BioShock PlayStation 3

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 887 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 887
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece is just the word too use, there has been so few with innovation, beauty and perfection. Bioshock is no doubt one of the greatest games of all time and other's should appreciate and be inspired by what it accomplished for gaming.
  2. EvanS
    May 28, 2009
    7
    The demo got me really excited for this game. The atmosphere is by far the bast part of Bioshock. The story was pretty good. However the combat just wasn't really fun. The guns just dont feel right, and the plasmids never really give satisfying results after the first time you use them. This is a good game worth a playthrough, but I dont know how it got so many 100's.
  3. JesseB
    Oct 13, 2009
    8
    The creepy atmosphere of this game is unrivaled. However, I must say I didn't enjoy it that much and the ending sort of came out of no where. I would of also liked to have the option to play through again with my upgraded weapons. Overall a great game but still somewhat overrated in my opinion.
  4. EricW
    May 5, 2009
    7
    This game was very pretty and seemed to have a very enticing story. When I played the demo I was absolutely blown away. This seemed like the first true next gen fps. However once I actually bought the game the amazement wore off fast. The game becomes extremely repetitive (hop in the elevator, take photos, save/kill little sisters, repeat), and about halfway through I lost motivation to This game was very pretty and seemed to have a very enticing story. When I played the demo I was absolutely blown away. This seemed like the first true next gen fps. However once I actually bought the game the amazement wore off fast. The game becomes extremely repetitive (hop in the elevator, take photos, save/kill little sisters, repeat), and about halfway through I lost motivation to do anything at all. I really wanted to like this game. I would keep returning to it hoping that maybe this time I would get back into the game, but after 5 minutes turn the game right back off again. The game is well made and very good looking, but the game really loses its fun after the first couple of hours. Hopefully the pacing is fixed in the sequel, but I'll rent it first this time. Expand
  5. aspentitan
    Jan 21, 2010
    7
    I enjoyed Bioshock but it is overrated at 94. When it first came out I think it may have deserved this score but since then many games have come out with lower ratings that are better than this game. Bioshock was just ahead of the curve so to speak and this game is fortunate to get high ratings just for being one of the first games out that was actually a good next generation console I enjoyed Bioshock but it is overrated at 94. When it first came out I think it may have deserved this score but since then many games have come out with lower ratings that are better than this game. Bioshock was just ahead of the curve so to speak and this game is fortunate to get high ratings just for being one of the first games out that was actually a good next generation console game/port. After browsing the PS3 lineup now, this game gets pushed way back. Bioshock had a real nice atmosphere and some great sound and cinematics but I was annoyed by many things in this game. The first is an outdated game called pipedream that is really (now in 2010) a cell phone application game which acts as a puzzle to various items to hack. I didn Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    What needs to be said about this game has already been said a million times over. There's nothing left to say. The game is damn near perfect. If you don't like this game, you're probably a tard
  7. Jan 6, 2015
    10
    The best FPS I've ever played and one of the best games I've ever played overall.
    The story is amazing, it is visually stunning, and the sound is perfect!
  8. Dec 22, 2011
    9
    A great game. The atmosphere is very high and Rapture is a great city. It's fun to explore and search for all the hidden things. The characters and character models are absolutely stunning. The weapons and plasmids are good and hacking the security is fun. I highly recommend this mix of adventure and FPS.
  9. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    BioShock has gone a path no game has ever done, or claim to have. The atmosphere is mysterious, interesting and has you not wanting to put the controller down. With a amazing story, incredible visuals, tight yet fun gameplay in a diverse environment (underwater) BioShock is one of the best games on all the platforms it released on.
  10. Feb 5, 2012
    8
    Bioshock es la muestra de los nuevos juegos de 1st Person Shooter de esta generacion, seguro que mas adelante veremos clones o secuelas de esta saga, Rapture una ciudad ambientada en los 50's bajo el agua por distintas razones entre politica y caos mental, con un personaje protagonico que interesa la forma en la que se deshace de sus enemigos a traves de plasmidos y balas, buena tramaBioshock es la muestra de los nuevos juegos de 1st Person Shooter de esta generacion, seguro que mas adelante veremos clones o secuelas de esta saga, Rapture una ciudad ambientada en los 50's bajo el agua por distintas razones entre politica y caos mental, con un personaje protagonico que interesa la forma en la que se deshace de sus enemigos a traves de plasmidos y balas, buena trama excelentes graficos, atmosfera como de clinica mental y una musica que hace que quieras estar con alaguien al lado por eso del suspenso in extremis, recomendado como un must de esta generacion Expand
  11. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    Best inmersive experience I have ever seen on videogames.

