User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 829 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 829
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    It's funny how this game works. There's no doubt it is tedious, but no game is as much fun in bursts. You can play, love it, and stop. Then in a month you will pick it up again and play, love it, and stop. It's weird how the game does this, but I think our attention spans as humans don't last as long as they should. Running away from guards is so much fun, awesome It's funny how this game works. There's no doubt it is tedious, but no game is as much fun in bursts. You can play, love it, and stop. Then in a month you will pick it up again and play, love it, and stop. It's weird how the game does this, but I think our attention spans as humans don't last as long as they should. Running away from guards is so much fun, awesome music plays behind you as you bolt up walls and try to get away from them. It's a must have title and I'm glad its a release title with the PS3 Slim, that way newcomers to the PS3 can get a taste of what next gen games should be. A few years after its release and it still stands above most titles, both graphics and gameplay wise. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    liked this game quite a bit i just wish there was a bit more variety but the game has amazing graphics and a story that made me keep coming back for more and steadily gets harder and harder with fluid movements and precise controls although i never finished the game because part way through it stopped telling me where to go which annoyed me and i never picked it up again but i plan to doliked this game quite a bit i just wish there was a bit more variety but the game has amazing graphics and a story that made me keep coming back for more and steadily gets harder and harder with fluid movements and precise controls although i never finished the game because part way through it stopped telling me where to go which annoyed me and i never picked it up again but i plan to do so and try again with another copy of this game Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2012
    6
    Few times I have been so disappointed when playing a game as I was when playing Assassin's Creed. You can see that there is a lot of potential in the game's formula, but it's repetitive tasks and dull story make playing extremely boring. You climb a tower to reveal the portion of the map you are in, eavesdrop in a conversation, save a citizen from bully guards, steal a letter from someoneFew times I have been so disappointed when playing a game as I was when playing Assassin's Creed. You can see that there is a lot of potential in the game's formula, but it's repetitive tasks and dull story make playing extremely boring. You climb a tower to reveal the portion of the map you are in, eavesdrop in a conversation, save a citizen from bully guards, steal a letter from someone and then assassinate a target. Now you do it again and again. Combat is fun and instinctive, graphics are excellent and the assassination missions are good, but that doesn't make up for the various flaws present in tedious game. Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    What a Tremendous game! From the high flying acrobats to the Medieval charm this is one hell of a game! This Franchise has caught my eye and I am hooked! All I can say is wow, what a way to start of a series with a bang!
  5. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    ASSASSIN'S CREED simply take you in the history. I liked the game play because one can feel himself as part of history and I really like the way how they portrait ancient civilization. Best Game if you love history and video games both :)
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    absolutely great game, no doubts. i pity the poor haters among us...
  7. assanssinscreed
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    Brilliant animation, enormous cities, not enough sneakiness, too much talking! Stealth action at its best! Buy It!
  8. Nick
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Chris is right. most reviews have to race through the game anfd i also take it one step at a time. If u play it slowly you will definately love this game.
  9. JasonX.
    Dec 19, 2007
    7
    Great graphics and good controls; however, the gameplay becomes very repetitive and uninteresting.
  10. Aug 13, 2010
    7
    Assassin's creed opened me up to a large game world that allowed me to explore both the main stoyline, and individual side quests. The fighting is also slick, and the tools of the trade add to a unique playing experience However, the main downfall to this game for me was that over a set amount of time, the game started to become rather repetitive and I started to lose interest. TheAssassin's creed opened me up to a large game world that allowed me to explore both the main stoyline, and individual side quests. The fighting is also slick, and the tools of the trade add to a unique playing experience However, the main downfall to this game for me was that over a set amount of time, the game started to become rather repetitive and I started to lose interest. The intersecting times when you are outside the Animus were, for me some of the most boring parts of the game. The story is carried on through you playing the game through the character's memories, not a doctor complaining all the time about the use of the machine, you as a player and et cetera. Even though there are times in which the game can get boring/repetitive, the flowing open world, and the fighting and overall storyline make this a decent game to play. 7/10 Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2013
    7
    I don't hate this game; the gameplay itself is awesome which does hold up the game well, but everything else just seems boring. The presentation is stupid, specifically cutscenes and those weird computer glitches that are supposed to be part of the simulation. Altair doesn't have any real character behind him beyond a white hood and a wrist blade. The biggest crime has to be the extremelyI don't hate this game; the gameplay itself is awesome which does hold up the game well, but everything else just seems boring. The presentation is stupid, specifically cutscenes and those weird computer glitches that are supposed to be part of the simulation. Altair doesn't have any real character behind him beyond a white hood and a wrist blade. The biggest crime has to be the extremely repetitive nature of the game, it just doesn't give a good feeling of progress as you continue the story. My theory is that this game was just the beginning of a risky new IP that turned out to be a major success, which Assassin's Creed II reflects. I won't deny this game of being good, I'm just saying that it really hasn't aged well, but that aging was caused by the sequels of the game being so much better. Expand
  12. Jan 23, 2012
    8
    Picked this game up mega cheap. Figured it would be decent. It's fantastic. Atmospheric , beautiful. Throughly enthralling and the start of a series that I feel will keep me hooked. At times the missions were tedious but overall it was very enjoyable.
  13. Nov 28, 2010
    8
    the combats a bit rubbish and after a while it gets really repetative. however, if your a fan of the series, you still need to buy it, as its still the same throat stabbing stabbiness that we love.
  14. Apr 9, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is a great game but it has a couple of serious faults: The information gathering missions are repetitive and feel very much like busy work. The sprawling over-world is boring to traverse and is better skipped completely... But that's about it for the negative aspects. The positive? Assassin's Creed has great graphics, an interesting plot and atmospheric music. It totallyAssassin's Creed is a great game but it has a couple of serious faults: The information gathering missions are repetitive and feel very much like busy work. The sprawling over-world is boring to traverse and is better skipped completely... But that's about it for the negative aspects. The positive? Assassin's Creed has great graphics, an interesting plot and atmospheric music. It totally succeeds in taking you to a foreign world and supplying adventure. The climbing system in this game is wonderful and scaling the many towers to sync your view is a fun, relaxing task. The assassinations themselves give you complete freedom to go about the task in anyway you see fit (something the more scripted sequels lack). It gives you the target and the means to kill it... The rest is up to you. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great start to a franchise. People often state that AC2 is a better game, but I disagree. The freedom you have in this first title more fun in my opinion. The sequel became too limited and pushy with it's directions. That said, AC Brotherhood successfully combines the elements of the first two games to brilliant effect and IS better than this original title. If you are new to the Assassin's Creed franchise, this first effort will give you a solid experience... And one that's minus the confusion of a story already half told. Expand
  15. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed is visually stunning and one of the most unique games around, even with the two sequels already launched. But it's repetitive mission structure and lack of replay value do hurt the game a bit. None the less, the good story, fun combat, and unique gameplay make it worth checking out.
  16. Jul 8, 2011
    8
    When I got this game over a year ago, I was expecting a cool original game and it mostly delivered. The story is good, but it can get confusing towards the middle. The gameplay is great on how you can carry out an assassination, but it does get really repetitive after the first few assassinations. The visuals are gorgeous, even to this day! The voice acting is also pretty good, butWhen I got this game over a year ago, I was expecting a cool original game and it mostly delivered. The story is good, but it can get confusing towards the middle. The gameplay is great on how you can carry out an assassination, but it does get really repetitive after the first few assassinations. The visuals are gorgeous, even to this day! The voice acting is also pretty good, but Altair's (The Assassin) voice sounds like an American. This is a great effort by Ubisoft and you should give this one a play. Expand
  17. Feb 21, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As you start playing this game you will be amazed by the wonderful graphic and the maniac attention to details of the cities environment. Cities are full of people walking around, talking, buying things from merchants and so on. Really... amazing. The story itself is well written, with rich characters and a really original plot. But, after a bunch of hours... you'll start to get bored by doing always the same things. It's like you always repeat the same mission: climb to find places, kill the target, flee from guards. With almost no chance to develop an original strategy for your next kill. So.. i'll give it a 5, you will eventually get to the end hoping it will change something but no, always the same... Expand
