Brink PlayStation 3

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 168 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 168
  2. Negative: 55 out of 168
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    8
    Brink brings fast-paced Action to the Shooter market - very well. The things that Brink boasts the most (e.g. The Objective Wheel, Free-Running, Character Customisation etc.) really fade into the background and do not add too much to the actual game; however, Brink is a truckload of fun. Find a friend or two, and this game will bring you hours and hours of enjoyment - and then some.Brink brings fast-paced Action to the Shooter market - very well. The things that Brink boasts the most (e.g. The Objective Wheel, Free-Running, Character Customisation etc.) really fade into the background and do not add too much to the actual game; however, Brink is a truckload of fun. Find a friend or two, and this game will bring you hours and hours of enjoyment - and then some. However, three things really disappointed me about Bethesda's latest masterpiece: You can only play Campaign missions (no deathmatches/capture the flag/king of the hill etc.), the lack of objectives on The Objective Wheel, and the lack of importance/difference between each of the four classes. Expand
  2. May 10, 2011
    8
    So far, I've really been getting into this game. The customization is really deep and I could easily see spending hours changing my character to what I would like him to look like. The parkour elements are really smooth and give the FPS genre something it been lacking for a while. Something new that thinks outside of the box. Now onto the Single Player. This is my biggest gripe with theSo far, I've really been getting into this game. The customization is really deep and I could easily see spending hours changing my character to what I would like him to look like. The parkour elements are really smooth and give the FPS genre something it been lacking for a while. Something new that thinks outside of the box. Now onto the Single Player. This is my biggest gripe with the game. It didn't have a lot of focus to it and felt just a little thrown together. The game play itself though is, in my opinion, a different story. (No pun intended.) IT feels great and the abilities you get for a class help give the game some diversity. Players generally feel different from one another. Overall, I think this game is a solid buy, not the best out there, but what it brings to the table, from what I've seen, makes it a good game to play for months to come. Expand
  3. May 10, 2011
    8
    The brink I played was for the PS3, and I enjoyed it far more then the reviews seem to think of it. The SMART gameplay was smooth and well done while the customization was intense. The only reason why I'm not giving it a 9 or ten is because of the AI, it was unpolished but nonetheless was still playable.
  4. May 10, 2011
    9
    Brink is an interesting concept, and has solid fundamental gameplay, but it does have a few flaws. Let me first state that this is a review of Single player only. As of writing this review, the PSN is still down. So, lets touch on the first blemish; whoever said these bots were going to be like players, must have modeled them after the mentally impaired. The bots are clearly bugged. TheyBrink is an interesting concept, and has solid fundamental gameplay, but it does have a few flaws. Let me first state that this is a review of Single player only. As of writing this review, the PSN is still down. So, lets touch on the first blemish; whoever said these bots were going to be like players, must have modeled them after the mentally impaired. The bots are clearly bugged. They have one strategy: bumrush everything. Even if their whole team going into that corridor has gotten them killed three times, they will try it again and again. Human players MUST win games for bot teams. Like many bots you may have previously encountered, these frequently stumble around as if in a daze, sometimes completely ignorant to your presence. This is especially annoying if they are a medic and you require healing, or laughable if they are an enemy. I assume these will be patched. Secondly, the story is a bit short, I assume there will be DLC extending it as is apparently the norm with modern video games. Third; there are some minor graphical issues, textures typically need a few seconds to load their normal rez models. Usually this is sorted at the start of a match, so it isn't too bad. Overall the graphics are rather nice, and the cartoonish-hybrid style works. Issue four; Defense maps are heavily slanted in the defender's favor. Engineers are able to almost instantly undo the work of soldiers and operatives that may have taken a minute or more. Defenders can instantly ship "flag" type packages back to their start location, rather than be required to carry them back. Its something more acceptable in a CTF setting, but not in a timed objective game like this. To have five minutes of fighting and running erased by five seconds of activating a flag-item, sending it to it's base is ridiculous. Issue Five: The weaponry does not really explain what it does very well. For example; you may pick out an assault rifle assuming it to be a fully automatic weapon, only to find in actual combat that it is a single shot or burst fire gun. SMGs tend to be extremely powerful in close range combat, which is the order of the day in brink. Assault rifles seem to fire much slower despite having a similar or identical "refire rate" stat bar. Honestly the gear just generally needs more in-game data for the player. The stat bars may as well not even exist when they just don't give you real information about the weapon. Additionally there is no easy way to compare two firearms. In all honesty I am probably being a bit harsh on this game, perhaps because of all the hype. It introduces some interesting features which future FPS games really should incorporate, and if only a few of my concerns were patched into acceptability I would give this a ten, and I am very stingy with my ten scores. Expand
  5. May 10, 2011
    8
    Sadly since the PSN has been down I've yet to try the online, so I'm not surprised to see the PS3 version get some crappy reviews. But from what I've played so far, it's pretty decent. The parkour ability to jump over anything is pretty cool and the character and gun customization is pretty cool. It's a shooter that should be standing out in the generic world of FPS's today, and I'm hopingSadly since the PSN has been down I've yet to try the online, so I'm not surprised to see the PS3 version get some crappy reviews. But from what I've played so far, it's pretty decent. The parkour ability to jump over anything is pretty cool and the character and gun customization is pretty cool. It's a shooter that should be standing out in the generic world of FPS's today, and I'm hoping it will be when the PSN comes back.â Expand
  6. May 10, 2011
    8
    this is "undoubtedly" NOT the worst game ever made, contrary to those given to visceral bouts of hyperbole.
    -a bit glitchy? check. -screen tear? check. pining for a 1.04 patch? it'll come (and check).
    but show me a AAA title lately not plagued by these, if not more serious issues and i'll weld you a feather basket... the community, assuming PSN ever gets over it's current death-rattle,
    this is "undoubtedly" NOT the worst game ever made, contrary to those given to visceral bouts of hyperbole.
    -a bit glitchy? check. -screen tear? check. pining for a 1.04 patch? it'll come (and check).
    but show me a AAA title lately not plagued by these, if not more serious issues and i'll weld you a feather basket...
    the community, assuming PSN ever gets over it's current death-rattle, will likely decide the ultimate fate of this unique, admittedly-divisive and mad potentially-laden gem in the (subjective) rough.
    if you're after another CoD, BFBC, KZetc. clone, this may not be your cup-o-tea, sure. but if you like a lil' strategy/team-centric/FF Tactics-style evolution to your gameplay, then this just might surprise you.
    that's the best comparison i can make right now... feels like a true "shooter" w/ RPG elements that feel natural, not tacked on - and the art director deserves a "whatever" art directors receive in lieu of an Oscar.

