• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Live the life of Jodie Holmes, a young woman who possesses supernatural powers through her psychic link to a mysterious invisible entity. Experience the most striking moments of Jodie's life as your actions and decisions determine her fate. As she traverses the globe, Jodie will face incredible challenges against a backdrop of emotionally-charged events never before seen in a video game. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 98
  2. Negative: 8 out of 98
  1. Oct 20, 2013
    100
    Sure, there are a few plot holes and clichéd moments in Beyond Two Souls but like Heavy Rain, it may become one of your most memorable gaming experiences to date.
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    90
    Beyond is both better and worse than its illustrious predecessor Heavy Rain. It features a more varied gameplay, a better story, talented Hollywood actors and outstanding graphics... but it also lacks something: the ability to make truly decisive choices throughout the adventure. Significant changes you can make story-wise are actually concentrated at the end. However, games of this type and this quality are still too rare to deny yourself the pleasure.
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    Beyond: Two Souls could be considered an experimentation on new dramatic devices within a game that is visually stunning and whose interactive scenery will be the delight of all Quantic Dream fans, despite its limitations.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    75
    Don’t get me wrong, the game tells an interesting and emotional story, and the acting is top notch, but it does aimlessly plod along here and there. Thankfully, Quantic Dream ensured that Beyond: Two Souls would wrap up in an amazing, thought-provoking way which does make the ride very much worth taking.
  5. Oct 15, 2013
    69
    The gameplay has vastly improved for this new genre, the game mechanics and puzzle solving are unique and fun, the voice acting was incredible, and it is visually stunning. It’s very unfortunate that the story has continuity difficulties, unnecessary padding, too many boring stretches, and repeated plot devices, as the story is what’s supposed to keep you going in an interactive drama.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    60
    After completing Beyond: Two Souls it’s understandable why this is one of the most divisive games around. Even now it’s difficult to say whether we enjoyed it or not, it’s certainly an interesting game, and does have some nice ideas. So despite a story that feels disjointed, tonally uneven and a mid-section that feels completely out of place, it’s something that is different enough from the norm that maybe, just maybe it’s worth picking up.
  7. Oct 17, 2013
    20
    But Beyond: Two Souls is far worse than convenient, facile, and ridiculous. It’s overall tone is low-key and morose, without energy or enthusiasm. Scenes drag out, with long pauses. Glances shift awkwardly. Character models fidget. This is about an eight hour game, but I’d estimate two or three of those hours are pregnant pauses.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 571
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Awesome graphics, beautiful gameplay, maybe a interactive novel, excellent characters great history you can felt joy, suffer and felt scary with the protagonist,
    good work for Quantic dream
    Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    You can't fairly assess this game in comparison to others because it is incredibly unique. It's best to go into this game as if you have no idea what games usually are because if you do, then you will have an incredible rich experience. The game gives you a choice to chose whether you are a gamer with a lot of experience or not. I suggest that even if you do, chose that you don't play games much. I'm glad I did. I have had a blast so far in this game. The game play is so different and unique. If you love being totally immersed in story being a part of it completely, this is a great game for you. If you are not a storyline buff and would rather just stay in a pew pew mode, then you probably won't like this game. And if you don't it isn't fair to give it a bad review if it isn't the genre you are liking! Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Outstanding,amazing gameplay,extremely amazing story,Great ending,this is the perfect game.If you liked heavy rain you will love this it is a 100x better.Another outstanding game quantic dream well done.Also very emotionally gripping I felt I was in the story and you love or hate each character,you choose your path you create the story. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    9
    Beyond: Two Souls is not a masterpiece. It is not a perfectly polished experience, it has rough edges, errors in logic, inconsistency. All this said, and yet, David Cage and Quantic Dream have made something they should really be proud of. "Beyond" is a game that will captivate you, a game you won't be able to put down till it's over. It's well written, has amazing graphics, and the performances by Ellen Page and Willam Dafoe are fantastic. Due to it's non-linear narrative structure the game can feel disjointed at times, but it isn't enough to take away from the joy of playing this game. Though not grounded by realism like Heavy Rain, it still tells a very emotional story that you can really connect to. This sci-fi/fantasy drama is not the greatest game ever made, nor the greatest story ever told, but it is well worth a play thorough or two. I cannot recommend it enough. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    I have completed the game already. What can I say, it was an enjoyable adventure. The issue here is the QTE-control model which doesn't give neither freedom nor clarity ot simplicity. I truly believe they should have allow different actions more or less effective while pressing in the different directions of right stick. But the story worth it. My personal grade is 8+ for setting, story, characters and the world of the game. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    8
    An 8 is as high as I could go. The game captures emotions well and has soundtracks that truly fit the game. However, the story isn't always as well written. It's not as bad as some say it is, the game differs in a good way. There are enough PS3 games around so, in my opinion, there was enough room for QD to do it a bit differently, and in my opinion, with Aiden and the type of controls they did a good job.

    The negatives are that the beginning and ending seem the only interesting part as what's in-between doesn't seem as relevant. The great soundtracks seem to be repeated too often, but it was far from game breaking. You have to really focus on which controls you use when you have to defend yourself against a punch or an obstacle in slow-mo. You seem to be using the right direction with your right analog stick, but sometimes you still get to taste the punch. That could've been better. But overall it seemed like a story that will stick for a while. The ending is different class.

    Beyond Two Souls does well, but It's pricetag for what it delivers is a bit too much. The story isn't all that long. It is a nice game, but a very expensive movie. If you play games often you won't have much problems with the controls in the game.
    Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2014
    0
    Let me start out first by saying that I was very late playing this game. I got a PS3 and Ps4 all just this year because i was in a 360 craze.
    I hated this game. The graphics were nice yes. But unless you like playing a movie then this game isnt for you. So much drama and no action. I fought a couple ugly zombie things or whatever - other than that it was very eventful. I dont understand the obsession. And no, im not one of those call of duty players - i like adventure, rpg games. This one was too corny for me.
    Expand

See all 571 User Reviews