Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. 75
    The move to a new console is rarely without a few bumps, but Gust seems to have weathered the transition nicely; as such, I'm happy to recommend Atelier Rorona to anyone looking for a good JRPG or slice-of-life sim on the PS3.
  2. Atelier Rororna should appeal to series fans and newcomers alike. Gust did a fine job with this game and it's well worth your consideration if you're in the market for a solid JRPG.
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    60
    Like labelmate Trinity Universe, Atelier Rorona is a hard game to dislike, but it ultimately feels a little too tied to JRPG convention for its ideas to bear fruit. It might be admirable for a game to promote such a diligent work ethic, but it never quite rewards you handsomely enough for your efforts.
  4. Jan 15, 2011
    60
    Beyond its addictive crafting system, Atelier Rorona doesn't unfortunately possess anything capable of arousing interest of those gamers who aren't familiar with these kind of jRPGs. However, if you define yourself as fan of the genre, you should definitely consider this purchase.
  5. If you like Harvest Moon, but like making stuff instead of farming it, this is your cup of tea.
  6. Dec 22, 2010
    40
    Atelier Rorona is not directed specifically to RPG fans, but rather adventurous young girls who will take their first steps in a world of stylish packaging and simple, but repetitive, routines.
  7. 70
    When it comes right down to it, Atelier Rorona just feels good to play. If you're craving a charming, character-driven game that doesn't involve a looming world-ending crisis and you can deal with a lot of repetition, you'll certainly want to give this game a go.
  8. Though Atelier Rorona: The Alchemist of Arland is a charming adventure, its stark simplicity and annoying deadlines narrow its appeal.
  9. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    Atelier Rorona: The Alchemist of Arland is a light, colorful adventure that's easy enough to jump into but with combat, alchemy, and 14 different endings to unlock, is also layered enough to satisfy many standard JRPG subscribers looking for something a little different.
  10. Jan 12, 2011
    65
    There's light and shadow within Atelier Rorona: The Alchemist of Arland. While the presentation as well as the fighting system are a good approach for children, the alchemy system is hard as a rock. WTF dialogue accompanies the game, and so it's not worth a recommendation.
  11. 50
    If Atelier Rorona was more fleshed out, and I was actually involved in gathering and alchemic recipes, then it could be a compelling RPG. But its standard battle system, cute style, and WTF dialogue don't make the game good.
  12. The script might be highly distasteful but the rest of the game is a surprisingly enjoyable variant on the Harvest Moon workaholic simulator.
  13. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    Atelier Rorona The Alchemist of Arland is a nice japan RPG with a classic turn based combat system, where you can control a young apprendist alchemist across a variety of situation in the world of Arland. The greatest strength in the game is the crafting system: the player is required to complete certain missions involving the creation of items from ingredients. The Alchemist of Arland is ultimately a good game, especially for fans of the genre.
  14. Dec 20, 2010
    65
    In summary, there are many, many hours of playing time to be had in Atelier Rorona: The Alchemist of Arland; however repetitious game play and time constraints make it an acquired taste, best suited to fans of the series.
  15. Dec 25, 2010
    77
    A comparatively shallow RPG, but fun and accessible. [Issue#198, p.94]
  16. With multiple endings and an easy but deep synthesis system, this game will easily net you 25+ hours without breaking a sweat.
  17. Play time is kept to a minimum, with most of the development effort put into designing reams of menus for you to navigate...ensuring that you never start to have actual fun. [Issue#51, p.118]
  18. Dec 28, 2010
    50
    It just isn't that interesting. [Christmas 2010, p.90]
  19. Atelier Rorona: Alchemist of Arland is a darn good RPG with an admitted emphasis on item creation, which won't be alien to those familiar with the Mana Khemia or past Atelier titles.
  20. 85
    I know that while I definitely enjoyed this game, it was difficult to work within the time constraints. There was more I wanted to enjoy, but I wouldn't be able to; not without repeating a lot of the same stuff in a second or third play through the game.
  21. 90
    Rorona continues the grand tradition of creating an RPG experience that is all about the simplicities of life, coupled with the usual great cast of characters, and is a complete must for fans of the series.
  22. Feb 8, 2011
    70
    Don't underestimate this game: time will be your worst enemy, and you'll learn to fear the ticking clock. Run Rorona, run!
  23. I really wish the storyline left me feeling like I'd accomplished something. And the game is like a big fetch-and-make quest over and over again. But you still find yourself wanting to play just one more day.
  24. Atelier Rorona: Alchemist of Arland isn't a bad game, but it isn't a particularly great one, either. Like Atelier Annie, it's focused more on the social aspects instead of the RPG aspects, almost to the point where the RPG elements drag down the rest of the game.
  25. 80
    The gathering and creating of items, weapons, and armor are what really makes this game addicting, much like a toned down version of Monster Hunter.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Jul 31, 2011
    3
    I'm not going to lie I haven't played the pre-Iris days of this franchise. Mana Khemia was what got me into this series. Now I don't mind not having to save the word or playing a game where I'm not going on some grand quest. For the most part you'll be finding ingredients to make a bunch of things for a kingdom, some of your friends, and other people. And I'd be perfectly content doing that. However this game walks in with a serve injury that cripples it the entire time. The imposing time limit which is attached to everything you do. I could only play this game for 4 hours before the seer claustrophobic feeling made never want to touch it again which really is a shame since I might have liked everything else the game had to offer. Now for those who can handle the overbearing feeling of time may enjoy this but I wouldn't recommend this game purely for how overbearing the time limits are. Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    A charming cast of characters and entertaining script elevate this RPG above the crowd. If you're looking for a save the world story, look elsewhere but if you love character interaction and lovable personalities this is top drawer stuff. As with most Gust games it also boasts a fantastic soundtrack.

    In gameplay terms the battle system is quite average, standard fare turn based combat. Thankfully combat is not the core of this game. Instead the item synthesis system takes center stage and this is incredibly well fleshed out. The game employs an addictive time management system where you'll hunt for ingredients, use these ingredients to make items, and use these items to fulfil requests for townspeople, improving your reputation and unlocking further quests.

    Overall a fun slice of life piece of pure enjoyment, free of the melodrama so many RPGs are plagued with.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Great JRPG game!! Sure the background are simple texture but the cel-shaded 3D is excellent and most of the time it's 60fps @ 1080p!! The hand drawn artwork are nice, the music is catchy and the story is simple and fun... for any true JRPG fans out there, I recommend this game!! This game has a time limit as you need to complete assignments and such at a certain time. If you love to mix things and Alchemy is one of the skills you enjoy, this game has it all... Full Review »