    i'd give it an 8.
    you might want to give it a chance.

    (the significant disparity in review scores ought to be enough to get the right kind of folks wondering, imho.)
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2011
    8
    Brink is a good alternative if your looking for a shooter to pass the time til MW3 or BF3. The customization of the game is a very nice feature. I like the idea of the 3 body types and they feel realistic when using each of them. The guns could be better as they all seem to be relatively the same (at least the SMG and assualt rifles.) Teamwork is essential and the game shines whenBrink is a good alternative if your looking for a shooter to pass the time til MW3 or BF3. The customization of the game is a very nice feature. I like the idea of the 3 body types and they feel realistic when using each of them. The guns could be better as they all seem to be relatively the same (at least the SMG and assualt rifles.) Teamwork is essential and the game shines when playing with friends or teammates. The game does seem to get repetitive, but again, if you are playing with teammates, each game is a different experience. Overall I think it's visually pleasing, the character movements are fluid, multiplayer is fun, and the guns shoot. Good game to pass time with friends. Expand
  8. May 25, 2011
    8
    Brink, in my opinion, is a new and interesting twist on the standard run of the mill FPS. The SMART system is amazing and helpful, only a few times when first using it have i leaped onto an object i wasn't trying to go over. However, the SMART system is used very often in maps, leaving more obstacle cluttered maps to be desired. The Character Customization is fun, which a decent amount ofBrink, in my opinion, is a new and interesting twist on the standard run of the mill FPS. The SMART system is amazing and helpful, only a few times when first using it have i leaped onto an object i wasn't trying to go over. However, the SMART system is used very often in maps, leaving more obstacle cluttered maps to be desired. The Character Customization is fun, which a decent amount of items to be chosen from the begining, hopefully it will be expanded further in upcoming updates. The Single-player isn't bragable, but it does play like multiplayer giving new players a good idea of the up and coming. The campaign does come in Versus and Co-Op, giving players challenge or some help, depending on your situation. The AI is like most gaming AI, Clutter Rushers, coming at you in the group no matter how many corpses of their allies are strewn. The Storyline isn't deep, but is midly interesting. Guns are plenty, feel balanced, and most come unlocked, but dont come with much description. Grenades now fall under a "Supply Meter", which is used for various tasks(See Below). Grenades have limited radius and lower damage than most games, but do have a knockdown effect on the enemy. No single gun has been marked overly newbish or unfair as of now. There is also gun customization, allowing you to edit the Top Rail, bottom attachment, magazine attachment, and barrel attachments on most assault rifles, SMG's, and shotguns. Not as much on other guns though, but almost every gun has at least one option. As for graphics, they are pretty solid, and i always have all of my textures finish rezzing while playing. Next, Multiplayer, the claim to fame. Multiplayer feels solid, with the Customization, no two teamates look alike, making it feel like your have ALLIES, not uniformed husks who will always look the same. The SMART system lets you use the environment, not fight it. Guns are plentiful and balanced, grenades have been dumbed down to prevent spamming. The Supply Meter, which is used for Special abilites, and grenades, prevents spamming but does allow the player more than just one grenade per life. Grenades however, are on a cooldown feature in addition to using the supply meter. Abilities, most of which have to be unlocked through level then bought with level points, gained every level, are used here as well. Like the Engineer's Land Mines and turrets, the Soldier's special grenades, the Medic's healing, and the Operatives... whatever. The game also features a class system, however guns can be used on any class. The Soldier is the standard demolition man, carrying HE charges to destroy specified objectives, Molotovs and flashbangs to kill the enemy. The Engineer is used to repair and place turrets, place land mines, buff player's weapons, pass out kevlar vests, and to repair certain objectives. The Medic is a team doctor, also able to give out a Health Buff which increases the players life bar