Blades of Time PlayStation 3

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2016
    7
    Blades of Time
    More than just booty this time
    Blades of time is the much anticipated sequel to x blades If you’ve seen my review for that game, you’d know this is complete sarcasm this game is miles better though, but that’s not saying much This is an over complicated hack and slash adventure game where you play as your favorite gun slinging sword wielding treasure hunter Ayumi You
    Blades of Time
    More than just booty this time
    Blades of time is the much anticipated sequel to x blades
    If you’ve seen my review for that game, you’d know this is complete sarcasm
    this game is miles better though, but that’s not saying much
    This is an over complicated hack and slash adventure game where you play as your favorite gun slinging sword wielding treasure hunter Ayumi
    You spend the game trying to find a way to escape the island shes been treasure hunting on
    Ayumis has grown up a bit from last time we saw her
    her booty’s a bit covered, and much like Madonna she seems to have moved across the pond and ditched her valley girl accent for a fake English accent
    , Throughout the game you’ll find treasure chests with upgraded gear and jewelry for bonus perks and you’ll stop at alters to gain elemental powers of your choice
    You use these weapons and powers to destroy every creature that dare cross your path, you meet a fiery version of you along the way that gives you hints on how to progress through the story, and also gives you a pretty awesome rewind ability.
    This rewind ability can create essentially an infinite amount of clones of you so you have more woman power in a battle to do double triple or quadruple the damage at once, as well as for solving puzzles that have 2 or more pressure pads
    This rewind ability takes a little time to get used to, really over complicates things, but you will grow to appreciate it.. not love it..just appreciate it
    The challenge in this game really comes down to the combat, enemies are pretty tough, you’ll die in 2 to 3 hits, so you have to actively watch your health bar and dodge or counter attacks to let your health regenerate, there are 10 chapters here that take you to varied locations, that will have you dashing through shadows to avoid the sun or hopping from plant to plant sonic the hedgehog style
    and these locations all feature their own boss..
    Boss battles can be a little frustrating at times, but none ever feel cheap...
    Like any great boss battle, you just need to feel them out, study a bit and go for the killing blow.
    Blades of times is an enjoyable time and far less repetitive than the prequel
    But ultimately it delivers a lackluster experience and story that I really didn’t care about…
    I didn’t care about ayumi or any of the characters I met along the way…
    I took every twist and turn as they came..
    Nothing punched me in the gut, which sadly leaves blades of time feeling like just another hack and slash game with a gimmick
    I got to the end and something happens that should’ve made me feel something.. anything.. it just didn’t
    The credits started to roll and I just said, oh…
    There’s fun to be had here, but nothing special at all.
    I give Blades of Time
    a 7/10
    Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2015
    10
    It was a semi highly anticipated game for me back in the day, and why I completed it almost two years ago, the experience is still, while spotty, fresh in me which speaks volumes of how underappreciated this game is to date.

    It was by no means the best experience I've had on my ps3, but it was definitely on pair with the rise of the tomb raider or DmC devil may cry, altho these games
    It was a semi highly anticipated game for me back in the day, and why I completed it almost two years ago, the experience is still, while spotty, fresh in me which speaks volumes of how underappreciated this game is to date.

    It was by no means the best experience I've had on my ps3, but it was definitely on pair with the rise of the tomb raider or DmC devil may cry, altho these games are somewhat different, I'm mainly trying to praise the game's quality here, which despite the budget was rather high.
    The enemy designs were varied, not only in appearance but also in the methods how were they best to be handled by the assets the game provided you. The landscapes were not purely cosmetic, they also provided new elements to be vary of or to be used during your journey.
    The single player campaign was rather long, even felt a bit dragged out for me by reaching its end and the base difficulty provided some challenges during the boss fights here and there. Speaking of boss fights, all of them were different and forced me to polish my usage of weapons and abilities.
    On my NG+ the hardest difficulty provided the same challenges with stronger weapons to obtain for Ayumi.

    After my first playthru I tried the extensive multiplayer portion of the game, which unfortunately I couldn't 100% complete due to the lack of playerbase, but nevertheless, I didn't even expect anything beyond the single player experience so I got more than I bargained for.