  18. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    Never before has a game managed to make me screaming my voice out one minute, then having a blast the next. Sometimes, it's fun and challenging, others it's tedious and needlessly difficult. The positives vastly outweigh the negatives though, and thus this game, in my opinion, deserves a positive score.
  19. May 7, 2011
    10
    This is the best game in the Assassin's Creed franchise. The world is huge, realistic, and diversified. Every city is different. I love the realism in this game, the parquor in this game is slower then the other games in the series, but it mimics real life parquor, and one cool little thing that I actually can't stop noticing in the other games is that in this Assassin's Creed your robeThis is the best game in the Assassin's Creed franchise. The world is huge, realistic, and diversified. Every city is different. I love the realism in this game, the parquor in this game is slower then the other games in the series, but it mimics real life parquor, and one cool little thing that I actually can't stop noticing in the other games is that in this Assassin's Creed your robe flow in the wind, and the robes flow in different directions depending on you characters placement. The combat is the hardest in the series, so avoid big groups, but don't let that stop you from being bad ass. Expand
  20. Feb 28, 2014
    7
    I give the game a strong 7/10. It gives you an awesome feeling when you roam old cities, climbing up buildings, running and jumping across the rooftops. The story and voice acting is good but the player character felt out of place sometimes. I love the combat animations. Even though the graphics are good, it is a bit colorless. To progress in the game you have to complete the same set ofI give the game a strong 7/10. It gives you an awesome feeling when you roam old cities, climbing up buildings, running and jumping across the rooftops. The story and voice acting is good but the player character felt out of place sometimes. I love the combat animations. Even though the graphics are good, it is a bit colorless. To progress in the game you have to complete the same set of different tasks which makes it repetitive. If this title would have had unique and varied missions through out the whole game (like i. e. GTA) it could have scored a 9/10 in my book. Anyways it is a cool game. Expand
  21. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    Graphics and Cities were beautiful were beautiful at the time of the release. The story also succeeds but the gameplay is repetitious and AC suffers from that.
  22. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    While fairly tedious and repetitive, Assassin's Creed is wildly imaginative in scope and story, and at the time of its release, exceptionally well presented and original. Though each assassination it not much different than the last, it's still satisfying to reach your mark and put your blade through his neck. I just finished this game and while I wanted to go through and do all of theWhile fairly tedious and repetitive, Assassin's Creed is wildly imaginative in scope and story, and at the time of its release, exceptionally well presented and original. Though each assassination it not much different than the last, it's still satisfying to reach your mark and put your blade through his neck. I just finished this game and while I wanted to go through and do all of the mini objectives (the vantage points, flags, civilian savings, etc.) they don't ever differ much and are therefore far too 'grind-y' to go through. This game certainly leaves on eager to pick up the next installments immediately. Expand
  23. Dec 11, 2013
    6
    I thought this game was supposed to involve some sort of stealth? That's how the y promoted it. Or at least some strategy. How I played it? The easiest way off course. I just went to the guy that needed to be killed. Stood in the crowd and waited for everyone to attack me. Then I simple countered everything with one button untill everyone is killed and run away. Yeey mission cleared!
    That
    I thought this game was supposed to involve some sort of stealth? That's how the y promoted it. Or at least some strategy. How I played it? The easiest way off course. I just went to the guy that needed to be killed. Stood in the crowd and waited for everyone to attack me. Then I simple countered everything with one button untill everyone is killed and run away. Yeey mission cleared!
    That being said, walking, running, climbing in this game is amazing, the game looks great and there is appeal. It's just the gameplay that's lacking.
    It's too much of the same plus the controls are not intuïtive at all. How many times have I jumped off a tall building to die, just because of not being able to master the controls?
    Expand
  24. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Great graphics and story, although gameplay gets quite repetitive after a while.
  25. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    The graphics, fighting, and story are all good but it can get a bit repetitive. The map is really well made and there always seems to be something to do but sometimes you end up doing alot of the same thing over and over again.
  26. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    En realidad un buen juego, excelente historia lo malo es que las misiones son repetitivas, una tras otra... Al principio ni las sientes pero a la mita del juego cuando ya has realizado lo mismo una y otra vez se vuelve pesado seguir....
  27. Nov 17, 2011
    8
    When viewed retrospectively, there is no doubt that the Assassin's Creed series has come an extremely long way. Since we were first introduced to Desmond Miles and the Animus back in 2007, the gaming world has been treated to three (soon to be four) glorious titles- not including spinoffs- that pushed the power of their consoles to new heights in terms of visuals and gameplay. The story ofWhen viewed retrospectively, there is no doubt that the Assassin's Creed series has come an extremely long way. Since we were first introduced to Desmond Miles and the Animus back in 2007, the gaming world has been treated to three (soon to be four) glorious titles- not including spinoffs- that pushed the power of their consoles to new heights in terms of visuals and gameplay. The story of master assassin Altair Ibn-La' Ahad is the first of these games. Set in the Holy Land of the 12th century during the Third Crusade, the first Assassin's Creed title tells of the bitter conflict between two rival factions- the Brotherhood of Assassins led by Rashid ad-Din Sinan (referred to as "Al-Mualim") and the Templar Order led by Robert de Sablà Expand
  28. Jan 17, 2012
    8
    Though it may be repetitive but I still find myself enjoying this game very much. There is a sense of quality from the sway of Atair's robes in the wind as he stands still to the way soldier's twist and turn on the ground, half dead after a brutal attack from Altair's sword. This is consider my second Assassin's creed game I played after the second and although the second had more varietyThough it may be repetitive but I still find myself enjoying this game very much. There is a sense of quality from the sway of Atair's robes in the wind as he stands still to the way soldier's twist and turn on the ground, half dead after a brutal attack from Altair's sword. This is consider my second Assassin's creed game I played after the second and although the second had more variety in it's game play, I felt this game just had more realism. Visually, the game makes sense to me; Altair dress appropriately for the time and therefore seems more believable than Ezio who sticks out like a sore thumb in a crowd of NPCs. I wish the developers took this game and improve it more with a second installment instead of improving the gameplay but took a back seat in terms of realism with Assassin's Creed II. Expand
  29. May 15, 2014
    9
    A great game with a great plot. While it doesn't have the smoothest way of easing you into the game (aside from tutorials for single attacking/defending techniques the controls are not shown in a intuitive way, with everything thrown at you from the start rather than a few important buttons at a time), and the game-play can be a little repetitive (though once you do figure out all theA great game with a great plot. While it doesn't have the smoothest way of easing you into the game (aside from tutorials for single attacking/defending techniques the controls are not shown in a intuitive way, with everything thrown at you from the start rather than a few important buttons at a time), and the game-play can be a little repetitive (though once you do figure out all the different controls and counter/dodge techniques the repetitiveness can allow you room to improve yourself), AC is one of the most exciting and unique (from a story-point) games ever made. Expand
  30. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    I'm a fan of ac series but this one was very boring, I liked the story, but they spoke too much, and the gameplay was frustrating. Though it was the first one, so i must forgive many mistakes.
  31. Mar 21, 2012
    5
    It's trying to be compelling but it fails, miserably. The graphics are well but basically everything else is mundane, boring, stupid or unnessicary. The story is terrible, the voice acting ok, the music good, the gameplay repetitive. Overall it's an average ride, it's so terribly tedious and there is literally no imagination in this game, it is that dull. 5/10.
  32. Dec 11, 2012
    7
    This was a good game, very neat idea back in the day and loved the setting and story, The first part of the game is the best, it starts off really strong, beautiful game with great animations and art style with a cinematic presentation but that starts falling off really after the first city.
  33. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is a good game, but eventually became a bit repititivo, following a linear mechanical excicivamente despite the open world.
    However still has a great story and gives rise to one of the biggest video game series today.
  34. May 9, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed is good and fun, but repetitive and gets boring fast. And the story is not interesting. Still, It haves a huge beautiful world, fun gameplay and realistic graphics. But I expected for way more thing. (7.3)
  35. Jan 10, 2013
    8
    One of the most original concepts ever in the history of gaming. A historical adventure set in the crusader-era holy land with our main hero a member of one of the most notorious and maligned orders ever. A combonation of stealth, problem solving, combat, and treasure hunting - all while roaming the streets of ancient Jerusalem and Acre, among others - how cool is that?