slightly, but goes away when the damage goes out. The Operative, is the least used and unbalanced of all the classes, with its only real benefit is its ability to disguise itself as another player. It's comm hack, which can show enemy players on the radar, isnt that helpful either. Map designs are good, and the objective type matches actually make players work together. Brink also does not tell players their K/D Ratio, which leads to a better experience as players work together to win, Not just kill. Map designs are good, but the lack of map leaves something to be desired. A level design option would make this an amazing game. Overall, Brink is a stand out shooter in the world of generic FPS, at least worthy of a try to you hardcore COD bastards. Its character customization, SMART System, and Class System leaves a worthwile gameplay, while lack of maps leaves something to be desired. Expand
  9. May 10, 2011
    10
    This is a very good game buy it I have over 150 games and this is very close to my perfect game up there with mgs4 bad company 2 and 007 night fire it should have a better story but it's more multiplayer than single player 9.4/10
  10. May 10, 2011
    9
    simply amazing parkour is amazing the story is not that much but it can lengthen the entire contents of weapon skills and equipment is amazing I just wish that PSN already set to start playing online us online ... a great masterpiece ...
  11. May 10, 2011
    10
    Although psn is down i have still had a amazing time on custization and singleplayer which is great although the singleplayer is a bit cheasy, but the actual gameplay is wicked!
  12. May 10, 2011
    10
    this game is amazing, once psn is back it will really come into its own. been reading the xbox reviews of online and not a bad word atm :D
    customisation is epic, the SMART button is awesome... one to watch here
  13. May 10, 2011
    10
    From the Minute I stepped into Brink and created my character, I knew I was playing something different than the oft mentioned Battlefield, Call of Duty and Halo. I was transported into an environment that was unique and extremely cool in a stylistic manner. I found the introduction of movement unhampered by canned animation refreshing and the reliance on tactics and skill a welcomeFrom the Minute I stepped into Brink and created my character, I knew I was playing something different than the oft mentioned Battlefield, Call of Duty and Halo. I was transported into an environment that was unique and extremely cool in a stylistic manner. I found the introduction of movement unhampered by canned animation refreshing and the reliance on tactics and skill a welcome relief. The objective basis of Brink brings a fresh dynamic that allows numerous strategies and direction. This game is not meant to be populated by one type of player, but is made for a diversity of needs and desires. This is where the game excels. It allows me to get my Secret Operative on, who gathers information and infiltrates the enemy lines or be the engineer, changing the flow of battle and the landscape. I can run and gun as a soldier or be the man that everyone wants in their corner, the medic. In addition, I loved the storyline and plot. The two sides of the coins are demonstrated well in the cutscenes. Even more depth is giving to the story by the actual environment and information picked up around the way. The bots were not great by any mean, but I am not playing for the bots, I am playing for the MINGLEPLAYER. The ability to run through the game with others and still complete the campaign. Occasionally running through the regular campaign and finding myself facing real players on the other factions makes the unpredictability increase 10 fold. I personally decided to forego the use of S.M.A.R.T. (Smooth movement across randomized terrain) and manually mantle and slide through the environments. The shock to the opposing faction when I come sliding through a staircase or piping system and kicking an opposing player is unparalleled. There is a constant tension about where someone can approach... from above? Below? Behind ME? MY TEAMMATE!!!!.... I absolutely love it. This game has met and exceeded my expectations with the ease of dropping in and out of games, creating FIRETEAMS when I want to play with my friends and providing me and atmosphere unlike anything I have played. Oh yeah, I love the sound system. You can literally tell what is occurring around the corner by the sounds.... footsteps and grenades and weapons all have distinct sounds that make playing superbly immersive. I could go on and on, but I think I will stop here. Expand
  14. May 11, 2011
    10
