Borderlands PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 429 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 429
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TimL
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    The game ive been wanting all my life. Unadulterated fun, totally addictive. A blast on single player and truly awesome on multiplayer. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant.
  2. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    i absolutely love borderlands celshading style and charm, skags are rather ruthless and capping crazed axe wielding midgets is a blast. hanging with my buddies completeing missions is fun...awesome game
  3. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this game. It is the only game i have played 5 times and unlocked everything and got a platinum trophy and the simple reason why is that its just really really a blast to play especially with a friend. I love the presentation overall and the addictive levelling system is indeed addictive. Really hoping for a borderlands 2.
  4. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    If you love RPGs and FPS and you like collecting things in game.. then this game is a gift from heaven for you! Right now you can get the game and all the DLC (which are superb) in the GOTY version. Definitely a good deal right there.
  5. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    Probably the best PS3 game I have played. Only downsides are the loading times and the lack of things to buy with the money you get. The weapons you find are better than the ones you can buy so you end up never using the cash you earn.
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Borderlands is without a doubt my favorite game for the PS3.
    It's an innovative first-person-shooter role-playing game with strong emphasis on questing and looting.
    The visuals and humor are very original, the controls are well-nigh perfect and the difficulty level is just right unless you try to rush through quests too quickly. What I like most about it is the fact that you can play the
    Borderlands is without a doubt my favorite game for the PS3.
    It's an innovative first-person-shooter role-playing game with strong emphasis on questing and looting.
    The visuals and humor are very original, the controls are well-nigh perfect and the difficulty level is just right unless you try to rush through quests too quickly.
    What I like most about it is the fact that you can play the whole campaign mode with a friend in offline split-screen co-op mode. Fighting bandits and monsters cooperatively is really twice as much fun.
    Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2011
    8
    I really liked the style of Borderlands right of the bat. So many games are trying to have realistic graphics and a stylistic art style is really appreciated in these times. I only played as the soldier/assault class so I can't really speak to the other characters. The game is a pretty straightforward shooter with some RPG elements which can be rearranged at several locations. The sellingI really liked the style of Borderlands right of the bat. So many games are trying to have realistic graphics and a stylistic art style is really appreciated in these times. I only played as the soldier/assault class so I can't really speak to the other characters. The game is a pretty straightforward shooter with some RPG elements which can be rearranged at several locations. The selling point of this game was the amount of guns in it, and they were right, there's a ton of guns due to having them with generated stats. Definitely a fun game, the story was interesting in waves, not really hooked into the story of the game personally. Lot of going places, shooting badguys, picking up things and bringing things back to the person who gave you the mission. Driving around was pretty fun though, running bad guys over was definitely fun. Character and enemy designs were really good and original. Expand
  8. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Honestly my favorite PS3 game. I love the split screen campaign and the character development system. A few minor bugs, but nothing distracting from gameplay. Great art style and soundscape. Overall lots of fun and very diverse game. There is a little bit of grinding in the middle, which does get tedious, not nothing unexpected for an FPS/RPG style game. Lots of stuff to do and explore ifHonestly my favorite PS3 game. I love the split screen campaign and the character development system. A few minor bugs, but nothing distracting from gameplay. Great art style and soundscape. Overall lots of fun and very diverse game. There is a little bit of grinding in the middle, which does get tedious, not nothing unexpected for an FPS/RPG style game. Lots of stuff to do and explore if you're willing to look around. Expand
  9. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    One of the best PS3 games. Countless hours of pure fun and one of the best cooperative online experiences so far. Millions of weapons and gear to collect. Cant wait for Borderlands 2
  10. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    This game is INCREDIBLE... ok! This is how games should be like. Everything is perfect... the gameplay style, the graphics, the story and all that **** But 1 thing is missing :( There are so few dialogs. You feel lonely in the game. You want someone to talk sometimes. Hearing gun shots or other sounds is good but you barely hear someone talk in the game. That's the only thing. Or else IThis game is INCREDIBLE... ok! This is how games should be like. Everything is perfect... the gameplay style, the graphics, the story and all that **** But 1 thing is missing :( There are so few dialogs. You feel lonely in the game. You want someone to talk sometimes. Hearing gun shots or other sounds is good but you barely hear someone talk in the game. That's the only thing. Or else I would give it a 10. Expand
  11. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    this game reminds me alot of phantasy star online but bigger in the world you get to explore , a ton of wepons , 4 player co op , and fun boss fights. the game has a intresting graphics desighn . a kind of gritty cel shadded look. there are alot of quests to do and the game is pretty long at arounf 40-50 hours to complete . there is alot of DLC that gives you much more to do. the game overthis game reminds me alot of phantasy star online but bigger in the world you get to explore , a ton of wepons , 4 player co op , and fun boss fights. the game has a intresting graphics desighn . a kind of gritty cel shadded look. there are alot of quests to do and the game is pretty long at arounf 40-50 hours to complete . there is alot of DLC that gives you much more to do. the game over all is great even single player is kinda fun but this game is best played online with some friends . the only thing about this game that wasnt done well was the story was very dull and the ending felt lame . i hope gear box does a another borderlands game. Expand
  12. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Really fun first person FPS that has a unique artstyle and a quirky feel. The storyline is poor but the extensive range of weaponry (I'm talking hundreds of thousands of randomly generated loot) really keep you engrossed as you search for the next best weapon. Overall its fun and occasionally challenging but not frustrating. Quality DLC really keeps the game fresh.
