Brink PlayStation 3

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
Buy On
  1. May 12, 2011
    72
    If treading the waters and building up a solid roster of characters sounds appealing then Brink could be the alternative shooter you've been waiting for.
  2. Game Informer
    Jun 16, 2011
    68
    Brink is not a bad game. If Splash Damage can stabilize the performance and fix some glaring omissions (like a pre-game lobby) with a patch, I'd gladly spend more time with it. But with only eight multiplayer maps, 20 progression levels, no clan support, and average gunplay, it's not a good value proposition. Especially considering many Xbox Live games offer a similar amount of content for a fraction of the price. [July 2011, p.86]
  3. May 16, 2011
    70
    In the end, Brink is another of those games that we see every so often; the games that have incredible potential and truly unique ideas but fail in their implementation. This could have been a great game, it could've been a hit and it could've given shooter fans a reason to return to a genre that has lost much of its originality over the last handful of years. Unfortunately for us and for its developer, the keyword here is "could've", because there's little here that makes Brink the genre redefining game some of us hoped it would be.
  4. May 13, 2011
    60
    Loaded with shortcomings, not really generous in terms of content, Brink still remains an FPS with some really neat ideas, mostly in the way it promotes good teamplay. If you have several buddies with whom to share the experience, and take the time to organize your strategy, you won't be disappointed. But even so, the clear lack of polish, the not-so varied environments and average technical side prevent it from being an excellent FPS; it's only a good one.
  5. May 18, 2011
    60
    Brink feels like a breath of fresh air in the shooter genre, but turns out the victim of its own ambitions. That's mainly due to the large amount of potential that Brink holds, which is why it fails at other essential shooter-elements. Nothing's wrong with the way it plays and the class-system, but the lack of a decent amount of game-modes and maps, the below-average artificial intelligence and the constant network-delays, make it so that the qualities of Brink only show themselves very sporadically.
  6. May 10, 2011
    70
    We were promised a nice mix of everything from Battlefield and Borderlands to Mirror's Edge. And while we do get some of that, the Brink experience just doesn't feel smooth and after a few hours of playing, there isn't enough that will make you come back for more.
  7. May 16, 2011
    60
    On the lively and intriguing battlefields of Brink, technical deficiencies and design issues can be as deadly as enemy soldiers.
  8. May 10, 2011
    51
    With a few patches, it's certainly possible that Bethesda will clean up the network problems with the game and it will certainly be worth your time. As it stands right now, with laggy network performance and an abysmal single-player experience, this is a game that will push your patience to the brink. Take a pass, at least for now.
  9. May 16, 2011
    60
    Brink has heart, but the overall package is lacking.
  10. Jun 15, 2011
    65
    Potentially a great game, but most of that potential not realised.
  11. May 19, 2011
    70
    Brink tries to present many good ideas, but it falls short and, in the end, it's just the same gameplay mechanics we've seen many times. The SMART systems is not as dynamic as it should be; the game modes are all the same; the feeling, overall, is that we have a fun and interesting multiplayer game (even in its Campaign mode), but users are left without new emotions. Many customization options that, in the end, are nothing new.
  12. Play UK
    Jun 26, 2011
    67
    You can get a sense of the minute-to-minute gunplay being something special with the right group of friends. [Issue#206, p.87]
  13. 60
    To say that Brink is a bad game wouldn't be accurate, and instead it's a good game that falls short on delivering its full potential. Had it come with more maps, and a little bit more emphasis on the story to make gamers want to learn more about The Ark, it would have been a great class shooter. Straight out of the box it is just a decent one with bad A.I.
  14. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    May 27, 2011
    70
    It's a bit rough here and there but it can also deliver a lot of good times. If you have co-op on your mind, leveling up with mates has its moments but it quickly devolves into a frustrating group training mode. Single-player gamers? Jog on elsewhere. [July 2011 p.82]
  15. 70
    The parkour-style approach to this team-based shooter is not unique enough to overlook its lack of an authentic campaign, broken maps, and terrible A.I.
  16. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jul 1, 2011
    60
    Brink is essentially a mess of interesting ideas that fail to amount to anything larger. [Aug 2011, p.86]
  17. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jun 4, 2011
    73
    Sometimes thrilling online, but with only average gunplay and a duff story. [July 2011, p.82]
  18. May 17, 2011
    65
    But with a slew of little problems, a bunch of repetition, a campaign that isn't anything like a campaign (let's face it; this is a multiplayer game only), and lacking environmental variety, it's tough to recommend. There are other games out there.