    Brink. When I first saw this game sometime last year, I didn't think much about it. Fast forward to January 2011, I couldn't wait for it. When I opened it and popped it in, I was not disappointed. Brink is a game unlike any other, mixing fast paced shooter action with team and objective based gameplay. The amount of guns is, while not too much, it isn't too small. You have your shooterBrink. When I first saw this game sometime last year, I didn't think much about it. Fast forward to January 2011, I couldn't wait for it. When I opened it and popped it in, I was not disappointed. Brink is a game unlike any other, mixing fast paced shooter action with team and objective based gameplay. The amount of guns is, while not too much, it isn't too small. You have your shooter basics: assault rifles, sub-machine guns, pistols, shotguns, rifles, and light machine guns. Joining the fray are: a heavy machine gun (The Chinzor), a minigun (The Gotlung), an auto shotgun (The Hjammerdeim), and an automatic grenade launcher (The E-Z Nade Launcher). These weapons, while restricted to the heavy body type, add the support role to the long list of things you can do to advance your team in combat. This game is not about kills. Just killing will get you no where. You need to work as a team, completing objectives. In one mission, you must escort a maintenance bot from the beginning to a bio-weapons lab in Container City. If the bot breaks down, engineers must go and repair it. This road is heavily guarded, so soldiers can set their objective to destroy a barricade that would provide an alternate flanking route to the bot. Medics are a necessity, as their ability to revive incapacitated team mates proves invaluable in a heavy firefight. Operatives can sneak behind enemy lines disguised as an enemy (similar to TF2's Spy) and hack enemy turrets to fire on them. If you don't do the objective, you lose. As the trailer says, this game is about movement. Move more than you shoot, and you have a greater chance of getting the objective done. In that same mission, instead of shooting the enemies firing at me, I sprinted for the bot to repair it, and I managed to take cover behind the bot and repair it at the same time, saving my ass while helping the team. Had I even tried to turn around and shoot, I would have been dead. Working as a team is the only way to win. Next, on to character and weapon customization. You don't start out with much, but by the time you are level twenty, the highest level, you will have everything. When Splash Damage says there are over one hundred and two QUADRILLION different characters that can be created, they tell no lie. There isn't even a fraction of that amount of people on Earth. Weapon customization isn't lacking either. There are hundreds of ways you can customize your gun with attachments that you are guaranteed to find a combination of guns and attachments you like. My personal favorite guns are the Rokstedi with Adjusted Iron Sights, Vertical Grip, Rapid Fire, and Dual Vent Muzzle Break, and the Sea Eagle with Adjusted Iron Sights, Up Vent Muzzle Break, Speed Sling, and Rapid Fire. Now, this game has it's flaws, but these are easily overlooked when you actually play the game just to have fun. SO, I recommend this game to anyone looking for a different kind of shooter. Thank you for your time. Expand
  15. May 14, 2011
    9
    I don't understand why there has been a lot of negative reviews about BRINK. To me, BRINK is fantastic. It is very unique and that perhaps may be the reason many people have been slating it. I think everyone is too used to playing call of duty and just don't get the new approach to an online FPS. If you liked star wars battlefront, you WILL like BRINK
  16. May 12, 2011
    9
    This game is not perfect, but finally something different than the "realistic" plethora of CoD shooters. If you are looking for a solid SP campaign, stay away, this game is meant to be played online and it's a lot of fun. Graphics are great (something different, mix between Borderlands, Bioshock and Fallout), Sound is awesome (great gun noise and footstep sounds), weapons have a nice feel,This game is not perfect, but finally something different than the "realistic" plethora of CoD shooters. If you are looking for a solid SP campaign, stay away, this game is meant to be played online and it's a lot of fun. Graphics are great (something different, mix between Borderlands, Bioshock and Fallout), Sound is awesome (great gun noise and footstep sounds), weapons have a nice feel, much content with many things to unlock. Graphics 9/10
    Gameplay 9/10
    Sound 9/10
    Story 5/10
    Longevity 8/10