    Great story, it keeps your attention all along the game. The crazy word and characters, the art-decó style, the music.... everything helps into the inmersive experience
  12. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Uno de los mejores juegos a los que he jugado. El argumento es genial, la historia de Rapture es muy curiosa e interesante. La jugabilidad es muy buena, muy dinámica porque cuando mueres reapareces en prácticamente en el mismo sitio y con el daño que le hayas hecho al malo o malos que te hayan matado acumulado, de forma que aunque te quedes casi sin munición,Uno de los mejores juegos a los que he jugado. El argumento es genial, la historia de Rapture es muy curiosa e interesante. La jugabilidad es muy buena, muy dinámica porque cuando mueres reapareces en prácticamente en el mismo sitio y con el daño que le hayas hecho al malo o malos que te hayan matado acumulado, de forma que aunque te quedes casi sin munición, siempre puedes luchar hasta matarlo, lo que hace el juego más dinámico en mi opinión. Permite una amplia personalización de las armas. La ambientación y los escenarios son lo mejor, recrea la América de los años 50 con un toque gótico añadido. El juego tiene sus dosis de terror y de sustos, pero es acción pura. Expand
  13. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Bioshock exceeds in every expectation you ever had in a first person shooter.It simply starts with one of the greatest introductions I've ever seen, showing the ravaged city of Rapture, and although it may seem strange the protagonist in the beginning, the more you venture through this world, the more you realize how great the story is.It simply goes beyond every kind of action fueled FPSBioshock exceeds in every expectation you ever had in a first person shooter.It simply starts with one of the greatest introductions I've ever seen, showing the ravaged city of Rapture, and although it may seem strange the protagonist in the beginning, the more you venture through this world, the more you realize how great the story is.It simply goes beyond every kind of action fueled FPS and dives into an amazing single player experience that I'm sure many people can't ever forget.

    This all the way without even mentioning the great gameplay, which is a mix of the Plasmids you'll find throughout the world, great set of guns and tonics, altogether with great challenges of environment that has also been amazingly created filled with many items to scavenge and enemies from simple Splicers to Big Daddies.
    In the end the experience goes beyond anything you might expect, achieving an unforgettable experience with unique characters.
    Expand
  14. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    Behold! The best FPS of this generation! The game that revolutionized both shooters and storytelling in video games! The game that introduced the concepts of morality into the genre! The return of soon-god game designer Ken Levine. Behold, Bioshock.
    GOOSEBUMPS! I remember playing this game as soon as it came out and being absolutely stunned at the jaw-dropping graphics of the time. Glad
    Behold! The best FPS of this generation! The game that revolutionized both shooters and storytelling in video games! The game that introduced the concepts of morality into the genre! The return of soon-god game designer Ken Levine. Behold, Bioshock.
    GOOSEBUMPS! I remember playing this game as soon as it came out and being absolutely stunned at the jaw-dropping graphics of the time. Glad to say the game still looks good, and although it was a benchmark for the generation at the time of its release, it still has lots of graphical punch.
    You are Jack, and your plane has crashed in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean (How unlucky you!). The crash makes you discover Rapture, a city underwater where man rules above all, no government or religion, just science as art, a perfect utopia...or not. As you uncover the city's dark secrets, you will discover the astonishing truth behind Rapture, and yourself.
    The infamous twist, the variety of options, the amazing ambiance...Everything in BioShock is so perfect. This is the game that introduced the "Find diaries" narrative with the famous Audio Logs. And after playing it for a third time, I still discover things to it, little messages and easter eggs. The gameplay is fluid, much more better than in Infinite, and it has some of the most mind-blowing battles I have ever seen, with Big Daddies and an amazing final showdown. It is also one of the creepiest games...The little sisters, the pitchy violin music, the somber tone and the dark hallways. Make sure your bladder is empty.
    I can spend all day talking about how great BioShock is. But I am not stupid, you know how good it is. If you didn't buy it yet, then YOU are stupid. What the hell? Go buy it now!