    The graphics
    One of the most original concepts ever in the history of gaming. A historical adventure set in the crusader-era holy land with our main hero a member of one of the most notorious and maligned orders ever. A combonation of stealth, problem solving, combat, and treasure hunting - all while roaming the streets of ancient Jerusalem and Acre, among others - how cool is that?

    The graphics and animations are top-notch and the gameplay is logical and addicting. Couple that with detalied research and compelling storytelling and you have the makings of a series with an almost endless supply of stories.

    Though the gameplay can get a little repetitive near the end of the adventure, and some of the treasures are really tough to find, this is a game for even the casual gamer's collection.
    Expand
  36. Jun 12, 2012
    9
    The repetition is necessary in engaging the player in what it is like to be an assassin with multiple targets. Altair is a wonderfully mysterious character that embarks on a mission of ridding the world of the corrupt. The story is solid, the characters are welcoming and the action is amazing. Highly recommend.
  37. Jul 11, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Assassin's Creed is an enriching, immersive and satisfying game in regards to its atmosphere and gameplay, save a few glitches and flaws. Yet, its conventional and simplistic ending virtually strips the game of the philosophical credibility that it had attempted to establish beforehand. In addition, the many goals in this game grow incredibly repetitious as the player progresses through the game's narrative. Regardless of this, Assassin's Creed perfects its open-world atmosphere through its detailed and complex depiction of the crusades. In addition, it poses many fascinating philosophical and moral questions that resist easy answers, even if Altair's strong, and arguably simplistic, adherence to the creed does undermine the player's ability to challenge themselves on an intellectual level. It's the moral absolutism of Altair that the game attempts to eschew. Occasionally, some of the dialogue is stilted and the delivery isn't quite credible as one would hope, yet its ambition and scope seem to transcend its flaws. Assassin's Creed isn't an infallible game by any means, but it certainly isn't a mediocre cash cow. Expand
  38. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    AC is visually stunning, and the gameplay is fun. The story can be predictable, but It's interesting. Now, Assassin's Creed is the second best looking AC game, for my opinion, but It's not the best. The game can feel repetitive at times, and It haves some glitches. But, this game kicks asses, means that it's great. 83 out of 100
  39. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Just a perfectly made game with great detail and obvious effort put into the main elements of the game: runnung and fighting. The story is one of my favourites and signals for more assassin games to come
  40. Jun 14, 2016
    7
    The first game in the AC franchise was like a breath of fresh air when it was first released in November 2007. Created by Ubi Soft Montreal, the team responsible for the PS2/XBOX "Prince of Persia" trilogy, it was promoted as an open-world "Hitman"-type game set during the days of the Holy Crusades. But those who played it discovered it was really an action-adventure with a sci-fi twist.The first game in the AC franchise was like a breath of fresh air when it was first released in November 2007. Created by Ubi Soft Montreal, the team responsible for the PS2/XBOX "Prince of Persia" trilogy, it was promoted as an open-world "Hitman"-type game set during the days of the Holy Crusades. But those who played it discovered it was really an action-adventure with a sci-fi twist. This first entry placed players into the shoes of Desmond Miles, a kidnapped bartender forced into entering the "Animus", a Matrix-like computer simulation. His goal is to access a lost memory that belonged to one of his ancestors. This memory contains the whereabouts to the "Apple of Eden", an object containing knowledge needed for world domination through "mind control". Desmond is caught between a centuries-old war between two ancient factions; the Assassins and the Templars. The latter have taken him captive.

    Unfortunately, the PS3 version of "Assassin's Creed" lacks Trophies and suffers from a bad framerate. There is also frequent screen-tearing that occurs. The gameplay itself can be become repetitive due to the very limited side-quests and the repetitive structure. In order to gain abilities and knowledge, Altair (Desmond's ancestor) must assassinate nine radical leaders who seem to be agents of evil. He is a tool throughout the game being kept in the dark from the truth. The sword fighting is interesting since it's not really a hack 'n slash affair, but it can get old quick. The same can be said for the optional objectives which sometimes must be completed in order to advance the story. In the end, the visuals and innovative parkour movements are more impressive than the gameplay itself.

    Overall, "Assassin's Creed" is a groundbreaking game that should be played by fans of action-adventures. It's not a masterpiece in any way, but the graphics, story and combat/parkour are all good. You may not play it through twice, but you'll probably be impressed with some of it. The XBOX 360 has a higher resolution, solid framerate and contains Achievements. For that, I'd rate it with a 7.7. The PS3 is more of a 7.5 because of its technical issues.
    Expand
  41. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Assassins Creed is a game to remember. It can be tedious and overwhelming if you're a completionist but it's well worth it.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Not is best feature. The story is kind of confusing and the characters lack charisma but the middle age setting is absolutely great and saves the day.
    PRESENTATION: Beautiful. The middle age setting really shines and the interaction with the
    Assassins Creed is a game to remember. It can be tedious and overwhelming if you're a completionist but it's well worth it.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: Not is best feature. The story is kind of confusing and the characters lack charisma but the middle age setting is absolutely great and saves the day.
    PRESENTATION: Beautiful. The middle age setting really shines and the interaction with the game's NPC's is great. When climbing a tower and unlocking a viewpoint you can see just how good the game looks.
    GAMEPLAY: Totally satisfying. Assassination has never been so cool until now. You can climb anything with almost no restrictions, you can jump to a bale of hay and come out unharmed and you can fight and finish your foes with great satisfaction.
    PROGRESSION: With the exception of the combat moves is practically unexisting and that's a good thing because it keeps you focused on the setting.
    ONLINE: It has not Online features and that's ok because this is a single experience.
    CONCLUSION: Assassins Creed is a great game that will be the beginning of a great game franchise on the years to come.
    Expand
  42. Jan 2, 2013
    6
    I loved how the game style and all that stuff. A bit present days and medival days. Brilliant idea. But it turns out the storyline is VERY confusing. I had to do sh*t tons of research understand 100% fully the storyline. At first i dont know who is that guy lying on the animus and why does he had to do that. Also, it took me a while to know wat is happening, the objectives are confusing.I loved how the game style and all that stuff. A bit present days and medival days. Brilliant idea. But it turns out the storyline is VERY confusing. I had to do sh*t tons of research understand 100% fully the storyline. At first i dont know who is that guy lying on the animus and why does he had to do that. Also, it took me a while to know wat is happening, the objectives are confusing. After finishing one objective, i cant find ANY OTHER objective in the map. I went to all the viewpoints, save all civilians and all that small objectives. I STILL cant find any objective. But overall, i think this is something very creative and special, like something very rare s gonna happened to video games now. Expand
  43. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Assassin's Creed for PlayStation 3. The beginning of an amazing franchise that would start a legacy. The story revolves around Desmond Miles who holds important memories of his ancestors that are very important to today. He is held against his will against the government to have his ancestors memories read by a device called an "animus". Although it's very doubtful that DNA can hold ancestor's memories. But you don't play as Desmond Miles, you play as his ancestor "Altair"in the Crusades. The goal in the game is too kill powerful people who were real life people during the Crusades. Now, the game is historically inaccurate obviously, some of the people in the game are real, but Altair wasn't real and never assassinated these people. Altair was a top assassin, but he broke a tenet and was demoted and had all his weapons taken away and he has to start from scratch. As you progress you get your weapons back and explore new areas in the game. The world is pretty big and well detailed. You can explore four cities: Masyaf, Jerusalem, Acre, and Damascus. The cities are incredibly big and very accurate to the cities in real life. The game looks fantastic. Even the crowd looks very realistic because there's dozens of people in the same area, and the game runs perfectly smooth. Why couldn't they do this in Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim? Anyway you got to kill powerful people throughout these three cities to learn about the piece of Eden. The U.S. government in the present time is looking for the piece of Eden which is actually the Apple of Eden which is actually an orb with a lot of power. Yes, this fictional religious artifact is the main part of the story. An item that never existed. How original, it's like the Ark of Covenant or the Holy Grail in the Indiana Jones movies. That's not the worst part, you won't even believe me why the U.S. government is looking for the Apple of Eden. You sure you want to know? Okay, they are trying to prevent the 2012 Apocalypse on December 21. Another infamous hoax that is a conspiracy theorists fetish. I can't believe they add this in a historic video game. If you are going to make a historic video game. Make it sound realistic and not base it off fictional religious items (all religion is fiction) and end of the world conspiracies. Apart from the bad storyline, the game is very good in terms of gameplay, you got a bunch of weapons like throwing knives, the hidden blade and the signature sword. To discuss the characters, Altair sucks and Desmond would of been better if he tried to fight off the government and escape, but he's like no, I'll do whatever the **** they want. But to continue on with the gameplay, sneaking up to people and stabbing them with your hidden blade is very fun. Climbing up buildings is extremely fun. Although the controls could be a little better. My biggest compliant about this game is the ending and it doesn't revolve around the story. When you beat the game, you don't continue where you left off, you got to start the missions all over again and it's ****ing retarded you can't skip the cutscenes. Another stupid thing about this game is that you can only make one save file. What were they thinking? Even old games like "Super Metroid" on Super Nintendo you could make three save files, but Assassin's Creed which is a High Defintion video game on the PlayStation got its ass kicked by the 16 bit Super Nintendo. Although this game has flaws, it's one you might want to check out.