    Overall 9/10

    Absolutely no fail game.
    Expand
  17. May 11, 2011
    8
    What is it? [TL:DR below]

    The bastard child of a 3-way between Killzone,COD and Bad company. [In that order] But it is own game and feels different enough from those titles. It's like in Killzone's style gameplay wise with the objectives, repairing, turrets,setting bombs etc. Its different in map style they aren't all doomy and gloomy looking. They
    What is it? [TL:DR below]

    The bastard child of a 3-way between Killzone,COD and Bad company. [In that order] But it is own game and feels different enough from those titles. It's like in Killzone's style gameplay wise with the objectives, repairing, turrets,setting bombs etc. Its different in map style they aren't all doomy and gloomy looking. They are prettier and are not so depressing. There is no invisible people like in Killzone The control is great, smooth and fluid like call of duty. But there is no team deathmatch or kill streaks. It is like Bad company in the sense you give your teammates ammo and revives, but the system is kind of better, because you throw ammo or revive syringes, and buffs to your teammates with a simple hit of the square button. You can also buff damage, health and give armor to teammates depending on your class. The classes are similar to bad company, but any class can carry any weapon*. You basically can also have two primary weapons if you wish. The classes are Solider: [assault]gives ammo, places charges medic: revives, buffs teammate health engineer: repairs objectives, mines[place and diffuse],Defuse charges, place turrets, buff teammate weapons operatives: Hack terminals, turrets, can disguise as fallen enemy or see disguised enemies, buff teammate armor. *Only heavy body characters can carry heavy weapons like Gatling guns.

