Blades of Time PlayStation 3

Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    72
    Simply put, Blades of Time is well worth your consideration if you enjoy third person action/adventure games.
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    70
    Of all the games with low production values, this one isn't all that bad. It definitely has it flaws, but it's enjoyable so you could do a lot worse.
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    68
    It's a step in the right direction, but the sequel to X-Blades still is not up to date. The graphics fall between Wii and PS3 standard (closer to Wii), the sounds are annoying and the gameplay still isn't satisfying. There is an online multiplayer and the time feature is a big advantage. Still, considering the low price, it could be interesting for hardcore hack'n'slay fans out of things to do (in).
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    61
    The developer must think we are incredibly stupid, and while we thank them for taking the time to guide us through the game, explaining every tiny detail really hurts the experience. In the end this is a fun, if ugly game, but there are better choices out there.
  5. CD-Action
    Apr 12, 2012
    60
    It's a pity that Eastern European developers are usually on a budget to tight to transform their often great ideas into games that can be praised for something more than potential. The time rewind/character cloning feature of Blades of Time is very cool but the rest of the game is just not on par with it. [May 2012, p.70]
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    60
    Even though it is offered as a "budget-price title", Gaijin's latest is not capable of standing next to some great action/ hack 'n' slash games the genre has offered in this generation. Nevertheless Ayumi's blades and time manipulating capabilities can be charming.
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Apr 3, 2012
    60
    Still, for a budget title, Time did manage to keep our attention longer than we anticipated. [May 2012, p.85]
  8. Mar 17, 2012
    60
    Blades of Time overcomes hurdles obstacles of its own creation with the strength of its novel time-twisting abilities.
  9. It is, very much, a game of two halves. The production values are low – like kicking a three-legged kitten low – but the combat system is a crazy, unique joy. If someone, er, liberally 'borrowed' it in a title with a triple-A budget we could be looking at something really special.
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    58
    A disappointing game which promised much more, but has fallen midway. Its story is not inspiring enough, gameplay is just average and it also has important flaws in its very basic mechanics. Only for hardcore hack and slash fans.
  11. Mar 12, 2012
    57
    I don't know if it was the best idea to move away from the comic style of the predecessor. But this engine with its' technical problems starting from bland textures up to framerate issues, not to mention the really bad voiceovers certainly won't help Ayumi to find an audience. Too bad, cause the core with linear exploration and fighting works surprisingly well.
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    55
    This updated version of X-Blades has some interesting twists and a new mechanics that work well. But even leaving alone the awful multiplayer mode, a lumpish control scheme and major graphical issues (bad collision over all) spoil the global experience.
  13. 50
    It's not a bad game and it has its moments, but ends up being a victim of its low production values.
  14. Mar 26, 2012
    50
    An average action-adventure, but with a little bonus for being likeable in an odd sort of way. That may not be much, but in some way a decent combat-system and a lovely lisp has to be rewarded.
  15. Mar 21, 2012
    45
    I'm not your financial advisor, and I don't care how you spend your money. As one human being to another, I feel a responsibility to advise you not to bother with this boring mess. There are way better bad games out there to play, and even more good ones that are worth your time.
  16. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 25, 2012
    42
    We're pretty sure the guys over at Gaijin Entertainment mean well. They have genuinely tried to improve the mediocre X-Blades, but that game didn't exactly raise the bar for the genre. This time Ayumi (now with more clothes on) travels to - wait for it - Dragonland. [May 2012, p.85]
  17. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 7, 2012
    40
    Features; criminally stupid AI, rehashed enemies, ear-defiling voice acting and paint-by-numbers levels. This is 'so bad it's bad' gaming. [May 2012, p81]
  18. Mar 19, 2012
    40
    Blades of Time had a good starting point with this time bending idea, allowing the player to clone himself for combat or puzzle purposes. But its basic level design, poor artistic direction, and overall confusing combat, when paired with an uninspired story render the game quite disappointing.
  19. Mar 26, 2012
    30
    Blades of Time is a decidely below-average game that tries to make up for it's generic nature by invoking the "sexy card". The treasure hunter Ayumi, is promoted in and out-of game as 'the sexy, gorgeous treasure hunter', but even her bare midriff can't hide the flaws in this action platformer. With a story and characters that are as thin and predictable as game manuals these days, there isn't much to appreciate in Blades of Time.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    It has an interesting use of time and space concepts for combat and puzzle solving.