    FINAL RATING: 7 OUT OF 10
    Expand
  44. Feb 8, 2013
    6
    The only good thing about his game is the graphics... even more when it was released back in 2007. But, what a crappy game!! It's the only time in my life I had difficulty finishing a game. I wanted to give up halfway through. Always doing the same thing over and over again during 10 hours... O_o By chance, the second one was better.
  45. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    The series known as Assassin's Creed started here. Despite the strong points of the game, such as it's graphics and fun gameplay and combat, the game and gameplay in general is brought down by repetitiveness after playing for the first few hours.

    You are forced through different cities where you have to complete the same tasks in each city with character and some dialogue changes being
    The series known as Assassin's Creed started here. Despite the strong points of the game, such as it's graphics and fun gameplay and combat, the game and gameplay in general is brought down by repetitiveness after playing for the first few hours.

    You are forced through different cities where you have to complete the same tasks in each city with character and some dialogue changes being the only difference. This can make it frustrating to play after awhile.

    If you can look over this, Assassin's Creed can be very fun to play.

    I give this game a 7, I would rate it quite a bit higher if the linear, repetitive gameplay didn't exist.
    Expand
  46. Feb 4, 2013
    6
    Very much a game that hasn't aged well at all. The sequels are all far superior and this feels like a tech-demo of what the games would become. The game has massive potential in all areas but falls on its face in most. The free-running is probably the most fun part of the game as it feels realistic and is enjoyable exploring the massive cities and scaling the towers is very cool. HoweverVery much a game that hasn't aged well at all. The sequels are all far superior and this feels like a tech-demo of what the games would become. The game has massive potential in all areas but falls on its face in most. The free-running is probably the most fun part of the game as it feels realistic and is enjoyable exploring the massive cities and scaling the towers is very cool. However the missions are boring and repetitive, the combat is a chore and the best tactic is to simply constantly block the enemy's attacks and late in the game when you are faced with large groups of foes this becomes very frustrating. finally the story goes nowhere, before playing the sequels I thought the Desmond parts of the game were completely unnecessary as they added nothing and simply confused me. Overall I would skip this game if you want to get into the franchise unless you are super interested in it as you wont really miss anything story-wise and certainly not gameplay wise. Expand
  47. Mar 7, 2013
    7
    blablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablblablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablabla Expand
  48. Apr 3, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed Good Points: The introduction of parkour (or free running)Assassin's Creed Good Points: The introduction of parkour (or free running) to videogames, and being able to interact with the environment. Combat, a bit frustrating for those who don't have agility with the controls. The idea of the animus, and struggle of Templars and Assassins for thousands of years. The hidden blade. The transformation of the main character, Altaïr. The mysterious atmosphere. Well constructed story. Massive cities, and the fluid, realistic people. Very nice graphics for the moment. Soundtrack. Bad Points: Very long cinematics, can get the player very, very, bored. The limited inventory. Not being able to enter the city with the horse. Present day was boring, you had to walk and go to sleep, to then get back to the animus. Getting chased by guards, for only touching them. Final Score: Assassin's Creed is a fun game, with a lot of nice ideas, but ideas that were not fully completed. It posses a story and background story very interesting, and the gameplay was nice but it could be really frustrating at times. Average Score: 8.2 Expand
  49. May 19, 2013
    7
    My friends kept on talking about how good this game was so I decided to try it out. I was immediately taken in by the story. The crusades has been done before in games but not like this, I was taken in by the Assassin's and Templar's secret agenda and the arifact of Eden was a really good idea, one that ubisoft has made a now mainstream franchise out of, and that's what kept me going withMy friends kept on talking about how good this game was so I decided to try it out. I was immediately taken in by the story. The crusades has been done before in games but not like this, I was taken in by the Assassin's and Templar's secret agenda and the arifact of Eden was a really good idea, one that ubisoft has made a now mainstream franchise out of, and that's what kept me going with this game. The gameplay itself is not up to the same level as the story and mythology is I'm afraid. It starts out really fun being a super agile, parkouring assassin but the game gets to repetitive. Its basically the same thing the whole time, gather info, kill target, new location, repeat. Also my copy was extremely glitchy, The game froze several times causing me to have to start missions over. It was the story that kept me going though and if your interested in the origins of this now huge franchise then its worth a look. Good but could be better (as AC2 proved) Expand
  50. Jun 12, 2013
    7
    It's funny this game actually works, even if it is a bit boring. Still for me was a lot more fun to play this game than the most recently AC game....it's weird but true. This game has an interesting story, with a good main character, your beloved Altair, and with interesting characters. What makes this game a bit boring is the fact that you will be doing always the same thing in terms ofIt's funny this game actually works, even if it is a bit boring. Still for me was a lot more fun to play this game than the most recently AC game....it's weird but true. This game has an interesting story, with a good main character, your beloved Altair, and with interesting characters. What makes this game a bit boring is the fact that you will be doing always the same thing in terms of missions, and there aren't a lot of collectibles expect for the flags to catch. So in my view is a good game beside been a bit boring and the graphics not been the best. Expand
  51. Oct 8, 2015
    8
    This game is really unique. The social stealth aspect is great, although the game has very glitchy controls. It's still a very good video game. I like!
  52. May 31, 2013
    7
    Assassin's Creed puts you in the shoes of Altaïr that's a member of the Levantine Brotherhood whose sworn enemy is the Knights Templar. It is very repetitive and can get boring at sometimes. The graphics don't compete with Ubisoft's current projects and the story is what stopped me from quitting the game. The combat and parkour elements are amazing. Assassin's Creed is and always will be aAssassin's Creed puts you in the shoes of Altaïr that's a member of the Levantine Brotherhood whose sworn enemy is the Knights Templar. It is very repetitive and can get boring at sometimes. The graphics don't compete with Ubisoft's current projects and the story is what stopped me from quitting the game. The combat and parkour elements are amazing. Assassin's Creed is and always will be a must play. Expand
  53. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    As my first rated M game it will always have a special place in my heart. This game despite its flaws brought me into the world of Assassin's Creed, and now I'm stuck in the world and this has become one of my favorite series ever.
  54. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    EN: Assassin's Creed presents an outstanding idea, but the poorly made stealth system, clunky controls and repetitive side missions are a disappointment. It could be a lot better.