    In Brink you make a custom character [Up to 10] Body type is most important part of it all. Light bodies move really quick, scale obstacles and climb, but have the least health. Medium move slower, can scale obstacles and climb and have more health. Heavy bodies cant scale or climb, move really slow, but can take a bunch of damage. There are many, many further customization options for the look of a character. There are a lot of cool weapon attachments and customizations, Drum mags, grips, muzzle breaks etc also. I haven't really unlocked them all. There are also 20 or so different perks and they are stackable. Perks and cosmetic options are unlocked through leveling up. Weapons and attachments are unlocked thru challenge scenarios, most of which are kind of easy.

    The level cap is at 20, but you make another character and can do it all again. You get XP for everything thing, even landing a round on and enemy gets you xp or just standing near and objective. Playing in the campaign, which really is just a series of multiplayer matches with bots and cut scenes gets you xp and you can level up. Multiplayer just gives you more xp. The online multiplayer is basically the missions from the campaign, extra scenarios and more customizable gameplay. You could play the campaign and have friends or people from the public join in earning xp the whole time. One thing i really like instead of hit markers you see the number of XP your getting from damaging an opponent.

    The one other distinguishing facet of brink is player movement. You can slide away from fire, under obstacles or easily move over small obstacles and climb up two different levels all with the L2 button. You can even jump and run along a wall very briefly to reach certain areas. There are many things different about Brink, it feels like a fresh shooting game and not more of the same. By playing the single player I have seen and felt what the multiplayer experience is like and its fun even with bots. They throw you ammo, and revive and will flank and bumrush you in a group. But playing with a team and communicating could be pretty cool with this game. If PSN network decides to ever come back up. The only downside i see is Brink is P2P like call of duty, so there could be intermittent lag, but it always a crap shoot online regardless. I have been looking for a second shooter to play for a while, The Medal of honors and Homefronts aside I can 90% say i am sure i have found one in Brink. Cant say for sure until PSN comes back if there are any problems with the game's online functionality. Graphics 85/100 The maps and the art-style of game are unique, but the graphics are not up to Killzone' standards. But the look is more pleasant

    Sound 95/100 Not quite as good as BC2, but better the COD. Gunfire sounds excellent. Weapons 80/100 sound great, punch hard and of are replicas of well known guns with different names, and a few original looking ones. Good variety, great customization options. DRUM MAGS SON!

    Maps: 70/100 great look and design, some room to maneuver. Fights occur at bottlenecks frequently but there always see
    Expand
  18. May 12, 2011
    8
    Its a decent game. The freerunning takes some getting used to but it makes for a pretty fun and challenging game. Some parts -like the single player- feel unpolished, and the AI is cannon fodder a lot of the times. It is however, exactly what I expected and I'm happy with this game.
  19. May 16, 2011
    9
    First off, this game is wonderful. When I first got the game I played all single player because PSN was down. I had a blast. The game mechanics are absolutely incredible, and the use of parkour is such an incredible thing to have in a FPS. It is something that I have always wanted in a game--the ability to climb that ledge or jump over that box that most FPS just won't let you do--theyFirst off, this game is wonderful. When I first got the game I played all single player because PSN was down. I had a blast. The game mechanics are absolutely incredible, and the use of parkour is such an incredible thing to have in a FPS. It is something that I have always wanted in a game--the ability to climb that ledge or jump over that box that most FPS just won't let you do--they were once impassable mountains and now they are just another obstacle to leap and bound over. The challenges is where I started--and they definitely help you to learn the mechanics and learn how to play with what the game is offered. This game is all about movement. Shooting is necessary, but it doesn't feel like the only thing in the game. I think this is my major heat with other FPS--you just shoot and it ends up getting old. Team oriented gameplay is what I look for in games. And I can't praise this game enough for making it a requirement to work as a team. You can not just run and gun in this game--there are no Rambos allowed in this game...you will be plowed over. You need your team to guard, complete objectives, buff your health, buff your guns, and buff just about anything to keep you alive and kicking to take out more enemies and give you sufficient time to hack/fix/bomb/guard your objectives. Its great fun. I give this game a 9 because I don't think many have given it a fair score. Yes, there are a few issues with the game...mainly Poor AI on your team...and great AI on the opposing team. Meaning your Bots suck while the opposing Bots are incredible. Also, there have been some lag issues while playing on line--but i blame this on my connection and PSN just coming back online--PSN is extremely busy right now with dishing out updates and a mass flood of people getting back online. But to be fair to SplashDamage...they have been very...no...EXTREMELY active in providing updates/feedback/patches/and information relating to online issues--which enthuses me--because I know they are in this game for the long haul. They want the game to be better--and they are addressing the issues that fans bring up. Not to mention they are providing a free DLC with new maps and new content in June.