  13. Dave
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Awesome hybrid Fps. I can't to thinking about it. I'm hooked. The guns are amazing and I love how it effects enemys. If you enjoy rpgs comics and fps this game IS for you!
  14. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    This is a brilliant first-person rpg, it takes place on a planet called Pandora, a world filled with dangerous creatures and bandits. It is a hazardous wildlife with agressive monsters and homidical maniacs. You play as one of the four vault hunters with each their special abilities and efficiency, you set out to find the The Vault, a legendary place that is said to contain alienThis is a brilliant first-person rpg, it takes place on a planet called Pandora, a world filled with dangerous creatures and bandits. It is a hazardous wildlife with agressive monsters and homidical maniacs. You play as one of the four vault hunters with each their special abilities and efficiency, you set out to find the The Vault, a legendary place that is said to contain alien technology and riches beyond your wildest dreams. But to unlock The Vault you will have to travel across the land and kill enemies that has the missing key pieces. The game has over 17,750,000 weapons with variation of firing speed, reload speed, damage type and rarity. The weapons has elemental effects which means some can ignite enemies, electrocute them, blow them into pieces and melt them with acid. The characters also have their own skill tree where you can upgrade their powers so they get different playstiles. On your journey you will meet interesting characters and find chests containing weapons and ammunition. Though the ending was a bit of a misfire and the online has some problems hosting a game this is a game you shouldn't miss out on. Expand
  15. RalphC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Being a fan of both FPS and RPG genres, and having a strong bias toward games I can play cooperatively with my friends, Borderlands is something I've been waiting for ever since I purchased my PS3. The single player experience is great, and I know that playing with my friends this weekend, (with a new character of course), is only going to multiply the joy!
  16. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    I just went and bought the Borderlands expansion pack. I tried to add the token code and it said its invalid and has errors. I go back to the store they give me a new token card and it still wont accept the code. Apparently this is happening everywhere ? anyone else running into this problem ?
  17. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    Fast-paced action, brilliant comedy, great characters, and a beautifully designed world. It's first-person Diablo 2 with guns!! What's not to love?!? Gearbox is my new favourite developer!