    PT-BR: Assassins Creed apresenta uma idéia excelente, mas o sistema de stealth mal feito, os controles desajeitados e as missões secundárias repetitivas são uma decepção. Poderia ser muito melhor.
  55. Aug 21, 2014
    8
    Pros: great story with some basis in history (the Middle East during the Crusades), highly interactive (including free running, climbing, crowd interactions, multiple fighting styles and weapons, horses), and an outstanding starting point to a series that gets better with each new game.

    Cons: highly repetitive, little variety in missions, lacks some of the more advanced game setup and
    Pros: great story with some basis in history (the Middle East during the Crusades), highly interactive (including free running, climbing, crowd interactions, multiple fighting styles and weapons, horses), and an outstanding starting point to a series that gets better with each new game.

    Cons: highly repetitive, little variety in missions, lacks some of the more advanced game setup and gameplay features (ex. new fighting skills, new weapons, better user interface)
    Expand
  56. Aug 17, 2013
    8
    7.5 out of 10 (rounded off to 8).

    It's an interesting experiment and an excellent idea, but it could've been done better. With a confusing story and repetitive missions, it can certainly pull away from the experience at times. But on the other hand, the story (although confusing on the details) kept me interested and the gameplay was over-all fun and exciting, not to mention that the
    7.5 out of 10 (rounded off to 8).

    It's an interesting experiment and an excellent idea, but it could've been done better. With a confusing story and repetitive missions, it can certainly pull away from the experience at times. But on the other hand, the story (although confusing on the details) kept me interested and the gameplay was over-all fun and exciting, not to mention that the variety in things to do in this open world can keep you coming back for more long after you've finished the game.
    Expand
  57. Aug 21, 2013
    7
    This game was in my opinion not as good as the 2nd assassin's creed, reason being that this game had many problems when you first played it and it took so long to fix it, but overall great gameply, I love climbing buildings and such, and roaming around
  58. Sep 29, 2013
    7
    Pretty good game overall. It was fun to visit Jerusalem. I liked to run people over with the horse and run through them when on foot. Cool Missions like pickpocket and interrogation beat-downs. Interesting storyline with a arabic feel with french and english voice overs giving it some international flavour. Climbing to the highest building and having the camera pan out were beautifulPretty good game overall. It was fun to visit Jerusalem. I liked to run people over with the horse and run through them when on foot. Cool Missions like pickpocket and interrogation beat-downs. Interesting storyline with a arabic feel with french and english voice overs giving it some international flavour. Climbing to the highest building and having the camera pan out were beautiful graphics and while attemping made you feel like you were climbing the buildings yourself. Saving citizens was fun however repetitive. The sound at time got annoying with non stop bell clanking. The ending seemed unfinished and put together poorly. Sometimes fighting was too easy, boring and long. Cool fighting scenes which require good timing for combos and counters. Overall a fun game, no trophies. and now you can find it for under 20 so its worth buying, playing and beating. Expand
  59. Oct 2, 2013
    8
    This series is one of my favorites, this game however is not. While it was ambitious it still had flaws. The protagonist voice acting is generic and basic, a confusing story at first but a required confusion for the rest of the series. My main complaint was mission recycling. On every new sequence of the game it was the same missions from the previous level. After a good start it gotThis series is one of my favorites, this game however is not. While it was ambitious it still had flaws. The protagonist voice acting is generic and basic, a confusing story at first but a required confusion for the rest of the series. My main complaint was mission recycling. On every new sequence of the game it was the same missions from the previous level. After a good start it got boring quickly. However, good graphics, action, stealth mechanics, and parkour elements make the game unique and its worth at least a play through. Simplicity and repetition keeps this game from being a must play in my opinion. Expand
  60. Apr 11, 2016
    7
    how this game works. There's no doubt it is tedious, but no game is as much fun in bursts. You can play, love it, and stop. Then in a month you will pick it up again and play, love it, and stop. It's weird how the game does this, but I think our attention spans as humans don't last as long as they should. Running away from guards is so much fun,
  61. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This game was going to be an exclusive for the playstation 3 but ended up going multiplatform and many people said they had glitches in the game but mine was perfect. Amazing 10/10 game.
  62. Jan 22, 2014
    7
    Assassin's creed:

    +Great Storyline+
    +Fun Gameplay+
    +Nice Characters+
    +Nice Level design+
    +Good Graphics+
    +Moderate A.I-
    -Frustrating Camera issue-
    -Technical issues- (Glitches, Bugs, and Crashes)
  63. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    I just have to give this a ten due to the simple fact of how addicting this game can be. When I completed the game I felt I wanted more. That's a sign of a good game.
  64. Jul 2, 2017
    7
    If you're looking for a game that's so entertaining you'll want to play it straight through non-stop, then this isn't the game. However, it's still fun to play it on and off. There is a lot more climbing the same old towers over and over again, than what I expected. I don't give it such a high rating because there are major flaws in the game mechanics such they didn't make it very easy toIf you're looking for a game that's so entertaining you'll want to play it straight through non-stop, then this isn't the game. However, it's still fun to play it on and off. There is a lot more climbing the same old towers over and over again, than what I expected. I don't give it such a high rating because there are major flaws in the game mechanics such they didn't make it very easy to lower yourself from tall structures without grabbing on to a ledge and it's also difficult and clumsy to aim where you want him to jump if it's diagonal. He often doesn't jump in the direction you want him to. The part about his life in modern times is boring. He just has to keep going to the bed to sleep and then go back into the animus, with no real action during that time. The counter attacks sometimes don't work even when you're pressing the button prior to an attack. Overall it was a unique game for it's time, but it does need more variety in the game play to not become boring. I waited until 2017 to play this game after watching the movie and I think I already know how the plot's going to end. I'm still interested in future assassin's creed games only if they've improved it a lot since the first one. Expand
  65. Jun 15, 2014
    7
    I found the game equally entertaining and annoying. Graphics are stunning, main character is likable (for me) and, let's be honest, assassinating people is fun. It didn't even bother me that the plot wasn't very interesting, I enjoyed running on the roofs and throwing daggers. However, as I mentioned, I am amazed how many times this game managed to piss me off. First of all, controls areI found the game equally entertaining and annoying. Graphics are stunning, main character is likable (for me) and, let's be honest, assassinating people is fun. It didn't even bother me that the plot wasn't very interesting, I enjoyed running on the roofs and throwing daggers. However, as I mentioned, I am amazed how many times this game managed to piss me off. First of all, controls are REALLY unwieldy. God knows how many times I was trying to escape guards, accidentally running into walls and getting stuck there for couple of seconds (enough time for the guards to slash me couple of times). Although I was trying to turn, the guy was just stubbornly running straight ahead, jumping on the wall, falling, jumping, falling, jumping...

    The crowd is also a real pain in the ass. I fully understand that escapes shouldn't be easy and manoeuvring in the crowd makes them more challenging, but, for God's sake, how many times people started to run straight at me a second before I reached them, not giving me any chance to dodge! Which, obviously, was significantly slowing me down. I often had a feeling that the game is just not being fair. Another example - the 'hitbox' for collecting bonuses (flags) is really small, but it's enough to just walk close to a lady with a vase (NOT touching her) to make her drop it and draw guards' attention...

    Another ridiculous thing is lack of consistency. For the first time you have to travel to another town by horse (which is a pain in the ass, considering how many guards there are on roads and that they attack you on sight when you trot!). For the second time you also have to travel manually. For the rest of the game though you have to ride just half of the way, then you can 'teleport' to a chosen city. Then again, for the first time, after completing a mission, you are automatically transported to Masyaf. After completing the second mission, you have to travel there manually. After the third mission, the game asks you if you want to be automatically transported or travel on your own. I mean, come on! It's like different parts of the game were created by completely different people who didn't communicate with each other.

