• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Live the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will faceLive the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will face incredible challenges against a backdrop of emotionally-charged events never before seen in a video game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    100
    Sure, there are a few plot holes and clichéd moments in Beyond Two Souls but like Heavy Rain, it may become one of your most memorable gaming experiences to date.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Beyond is both better and worse than its illustrious predecessor Heavy Rain. It features a more varied gameplay, a better story, talented Hollywood actors and outstanding graphics... but it also lacks something: the ability to make truly decisive choices throughout the adventure. Significant changes you can make story-wise are actually concentrated at the end. However, games of this type and this quality are still too rare to deny yourself the pleasure.
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    Beyond: Two Souls could be considered an experimentation on new dramatic devices within a game that is visually stunning and whose interactive scenery will be the delight of all Quantic Dream fans, despite its limitations.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    75
    Don’t get me wrong, the game tells an interesting and emotional story, and the acting is top notch, but it does aimlessly plod along here and there. Thankfully, Quantic Dream ensured that Beyond: Two Souls would wrap up in an amazing, thought-provoking way which does make the ride very much worth taking.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    69
    The gameplay has vastly improved for this new genre, the game mechanics and puzzle solving are unique and fun, the voice acting was incredible, and it is visually stunning. It’s very unfortunate that the story has continuity difficulties, unnecessary padding, too many boring stretches, and repeated plot devices, as the story is what’s supposed to keep you going in an interactive drama.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    60
    After completing Beyond: Two Souls it’s understandable why this is one of the most divisive games around. Even now it’s difficult to say whether we enjoyed it or not, it’s certainly an interesting game, and does have some nice ideas. So despite a story that feels disjointed, tonally uneven and a mid-section that feels completely out of place, it’s something that is different enough from the norm that maybe, just maybe it’s worth picking up.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    20
    But Beyond: Two Souls is far worse than convenient, facile, and ridiculous. It’s overall tone is low-key and morose, without energy or enthusiasm. Scenes drag out, with long pauses. Glances shift awkwardly. Character models fidget. This is about an eight hour game, but I’d estimate two or three of those hours are pregnant pauses.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 581
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Awesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scaryAwesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scary with the protagonist,
    good work for Quantic dream
    Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    You can't fairly assess this game in comparison to others because it is incredibly unique. It's best to go into this game as if you have noYou can't fairly assess this game in comparison to others because it is incredibly unique. It's best to go into this game as if you have no idea what games usually are because if you do, then you will have an incredible rich experience. The game gives you a choice to chose whether you are a gamer with a lot of experience or not. I suggest that even if you do, chose that you don't play games much. I'm glad I did. I have had a blast so far in this game. The game play is so different and unique. If you love being totally immersed in story being a part of it completely, this is a great game for you. If you are not a storyline buff and would rather just stay in a pew pew mode, then you probably won't like this game. And if you don't it isn't fair to give it a bad review if it isn't the genre you are liking! Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Beyond: Two souls has a very great story, great characters and I was sad then the game ended, just because the game was ending. I would say,Beyond: Two souls has a very great story, great characters and I was sad then the game ended, just because the game was ending. I would say, it is probably one of the best games in the last few years (and I have played a lot of games). It does also focus on the emotions of the characters. The graphics is also great for a PS3 game. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    9
    Excellent storytelling, awesome animations. Amazing how they motion captured so much feelings in just walking! Very nice facial animation,Excellent storytelling, awesome animations. Amazing how they motion captured so much feelings in just walking! Very nice facial animation, though some models seems a bit stiff and boring. Not the most surprising story, but gives good value still. Even if its not completely a linear narrative story, its fairly easy to link all the pieces of the story and kind of get the idea where the story heading. Maybe Ive just seen to much films?

    What interested me the most with the game, was how they managed to go seamless between cinematics and gameplay. And even in gameplay it kind of felt like seeing a film. That was also a problem, since I ended with almost forget to press the controller when it was time for me to take control.

    Best cinematic game I played so far. Thought that may also be the only problem with it too; that the little gameplay feels a bit boring. Though the gameplay feels more natural after a while, it never really feels it suits the game.

    Have only played through once, so looking forward to see more of the alternative story elements.

    May not be everyones cup of tea, but its a star in this type of game/interactive movie. If you hate it, you are probably not used to think a bit outside your normal comfort zone. If you love it you are more interesting in seeing a film/playing a film then playing a game... Good that not all games are made for everyone!
    Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2013
    9
    We're living in a time where storytelling in video games is equal to that of movies. In the case of this game the storytelling surpasses thatWe're living in a time where storytelling in video games is equal to that of movies. In the case of this game the storytelling surpasses that of a movie by making the player fully invested in the characters and their fates through interaction. The story of Jodie and Aiden is an emotional one that's filled with twists, turns, and unforgettable moments. When playing this game I felt such a connection to the characters and events that I actually felt happy, sad, angry, and scared just like the characters in the game.

    The way the story is told is also highly impressive. Each level takes part in a different time in Jodie's life, so you will play as adult Jodie only to jump into a part of Jodie's life as a child. The reason this is so impressive is because despite the way it jumps around in time the story is still incredibly easy to follow. Seeing all these different parts of Jodie's life help you care about the character in a way that few other video games have. Even more impressive is how you can effect how the story plays out based on choices you make, adding tons of replay value.

    With such a focus on story I'm both impressed and happy to say that gameplay doesn't take back seat. Most of the gameplay revolves around quick-time events and some light (and incredibly easy) puzzle solving, but stealth sections help break up the action. Gameplay might not have been the focus here, but they included just enough to keep player feeling like they're not just watching an interactive novel. My only complaint with the gameplay comes from the more action-oriented quick-time events. Sometimes it's hard to know which way to dodge because the characters movements aren't exactly clear, and I'm not sure that there is a way to die in this game. But like I said gameplay might not have been the focus, but I feel like they did a good job of including it in.

    Overall I am highly impressed with Beyond: Two Souls. It's one of the best stories to come out of a game this year and it's a heck of a lot of fun to play. In a time where many would have you to believe that a video game can't tell a story better than a movie or book, Beyond: Two Souls is one of the many games to prove those people wrong. So if you are a gamer who loves a great story, or even someone who's never played a video game but loves a great story, then I highly recommend this game. It's truly one of the most impressive experiences to come out this year.
    Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    8
    The ONLY reason that i did not rate it a 10 is because the game does not feel like a game. It was more like a movie. It should be balanced orThe ONLY reason that i did not rate it a 10 is because the game does not feel like a game. It was more like a movie. It should be balanced or at least 60% game 40% movie but instead it was more like 30% game 70% movie. The rest is awesome. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    0
    Let me start out first by saying that I was very late playing this game. I got a PS3 and Ps4 all just this year because i was in a 360 craze.Let me start out first by saying that I was very late playing this game. I got a PS3 and Ps4 all just this year because i was in a 360 craze.
    I hated this game. The graphics were nice yes. But unless you like playing a movie then this game isnt for you. So much drama and no action. I fought a couple ugly zombie things or whatever - other than that it was very eventful. I dont understand the obsession. And no, im not one of those call of duty players - i like adventure, rpg games. This one was too corny for me.
    Expand

See all 581 User Reviews