    I imagine the game is very cheap by now, so I can only recommend it for ppl to pick it up.
    Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    1
    There's very little to like about this game. Combat's clunky and monotonous boss fights are especially tedious and there's nothing enjoyable about the time manipulation mechanics and their associated puzzles. Ayumi also talks a lot without actually saying anything worthwhile; endless statements of the obvious stream from her mouth, and her banal remarks and observations fail to makeThere's very little to like about this game. Combat's clunky and monotonous boss fights are especially tedious and there's nothing enjoyable about the time manipulation mechanics and their associated puzzles. Ayumi also talks a lot without actually saying anything worthwhile; endless statements of the obvious stream from her mouth, and her banal remarks and observations fail to make either the world or her character ever seem more compelling. The writing is genuinely atrocious. When things can get this bad, it's almost possible to understand why the mediocre writers at BioWare or the incompetents at Ninja theory have developed the notion that they have talent. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    8
    Excellent slasher, good combat system, rewinding time, various magic and equipment, but most importantly it is a pure-blooded action game in otlchie of clumsy, dull and frankly boring God of War, this game will not let you get bored and you'll have a great time. One of the best slashers, but not without flaws no DLC for consoles, not the best graphics.
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    Blades of Time is an overall good game, it's very minus could be only the lack of pumped graphics which instead is now and then slightly outdated, apart from that is really fun to play and this is what I search in a game, have fun, for this only reason I'd really like to give this title a 10 'cuz it deserves any less by my point of view, I play mainly to have fun, not to see only boringBlades of Time is an overall good game, it's very minus could be only the lack of pumped graphics which instead is now and then slightly outdated, apart from that is really fun to play and this is what I search in a game, have fun, for this only reason I'd really like to give this title a 10 'cuz it deserves any less by my point of view, I play mainly to have fun, not to see only boring stunning graphics...a friend pointed me out, this game has no option to invert y-axis, but so far I found that PS3 version HAS the option to do it unless the 360 version. I find myself in the need to reestablish the score at a 9 for this reason, it could have been a 10 if only graphics and some storytelling things could have been more polished, however it's still a pretty enjoyable game. Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2012
    4
    I must say I really wanted to like this game. It has nice graphics, interesting setting and entertaining gameplay (when it's not broken, I must say). Problem is the developers did not want us to enjoy this game. Battling in Blades of Time is a chore. It's clear they wanted to mimic God of War's style, but they totally forgot a simple thing: to make it simple. God of War is incredibly funI must say I really wanted to like this game. It has nice graphics, interesting setting and entertaining gameplay (when it's not broken, I must say). Problem is the developers did not want us to enjoy this game. Battling in Blades of Time is a chore. It's clear they wanted to mimic God of War's style, but they totally forgot a simple thing: to make it simple. God of War is incredibly fun because it's fluid, simple, intuitive. In Blades of Time there are just so many things you have to keep in mind while fighting enemies that you lose track of fun just to try to get the job done. And the whole time rewind gimmick is a broken mess as well; it's just confusing and not helpful at all. Put in some enemies that can kill you with one hit and you are in for a "rage quit festival". Almost broken game, just for those who have absolutely nothing else to play. Also, DON'T PAY FULL RETAIL PRICE. Not worth it. Expand
  7. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    It's really a great game! The first thing I want to note - an excellent dynamic combat system. The effects of magic, attack animation and motion of heroine is very good. Nice variety of landscapes, new types of enemies in each level and difficult bosses. The story is not bad for slashers. The game is really fun and interesting to play. In the end, this is the first good Russian game in theIt's really a great game! The first thing I want to note - an excellent dynamic combat system. The effects of magic, attack animation and motion of heroine is very good. Nice variety of landscapes, new types of enemies in each level and difficult bosses. The story is not bad for slashers. The game is really fun and interesting to play. In the end, this is the first good Russian game in the last five years. Expand