    The combat is kinda simple but is entertaining.
    The
    It has an interesting use of time and space concepts for combat and puzzle solving.
    The combat is kinda simple but is entertaining.
    The enviroments are beautiful , the character model are pretty decent.
    I liked this games, its like a Prince of Persia game with better battle system.
    For a low budget game i totally enjoyed it.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2016
    7
    Blades of Time
    More than just booty this time
    Blades of time is the much anticipated sequel to x blades If you’ve seen my review for that
    Blades of Time
    More than just booty this time
    Blades of time is the much anticipated sequel to x blades
    If you’ve seen my review for that game, you’d know this is complete sarcasm
    this game is miles better though, but that’s not saying much
    This is an over complicated hack and slash adventure game where you play as your favorite gun slinging sword wielding treasure hunter Ayumi
    You spend the game trying to find a way to escape the island shes been treasure hunting on
    Ayumis has grown up a bit from last time we saw her
    her booty’s a bit covered, and much like Madonna she seems to have moved across the pond and ditched her valley girl accent for a fake English accent
    , Throughout the game you’ll find treasure chests with upgraded gear and jewelry for bonus perks and you’ll stop at alters to gain elemental powers of your choice
    You use these weapons and powers to destroy every creature that dare cross your path, you meet a fiery version of you along the way that gives you hints on how to progress through the story, and also gives you a pretty awesome rewind ability.
    This rewind ability can create essentially an infinite amount of clones of you so you have more woman power in a battle to do double triple or quadruple the damage at once, as well as for solving puzzles that have 2 or more pressure pads
    This rewind ability takes a little time to get used to, really over complicates things, but you will grow to appreciate it.. not love it..just appreciate it
    The challenge in this game really comes down to the combat, enemies are pretty tough, you’ll die in 2 to 3 hits, so you have to actively watch your health bar and dodge or counter attacks to let your health regenerate, there are 10 chapters here that take you to varied locations, that will have you dashing through shadows to avoid the sun or hopping from plant to plant sonic the hedgehog style
    and these locations all feature their own boss..
    Boss battles can be a little frustrating at times, but none ever feel cheap...
    Like any great boss battle, you just need to feel them out, study a bit and go for the killing blow.
    Blades of times is an enjoyable time and far less repetitive than the prequel
    But ultimately it delivers a lackluster experience and story that I really didn’t care about…
    I didn’t care about ayumi or any of the characters I met along the way…
    I took every twist and turn as they came..
    Nothing punched me in the gut, which sadly leaves blades of time feeling like just another hack and slash game with a gimmick
    I got to the end and something happens that should’ve made me feel something.. anything.. it just didn’t
    The credits started to roll and I just said, oh…
    There’s fun to be had here, but nothing special at all.
    I give Blades of Time
    a 7/10
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 7, 2015
    10
    It was a semi highly anticipated game for me back in the day, and why I completed it almost two years ago, the experience is still, whileIt was a semi highly anticipated game for me back in the day, and why I completed it almost two years ago, the experience is still, while spotty, fresh in me which speaks volumes of how underappreciated this game is to date.

    It was by no means the best experience I've had on my ps3, but it was definitely on pair with the rise of the tomb raider or DmC devil may cry, altho these games are somewhat different, I'm mainly trying to praise the game's quality here, which despite the budget was rather high.
    The enemy designs were varied, not only in appearance but also in the methods how were they best to be handled by the assets the game provided you. The landscapes were not purely cosmetic, they also provided new elements to be vary of or to be used during your journey.
    The single player campaign was rather long, even felt a bit dragged out for me by reaching its end and the base difficulty provided some challenges during the boss fights here and there. Speaking of boss fights, all of them were different and forced me to polish my usage of weapons and abilities.
    On my NG+ the hardest difficulty provided the same challenges with stronger weapons to obtain for Ayumi.

    After my first playthru I tried the extensive multiplayer portion of the game, which unfortunately I couldn't 100% complete due to the lack of playerbase, but nevertheless, I didn't even expect anything beyond the single player experience so I got more than I bargained for.

    I imagine the game is very cheap by now, so I can only recommend it for ppl to pick it up.
    Full Review »