User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 375 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 375

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    this game reminds me alot of phantasy star online but bigger in the world you get to explore , a ton of wepons , 4 player co op , and fun boss fights. the game has a intresting graphics desighn . a kind of gritty cel shadded look. there are alot of quests to do and the game is pretty long at arounf 40-50 hours to complete . there is alot of DLC that gives you much more to do. the game overthis game reminds me alot of phantasy star online but bigger in the world you get to explore , a ton of wepons , 4 player co op , and fun boss fights. the game has a intresting graphics desighn . a kind of gritty cel shadded look. there are alot of quests to do and the game is pretty long at arounf 40-50 hours to complete . there is alot of DLC that gives you much more to do. the game over all is great even single player is kinda fun but this game is best played online with some friends . the only thing about this game that wasnt done well was the story was very dull and the ending felt lame . i hope gear box does a another borderlands game. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Really fun first person FPS that has a unique artstyle and a quirky feel. The storyline is poor but the extensive range of weaponry (I'm talking hundreds of thousands of randomly generated loot) really keep you engrossed as you search for the next best weapon. Overall its fun and occasionally challenging but not frustrating. Quality DLC really keeps the game fresh.
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    i absolutely love borderlands celshading style and charm, skags are rather ruthless and capping crazed axe wielding midgets is a blast. hanging with my buddies completeing missions is fun...awesome game
  4. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this game. It is the only game i have played 5 times and unlocked everything and got a platinum trophy and the simple reason why is that its just really really a blast to play especially with a friend. I love the presentation overall and the addictive levelling system is indeed addictive. Really hoping for a borderlands 2.
  5. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Probably the best PS3 game I have played. Only downsides are the loading times and the lack of things to buy with the money you get. The weapons you find are better than the ones you can buy so you end up never using the cash you earn.
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Borderlands is without a doubt my favorite game for the PS3.
    It's an innovative first-person-shooter role-playing game with strong emphasis on questing and looting.
    The visuals and humor are very original, the controls are well-nigh perfect and the difficulty level is just right unless you try to rush through quests too quickly. What I like most about it is the fact that you can play the
    Borderlands is without a doubt my favorite game for the PS3.
    It's an innovative first-person-shooter role-playing game with strong emphasis on questing and looting.
    The visuals and humor are very original, the controls are well-nigh perfect and the difficulty level is just right unless you try to rush through quests too quickly.
    What I like most about it is the fact that you can play the whole campaign mode with a friend in offline split-screen co-op mode. Fighting bandits and monsters cooperatively is really twice as much fun.
    Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Honestly my favorite PS3 game. I love the split screen campaign and the character development system. A few minor bugs, but nothing distracting from gameplay. Great art style and soundscape. Overall lots of fun and very diverse game. There is a little bit of grinding in the middle, which does get tedious, not nothing unexpected for an FPS/RPG style game. Lots of stuff to do and explore ifHonestly my favorite PS3 game. I love the split screen campaign and the character development system. A few minor bugs, but nothing distracting from gameplay. Great art style and soundscape. Overall lots of fun and very diverse game. There is a little bit of grinding in the middle, which does get tedious, not nothing unexpected for an FPS/RPG style game. Lots of stuff to do and explore if you're willing to look around. Expand
  8. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    One of the best PS3 games. Countless hours of pure fun and one of the best cooperative online experiences so far. Millions of weapons and gear to collect. Cant wait for Borderlands 2
  9. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    This game is INCREDIBLE... ok! This is how games should be like. Everything is perfect... the gameplay style, the graphics, the story and all that **** But 1 thing is missing :( There are so few dialogs. You feel lonely in the game. You want someone to talk sometimes. Hearing gun shots or other sounds is good but you barely hear someone talk in the game. That's the only thing. Or else IThis game is INCREDIBLE... ok! This is how games should be like. Everything is perfect... the gameplay style, the graphics, the story and all that **** But 1 thing is missing :( There are so few dialogs. You feel lonely in the game. You want someone to talk sometimes. Hearing gun shots or other sounds is good but you barely hear someone talk in the game. That's the only thing. Or else I would give it a 10. Expand
  10. Aug 13, 2010
    9
    I think Borderlands is a very good game with a great difficulty curve and customized weapons (Corrosive, Incendiary, Explosive and Shock are the elements) and different kinds of enemies. The only things I would change about Borderlands are:

    - I would put a minimap in the corner. - I would make it so that you can customize weapons at New-U Stations for a price. - I would make it so that if
    I think Borderlands is a very good game with a great difficulty curve and customized weapons (Corrosive, Incendiary, Explosive and Shock are the elements) and different kinds of enemies. The only things I would change about Borderlands are:

    - I would put a minimap in the corner.
    - I would make it so that you can customize weapons at New-U Stations for a price.
    - I would make it so that if you crash into a corrosive barrel, it doesn't do as much damage to your vehicle.

