Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    Arkham fans can expect to really enjoy Origins, so long as they don't go into the game expecting to experience sweeping changes to the gameplay that made Asylum and City so great. Origins is a great game that can proudly stand outside of the shadow of its predecessors.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 11, 2013
    A somewhat flawed albeit ultimately fantastic entry to the Bat-series. Storyline really delivers, too. We can't wait to see what Warners Montreal does next. [December 2013, p76]
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    Existing fans will relish the chance to explore Gotham and drink in the detail while going toe-to-toe with some marque villains plucked from DC Comics’ rich history. It’s just a shame that while Warner Bros Montreal proved it was a student capable of copying Rocksteady’s formula, it didn’t have the confidence to add any real ambition of its own.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Batman: Arkham Origins. There is a ton of replay value here, and with a New Game Plus mode to explore, I’m ready to polish up my batarangs, throw on my classic Batman costume, and get to kicking supervillain ass, 60s style.
  5. Oct 26, 2013
    It continues to develop what we've seen in the previous episodes. It's a very solid game with a very solid story, that offers another great adventure for The Dark Knight fans.
  6. Nov 26, 2013
    Arkham Origins is essentially just more of the Batman you already know without a lot of new offerings. But despite some small problems the core gameplay, especially the Free Flow-system, is still a lot of fun.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    More of an expansion than a brand new game. Newcomers will enjoy a city filled with missions to complete and enemies to pacify. Veterans expected more. [Issue#236]
  8. Nov 21, 2013
    There are no major flaws to point to Batman Arkham Origins, which is explained by strictly following the formula created by Rocksteady. If you liked Arkham Asylum and Arkham City, this is a safe bet.
  9. Nov 3, 2013
    Feels like a long DLC at times but fun enough to be The Batman.
  10. Nov 3, 2013
    This entry into the series is the weakest of them all, but that is like comparing Disney Pixar films to each other. The worst Batman game is still better than most games that see the light of day, but the setting and storyline of Origins just feels like a bit of a misstep.
  11. Nov 1, 2013
    Yes, most of the game seems like a copy of Arkham City, but that doesn't take away the overall high quality that comes from the lush world, the superb fighting system and the great characters WB Montreal created.
  12. Oct 29, 2013
    This new installment in the Batman franchise will be thoroughly enjoyed by the fans of the dark knight, although it is somewhat lacking in originality and some of the villains are not particularly charismatic. Warner Montreal did a good job, but it does not reach the same level as the previous installments by Rocksteady.
  13. Oct 28, 2013
    There’s some great stuff to see here, but it doesn’t really push the franchise off in a new direction. For a new studio’s first attempt in the franchise, I think that’s really what it needed to be, so they can build their own legacy in the future.
  14. Oct 28, 2013
    Another solid entry in the “Batman Arkham” saga, despite some minor technical issues and the lack of new gameplay features.
  15. Oct 28, 2013
    Batman: Arkham Origins is more of the same, for all the good and bad that implies. It is effectively more of the same gameplay, in the same locations and against many of the same villains.
  16. Oct 27, 2013
    Although it does not add any new features to the series, Batman: Arkham Origins provides an amazing story and a big cast of villains from the Batman Universe. It also maintains every single aspect from Asylum and City, like the predator mode and free flow combat in a larger city with lots of secondary activities. The multiplayer experience — the first one in the franchise — is disappointing, but overall, Warner Bros. Montreal lived up to the standards established by Rocksteady.
  17. Oct 25, 2013
    Batman: Arkham Origins is a good game, but unfortunately nothing more. You have a lot to do until the end of this crazy night, but everything seems already done and seen. If you loved Arkham City you definitely should play Origins too, but you will experience a strong déjà vu feeling all throughout your game.
  18. Oct 25, 2013
    It's always touchy when a license changes hands, but Warner Bros Montreal succeeds with Batman: Arkham Origins, the third and penultimate episode of the Batman: Arkham series started by Rocksteady. The risks were minimal, given how the Quebecois studio perfectly replicates Batman: Arkham City, one of the best games of this generation. But if reproducing perfection requires skills to propose a story, sense of rhythm and narration on the par with Arkham City was a challenge, they overcame it. Furthermore, with a nice multi-player mode and a gigantic length there's no doubt this Batman is a winner. A must have for fans and non-fans alike.
  19. Oct 25, 2013
    While the core mechanics hardly make any progress, in terms of storytelling Origins is definitely worthy of concluding the Arkham trilogy in thrilling fashion.
  20. There are some familiar elements – Arkham City’s ice grenades reappear as the mechanically identical glue grenades for example – and most of the gains are in scale and size rather than substance, but this is still a satisfying adventure with only a few minor faults that’ll keep all but the hardest to please happy.