  19. May 18, 2011
    63
    Brink's PR did everything to make people wonder just how the eight-versus-eight multiplayer-focused, story-based shooter would change the genre. The short answer lies in the clever tweaks it brings to the formula, whether it's your character's body type or the vast weapon customization options, all the way down to the teamwork needed to succeed. The SMART system feels more like a gimmick, and when it gets down to the actual shooting, it's nothing that we haven't seen before. Top that off with the issues it tries to parkour over, both off- and online, and Brink isn't so much of a revolution as it is a suggestion of where it wants to be.
  20. May 29, 2011
    70
    The hype around Brink was huge and the game doesn't live up to all of the expectations. The campaign is extremely short and so it's the online gameplay that saves this game from demise. With the right teammates you'll have a ton of fun online.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 72
  2. Negative: 19 out of 72
  1. May 10, 2011
    8
    So far, I've really been getting into this game. The customization is really deep and I could easily see spending hours changing my characterSo far, I've really been getting into this game. The customization is really deep and I could easily see spending hours changing my character to what I would like him to look like. The parkour elements are really smooth and give the FPS genre something it been lacking for a while. Something new that thinks outside of the box. Now onto the Single Player. This is my biggest gripe with the game. It didn't have a lot of focus to it and felt just a little thrown together. The game play itself though is, in my opinion, a different story. (No pun intended.) IT feels great and the abilities you get for a class help give the game some diversity. Players generally feel different from one another. Overall, I think this game is a solid buy, not the best out there, but what it brings to the table, from what I've seen, makes it a good game to play for months to come. Full Review »
  2. May 10, 2011
    9
    Brink is an interesting concept, and has solid fundamental gameplay, but it does have a few flaws. Let me first state that this is a review ofBrink is an interesting concept, and has solid fundamental gameplay, but it does have a few flaws. Let me first state that this is a review of Single player only. As of writing this review, the PSN is still down. So, lets touch on the first blemish; whoever said these bots were going to be like players, must have modeled them after the mentally impaired. The bots are clearly bugged. They have one strategy: bumrush everything. Even if their whole team going into that corridor has gotten them killed three times, they will try it again and again. Human players MUST win games for bot teams. Like many bots you may have previously encountered, these frequently stumble around as if in a daze, sometimes completely ignorant to your presence. This is especially annoying if they are a medic and you require healing, or laughable if they are an enemy. I assume these will be patched. Secondly, the story is a bit short, I assume there will be DLC extending it as is apparently the norm with modern video games. Third; there are some minor graphical issues, textures typically need a few seconds to load their normal rez models. Usually this is sorted at the start of a match, so it isn't too bad. Overall the graphics are rather nice, and the cartoonish-hybrid style works. Issue four; Defense maps are heavily slanted in the defender's favor. Engineers are able to almost instantly undo the work of soldiers and operatives that may have taken a minute or more. Defenders can instantly ship "flag" type packages back to their start location, rather than be required to carry them back. Its something more acceptable in a CTF setting, but not in a timed objective game like this. To have five minutes of fighting and running erased by five seconds of activating a flag-item, sending it to it's base is ridiculous. Issue Five: The weaponry does not really explain what it does very well. For example; you may pick out an assault rifle assuming it to be a fully automatic weapon, only to find in actual combat that it is a single shot or burst fire gun. SMGs tend to be extremely powerful in close range combat, which is the order of the day in brink. Assault rifles seem to fire much slower despite having a similar or identical "refire rate" stat bar. Honestly the gear just generally needs more in-game data for the player. The stat bars may as well not even exist when they just don't give you real information about the weapon. Additionally there is no easy way to compare two firearms. In all honesty I am probably being a bit harsh on this game, perhaps because of all the hype. It introduces some interesting features which future FPS games really should incorporate, and if only a few of my concerns were patched into acceptability I would give this a ten, and I am very stingy with my ten scores. Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2011
    8
    Sadly since the PSN has been down I've yet to try the online, so I'm not surprised to see the PS3 version get some crappy reviews. But fromSadly since the PSN has been down I've yet to try the online, so I'm not surprised to see the PS3 version get some crappy reviews. But from what I've played so far, it's pretty decent. The parkour ability to jump over anything is pretty cool and the character and gun customization is pretty cool. It's a shooter that should be standing out in the generic world of FPS's today, and I'm hoping it will be when the PSN comes back.â Full Review »