Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is not so much a game as a series of monumental, weird experiences delivered as beautifully rendered cut scenes, interspersed with quick time events, God of War-style combat and Panzer Dragoon flying sequences influenced by Asian mythology infused with heavy sci-fi elements make this a weird experience. But it's weird in that good, can't-stop-watching-the-screen way. It is complete madness, wrapped up in a lovingly-created package.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    83
    Asura's Wrath is not a game for everybody – it's special and unique. CyberConnect 2 managed to offer the player a high speed game with a lot of story- oments and cinematic storytelling.
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is a unique experience, and despite underdeveloped gameplay mechanics and little real replayability it's extremely fun while it lasts. The art-style is superb, with likeable characters, and when the outstanding music kicks in, the game offers some truly epic moments – the sort that you will remember, and want to experience all over again.
  4. Mar 5, 2012
    90
    You could quite easily just watch Asura's Wrath and be raucously entertained; the fact that it places you firmly in the centre of the action makes its achievements all the more impressive.
  5. Mar 2, 2012
    75
    It's not a huge challenge but so what? Makes ya feel good for a while, and we all need that every now and then.
  6. Mar 1, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is undoubtedly a niche title, and the lack of extended player input will leave some feeling a little short changed. For those with an appreciation of Eastern animation and quirky video games, however, Asura's Wrath is one of the more intriguing releases of this year, not to mention this console generation.
  7. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is a game that goes into a rage and stomps on whatever we call the convention of video games. And you know what? I'm going to join in the stomping too, because the reason I play games is for refreshing engagements that entertain me, and Asura's Wrath hit the spot.
  8. Feb 29, 2012
    75
    Asura's Wrath is a fun game that is well worth the money and well worth playing. If you are not a fan of button mashers then avoid it as the fighting style can be repetitive, but if you love amazing graphics and bizarre stories, then this most certainly is the game for you. I highly enjoyed it.
  9. Feb 26, 2012
    85
    Asura's Wrath is, without a doubt, a very special game. We can't recall the last time we've seen so much brutal action on our screen, while we could also lose ourselves in an immersive story. Such spectacle! Besides that, Asura has fought his way to an important place on our list of most memorable characters in videogame history. That aside, you may want to know Asura's Wrath is more like an interactive movie that lasts around ten hours. If you can look past that, you will find a game like you've never seen or played before.
  10. Feb 23, 2012
    75
    At a time when Japanese developers seem to moving to more readily embrace "Westernised" gaming values, kudos to CyberConnect2 for sticking to its guns and providing a gaming experience quite unlike anything I've ever played before and one I look forward to revisiting in twenty minute blocks time and time again.
  11. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is, without doubt, one of those games that some people will love for one reason and others will hate for the very same reason. I say embrace the madness and run with it. Let your inhibitions regarding quick-time events and cut-scene heavy games go and, if you like the kind of anime this is based on, you might just find a gem. I did.
  12. Feb 21, 2012
    85
    Asura's Wrath isn't as brainless as it may want you to believe. The ridiculous moments and likable characters kept me smiling, which was odd, considering it's essentially a story about misery. It's a nice change of pace from other hack-and-slash games, featuring an interesting story that's not blocked off by insurmountable difficulty.
  13. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Asura's Wrath is a game that brings a different take on the action genre, a nice title with an interesting way to tell an interactive story.
  14. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    Asura's Wrath is an experiment, undoubtedly a successful one, to bring a new point of view to the videogame market. Mangas and shonen lovers will find in this game a majestic example of style. Sadly the gameplay isn't at the same level.
  15. Feb 20, 2012
    79
    Asura's Wrath is a funny and spectacular game, a different take on the action genre and a title with a very interesting way to tell an interactive story. It's a shame that it's so short and lacks real replayability and challange, we finshed the game without losing any life at medium difficuly level.
  16. Feb 17, 2012
    85
    Asura's Wrath is not a usual action game. It blends Anime-Style cut scenes with a twirl of spectacular quick time events, and offers interesting variety and a catchy pace.
  17. Feb 17, 2012
    75
    It sets out to be a new kind of interactive animation, and it succeeds completely at that. But a game this light on actual content is difficult to justify as a full-price release; it's style over substance, and some players will feel cheated by the paucity of actual gameplay in amongst the six hours of brilliant spectacle.
  18. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 2, 2012
    80
    Those who do not care about the crazy Japanese aesthetics or the not so subtle references to popular anime, may ask them the question if the actual gameplay is any good at all. Well, it is. Sort of. [April 2012, p.66]
  19. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 13, 2012
    82
    An interesting and action-packed combination of an anime series and a beat 'em up videogame. Numerous and logical QTE:s blur the borders between the game and anime. [March 2012]
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 50
  2. Negative: 10 out of 50
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    This is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends canThis is an incredible game!! If you are any sort of Anime fan this is a definite must buy!! I might buy another copy or two so my friends can experience it too. Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Incredibly entertaining - it's like Fist of the North Star with a lot less stoicism and a lot more divine magic. I don't even mind that IIncredibly entertaining - it's like Fist of the North Star with a lot less stoicism and a lot more divine magic. I don't even mind that I spend a fair amount of time watching the story play out, it's just so over the top that anytime I'm not actively involved in gameplay, I am (no joke) laughing with joy at the latest nonsensical feat that Asura and I just pulled. The anime-episode-style presentation format is perfect for the story, the art is top-notch, and the gameplay itself is simple and appropriately furiously paced. Very highly recommended for fans of The Rule of Cool. Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Capcom parecería que volvió a la época en la que estaba Clover, en la que se arriesgaba a sacar cosasCapcom parecería que volvió a la época en la que estaba Clover, en la que se arriesgaba a sacar cosas nuevas, tratando de innovar en ciertos aspectos, porque Asura Wrath es eso, las ganas de querer probar cosas nuevas y plasmándolas de una manera muy excitante en cuanto a la emoción que te causa al jugarlo.
    La música también es muy buena, por lo menos a mi me encanta. El estilo que tienen los gráficos y esa onda de querer simular los capítulos de los anime esta rebien hecho.
    Ojala Capcom siga con esta racha de lanzar juegos que tratan de mostrar algo diferente, y no como los Call of Duty o los Battlefield o toda esos juegos malisimos que solo venden por ser shooter, por el multiplayer, y porque todas las paginas que hacen análisis le ponen nota alta, ya que debe haber una tramoya atrás de la que no sabemos todavía como funciona, pero que se re nota que esta ahí.
    Full Review »