    But all in all, Borderlands is a very good game and I am enjoying it so far.
    Expand
  11. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    I just went and bought the Borderlands expansion pack. I tried to add the token code and it said its invalid and has errors. I go back to the store they give me a new token card and it still wont accept the code. Apparently this is happening everywhere ? anyone else running into this problem ?
  12. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    excellent designed game, enjoyed it through the entire game.... word of warning, use a usb flash drive and make a copy of your saved games....... would recommend this game.....
  13. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Fast-paced action, brilliant comedy, great characters, and a beautifully designed world. It's first-person Diablo 2 with guns!! What's not to love?!? Gearbox is my new favourite developer!
  14. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Great game. You pick 1 of 4 characters with a special action ability and 3 trees of mostly passive stat increasing talents and its a FPS. There are literally a Billion guns because of the Random Stat Generator for the guns so you'll always be able to find something you like. The game is at its best during Split Screen Co-op or Online with 3 other players. Playing solo is harder and slowerGreat game. You pick 1 of 4 characters with a special action ability and 3 trees of mostly passive stat increasing talents and its a FPS. There are literally a Billion guns because of the Random Stat Generator for the guns so you'll always be able to find something you like. The game is at its best during Split Screen Co-op or Online with 3 other players. Playing solo is harder and slower and boring when you don't have someone to play with. I would get the Game of The Year Edition because it has the 4 DLCs that are well worth it and add hours onto the game. Expand
  15. Jan 30, 2011
    9
    Borderlands could have something for any shooter fan. For those who just want to shoot up bandits and creatures around the desolated world, then it can deliver. For those who want to explore this new land and find new areas and items, it has that in bundles. To experience the true feel of this game, you want to have both, and then you can truly appreciate this game. Graphics are veryBorderlands could have something for any shooter fan. For those who just want to shoot up bandits and creatures around the desolated world, then it can deliver. For those who want to explore this new land and find new areas and items, it has that in bundles. To experience the true feel of this game, you want to have both, and then you can truly appreciate this game. Graphics are very unique, Gearbox called it the 'box art' style, and it looks amazing. Though looking up close, the textures can look bland and unattractive, the world itself is can either make u sit in awe or make you cringe from its grotesque look. You have four different players to choose from, but the overall experience wont change depending on who you play as. Soldiers can deploy turrets, Hunters have a hawk that hurts enemies and drops extra loot, Beserker has an extra strong melee, and the Siren can turn invisible. These special abilities can be fun, but the main gameplay is the for all of them. Story here is pretty strait-forward, you are a fortune hunter looking for "The Vault" and there are a lot of people who don't want u to find it or just don't like your face at all.The story isn't what is so great though and isn't why you play Borderlands, its the massive amount of guns and enemies, there is said to be over 100,000 guns, enough to make any collector drool. The enemies can seem standard at first, just some mutated dogs and birds with some bandits, but when these simple bad guys branch out into stronger or more deadly opponents, that's when you really have some fun. It is always enjoyable to have a small bandit screaming at you with an ax and you blow his head off. The vehicles in this game will need some getting used to, but once you do its alot of fun. The best aspect of this game is the co-op, either local or online. Getting online co-op can be very rewarding. If you were stuck on a mission and couldn't figure it out, then you would get online and find a party that is on the same mission and have up to three other people figure it out with you. When you got offline and back to your game, all of the stats, weapons, and experience you got with then transfers to your game. Though, be careful, i was hit with a glitch by doing this. I got online and played for a while with a group who was farther ahead than me, though i had already beaten the game and was on my second play though. Because we finished missions after the one i was on, that means all of the missions i finished were done but i hadnt done the mission to get to those yet, so my game didn't know what to do and didn't let me finish my mission anymore, meaning i could go on anymore. That said, Borderlands is extremely fun and addictive and deserves your time. It might be too long to some or may be too RPG like for their taste, but to most this game is a blast and can give you a good laugh once in a while as well. Expand
  16. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    This is a great open world game with a great look to it. I am really happy that they decided to go and do their own look than trying to make everything "real" or whatever. Great colors, great atmosphere and music. Really well put together on the presentation end. The weapon choice is MASSIVE. However, if you are like me, you will find 4 to 6 guns that you will use through almost the wholeThis is a great open world game with a great look to it. I am really happy that they decided to go and do their own look than trying to make everything "real" or whatever. Great colors, great atmosphere and music. Really well put together on the presentation end. The weapon choice is MASSIVE. However, if you are like me, you will find 4 to 6 guns that you will use through almost the whole game. The one "issue" (if it can be called that) is that you can't really buy good guns. I bought a gun once from the vending machines, then found a similar gun 3x better on the ground. If I could leave any advice, never buy guns from the store. The best guns are found by killing. Save your money...