  18. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    I normally suck at fps but this game allowed me to get better at them and the same time enjoy them the thing that ade me get this game was the rpg elements and I have to say they work pretty well but when you play with people who have modded guns (like me) and you don't it is a little frustating and it's because of that, that I realized I was tired of the game; after playing as everyI normally suck at fps but this game allowed me to get better at them and the same time enjoy them the thing that ade me get this game was the rpg elements and I have to say they work pretty well but when you play with people who have modded guns (like me) and you don't it is a little frustating and it's because of that, that I realized I was tired of the game; after playing as every character and defeating the game on hard a couple of times I realized there wasn't much else to the game to keep me entertained. after that it was only about helping some newbies get levels fast and trying to get rare weapons. I really wish they make a sequel and they put a better competitive mp and fix the vehicules and also more variety of enemies and weapons and maybe the possibility to change to third person view so u can see ur own looks Expand
  19. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Great game. You pick 1 of 4 characters with a special action ability and 3 trees of mostly passive stat increasing talents and its a FPS. There are literally a Billion guns because of the Random Stat Generator for the guns so you'll always be able to find something you like. The game is at its best during Split Screen Co-op or Online with 3 other players. Playing solo is harder and slowerGreat game. You pick 1 of 4 characters with a special action ability and 3 trees of mostly passive stat increasing talents and its a FPS. There are literally a Billion guns because of the Random Stat Generator for the guns so you'll always be able to find something you like. The game is at its best during Split Screen Co-op or Online with 3 other players. Playing solo is harder and slower and boring when you don't have someone to play with. I would get the Game of The Year Edition because it has the 4 DLCs that are well worth it and add hours onto the game. Expand
  20. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    this is very fun game shooting things and leveling up is blast with hundreds of guns to choose from this game is very diverse you also get classes or roles to help out your team or by yourself the online is fun and the game is very addicting my only problems with it is there is barely any storyline and and alot of the guns even though called different feel exactly like the other guns butthis is very fun game shooting things and leveling up is blast with hundreds of guns to choose from this game is very diverse you also get classes or roles to help out your team or by yourself the online is fun and the game is very addicting my only problems with it is there is barely any storyline and and alot of the guns even though called different feel exactly like the other guns but all in all great game Expand
  21. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have ever played! Why you ask?
    The element of fps, adventure, and rpg are mixed all into one and it works!! it works so well, that it kept me playing and playing. I found the game extermerly hard at times. Yet very rewarding. The open world is great to explore, the missions are fun. Cant wait for the sequel!!!!
  22. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    What is there not to like about Borderlands?? This is a great 1st person shooter that manages to intergrate a traditional RPG skill system in a very cool way. The characters all have unique abilities and specialties, there is vehicular combat as well, and of course a lot of humor thanks to a great cast of side characters. One can argue that the environment feels repetitive, and what iWhat is there not to like about Borderlands?? This is a great 1st person shooter that manages to intergrate a traditional RPG skill system in a very cool way. The characters all have unique abilities and specialties, there is vehicular combat as well, and of course a lot of humor thanks to a great cast of side characters. One can argue that the environment feels repetitive, and what i really dont like about the game was the ending, but i can ignore these flaws thanks to the fun i had while playing. And best of all, 4 player coop!! Expand
  23. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    This is an unusual game. You really need to be patient and gain an understanding of the game's limitations, and play in a way that is unlike most games. Borderlands drove me crazy enough to quit at one point, but then after seeing some responses to my complaints (and the same complaints made by many others), I decided to try it again and heed the advice of others who pointed out that,This is an unusual game. You really need to be patient and gain an understanding of the game's limitations, and play in a way that is unlike most games. Borderlands drove me crazy enough to quit at one point, but then after seeing some responses to my complaints (and the same complaints made by many others), I decided to try it again and heed the advice of others who pointed out that, while the game did not make it clear at all, you cannot get ahead of yourself in this game or it can be brutal. You are free to advance quickly into certain areas of the game from the start, but you will be punished if you are not at a certain level with the right weapons.

    As I progressed through Borderlands and better understood how to play the game, I grew to like it more and more, and by the time I was done I really liked the game. However, the game certainly is not without it's flaws. The re-spawning AI can be really annoying and detract from your immersion into the game. While there are supposed to be gazillions of weapon combinations in the game, there's really not that many that are actually different, other than in name and appearance. The graphics take some getting used to, but much like the game itself, grow on you. As I understand it, this game has an excellent multi-player, and a lot of people base their high score of the game heavily on that aspect of the game. My review is for the single player alone because I have not played the multi-player component.
    Expand
  24. DanA.
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Those harping on the single-player campaign are off-base. Many players, like myself, play ONLY single-player titles, or in that mode when available. I am completely enjoying Borderlands, especially as Mordecai. Guns, roaming, cars, loot, and chaos. Borderlands is a place in which I'd thrive, were it only real...
  25. JasonC
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    Gearbox Software pulled it off! For FPS fans this is a new genre for us. If you liked Diablo, or Guild Wars, this is very similar but with 87 Bazilion guns. Countless hours of fun. Way to go Gearbox.
