User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 49
  2. Negative: 9 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    O jogo é bastante divertido, tem uma jogabilidade dinâmica e fluida, seus gráficos eram bonitos para a época em que foi lançado, a história é mediana e sua dificuldade está no ponto certo. Bionic Comanddo é um game muito divertido e com a duração certa do modo campanha, é um game muito bom, porém pouco conhecido.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    1
    What a weird game! it's very frustrating, and THE DAMN ARM! I would change it for a baseball bat any day! Well... I think that it was a very good project but it ended up in a very poor execution from the developers, the controls are NOT easy to master it takes a while, also at first it gives you the impression of an open world game but it's not, the maps of the game are very limited, the graphics are not so good and the A.I. it's very bad too. It's hard to aim while you are running or hanging. You can go on with your gaming life no need to try this really. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    Cuando me hice del juego pense, en que demonios gaste mi dinero, posteriormente aplique la de niño con nada mas que hacer y dedique mi tiempo libre en tratar de disfrutarlo, que la verdad me costo trabajo, ya que las graficas y los escenarios son bastante simples y repetitivos, y lograr pasar un nivel es una prueba entre pericia y paciencia, en eso radica que me interese el juego hasta acabarlo, en decir, esta bien dificil pero cuando lo acabe lo vendere enseguida, hahaha, lo unico que puedo rescatar es el final, no pense que terminara de esa forma, solo por el final le puedo dar esta calificacion, todo lo demas es muy plano Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    Good game but honestly, it needs more checkpoints. I won't even criticize the gameplay, because maybe that takes getting used to for most people, but starting again from the beginning is just plain annoying and frustrating. I have enjoyed it, but not sure I would recommend buying over renting it.
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    7
    To make it short, the story is rather uninteresting, the characters, too. The rest is great! The controls work perfectly, I absolutely loved swinging around the environments both during exploration and combat, it's extremely fun and satisfying. The beginning felt a bit slow and tedious, mostly because the first area isn't very intersting, but once that's behind you, the game becomes much better. The graphics are very pretty and the later areas are very well done. Did I mention how fun it is to swing around in them? They're also vast and extendend. One thing I particularly loved was the music in this game. To describe the gameplay ââ Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2012
    9
    Some of the most fun multiplayer battles I have ever had in any game. ANY GAME! The single player is a bit constricted but still a lot of fun and the score is one of the best I've heard since the NES-days.
  7. Feb 9, 2011
    6
    The gameplay is pretty good, I found myself swinging wildly out of control sometimes because it's impossible to predict what the physics will deem the force of your jump or fall. Combat is also a mixed bag, and gets repetitive. On the bright side the graphics were pretty good, the multiplayer was decent (but not great). The story was just pathetic, and the ending was abrupt and awkward. I wish this game had an open world, rather than giving you the illusion of one than telling you to go in a straight line or get insta-killed by invisible barriers. Bionic Commando had the start of an awesome game, but falls short in to many areas to be recommended. And now that the developer is bankrupt we will never get to see a potentially great sequel... Expand
  8. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    This game is great and did not deserve poor sales. I think the "official" critics got this one wrong. GRIN did a very good job here and I'm glad some of the staff went on to form Fatshark and have now put out Bionic Commando Rearmed 2.

    Bionic Commando for the PS3 is a lot of fun, especially finding all the secrets. It takes a while to get used to the game, but it is worth learning
    how to swing around the levels - awesome. It's the kind of game I know I will play again. Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    Despite what the reviews say, Bionic Commando is one of the most fun games to be released this generation. GRIN's final game is also they're most entertaining and Bionic Commando soars higher than most other sequels can dream of. Despite it's short length, it will keep you hooked throughout and end right when you think "I've had my fill of this".
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 48
  2. Negative: 1 out of 48
  1. If the level design did a better job of integrating exploration, platforming, and environmental puzzles, it could have overcome its deficiencies on the combat front. As it is now, Bionic Commando is only worth a rent or bargain bin purchase.
  2. 90
    Do not believe the negative hype. I cannot recommend Bionic Commando enough.
  3. There are some great moments, but they're few and far between. [July 2009, p.80]