    But the most ridiculous thing is that the first and second mission ends right after you kill the target, so you don't have to worry about those fifty guards that are after you. However, during further missions, you have to kill the target AND run around the city for 10 minutes, trying to escape. You just don't know what will happen next and what tactics should you choose. Should I first eliminate all those guards and then kill the target to avoid being chased for 10 minutes? Or can I totally just run for the kill and ignore the guards, because I'll be transported to a safe place automatically?

    My copy also has a serious glitch - at some point it stopped showing me a full map. Streets that I already traveled through was still covered in 'fog' and view points weren't marked, so I had to look for them on my own.

    I also found instructions quite vague. It took me some time (and many deaths) to figure things out and learn the controls.

    Another thing is that cut-scenes sometimes had little to do with things that I actually did in game.
    Altair eavesdrops conversations which are totally out of context, so he doesn't really learn much from them. Then, during a cutscene, he summarizes them to a guy in the bureau, presenting facts that was never mentioned by people he was spying on. What's the point of eavesdropping, if I don't actually learn enough from it to connect the facts and figure things out on my own? Many times I felt like Altair and I were eavesdropping totally different conversations. The game says that the investigation is closed, but I still know barely nothing about the victim and have to wait until a guy THAT I'M CONTROLLING tells me what's going on.

    Another HUGE drawback - I wasn't able to change the language on English, so I was stuck with a TERRIBLE Polish dubbing.

    Summing up - I had lots of fun playing the game but it made me scream with frustration far to many times. It's very unpolished, but still entertaining.
    Expand
  66. Jun 24, 2014
    9
    These days Assassin's Creed has become a cultural phenomenon, with toys, books and an upcoming seventh entry. However, it all comes back to the humble first entry. As is expected, the story is imaginative and full of historical characters and events. It follows the life of Altair Ib'n La Ahad, a disgraced assassin who must reclaim his honour by killing nine men in the Holy Land. The storyThese days Assassin's Creed has become a cultural phenomenon, with toys, books and an upcoming seventh entry. However, it all comes back to the humble first entry. As is expected, the story is imaginative and full of historical characters and events. It follows the life of Altair Ib'n La Ahad, a disgraced assassin who must reclaim his honour by killing nine men in the Holy Land. The story is gripping at the start and towards the end, but is a bit too predictable in the middle, much like the gameplay. The unique puppeteering control scheme is effective, the free running mechanics are highly advanced for the time and the combat is slightly tedious, if fun and full of some cool animation work. The game's greatest achievement is it's open world: a technological marvel even in this day and age and a consistently cool place to explore. With numerous collectibles, side missions and challenges, there is no doubt that this game is full of content. The investigation work is key to every one of the assassination sand these play out like small side tasks, but soon get monotonous. The first three assassinations are entertaining and while each kill is unique and entertaining, the work leading up to them isn't. It gets a little old, but this is the game's only fault. The present day sections are simple and evolve upon the story of the assassins and the Templars and they are no where near as faulted as they are today (looking at you Revelations). The story is enjoyable, the graphics are great (for its time), the score and voice work are both marvellous and the controls are excellent. If you're just jumping into the series now, make sure you start with the first to get the best impact- you will not be disappointed! Expand
  67. Aug 12, 2014
    5
    Had potential but overall a wholly unsatisfying and frustrating experience. While the free running/parkour can be heaps of fun there is far too much repetition with every other aspect and after just a few hours you're hoping for the experience (and dare I say it, pain) to end. Also contains one of the worst endings in video game history.
  68. Aug 12, 2014
    9
    Assassin's Creed
    Game-play:The game play is good the sword play in combination with it's difficulty make you feel like a warrior. The only problem is that the game play is a bit slow.
    Story:Very good deep story that will hold you about 10 to 12 hours and as you continue the game the story becomes even better and at the end there is a great boss battle Graphics:Graphics are good not much
    Assassin's Creed
    Game-play:The game play is good the sword play in combination with it's difficulty make you feel like a warrior. The only problem is that the game play is a bit slow.
    Story:Very good deep story that will hold you about 10 to 12 hours and as you continue the game the story becomes even better and at the end there is a great boss battle
    Graphics:Graphics are good not much more to say
    Notes:I would appreciate more weapons in the game but the game is a masterpiece that every gamemer must have.
    Expand
  69. Oct 13, 2014
    7
    The start of a renown gaming franchise, the original Assassin's Creed game performs well, introducing a gripping narrative and story-line.

    Not too much should be expected from this early installment, the game-play is good, but could be improved. Several game-play mechanics are iconic, such as viewpoints and the Hidden Blade, a good first impression to layout the future sequels. 7/10 -
    The start of a renown gaming franchise, the original Assassin's Creed game performs well, introducing a gripping narrative and story-line.

    Not too much should be expected from this early installment, the game-play is good, but could be improved. Several game-play mechanics are iconic, such as viewpoints and the Hidden Blade, a good first impression to layout the future sequels.
    7/10 - Ben Hazelden
    Expand
  70. Oct 19, 2014
    8
    The first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming the role of the main character Altair, have the power to throw their immediate environment into chaos andThe first game in the Assassin's Creed franchise is set in 1191 AD, when the Third Crusade was tearing the Holy Land apart. Shrouded in secrecy and feared for their ruthlessness, the Assassins intend to stop the hostilities by suppressing both sides of the conflict. Players, assuming the role of the main character Altair, have the power to throw their immediate environment into chaos and to shape events during this pivotal moment in history. Expand
  71. Dec 19, 2014
    6
    No variety, you will do the same things over and over again even the cities look quiet the same. The story is alright but you can see the plot-twist from a mile away so it is not really interesting. Controls are just terrible on the brink to unplayable. What kept me playing were the good graphics and the awesome main assassin missions, the rest is forgettable.
  72. Jan 14, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Assassins creed is a great game, and one of the best in its production year. Being the first entry in a franchise, Ubi-soft tried to make use of the Prince of Persia style wall climbing mechanics that we know so well, but did they succeed?..... Yes!

    Assassins creed has one of the best graphics in the entire AC series, but some story elements seam repetitive the more you proceed through the game. Sneaking, pickpocketing, eaves dropping....these elements where fun for the first 2 assassination sequences, but for the rest it seamed repetitive.
    although, finding your way through the dessert mountain passes was fun, but the overall experience was let down by the un-engaging story.
    Expand
  73. Jan 18, 2015
    8
    AC 1 is a great game.Nice characters, perfect story and wonderful but repetitive gameplay.It is one of the best choises for the begining of the series.It is not as good as its sequels but if u want to know it all started buy it
  74. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    The first installment in the Assassin's Creed franchise may have started a gaming legend but its first title was no masterpiece. There seems to be a lack of variety here and it becomes a bit repetitive late into the game. Thankfully, Assassin's Creed is by no means terrible. The gameplay itself is extremely fun even if the combat leaves a bit to be desired. The Parkour shown is definitelyThe first installment in the Assassin's Creed franchise may have started a gaming legend but its first title was no masterpiece. There seems to be a lack of variety here and it becomes a bit repetitive late into the game. Thankfully, Assassin's Creed is by no means terrible. The gameplay itself is extremely fun even if the combat leaves a bit to be desired. The Parkour shown is definitely one of the best aspects here. Expand
  75. Jan 6, 2016
    7
    Whilst the game is initially enjoyable, it becomes repetitive. The settings are slightly lacking in atmosphere and the control scheme is weak. Nevertheless, the first instalment of the Assassin's Creed franchise provided a world of promise, with an intriguing story and innovative gameplay that was fit to excel in later renditions.
  76. Oct 4, 2015
    0
    Please don't waste your time with this.Please don't waste your time with this.
    ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    LUCIANA
    And may it be that you have quite forgot
    A husband's office? shall, Antipholus.
    Even in the spring of love, thy love-springs rot?
    Shall love, in building, grow so ruinous?
    If you did wed my sister for her wealth,
    Then for her wealth's sake use her with more kindness:
    Or if you like elsewhere, do it by stealth;
    Muffle your false love with some show of blindness:
    Let not my sister read it in your eye;
    Be not thy tongue thy own shame's orator;
    Look sweet, be fair, become disloyalty;
    Apparel vice like virtue's harbinger;
    Bear a fair presence, though your heart be tainted;
    Teach sin the carriage of a holy saint;
    Be secret-false: what need she be acquainted?
    What simple thief brags of his own attaint?
    'Tis double wrong, to truant with your bed
    And let her read it in thy looks at board:
    Shame hath a bastard fame, well managed;
    Ill d eeds are doubled with an evil word.
    Alas, poor women! make us but believe,
    Being compact of credit, that you love us;
    Though others have the arm, show us the sleeve;
    We in your motion turn and you may move us.
    Then, gentle brother, get you in again;
    Comfort my sister, cheer her, call her wife:
    'Tis holy sport to be a little vain,
    When the sweet breath of flattery conquers strife.
    ANTIPHOLUS
    Expand
  77. Nov 16, 2015
    7
    Gonna go back through one of favorite series: Assassin's Creed