    Which leads me to the next point. Money is almost worthless. You find so many guns, which you can sell back, enemies drop money, and leave money laying around that it is almost an unnecessary thing. I am sitting at 1.5 million credits easy and climbing. If you die it takes a percentage of your cash to "pay" for your respawn, but if you don't die a lot there is no limit to your wealth.

    The Co-op works really well and the resource sharing works really well to not leave anyone out or falling behind. Find some people close to your rank and have at it. My only complaint, and why it gets a 9 and not a 10, is the loading between areas of the world. Its not that big of a deal but I wish they could have set it up in someway so that it would stream load or something. I am sure this was the best way for them to do it, as I am not a designer, but kind of a pain when you have to do a lot of traveling without warping. Great game.
    Expand
  17. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This Cartoony, lootfest offers the best of so many worlds. A FPS with a touch of RPG oozing fun. While the storyline isn't elaborate or groundbreaking (let's face it Im not expecting "The Godfather" movie in a game), the journey sure is a blast. With a co-op experience second to none, it is the perfect party, relaxing game. Great characters, unique skills, gazillions of chest and guns,This Cartoony, lootfest offers the best of so many worlds. A FPS with a touch of RPG oozing fun. While the storyline isn't elaborate or groundbreaking (let's face it Im not expecting "The Godfather" movie in a game), the journey sure is a blast. With a co-op experience second to none, it is the perfect party, relaxing game. Great characters, unique skills, gazillions of chest and guns, entertaining enemies make Borderlands almost impossible to turn off. It's map is as big as Red Dead's, and the FPS controls have the fluidity of any COD title. If this game had a competitive multiplayer, Im not sure I would have a need for any other FPS. Expand
  18. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    + The addictveness of finding upgrades to your weapons, class mods, shields etc.
    + The different skills unlocked when leveling up.
    + The easy to get into co-op
    + Great DLC
    - Loading screens (this seems to affect me more than my friends as I always load up each area 30 seconds or so after them)
  19. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    Great FPS game containing RPG elements (you gain levels and skill points). Takes many hours to complete and everything is playable in 4 player coop mode. One con is that game environments are kinda boring. All grayish and not much change. Other con is that skills dont make difference as much as would be possible.
  20. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    My personal favorite game of this console generation. So much replay value! I've probably put in 200 hours and still get the itch to play it! The only other thing to say is I want more! Can't wait for the sequel!!
  21. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Played this game when it came out for about an hour on my mate's 360 and couldn't stand it. Picked it up for about £4 for ps3 cos a mate was selling it. Me and the missus are hooked. Great artistic direction. Fun co-op play. More guns than I know what to do with and midget shotgunners. IMO better than COD and Battlefield which I own and enjoy (mw3 &bf3). Can't wait for thePlayed this game when it came out for about an hour on my mate's 360 and couldn't stand it. Picked it up for about £4 for ps3 cos a mate was selling it. Me and the missus are hooked. Great artistic direction. Fun co-op play. More guns than I know what to do with and midget shotgunners. IMO better than COD and Battlefield which I own and enjoy (mw3 &bf3). Can't wait for the second. I hope they sort out the minor issues like frame rate. Expand
  22. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    So replaying this game for the fourth or fifth time, I'm not sure, in anticipation of the second one coming out this year! This game is just as fun as ever. One of the most fun games to just play ever! I love all the guns and the looting and just running around shooting everything. So many different guns and the four classes are very diverse so I don't feel it ever gets dull. The storySo replaying this game for the fourth or fifth time, I'm not sure, in anticipation of the second one coming out this year! This game is just as fun as ever. One of the most fun games to just play ever! I love all the guns and the looting and just running around shooting everything. So many different guns and the four classes are very diverse so I don't feel it ever gets dull. The story does but that's just a side note. This game is more of a FPS Game. and by that i mean it's just fun to play and that's all a game really needs to be. the areas and the enemies are as diverse as the guns. and now with all the patches and the DLC this is a huge game worth every penny I have sunk into it. All the DLCs are a ton of fun and just add more content to such an awesome game! if you like huge adventures and FPS and changing up guns all the time this is a must have game. and i mentioned the patches, this game did have huge load times and frame rate issues but on this play through which is long past the release of the game it performs much better, and while the load times are not instant they are very short for the huge areas they load up. The art style I personally love, it's a great change of pace from all the photorealistic games out there. the cartoonish style allows these huge areas to load with minimal texture pop in. usually I notice some texture pop in when you load into a new area but after a few seconds the whole area runs smooth and it is never a distraction. Overall one of the best games in my library and I just counted the other day, i own 85 ps3 titles on disk and about 30 downloadable games (estimate cuz most i have since deleted off my HD) seriously this game is so fun and is only multiplied if you play with a friend or three other friends online! Expand
  23. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played! Why you ask?
    The element of fps, adventure, and rpg are mixed all into one and it works!! it works so well, that it kept me playing and playing. I found the game extermerly hard at times. Yet very rewarding. The open world is great to explore, the missions are fun. Cant wait for the sequel!!!!
  24. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    This is a very fun game, even if it is lacking in story (it shows how weapon generation technology is used)
    It is a good challenge, and insanely to play with friends. The humor is hilarious, and the bosses are pretty good. The cell shaded design gives it a unique feel, and I had a great 2.5 PTs with this game
  25. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    An immensely fun FPS with a unique art and character design that is overall enjoyable. I especially enjoyed the local co-op feature, the leveling system and the endless amounts of loot to be found.
  26. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    8.9 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    Missions are repetitive, non-playable characters are bland, the story is forgettable and online co-op is frustrating. Now, getting the bad stuff out of the way, leads me into the great stuff and boy, is there a lot of great stuff to this game. The map is huge and fully explorable, the gun-collecting is addicting and awesome, the mechanics are polished,
    8.9 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    Missions are repetitive, non-playable characters are bland, the story is forgettable and online co-op is frustrating. Now, getting the bad stuff out of the way, leads me into the great stuff and boy, is there a lot of great stuff to this game. The map is huge and fully explorable, the gun-collecting is addicting and awesome, the mechanics are polished, the rpg-meets-fps idea is fresh and fully needed in the gaming market and not to mention the outstanding gameplay and controls.