  26. EricK
    Oct 23, 2009
    9
    As much as I wish to give the game a 10, it would be favoritism. The only legitimate detracting feature of this game are all , would be the interface could use some minor reworking, the handling on vehicles is a bit clunky, and an absence of a real story. These qualms will not, even in the least, deter anyone with a love for any of the following: Loot, shooting, leveling. Do not compare As much as I wish to give the game a 10, it would be favoritism. The only legitimate detracting feature of this game are all , would be the interface could use some minor reworking, the handling on vehicles is a bit clunky, and an absence of a real story. These qualms will not, even in the least, deter anyone with a love for any of the following: Loot, shooting, leveling. Do not compare this game to your favorite shooter, or RPG. It is truly a new and unique experience that everyone should try. Expand
  27. AndrewL
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Wow.. really, the game is just SO MUCH FUN. Some annoying characters aside, and the bit of a slow refresh rate at times, you'll fall in love with it very quickly. You find out very fast that in the open world, the number of guns is absurd, you're always replacing your weapon with ones noticably better, which gives you the feeling like you're constantly improving, which is Wow.. really, the game is just SO MUCH FUN. Some annoying characters aside, and the bit of a slow refresh rate at times, you'll fall in love with it very quickly. You find out very fast that in the open world, the number of guns is absurd, you're always replacing your weapon with ones noticably better, which gives you the feeling like you're constantly improving, which is what you want in an RPG. Also, the fact that damage pops up when you shoot lets you know if the weapon switch was such a great idea. You tend to pick up a LOT of things, it's only confusing in split-screen but even then the game seems to have a system of "finders keepers" where if player 2 uses a sniper, his kills or containers that he opens will provide him with sniper ammo. It's a very fun, crazy game and I can't help but feel that its been robbed with the score of 84, it deserves to be in the 90's for sure, it's got a very memorable single player mode, and the game experience doubles in fun with a person right next to you, to help you get through the harder bits in Co-op. Borderlands comes off as a copy of Fallout 3, and yet it manages to become everything that Fallout 3 wasn't, and I loved Fallout. Strongly suggest you get it, it'll make you popular mainly because of the co-op and replayability of the game (when you finish it, you start again with all your equips and stronger enemies). 10/10 game for sure. Expand
  28. MichaelS
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    This game is one in a million, not to mention the 87 Bazillions uns theat in habi the game. I think the gun DO NOT get old because the weapon types, Scopes, and AHHH!!!! this game is AWESOME.
  29. DaleC.
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Bland visuals? That reviewer must be playing on it a 1959 Philco. The game is huge fun with plenty of heart-pounding moments (don't get caught in the middle of raging spiderants with a weak gun). Admittedly, it does take a little while to get going, but once it does - and the incredible weapons and loot start pouring in - you won't want to stop.
  30. johnnys
    Oct 26, 2009
    9
    I've only leveled up to 13 but judging from my limited play, the game is gearbox's gift to gun-totting scavengers everywhere. Whether you prefer the frenetic firefights, the WoW type co-op teamwork, the Diablo like loot grinding or the deep character customization in terms of your weapons attributes, this title has a lot going for it. Chances are you'll forget about the I've only leveled up to 13 but judging from my limited play, the game is gearbox's gift to gun-totting scavengers everywhere. Whether you prefer the frenetic firefights, the WoW type co-op teamwork, the Diablo like loot grinding or the deep character customization in terms of your weapons attributes, this title has a lot going for it. Chances are you'll forget about the threadbare "story," the sometimes awkward controls especially driving a vehicle, or the annoying ADD loading screens. Once in game, it's more about gun porn than Black was on the PS2, and it delivers. A fun, addictive game that rewards your continued investment in it. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. 83
    Call it a first-person Diablo, an evolution of Resistance 2's co-op mode, Monster Hunter for the west, or a party game for FPS gamers. Call it the best example of the transformative power of multiplayer. Whatever you designate it, Borderlands is a decent single-player FPS/RPG that simply becomes great -- when playing with others.
  2. It's also one of those games that's so strong in parts that its shortcomings become almost glaring by comparison. As such, the game's barebones story, lackluster AI, and insufficient player trading options are real disappointments that prevent the game from reaching its full potential. But when you're frantically trying to stay alive while getting swarmed by an angry horde of gigantic spiderants, chances are you won't care much about that other stuff.
  3. 88
    It's something action role-playing game fans looking for an experience more up-close and brutal than genre entries of the third-person variety should have a blast with, and one of the more memorable products of 2009.