    This is the first game in the series, so it has a lot of flaws. The missions in the game are very repetitive, Altair feels hard to control sometimes, especially while climbing, and ending of the game is disappointing and there really isn't anything to do after. But what it did well, it did perfectly. The secondary
    Gonna go back through one of favorite series: Assassin's Creed

    This is the first game in the series, so it has a lot of flaws.

    The missions in the game are very repetitive, Altair feels hard to control sometimes, especially while climbing, and ending of the game is disappointing and there really isn't anything to do after.

    But what it did well, it did perfectly. The secondary story with Desmond was interesting and added to the story. The cities of Acre, Damascus, and Jerusalem are the most immersive I've ever seen in a video game. They do everything right in terms of building an atmosphere. The buildings, the voice acting, the music, Just Great. It was really interesting when I found out the people that you assassinate in the game actually existed. And the story was good to a point as well.

    Overall 7/10
    Expand
  78. Nov 21, 2015
    8
    The first Assassin's creed had genious in the story and world writing in the game, while sacrificing gameplay variety and side quests.

    One of the most atmospheric and best open world games of its generation, and the pioneering installment to its franchise; Assassin's Creed was the backdrop I wished the future installments always went backed to, revolving around templars and assassin's.
    The first Assassin's creed had genious in the story and world writing in the game, while sacrificing gameplay variety and side quests.

    One of the most atmospheric and best open world games of its generation, and the pioneering installment to its franchise; Assassin's Creed was the backdrop I wished the future installments always went backed to, revolving around templars and assassin's.

    (8/10)
    Expand
  79. Nov 24, 2015
    8
    It's not my favorite game, by any means, but it was great. It had some good graphics and it played smoothly. Some of the assassinations DID get old because they seemed to be the same thing over and over. But after a while, when you started going back to the same city... it did change a little (to me) it got harder. On to the story... it had a great story and a nice POV on the A.D. times.It's not my favorite game, by any means, but it was great. It had some good graphics and it played smoothly. Some of the assassinations DID get old because they seemed to be the same thing over and over. But after a while, when you started going back to the same city... it did change a little (to me) it got harder. On to the story... it had a great story and a nice POV on the A.D. times. The assassin's and the templars. I like how it wasn't about saving anyone... it was about regaining your honor within the brotherhood.

    Only thing I might say bad about it; the climbing could have been better.
    Expand
  80. Apr 9, 2016
    6
    Quite boring and disappointing nothing too good some good parts but nothing amazing. A good ending part but the beginning was frustrating with a pointless tutorial if I were you get a newer one 64/100.
  81. Apr 11, 2016
    6
    lacks gameplay and not a fun plot but it was just decent enough to launch the series just barely but do not get it. you should just get the others instead
  82. Jul 27, 2017
    9
    I would rate this game with an 8,5. This is a good game with good graphics, and a nice medieval enviroment. If you like the Middle Age you are gonna like this game. All the missions are very similar, but I didn't get tired. The game is not difficult and it's not very long. But in my opinion it has a lack of cinematic scenes. And if I compare it with Assassin's Creed II I think the firstI would rate this game with an 8,5. This is a good game with good graphics, and a nice medieval enviroment. If you like the Middle Age you are gonna like this game. All the missions are very similar, but I didn't get tired. The game is not difficult and it's not very long. But in my opinion it has a lack of cinematic scenes. And if I compare it with Assassin's Creed II I think the first one has better graphics. I've played the second part for a few minutes and I don't know why it looks worse when Ezio is running or climbling. It felt weird. Expand
  83. Jul 10, 2017
    7
    What makes AC1 so special is that before it came out no game was quite like it. It had a major impact on video gaming and it grew a huge fanbase and I fell in love with the series after playing it for the first time. The story is about an assassin called Altair who has to earn the right to become a true assassin for disgracing his creed so he's sent by Al Mualim to kill these targets.What makes AC1 so special is that before it came out no game was quite like it. It had a major impact on video gaming and it grew a huge fanbase and I fell in love with the series after playing it for the first time. The story is about an assassin called Altair who has to earn the right to become a true assassin for disgracing his creed so he's sent by Al Mualim to kill these targets. Every main assassination mission was great and unique. The only main flaw in the game is that it can get awfully repetitive. On 9 occasions you have to explore the 3 cities in the game and keep on doing the exact same thing to unlock your target such as eavesdropping and pickpocketing which you do countless times. The combat system was also not very challenging and the game can be completed without dying once pretty easily. but I had a blast killing every target in the game and exploring the map. So there is still fun to be had. Expand
  84. Aug 16, 2016
    10
    Assassin's Creed is a 2007 action-adventure stealth video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft.

    + Interesting Story
    + Good Characters
    + Past and Present
    + Graphics
    + Characters Animations
    + Parkour
  85. Aug 31, 2016
    7
    When a new franchise comes to this world, have 2 options, fail and being forgiven, or being a total succesful, a masterpiece in everything the IP has, this game is the both things, in their time, back in 2007, this game was,graphically, a revolution for graphics and gameplay, and a mixture of the past and modern history, the game gets boring between mission and obejtives, doing the sameWhen a new franchise comes to this world, have 2 options, fail and being forgiven, or being a total succesful, a masterpiece in everything the IP has, this game is the both things, in their time, back in 2007, this game was,graphically, a revolution for graphics and gameplay, and a mixture of the past and modern history, the game gets boring between mission and obejtives, doing the same thing you can pass this game in 8 hours with no problem, I recommend it? No, Is just a scholar project from Ubisoft. You want to play a really good assassin, the brotherhood and II are your best options, Altaïr, don't get triggered :v Expand
  86. Oct 31, 2016
    9
    For the beginning of a new franchise, Assassin's Creed bodes a promising start.

    The game is all-around fun to play. It's one of those games I can go back to at any time and start a new game and feel the same feeling I did when first playing it. I never get bored with it. Though gameplay is repetitive, with the assassination missions always requiring you to gather information by doing
    For the beginning of a new franchise, Assassin's Creed bodes a promising start.

    The game is all-around fun to play. It's one of those games I can go back to at any time and start a new game and feel the same feeling I did when first playing it. I never get bored with it.

    Though gameplay is repetitive, with the assassination missions always requiring you to gather information by doing the exact same 5 sub-mission types for each target, and each new city you visit having you climb up to viewpoints to reveal the map and said sub-missions, the game's story is what holds it together. It presents itself so well that the game never really feels repetitive to me. Every single mission feels like I'm actually accomplishing a mission, and each actual assassination mission is unique and interesting, providing multiple ways to close in on your target and take them out. The only thing I wish is that there was the air assassination technique introduced in 2, though to be fair it would absolutely trivialize a lot of missions, and despite not having that particular ability, moving in through a dense crowd or following your target from the rooftops to swoop in and strike with surgical precision is as satisfying as the Assassin's Creed series has ever been.

    On top of that, the future narrative was the best in this game than it ever has been, and while it was new, it was interesting and mysterious. Too bad it got dragged through the mud for 5 games with Desmond McBlanderton, the blandest character in recent video game history.

