind this well there might be but it's really about altair and yet altair's play in this game is pretty short about 1 hour of gameplay with altair and that's it, ezio is just running around the city doing the same errands. The multiplayer, same thing unbelievable lag and this is where I never touched it again; they used old maps from the brotherhood multiplayer but not only that, they used about 1/6 of the map PREVIOUSLY CREATED MAP!!!

    SAVE YOUR MONEY FOR THE REAL THING ACIII
    Expand
  9. Dec 27, 2011
    0
    I played this game right after my second playthrough of AC II. I have to say, this game took the maturity of the Assassin's Creed franchise and transformed it into an adolescent action/adventure American piece of garbage. How come a director of Far Cry 2, which is a mediocre FPS and Tennis Masters series took the position of directing one of the biggest and best franchises in the videogame industry is still a mystery to me. Also before I finish my review, for anyone that knows mediterranean history, this game has some serious flaws in presenting what exactly the Ottomans/Turks were and most importantly, how civilized they were. I also find it funny that in Italy of Renaissance the guards didn't have any weapons but at the same time in Turkey, which was in the middle ages at that time, they had found rifles! In the end, one thing I learned from the Assassin's Creed series is:

    Nothing is true. Everything is permitted.

    And I use my critical thinking in everything. Thank you Ubisoft for teaching me how to do it. :P

    Here's looking forward to the next series by Patrice Désilets. Hang in there brother! :D
    Expand
  10. Jan 5, 2012
    4
    Like some others here, I am not giving the game a 4 because it, on its own credit, deserves a 4. It is simply the least ambitious, and easily most rushed AC game to date, and I dearly hope if enough people voice this fact AC3 may hope to regain the grandeur and sincerity of previous AC games. I have been telling just about everyone I know not to buy this game for this very reason. While most of the things which made the series great are still here, virtually every adjusted or new mechanic, from notoriety, to den defense, bombs, and the hookblade, either do very little to how the game is played or merely fail horribly. While waiting for a notoriety marker to show up on your map so you can not be notorious from renovating a goddamn tailor shop, for example, a den you liberated comes under attack by templars and you are forced to run back and play an absolutely tedious and horrid den defense game. And first Rome, now every game is going to be in just one city? Why, so Ubisoft can rush these games out yearly like some **** sports or FPS title? Where the first 3 games had complex and varied geography and architecture due to their cityscapes, Revelation's Constantinople is a big monotonous maze, with one or two landmarks (as opposed to the countless landmarks of previous games). They basically went through the trouble of creating Hagio Sophia and a couple other landmarks and then just clone stamped basic pseudo-Florentine architecture based on a period map. Lame! I hope Ubisoft delays AC3 for the sake of making better games. The trajectory does not look good, and in my eyes, this franchise is dying, which is hard for me to say, because this used to be my favorite modern gaming franchise since AC1. The story was good, casting Ezio as a mentor was good, and the set pieces and tombs were great, but honestly, at its core, conceptual level, this is a rushed, unambitious game that's a bargain bin time sink at best. Expand
  11. Nov 30, 2012
    4
    This game is a disgrace to the assassin's creed franchise. It should never have been released. Everything about this game feels too similar to the previous ones. Your basically doing the same things that you did in brotherhood with some unnecessary and pointless additions like den defense and bombs. Renovating shops, buying landmarks, recruiting assassins...the whole game feels pointless. The entire story is pointless too. Basically, Desmond has to "clear up" his mind by viewing Ezio's last memories so that he doesn't go insane. That's the most laughable plot of a video game I have ever heard. The combat system is THE EXACT SAME as brotherhood though Ezio has a some new killing animations. Also, for a game that is supposed to be about an assassin brotherhood, there aren't many assassinations going on. In the whole game there were like 1 or two assassinations and you did not get to stealthily kill them. It was linear. They basically challenged you to a sword fighting duel. Remember the targets in the previous games. How you had different ways of getting close to your target, kill him and then walk away quietly? Well, all that is gone. Instead its an all out war between a "secret" brotherhood and armies of tempers. That is where den defense comes in. Basically, hundreds of Byzantine tempers attack your "hideouts" and you and your loyal assassins go to the roof tops and kill them.......This...is....NOT ASSASSIN'S CREED! Where are the guards? How can armies of Byzantines invade an Ottoman city and openly take over buildings and the city guards do NOTHING about it! I could go on and on but its really not worth it. This is one of the most boring game I have played. Expand
  12. Dec 3, 2011
    0
    The worst Assassins Creed game yet. The game doesn't introduce any new elements of game play, besides the tower defense mode which becomes tedious and annoying. As you continue to play through the game, you'll start to feel like your playing Brotherhood all over again. And although Assassins Creed is known for its shocking endings, this game fails to deliver in that area, and shouldn't be called "Revelations" at all, as their are no revelations. The only good part about the game is the flashbacks where you play as Altiar. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    70
    Assassin's Creed Revelations will satisfy those who are looking for more of the same but if you're expecting some major innovations, prepare to be disappointed. Revelations isn't a bad game, but the experience no longer feels fresh.
  2. The story is so meandering. [Jan 2012, p.76]
  3. Jan 3, 2012
    58
    In the end, Revelations mostly feels like a step backwards that was probably rushed to market just to satisfy the need for a yearly installment.