    Expand
  15. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    This game is easily among the greatest FPS games of all time, and it's certainly my favorite. The concept is intriguing, the atmosphere is spot on, the gunplay is unique with the addition of Gene Tonics and Plasmids, the voice acting is brilliant, the characters are well-developed, the setting has a very well-thought-out backstory, and the plot is superb. Although the game does have itsThis game is easily among the greatest FPS games of all time, and it's certainly my favorite. The concept is intriguing, the atmosphere is spot on, the gunplay is unique with the addition of Gene Tonics and Plasmids, the voice acting is brilliant, the characters are well-developed, the setting has a very well-thought-out backstory, and the plot is superb. Although the game does have its framerate tanks and backtracking, the plot more than makes up for that with spectacular plot turns and twists. I won't spoil the game for you, but BioShock has the best plot twist of any game... Ever. That alone would put the game on my top ten, but the rest of the game's great qualities puts it at my #1 spot. Expand
  16. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    one of the best games out there to date the story is great combat is good and the use of eve and plasmids mixes things up the atmosphere is so creepy youll be looking around at every noise perfect game perfect score
  17. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    What can I say about Bioshock? Well... the game is amazing and is an experience that you should not miss. The setting and environment in Bioshock is amazing and breathtaking. I here people say that this game does not live up to today standards, but i disagree. The graphics are amazing for a game that came out in 2007. The gameplay interesting and fun, and does not get repetitive. All theseWhat can I say about Bioshock? Well... the game is amazing and is an experience that you should not miss. The setting and environment in Bioshock is amazing and breathtaking. I here people say that this game does not live up to today standards, but i disagree. The graphics are amazing for a game that came out in 2007. The gameplay interesting and fun, and does not get repetitive. All these plasmids you collect can change the way you face your enemies and interact with the environment. The story is interesting and very enjoyable. The story is told through audio logs and radio messages between the characters and your character. Some people may find that as a turn off, but once you get use to it, i won't bother you. Overall, Bioshock is an amazing game and one of the best games of this generation. Expand
  18. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    I love Bioshock. It has to be my favorite PS3 game I've played yet. The story captured me and kept my attention, something that very rarely happens to me. I never had any lag, combat was smooth, there are plenty of power-ups and abilities....... I just really, REALLY like this game.
  19. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    Bioshock is a masterpiece in every sense of the word. The gameplay is fun, the environment is terrifying, the story is gripping, and there are lots of horrors to be had. This game is true perfection.
  20. Jan 30, 2015
    9
    1 of the best story driven fps ive encountered even though i believe the story is ripped from the wizard of oz. Would it be a great fps without the story? Its still up for debate in my mind.Plasmids add variety im not so pressed to say depth.I did however find myself useing freeze and shotgun 90% of the time. Great atmosphere or atleast unique. Hacking well they should of added sum variety1 of the best story driven fps ive encountered even though i believe the story is ripped from the wizard of oz. Would it be a great fps without the story? Its still up for debate in my mind.Plasmids add variety im not so pressed to say depth.I did however find myself useing freeze and shotgun 90% of the time. Great atmosphere or atleast unique. Hacking well they should of added sum variety to that since you find yourself doing it so much. This is the best of all 3. Oh yea and its really not creepy or scary if horror was supposed to be part of it.Top tier though lacking in replay. Expand
  21. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This game is perfect, the story is probably the best part, if you don't care for story in video games and go straight to multiplayer then your wasting your time thinking of buying this game
  22. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Epic. I was completely immersed in this game and the world Levine and co. created. This game had a great balance of story telling within the game (to the point where I actually cared about the Little Sisters) and guilty pleasure (mowing down Splicer never got old). The soundtrack and beautifully detailed environment really enriched the experience. Redefines the genre and shoots the mediumEpic. I was completely immersed in this game and the world Levine and co. created. This game had a great balance of story telling within the game (to the point where I actually cared about the Little Sisters) and guilty pleasure (mowing down Splicer never got old). The soundtrack and beautifully detailed environment really enriched the experience. Redefines the genre and shoots the medium to new heights. You have to play this game. Expand
  23. YermakirumY.
    Sep 6, 2008
    10
    Very good game.