    I would recommend this game to individuals that enjoy team based games. This is not just a run and gun Rambo game--its not about how many kills you get..or how many headshots...its about working together to complete the objectives---and using your XP to better your character skills and attributes--in order to help out in completing those objectives the best you can.

    Love the game.....Haters will be haters--and anyone that gives this game a 0 is over reacting---hell anything below a 6 is overreacting and just hoping to skew the review score.
    Expand
  20. May 12, 2011
    10
    This game is love it or hate it. It is very teamwork focused almost impossible to go lone wolf. There are few one hit kills or sniping. There is only one game mode (similar to rush from BC2) and Brink doesn't have "realistic" graphics. But if you don't care about these or can get past it Brink provides a very refreshing change to the standard FPS formula and is one hell of a ride.
  21. May 16, 2011
    10
    This game is great! Seriously why give it a 6.5 or a 73!? This game has a solid structure. Sure its frustrating sometimes but this game is great. Its the character progression and customization that makes it kick ass great.
  22. May 14, 2011
    10
    First off stop reviewing this game badly because there is no PSN at the moment, it's a great game that's fairly fast paced and a "thinking man's shooter". The way XP is given out encourages players to work as a team, and the modes are decent and the customisation is great. Definitely recommend this game and the wait for online is fine by me.
  23. May 18, 2011
    10
    Teamfortress 2 + Call of Duty 4 = Awesome

