User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 75
  2. Negative: 5 out of 75

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    9
    Few stories make you feel overwhelmed. Most narratives are composed of straight-forward elements. “This and this happens and period”. In stories like Bioshock Infinite, however, that’s not the case. These indirectly tell you “No, go look for clues and figure it out! Think outside the box!” And when you figure it all out, you’re mind blown. Still, you know there are details that escape you,Few stories make you feel overwhelmed. Most narratives are composed of straight-forward elements. “This and this happens and period”. In stories like Bioshock Infinite, however, that’s not the case. These indirectly tell you “No, go look for clues and figure it out! Think outside the box!” And when you figure it all out, you’re mind blown. Still, you know there are details that escape you, and there’s great curiosity triggered because of this, making you go back to find out exactly what happened. When we do this, it means the narrative has done its job. We've been engaged to it.

    Having finished Burial at Sea, I’m glad to say I felt emotionally engaged to the very end. Rapture’s return is quite a solid one and it looks as beautiful as ever. Gameplay mechanics are pretty much the same as it were in Infinite, so if you enjoyed them there you will enjoy them here. This being Rapture, however, brings back that horror theme Bioshock 1 had. Ammunition is way more scarce and Eve is not so abundant. This proves even more challenging if played in 1999 mode, which should be the mode to play this in as it's the best way to get the most out of this DLC. It’s the very last minutes of this journey that, just as it was in Infinite, make the journey even more worthwhile. Just have in mind that by the end that curiosity and amazement Infinite caused upon you, if any, will be triggered once more.
    Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    The soundtrack is excellent, the gameplay is improved, the setting is overwhelming, the story is interesting and the ending lets a big window for an even better episode 2. However, even if you're a die-hard fan of bioshock, its still hardly worth $15. Id say buying the season pass would be the smartest choice.
  3. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    YES YES YES! I loved every moment of this game. I read alot of mixed reviews about this DLC but I was very very happy with the ending of part 1. It was really fun to go back to Rapture with the wonderful characters from Infinite. Elizabeth especially, she is such an amazing character. But I will say this DLC is probably for fans of the series. If you aren't a fan of Bioshock 1 &YES YES YES! I loved every moment of this game. I read alot of mixed reviews about this DLC but I was very very happy with the ending of part 1. It was really fun to go back to Rapture with the wonderful characters from Infinite. Elizabeth especially, she is such an amazing character. But I will say this DLC is probably for fans of the series. If you aren't a fan of Bioshock 1 & Infinite you probably will not enjoy this all too much. Even though some fans didn't like it. Yes the price is a bit steep. The first episode took me about 2-3 hours but that is because I play VERY slow. I wanted to absorb Rapture in its beauty. Stopping at everything....and I didn't even get all the tapes! Anywho. If you are unsure about the price....if you are a fan...yes. Not a fan..probably avoid. You could wait til sales but you might read a spoiler and ruin the whole thing :( Loved it. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2014
    8
    Just an overall fantastic experience to be able to return to Rapture again in this great story DLC. Its oozing with atmosphere and they've done a fantastic job of recreating a lively Rapture. My only complaint is that perhaps the story isnt as interesting as it could be. I spent a great deal of time walking around checking everything out, admiring the views and looking for collectables andJust an overall fantastic experience to be able to return to Rapture again in this great story DLC. Its oozing with atmosphere and they've done a fantastic job of recreating a lively Rapture. My only complaint is that perhaps the story isnt as interesting as it could be. I spent a great deal of time walking around checking everything out, admiring the views and looking for collectables and it took about 2.5hrs to finish this DLC. If you focused solely on the story though you could probably wrap it up within 1.5hrs. Its short, but its very very sweet. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    Burial at Sea is a middling piece of DLC. It gives you around two hours of new content and as well as another interesting piece of the overall Bioshock Infinite story puzzle. The underwater city of Rapture now looks beautiful with the spit and polish of the Infinite engine. That said, the package feels a little rushed and short on truly substantial highlights. And the 15 Dollar price pointBurial at Sea is a middling piece of DLC. It gives you around two hours of new content and as well as another interesting piece of the overall Bioshock Infinite story puzzle. The underwater city of Rapture now looks beautiful with the spit and polish of the Infinite engine. That said, the package feels a little rushed and short on truly substantial highlights. And the 15 Dollar price point is too high for two hours of very familiar content. Good but not quite great, then. Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    Given default review rating of 8/10 in line with current user review average- pending proper review and review score to follow. Given default review rating of 8/10 in line with current user review average- pending proper review and review score to follow.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    you know a DLC i successful when it accomplishes to keep the player interested in the environment while exploring and following the storyline, and that's exactly what this DLC accomplishes. in my opinion this DLC is the best DLC of 2013 hell even since 2010 (Fallout 3 DLC), to me it is amazing to finally be exploring the secrets of Rapture with a catching story and of cause our "oh, soyou know a DLC i successful when it accomplishes to keep the player interested in the environment while exploring and following the storyline, and that's exactly what this DLC accomplishes. in my opinion this DLC is the best DLC of 2013 hell even since 2010 (Fallout 3 DLC), to me it is amazing to finally be exploring the secrets of Rapture with a catching story and of cause our "oh, so beloved" Elizabeth". Of cause there is the economic site of the matter, this DLC cost about Dollar 14,95 which isn't cheap BUT with no doubt worth it! i recommend buying the season pass for not many Dollars more that the single DLC. The season pass will include all of the already released DLC for Bioshock: Infinite, as well as Burial at sea part 1 AND Burial at sea part 2. SO if you are a fan of the original bioshock (or Bioshock 2) you will with no doubt have a very satisfying, joyful and nostalgic time playing this DLC. a lot of you guys might think 10 is a little too much for this DLC, but on thing is sure, 7,7 (current user score) is not even close to being enough for Burial at sea Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    This was not a bad DLC. But it is disappointing. No spoilers, it is basically the main game, w/ splicer skins. It only lasted two hours and really wasn't value added at all. It also cost $15 ($10 W/ season pass) but still not worth it. It played as well as the main game. Maybe when the others chapters come out, it will be better.
  9. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    As the add-on to one of the best first person shooter of the year, Bioshock Infinite Burial at Sea Episode One plays out as the original game set in Rapture, and does not fail at doing so. The DLC impresses at trying to come back with the spirit of the utopia in the ocean, however adding some of the Infinite's techniques and crafts to make the gameplay more familiar, even if notAs the add-on to one of the best first person shooter of the year, Bioshock Infinite Burial at Sea Episode One plays out as the original game set in Rapture, and does not fail at doing so. The DLC impresses at trying to come back with the spirit of the utopia in the ocean, however adding some of the Infinite's techniques and crafts to make the gameplay more familiar, even if not innovative.