    Despite its shortcomings, being a brand new IP, I'm not holding too much against it, and the game is so well presented and interesting that I don't even care about the repetitiveness of its mission structure. The story and the assassination missions are beautifully done, and that's what makes this game my favorite Assassin's Creed title next to its sequel.
    Expand
  87. Jan 25, 2017
    10
    Assassin's Creed is a 2007 sandbox style action-adventure-stealth video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft.

    + Interesting Story + Well Recreated The World, People and Scenarios + The Assassin Creed Brotherhood and Templar Order + Interesting Setting (The Third Crusade) + Parkour + Past and Present Story - Repetitive, With the Same Types of Mission
    Assassin's Creed is a 2007 sandbox style action-adventure-stealth video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft.

    + Interesting Story
    + Well Recreated The World, People and Scenarios
    + The Assassin Creed Brotherhood and Templar Order
    + Interesting Setting (The Third Crusade)
    + Parkour
    + Past and Present Story
    - Repetitive, With the Same Types of Mission (Interrogation, Eavesdrop, Pickpocket, Informer, Save Citizen and View Point)
    Expand
  88. Apr 30, 2017
    6
    Just a decent game. The main thing that sucks about this game is the repetitive missions that get extremely boring after doing them 20+ times. Ehhhhh.
  89. Aug 19, 2017
    10
    Assassin's Creed is a 2007 sandbox style action-adventure-stealth video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft.

    + Interesting Story + Well Recreated The World, People and Scenarios + The Assassin Creed Brotherhood and Templar Order + Interesting Setting (The Third Crusade) + Parkour and Animations + Past and Present Story - Repetitive, With the Same Types of
    Assassin's Creed is a 2007 sandbox style action-adventure-stealth video game developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft.

    + Interesting Story
    + Well Recreated The World, People and Scenarios
    + The Assassin Creed Brotherhood and Templar Order
    + Interesting Setting (The Third Crusade)
    + Parkour and Animations
    + Past and Present Story
    - Repetitive, With the Same Types of Mission (Interrogation, Eavesdrop, Pickpocket, Informer, Save Citizen and View Point)
    Expand
  90. Aug 29, 2017
    6
    Good mechanics. Fighting and climbing was fun. The story was really interesting for me. But the way it's told, with the same objectives for each level, made the game a bore. Took me 10 hours to complete. It's okay, but I don't think I'll play it again.
  91. Nov 10, 2017
    7
    The game that begin the game series "Assassin Creed". An interesting story in the beginning, but then the gameplay becomes sameness and it becomes really boring. The game is not bad, sometimes interesting, but I hardly finished it.
  92. JonM.
    Jul 9, 2008
    0
    Balancing the hype vote --- 1) game play was too repetitive 2) sci-fi angle detracted from the game 3) I saw the "twist" coming from a mile away (i.e. the storyline was too predictable) 4) for the record, arguably the most aesthetically pleasing game I've ever played... hopefully AC2 will be more than a pretty face and have more substance.
  93. Mimo
    May 27, 2008
    4
    Visuals are excellent. Framerate can slow down at times but is not gameplay hindering. The story isnt all too gripping and is pretty emotionless. The gameplay itself is extremely repetitive and is only worth-while for the so-so boss fights. As for the cut-scenes they are again only good before and after the boss fights. Just dont get this game. You will bore yourself to a dungeon which Visuals are excellent. Framerate can slow down at times but is not gameplay hindering. The story isnt all too gripping and is pretty emotionless. The gameplay itself is extremely repetitive and is only worth-while for the so-so boss fights. As for the cut-scenes they are again only good before and after the boss fights. Just dont get this game. You will bore yourself to a dungeon which then to recover from the pain of traveling on-top of buildings with the lackluster yawn fest of a control scheme you will cry in a dark corner. Expand
  94. Oct 5, 2010
    7
    PS3 - This game has stunning graphics, has a very creative and original storyline. Game progression unlocks special moves, weapons and abilities. however After playing the game for 6 hours, i find it becomes repetitive, even though it was challenging enough. Could have used a more dynamic storyline, and that is the reason it got a 7/10.
  95. Oct 17, 2010
    7
    Inspired, but lacking in execution. What the game proposes is spectacular, with the massive free roam levels and the use of 'extras' and the environment in game play. The La Parkour elements are great and are pulled off smoothly. However, the missions are repetitive and get boring after a while, to the point where I was doing them because I had to, not wanted to. Visuals are stunningInspired, but lacking in execution. What the game proposes is spectacular, with the massive free roam levels and the use of 'extras' and the environment in game play. The La Parkour elements are great and are pulled off smoothly. However, the missions are repetitive and get boring after a while, to the point where I was doing them because I had to, not wanted to. Visuals are stunning though. Probably best to just get number 2 from the looks of it. Expand
  96. Nov 27, 2012
    6
    It's almost painful for me to have to score an Assassin's Creed game so low. I loved every other game in this series, and I wanted to give this one a try as well. I know, the game is old, and you can't expect much from it, but that is not an excuse to have such repetitive gameplay. What this game is basically all about is stalking people, and killing them. Stalking people, and steal fromIt's almost painful for me to have to score an Assassin's Creed game so low. I loved every other game in this series, and I wanted to give this one a try as well. I know, the game is old, and you can't expect much from it, but that is not an excuse to have such repetitive gameplay. What this game is basically all about is stalking people, and killing them. Stalking people, and steal from them. Stalking people, then get ambushed. The story of this game is so amazing, with the first Assassins on Alamut in Masyaf, and the fight with the templars is all very interesting, but you see very little of this. Also the freerunning and parkour in this is not very satisfying, feels clunky, and takes a lot of time. This is what made me end up at the very average score 6. Expand
  97. May 18, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  98. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    This game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same asThis game has some great ideas, but they didn't get it right until the next game. The story is ridiculous - why all this crap about the animus and Desmond? That really put me off, god. The gameplay is sometimes incredibly fun, but often so frustrating and repetitive. I really see no point in playing this game, unless you want to punish yourself. Go straight to AC II which is the same as this game - only great. Expand
  99. LeonL.
    Mar 19, 2008
    6
    I'm kind of disappointed of the game. Graphic is excellent but it is the same throughout the game. I just walk through the cities and perform the same mission over and over again. There isn't much action happening and I'm getting bored after the 3rd memory. There is no subtitle of the video chip (unlike Uncharted, and Ratchet and Clank).
  100. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Assassins creed positives. Beautifull graphics, a stirdy cast of voice actors, great eviroment features such as people noticing your actions etc gaurds investigating a murdered person and warning other gaurds of you in a certian vicinity and people noticing you do unusual things that attrack unwanted attention and simple to learn combat.
    negatives. the story with the mix of medieval time
    Assassins creed positives. Beautifull graphics, a stirdy cast of voice actors, great eviroment features such as people noticing your actions etc gaurds investigating a murdered person and warning other gaurds of you in a certian vicinity and people noticing you do unusual things that attrack unwanted attention and simple to learn combat.
    negatives. the story with the mix of medieval time period and science fiction realy unballances the setting and feeling of the game especialy with the poorly made story that could have been better if it was not for the science fiction. The gameplay is nothing new, i found my self button mashing most of the time, and found it ridiculous that the gaurds were able to chase me in their full body armor scaling buildings. Plus some pointless gameplay such as spying on conversations with no real purpose in the game, and the fact on how simple it is to hide from your persuers. I also felt that the boss fights were made to simple, you could either waste your time in a sword fight or just jump on them with your concealed blade.
    Assassins creed brings good enviroment to the table but it also brings too much repeat feeling gameplay and pointless tasks of searching for far too many flags just to get a special weapon such as the crossbow.
    It could have been better.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.
  3. 70
    It attempts a lot of ambitious things and it almost succeeds at every one. But it's apparent that these grandiose ideas may have been a little too much to master the first go-round. But hey, at least the groundwork is laid for a killer sequel -- right, Ubisoft?