  24. PaVi_nl
    Jan 8, 2009
    10
    I own Bioshock on PS3, and it was the first experience i had with it other the reading about it. I had some hard times at first because i approached the game like a normal 1st person shooter. But when you play the game like its supposed to, with thought and care, then its one of most intense gaming experciences you ever have. For me its up there with Half-life 2. Which i considerd the bestI own Bioshock on PS3, and it was the first experience i had with it other the reading about it. I had some hard times at first because i approached the game like a normal 1st person shooter. But when you play the game like its supposed to, with thought and care, then its one of most intense gaming experciences you ever have. For me its up there with Half-life 2. Which i considerd the best game i played before encountering Bioshock. Expand
  25. AJ
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    What an amazing game! I've only played for a few hours, but that's enough to realise the quality. Graphics, gameplay, story and AI are all great, very interactive environment, old school yet cool weapons that can use different ammo, with the addition of Plasmids, your arsenal is so widespread, there's many ways to defeat your foes.
  26. GeorgeM
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    Easily one of the best looking, story-rich first person shooters ever to grace a console...now its on ps3. Having played this on 360 already i can assure you this is one of the definitive gaming experiences of THIS generation, everything about this game is just top notch and screams high production values. I currently own the 360 version, but from what i've heard...the ps3 version Easily one of the best looking, story-rich first person shooters ever to grace a console...now its on ps3. Having played this on 360 already i can assure you this is one of the definitive gaming experiences of THIS generation, everything about this game is just top notch and screams high production values. I currently own the 360 version, but from what i've heard...the ps3 version will be getting exclusive content, that alone is enough to warrant a Bioshock 360 trade-in for a Bioshock ps3 upgrade. Expand
  27. LarsF.
    Jan 15, 2009
    9
    Love this game. Narrative is excellently suspenseful and the pacing is just right. It seems to get hard at some points to find yourself around the maps and into the different areas of the levels- but once you figure the maps out, you will be fine. I wish it lasted longer even, but I still have a lot of trophies still to get on a second playthrough. Great game, cannot wait for the second. Love this game. Narrative is excellently suspenseful and the pacing is just right. It seems to get hard at some points to find yourself around the maps and into the different areas of the levels- but once you figure the maps out, you will be fine. I wish it lasted longer even, but I still have a lot of trophies still to get on a second playthrough. Great game, cannot wait for the second. I felt you run out of ammo and plasmas too fast though..especially since you need to kill the Big Daddies with them! Expand
  28. EuanF
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    this game has got it all: incredible graphics, amazing storyline, great gameplay, tons of atmosphere, ingenius originality, fascinating and tough enemies and you can play the game and 'customize' your main man to the way you see fit. the game is so in-depth, so involving, and with the massive plot twist, so affecting. apart from the stupidly annoying hack system and the stupid this game has got it all: incredible graphics, amazing storyline, great gameplay, tons of atmosphere, ingenius originality, fascinating and tough enemies and you can play the game and 'customize' your main man to the way you see fit. the game is so in-depth, so involving, and with the massive plot twist, so affecting. apart from the stupidly annoying hack system and the stupid noise the camera's make when you get into their sights, there isn't anything i don't like about this game. Expand
  29. TyeS
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    One things that games struggle to accomplish where their cinematic brethren achieve is a sense immersion. Bioshock's city of Rapture has such deep atmosphere, backstory, and life that you get sucked into its eerie world and don't want to leave until the credits roll. The gameplay is new and refreshing and also its sense of choice made me want to explore every nook and cranny of One things that games struggle to accomplish where their cinematic brethren achieve is a sense immersion. Bioshock's city of Rapture has such deep atmosphere, backstory, and life that you get sucked into its eerie world and don't want to leave until the credits roll. The gameplay is new and refreshing and also its sense of choice made me want to explore every nook and cranny of Rapture's world. Even if there was a Big Daddy waiting around the corner to make me piss my pants. Expand
  30. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Best fps game ever IMO. Enjoyed it from the start, the slow pace and the free roaming expects of the game. Graphics are quite impressive, and handling of weapons is so awesome. Epic is the word best to describe Bioshock.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    A remarkable achievement, a triumph of gameplay and narrative that everyone should choose to play. [Nov 2008, p.70]
  2. PSM3 Magazine UK
    93
    With so much invention, intrigue and genuine brilliance packed into twelve hours of game-play, you just can't afford not to (pick up a copy). [Nov 2008, p.22]
  3. GamePro
    100
    There's no doubt that Bioshock is one of the finest FPS games ever made and the PS3 port is stellar through and through. [Nov 2008, p.103]