    As much similar to other Ken Levine's pieces, Burial at Sea presents an amazing story, making the player think about everything he had seen of the franchise, Rapture now looks stunning and much more alive than in the first game showing the creator's touch for imagination. However throughout the short 90 minute gameplay it is easier to compare to a new location for Infinte's story than to capture the very tense climax of Bioshock 1, showing a more accelerated pace for action encounters, while trying to keep the scavenging, creepy mood while looking around.

    There's yet much more to come from Episode Two, but so far it is mostly a win for a short, story centered-nostalgic moment to add to Bioshock Infinite
    Expand
  10. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was Exactly what I wanted and/or expected. Anyone wanting a new GAME for $15 will be dissapointed. However i just wanted to explore Rapture before the fall. And this they succeded in. I was actually disappointed when they let me "Arm" up, and play. I would have paid $15 to just walk around and experience the world. Anyone looking for more will probably be dissapointed, but if you love Bioshock and its universe, u must buy this Add-On. Expand
  11. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This add-on is amazing, i love how you get to explore rapture once again, but now when the utopia shines. The favorite part was of course the ending. Seeing how Comstock and Booker unite to one and how the lutece twins play a part in this magnificent add-on is just one of the good things. Can't wait for episode 2, great job Irrational Games! Expand
  12. Feb 8, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love how Rapture looks here: so vibrant, so beautiful; so dark, yet so colorful. This is what I wanted after the main game: revisiting Rapture with both the heroes Booker and Elizabeth. The first level where you explore the city is a delight. There´s a ton of visual style here and there, and there´s a ton of dialogue between the citizens, something I enjoy in the writing of video games; and the game does start up strong, with your traditional noire setting about a detective helping out lady about a case, and even offers some fan service with the returning presence of the crazy Sander Cohen... But after I got to the gameplay, I was disappointed at the result. It´s just the same shooting mechanic from the campaign except it has mediocre stealth sections and barely anything new to the game. You do get the Radar Range weapon and the Old Man´s Winter power, but that´s about it: the supposed "Plasmids" are just the same Vigors from the campaign (c´mon, not even Incinerate!), there was nothing new done to the gameplay... And the ENDING! It was so dumb and ridiculous, I couldn´t help but facepalm at the embarrassment. It´s like if the writers were so wrapped up at the praise they were given for the ending for Bioshock Infinite that they thought they could do it again by coming up with something this silly. Now, I don´t mind this "quality over quantity" idea, because I do feel that the story and characters can fix that up, but with an ending like that, the DLC just got destroyed for me. I feel like giving it a 6 only for the visual style, the opening setup, and some of the dialogue. I only hope that Episode 2 can do better. Expand
  13. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    Great sequel to infinite, Rapture at his best, a look back at the great characters we saw in the first game , great story as always but the gameplay it's a little too boring such as in infinite.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 2, 2014
    75
    Burial at Sea - Episode 1 is Columbia's characters first approach to Rapture. There are plenty of interesting things at an argumental level - although you won't be losing anything of the main story if you don't play them. The visual impact keeps the level of the main game, but it is unnacceptable that the Spanish dubbing was worn out. It doesn't offer many hours, which could work to the detriment of buying it individually.
  2. Nov 29, 2013
    80
    Burial at Sea might be a challenger for the best-ever narrative-based DLC yet presented to the gaming community at large. It carries on the legacy of all Levine’s games, and Infinite’s in particular by delivering a strong story with a devastatingly stunning blow at the end.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    If you love Bioshock and the price of this expansion is the only thing keeping you from playing Burial At Sea, then I highly suggest you purchase the season pass