Battlefield 3 PlayStation 3

Battlefield 3 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1761 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions andAs bullets whiz by, walls crumble, and explosions throw you to the ground, the battlefield feels more alive and interactive than ever before. In Battlefield 3, players step into the role of the elite U.S. Marines where they will experience heart-pounding single player missions and competitive multiplayer actions ranging across diverse locations from around the globe including Europe, Middle-East and North America. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    93
    Battlefield fans hoping for the most polished entry in the series won't be disappointed by this massive sequel.
  2. Oct 29, 2011
    90
    DICE's latest shooter combines an extremely in-depth multiplayer experience with a fully fledged single player game. But the two brightest stars are the game's lighting and sound, which set new standards within the realistic FPS genre. Battlefield 3 is a Swedish war export we can be proud of.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    90
    The nine multiplayer maps seem to be designed specifically to let players come up with their own creative strategies. Compared to COD, this gives the player a real sense of freedom. There is no such thing as a perfect strategy or a trotten path. [December 2011, p.74]
  4. Nov 7, 2011
    86
    The short singleplayer campaign is disappointing, but we've come to expect that from the Battlefield franchise. Online this third iteration is still among the best shooters out there, even though we feel like DICE has made too much changes in an attempt to attract hardened Call of Duty fans.
  5. 85
    For all the shortcomings in the single-player, and the triumphs in the multiplayer and co-op, DICE deserves a fair amount of credit for creating worthy competition to that other modern-shooter.
  6. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 4, 2012
    80
    Despite its incredible competitive online play, we can't ignore the shortcomings of its campaign and Co-Op. [Jan 2012, p.66]
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    70
    A sloppy single-player campaign met with matchless multiplayer makes for an unbalanced first-person shooter experience.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 81 out of 606
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    le jeu de l année le fps militaire par excellence aucune comparaison possible avec mw3
    un petit conseille a infiniward
    le jeu de l année le fps militaire par excellence aucune comparaison possible avec mw3
    un petit conseille a infiniward arête de prendre les fans pour des vaches a laits
    Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    If you've loved the battlefield series so far, you'll adore this. absolutely sublime. The campaign is actually significantly better thanIf you've loved the battlefield series so far, you'll adore this. absolutely sublime. The campaign is actually significantly better than given credit for, with enough high-octane moments to push me to a second playthrough. The multiplayer is, as always, where it's at, with many years worth of military-sandbox fun for fans of the series. A true love-letter to fans of the series and military fiction alike. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game, it exceeds all my expectation. The game play is amazing, the best part is the online gaming and that is free. BF3This is an amazing game, it exceeds all my expectation. The game play is amazing, the best part is the online gaming and that is free. BF3 should do very well against MW Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Battlefield 3 is a great game. It does have quite a few problems such as a really bad campaign which has a boring, clichéd storyBattlefield 3 is a great game. It does have quite a few problems such as a really bad campaign which has a boring, clichéd story and is filled with bad AI and cheap deaths. REALLY cheap. Lots of the time I could be with a lot of other soldiers, yet as soon as I pop out of cover half of the enemies start attacking me. For a game that tries to be realistic, it isn't. Enemies seeing you as soon as you pop up, even if they're focused on another person, quicktime events and not that much destruction, the campaign is not worth the price of this great game. No, the reason to get this game is the fantastic, addictive multiplayer. This isn't like Call of Duty. You have to work as a team and support them. And there are a lot more ways to get points. Healing your team/squad, reviving your team/squad, resupplying your team/squad, arming and destroying the objective in Rush, neutralizing and capturing the flag in Conquest, assisting with the neutralizing or capturing of the flag, having a squad mate spawn on you, assisting in a kill, assisting in a suppression kill, and of course killing an enemy. I probably didn't even name every way to get XP in this game. There are a ton of weapons in this game, and choosing classes makes the game incredibly balanced. In assault you have the ability to revive other players and heal them and yourself with a medkit, whereas other classes don't. In engineer you have access to the launchers, so you can easily blow up buildings, vehicles etc. with ease. In support you can resupply other players and yourself with ammo and in recon you have access to the spawn beacon which lets you place another spawn point so you can spawn exactly where you want. There are always advantages and disadvantages to each class which makes the game a joy to play. I do have a few problems with the multiplayer. You don't get much of a chance to drive or pilot many of the vehicles in the campaign, and the manual is absolutely terrible not giving you any help on the vehicle controls, which can be frustrating when you are trying to pilot a plane for the first time. My other problem is that this game is two camper friendly. I was playing conquest on Gulf of Oman and when I tried to capture the construction site flag, I was killed by a sniper all the way up in the crane. I eventually got my sweet, sweet revenge by climbing the flag and killing that guy, and at the same time I took his camping spot just to annoy him. I really wish that grenades would have a greater impact, because I could easily destroy a camping spot with a grenade, and there needs to be more destruction. Other than that the multiplayer is fantastic.The sound is incredible and really immerses you even more. You'll here every bullet whizzing by you at lightning speed and it just amps up the tension in a multiplayer game. The graphics are also incredible and are incredibly detailed and realistic. This is one of the few games that looks as good as it does in single player as it does in multiplayer. Overall Battlefield 3 is a great game. There are some problems, the campaign, camping in multiplayer, the basically useless manual, and the fact that there is no help on how to use the vehicles. I still can't fly a jet. But the good certainly outweighs the bad and Battlefield 3 simply has some of the best multiplayer in a video game. Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    Another great war game here. The campaign to the game had some kind of spark to it, which is what I was looking for. I got into theAnother great war game here. The campaign to the game had some kind of spark to it, which is what I was looking for. I got into the Battlefield series when Battlefield Bad Company 2 came out, and I loved that game. The multiplayer in these games though feel the same other than the new jet improvement, which would be the best improvement to the game. I enjoy the co-op feature, and the multiplayer is spectacular. The only problems I have with this game is, the campaign even though I said it was good, needed a little more to it. It didn't spark AS MUCH as Battlefield Bad Company 2 did. If you wanted to play this game, just spend your money and get it. It is truly a DICE masterpiece. It deserves a lot more than what it is credited for. DICE, you have done it again. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Aside from the mic issues/server disconnects, this game is pretty good overall. I was a little disappointed with the graphics, but the onlineAside from the mic issues/server disconnects, this game is pretty good overall. I was a little disappointed with the graphics, but the online game-play more than makes up for it. As soon as they patch the bugs I'll give it a 9/10. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I was excited for this game. The beta somewhat disappointed me with it's glitches, but EA assured us that they had been fixed for the retailI was excited for this game. The beta somewhat disappointed me with it's glitches, but EA assured us that they had been fixed for the retail game. They lied. From the offset I have been plagued with glitches. Sometimes I couldn't get past cinematics, and there was one joke of a bug where enemy soldiers could walk on water. I found the story pretty boring and short, even for FPS standards Expand

See all 606 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.