  21. Oct 25, 2013
    In many ways, Arkham Origins is a lot like the Gotham that it's set in; weirdly empty, but so much fun that you're going to be able to overlook most of the flaws.
  22. Oct 30, 2013
    While it may not be the best of the three Arkham games, Origins is still a title that is definitely worth at least a few hours of time for both comic fans and gamers alike.
  23. Oct 25, 2013
    For all its faults, Arkham Origins lives up to the prestige associated with its name. It’s easy to be negative about it, simply because everything it does well the previous games also pulled off splendidly, but the fact is that if the other Arkham games didn’t exist this would be the best Batman game ever by a mile.
  24. Oct 25, 2013
    Next to Arkham City, Arkham Origins is a bit of a disappointment in its lack of new ideas and use of win buttons, making it the least interesting of the trilogy.
  25. Oct 28, 2013
    Batman: Arkham Origins is a bit of a letdown for me. That’s mostly because the previous two titles from Rocksteady Studios weren’t merely great games, they were legitimate Game of the Year contenders. Although Origins has a lot going for it, most of that was expected and in truth, I anticipated much more. And this really feels more like a hybrid open-world/linear game, which is a little disconcerting.
  26. Nov 12, 2013
    While I quite enjoyed the story in Batman: Arkham Origins the stale gameplay left me cold. They've stripped away some of my favorite trimmings (Riddler puzzles) and the fights all start to feel the same.
  27. Nov 9, 2013
    Batman: Arkham Origins is definitely flawed, but most of all it is an awesome game. It just does not bring anything new to the table.
  28. 75
    Batman: Arkham Origins has refinements the series deserves, but core elements are missing the imagination they need right now.
  29. Nov 4, 2013
    I actually enjoyed the story in Origins more than the wildly implausible (even by comic book standards) Arkham City, but my fun was constantly interrupted by bugs and questionable design decisions. While this is arguably still the third-best Batman game ever made, WB Games Montréal unfortunately dropped the high bar set by Rocksteady down a few notches.
  30. Oct 25, 2013
    If Batman Arkham Origins is the first game you play in the series, then you'll find it very enjoyable because it has all the great qualities of Arkham City with a new story and even some very few new features. But if you already played Batman Arkham City, then you'll find too many similarities to justify to buy a new game.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 585 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 158
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    The cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting theThe cape is finally black, and there are no man panties in sight. Now Rocksteady should learn to make a serviceable Batman by omitting the absurd blue/purple cape and briefs, their Batman design is a walking paradox.
    P.S. The grey belt is nice, keep that too.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    Broken game. That's all that needs to be said. Framerates at one point (around the halfway point I guess?) render this game completelyBroken game. That's all that needs to be said. Framerates at one point (around the halfway point I guess?) render this game completely unplayable. Prior to that it was pretty fun, it's just reskinned Arkham City with almost no new features and a worse story (although still good). I won't bother reviewing this because it is simply a broken product, and possibly the worst frame rates I've ever seen (I've played PS3 Skyrim and Dragon Age Origins). No broken product deserves a score higher than 0, no matter how good it is, shame on you WB. Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    If Arkham City was The Dark Knight of video-games, Arkham Origins is the Batman and Robin.

    Written with the consistency of wet excrement
    If Arkham City was The Dark Knight of video-games, Arkham Origins is the Batman and Robin.

    Written with the consistency of wet excrement flung at a bouncy castle, Arkham Origins has an utterly nonsensical plot that is a genuine struggle to sit through. Batman is portrayed as a whiny, arrogant teenage like figure, with the phrase, "you're not my real dad!" threatening to leave his mouth in every conversation with Alfred. In fact the only character where the writer's didn't seem to completely miss the point was The Joker, though that's likely because 90% of his dialogue was taken straight from The Killing Joke (and most of it didn't even make sense in context.
    The combat is broken, which is confusing as all they had to do was keep the strange system from the previous game to avoid that happening, yet somehow Batman has most of the same attacks (with a couple removed) and gets confused during freeflow, causing him to punch the air randomly instead of another opponent.
    Similarly, he cannot counter if in the middle of punching someone, which means the vast majority of the time you'll just have to let him get punched in the head and ruin your combo.
    The people who were positive about this game are in denial, as I was the first week I played it, attempting to convince myself it was good simply because I'd looked forward to it for so long. Instead Arkham Origins became the first game I've traded in in over two years. If you buy it not only are you wasting your money, you're sticking your fingers up at the games that came before it.
    Full Review »