Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    If you love Bioshock and the price of this expansion is the only thing keeping you from playing Burial At Sea, then I highly suggest you purchase the season pass
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    Burial at Sea might be a challenger for the best-ever narrative-based DLC yet presented to the gaming community at large. It carries on the legacy of all Levine’s games, and Infinite’s in particular by delivering a strong story with a devastatingly stunning blow at the end.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    78
    An excellent side/future plot to Infinite, Burial At Sea is a must for all true Bioshock fans. I don't think it is as accomplished as Minerva's Den and both the story and gameplay feels highly compacted.
  4. Apr 2, 2014
    75
    Burial at Sea - Episode 1 is Columbia's characters first approach to Rapture. There are plenty of interesting things at an argumental level - although you won't be losing anything of the main story if you don't play them. The visual impact keeps the level of the main game, but it is unnacceptable that the Spanish dubbing was worn out. It doesn't offer many hours, which could work to the detriment of buying it individually.
  5. 75
    While short, Burial at Sea - Episode One is still an enjoyable jaunt through one of gaming's most iconic locations. Bring on Episode 2.
  6. 70
    You would think that borrowing elements from two of the greatest games in the last decade would make for one awesome experience, and while it feels mesmerizing, it doesn’t live up to either predecessor.
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    70
    The story isn’t ruined for sticking to the same playbook, but its impact is certainly diminished.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Few stories make you feel overwhelmed. Most narratives are composed of straight-forward elements. “This and this happens and period”. In stories like Bioshock Infinite, however, that’s not the case. These indirectly tell you “No, go look for clues and figure it out! Think outside the box!” And when you figure it all out, you’re mind blown. Still, you know there are details that escape you, and there’s great curiosity triggered because of this, making you go back to find out exactly what happened. When we do this, it means the narrative has done its job. We've been engaged to it.

    Having finished Burial at Sea, I’m glad to say I felt emotionally engaged to the very end. Rapture’s return is quite a solid one and it looks as beautiful as ever. Gameplay mechanics are pretty much the same as it were in Infinite, so if you enjoyed them there you will enjoy them here. This being Rapture, however, brings back that horror theme Bioshock 1 had. Ammunition is way more scarce and Eve is not so abundant. This proves even more challenging if played in 1999 mode, which should be the mode to play this in as it's the best way to get the most out of this DLC. It’s the very last minutes of this journey that, just as it was in Infinite, make the journey even more worthwhile. Just have in mind that by the end that curiosity and amazement Infinite caused upon you, if any, will be triggered once more.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    YES YES YES! I loved every moment of this game. I read alot of mixed reviews about this DLC but I was very very happy with the ending of part 1. It was really fun to go back to Rapture with the wonderful characters from Infinite. Elizabeth especially, she is such an amazing character. But I will say this DLC is probably for fans of the series. If you aren't a fan of Bioshock 1 & Infinite you probably will not enjoy this all too much. Even though some fans didn't like it. Yes the price is a bit steep. The first episode took me about 2-3 hours but that is because I play VERY slow. I wanted to absorb Rapture in its beauty. Stopping at everything....and I didn't even get all the tapes! Anywho. If you are unsure about the price....if you are a fan...yes. Not a fan..probably avoid. You could wait til sales but you might read a spoiler and ruin the whole thing :( Loved it. Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    The soundtrack is excellent, the gameplay is improved, the setting is overwhelming, the story is interesting and the ending lets a big window for an even better episode 2. However, even if you're a die-hard fan of bioshock, its still hardly worth $15. Id say buying the season pass would be the smartest choice. Full Review »