    Everything in Borderlands feels fun and it's addicting to find loot and new weapons. Borderlands is a unique and unforgettable experience, recommended to anyone.
    Expand
  27. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    I had low expectations of Borderlands 2. After putting in 300+ hrs on Skyrim including starting again) I didnt expect to see such an awesome free roaming....if ye wish...( I used to be an Adventurer but I took an arrow to the knee.....) Im at Lvl 22 after about 10 days. Gotta say I spend more time checking/ comparing/ changing weapons. Only complaint with BD2 is ''After about a week, II had low expectations of Borderlands 2. After putting in 300+ hrs on Skyrim including starting again) I didnt expect to see such an awesome free roaming....if ye wish...( I used to be an Adventurer but I took an arrow to the knee.....) Im at Lvl 22 after about 10 days. Gotta say I spend more time checking/ comparing/ changing weapons. Only complaint with BD2 is ''After about a week, I thought hmmm New Game....Damn!! It wiped out my game.( A comparison to Skyrim- where you can lots of saved games...)
    Overall---- Borderlands 2 9.72 10. Now back to the game....
    Expand
  28. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    What is there not to like about Borderlands?? This is a great 1st person shooter that manages to intergrate a traditional RPG skill system in a very cool way. The characters all have unique abilities and specialties, there is vehicular combat as well, and of course a lot of humor thanks to a great cast of side characters. One can argue that the environment feels repetitive, and what iWhat is there not to like about Borderlands?? This is a great 1st person shooter that manages to intergrate a traditional RPG skill system in a very cool way. The characters all have unique abilities and specialties, there is vehicular combat as well, and of course a lot of humor thanks to a great cast of side characters. One can argue that the environment feels repetitive, and what i really dont like about the game was the ending, but i can ignore these flaws thanks to the fun i had while playing. And best of all, 4 player coop!! Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. 83
    Call it a first-person Diablo, an evolution of Resistance 2's co-op mode, Monster Hunter for the west, or a party game for FPS gamers. Call it the best example of the transformative power of multiplayer. Whatever you designate it, Borderlands is a decent single-player FPS/RPG that simply becomes great -- when playing with others.
  2. It's also one of those games that's so strong in parts that its shortcomings become almost glaring by comparison. As such, the game's barebones story, lackluster AI, and insufficient player trading options are real disappointments that prevent the game from reaching its full potential. But when you're frantically trying to stay alive while getting swarmed by an angry horde of gigantic spiderants, chances are you won't care much about that other stuff.
  3. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.