  8. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    Well, Blades of Time is an OK game. It's even way better than that horrible X-Blades with a bikini-clad Xena Warrior Princess ripoff on the box art. But thank god this isn't X-Blades 2. In the game, Ayumi is young and physically tough as you travel to a mysterious island where danger sets ashore as she prepares for what could be her only fate to save the world. Here's are my Pros and ConsWell, Blades of Time is an OK game. It's even way better than that horrible X-Blades with a bikini-clad Xena Warrior Princess ripoff on the box art. But thank god this isn't X-Blades 2. In the game, Ayumi is young and physically tough as you travel to a mysterious island where danger sets ashore as she prepares for what could be her only fate to save the world. Here's are my Pros and Cons for the game. The Pros: Intense fluid system and a handful of arsenal combat attacks where you create magic spells, punishing enemies with your sword including a set of moves, combos, and special abilities. And Time Rewind (although it seems looked different than Bayonetta's "Witch Time" fluid system) lets you clone thyself in its entirety by solving puzzles and take down boss after boss. The Cons: I wonder if they have any bug problems in the game because when I first downloaded the demo, something just isn't quite right. The controls were too clunky and the camera angles feels an outdated attempt to please the audience what action and story might take place. Multiplayer is far from disaster, it's beyond bad. You can't mix 2 to 4 people at the same time battling monsters in an online slugfest. It has the power without the "Girl" in it. Back in 2008, Sega releases Golden Axe: Beast Rider and it was eventually too soon to make a comeback of the franchise that define beat 'em up action. Well, "Blades of Time" is a flawless but decent hack n' slash game, maybe you could rent it. Expand
  9. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    It has an interesting use of time and space concepts for combat and puzzle solving.
    The combat is kinda simple but is entertaining.
    The enviroments are beautiful , the character model are pretty decent.
    I liked this games, its like a Prince of Persia game with better battle system.
    For a low budget game i totally enjoyed it.
  10. Mar 18, 2012
    8
    Hello, I know what you are thinking when you see the name Blades of Time, but I am happy to assure you that Blades of Time is much better than its predecessor X-Blades. The game makes up for being a budget title with offering a game with both a story mode, and outbreak (multi-player) modes. The story is not deep or witty, yet playing through the game it didn't really bother me thatHello, I know what you are thinking when you see the name Blades of Time, but I am happy to assure you that Blades of Time is much better than its predecessor X-Blades. The game makes up for being a budget title with offering a game with both a story mode, and outbreak (multi-player) modes. The story is not deep or witty, yet playing through the game it didn't really bother me that the story was weak because the gameplay more than makes up for the lack of a weak story. The game is truly easy on the eyes, and several of the later levels are truly designed well. The game is one of my favorite console games, with little to no loading between loading levels segments. The combat is fast paced, and has many special abilities to offer the player. None of the special abilities are truly unique outside of time rewinding (which is phenomenal), but the other abilities are still fun to utilize nevertheless. My biggest complaint with the title is the lack of post developer support as this title really has grown on me, and the lack of more than 3 multi-player based levels. The 3 multi-player levels are excellent, but many more would have been hugely welcome. In contrast:

    Pros: excellent time rewind mechanics, gorgeous inspired levels, deep rune based multi-player offering, and fast loading times without a disc based install
    Cons: terrible story, lack of quantity of multi-player maps, and no unlockable outfits?
    ?: Why couldn't the developers allow the user to keep the flying ability once they learn it?
    Expand
  11. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    It has an interesting use of time and space concepts for combat and puzzle solving.
    The combat is kinda simple but is entertaining.
    The enviroments are beautiful , the character model are pretty decent.
    I liked this games, its like a Prince of Persia game with better battle system.
    For a low budget game i totally enjoyed it.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 7, 2012
    40
    Features; criminally stupid AI, rehashed enemies, ear-defiling voice acting and paint-by-numbers levels. This is 'so bad it's bad' gaming. [May 2012, p81]
  2. 50
    It's not a bad game and it has its moments, but ends up being a victim of its low production values.
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Apr 25, 2012
    42
    We're pretty sure the guys over at Gaijin Entertainment mean well. They have genuinely tried to improve the mediocre X-Blades, but that game didn't exactly raise the bar for the genre. This time Ayumi (now with more clothes on) travels to - wait for it - Dragonland. [May 2012, p.85]