    Fun RPG character development and always on servers making this a great toy out of the box. That is of course if playstation ever goes online again.
  24. May 15, 2011
    9
    So after the reviews I almost decided not to get BRINK although I had pre-ordered it. Normally if it's a game I really don't know that much about or the developer I will hang back. The graphics reminded me of Borderlands (which I thoroughly enjoyed) so eventually I made my way to the store and got it. Honestly, I haven't been disappointed and I really wonder what people are looking atSo after the reviews I almost decided not to get BRINK although I had pre-ordered it. Normally if it's a game I really don't know that much about or the developer I will hang back. The graphics reminded me of Borderlands (which I thoroughly enjoyed) so eventually I made my way to the store and got it. Honestly, I haven't been disappointed and I really wonder what people are looking at in viewing this game. Yes, the single player is meaningful yet cheesy. I think it just primes you up for the multi-player experience. It is a team concept game even in single player and although your teams AI can be pretty bad it hasn't taken away from my fun. I usually like to do things on my own anyway, so if they don't get it the objectives, they can just back me up which they seem to do a good job of anyway. I personally think once PSN goes up, which it did for awhile today EVERYONE will have fun playing the multi-player. It's a fresh new concept, good gun play, great customization and it really does deserve a score better then 6.5. I am well versed in the FPS genre, having owned about every FPS out there. If you are just getting it for single player action, although fun, stay away. It's just a warm up to multi-player. Overall, good choice for me and something to relieve the boredom of COD in wait for BF3. Expand
  25. May 15, 2011
    10
    Great Game, resembles, Team fortress/Shadow Run the game is solid, and balanced. Challenges are very hard, Cant wait for psn to come back on so i can get online and try that out. all together a 9.5 very pleased with this purchase. If your looking for a game like Cod or battlefield walk away, if you don't mind trying something new pick it up and give it a spin.
  26. May 15, 2011
    10
    It is really sad that this game is getting so many bad reviews because PSN is down and because some of the lag issues on the other platforms, oh how it could have been so much better if splash damage had waited 2 more weeks to get it released. I really loved everything about it. The graphics are lovely, if you like borderlands style cartoony graphics and the parkour is great and could haveIt is really sad that this game is getting so many bad reviews because PSN is down and because some of the lag issues on the other platforms, oh how it could have been so much better if splash damage had waited 2 more weeks to get it released. I really loved everything about it. The graphics are lovely, if you like borderlands style cartoony graphics and the parkour is great and could have had a bigger role. The gameplay and teamplay are amazing if you can get good teammates and/or friends on your side. The story could have been a bit more engaging but I really liked it. It really is meant to be online based, so the fact that PSN is down kind off prevents you from appreciating the full game, anyways its a great game, and I would suggest buying it after PSN gos back online and the new DLC comes out Expand
  27. May 16, 2011
    10
    I was really hyped for this game. When I got my hand on it I was really disappointed and felt cheated.
    But after a few hours I got into the game and the gameplay became really fluid and very fun.
    It still has flaws but it will be patched amazing game if you play online. The story for me is enough to give a great mood for the whole.
    I love this game, just don't ragequit guys
  28. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    Most importantly, if you're looking to buy a game similar in graphics, gameplay, and over-epicness to the 'Call of Duty' spasm festivals, don't buy Brink. While criticized for its lack of story, Brink tells a (short as it indeed may be) powerful tale of the uprising of an oppressed people through cut-scenes specific to each level. The player has tons of freedom to create their ownMost importantly, if you're looking to buy a game similar in graphics, gameplay, and over-epicness to the 'Call of Duty' spasm festivals, don't buy Brink. While criticized for its lack of story, Brink tells a (short as it indeed may be) powerful tale of the uprising of an oppressed people through cut-scenes specific to each level. The player has tons of freedom to create their own player-character and weapons, and is given the choice between 4 classes: The Soldier, The Medic, The Operative, and The Engineer. While the class upgrade system might by some be viewed as somewhat restrictive, it does allow the player to make the choice between dedicating their character to one class, or to be a 'jack of all trades'. Also, it's possible to create multiple characters. Graphically, Brink is not the state of the art, but it is unique in it's own way, and while the parkour abilities may be somewhat gelatinous, the maps are indeed opened up to be traversed however the player can think to do so. Brink offers a fun and deep alternative to other heavily team-oriented games (such as Bad Company), and between this and Killzone 3 I expect to enjoy online FPS-ing until Battlefield 3 arrives at my doorstep. Expand
  29. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    Great game. Currently my shoot of choice to play. When I first got it, I put it down after a few hours. I almost gave up on it. It plays out a lot different than the current trend of shoots. There are no "one-hit-kills", there is no spawn camping, there is no sitting in a tower or bush with a sniper all day. You can't run in to a crowd of people by yourself and mow them down. You HAVE toGreat game. Currently my shoot of choice to play. When I first got it, I put it down after a few hours. I almost gave up on it. It plays out a lot different than the current trend of shoots. There are no "one-hit-kills", there is no spawn camping, there is no sitting in a tower or bush with a sniper all day. You can't run in to a crowd of people by yourself and mow them down. You HAVE to work with your team, whether that be bots or humans. With all the recent patches, the bots are awesome now. Online is almost LAG free (it's P2P so it depends on who's in the game). This game doesn't even keep track of your KDR or kill count (in game), but rather gives XP based on how well you fulfilled your role as whatever class you played as....which is a great twist to the shooter genre. Expand
  30. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    I dont Get Why People Rant on it. Its A really Good Break From traditional FPS Games Like CoD or Halo. But Overall ITs Not A Bad Game. The Parkour IS Really Usefull. Its Basicly Like A Improved Team Fortress 2 .
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jul 1, 2011
    60
    Brink is essentially a mess of interesting ideas that fail to amount to anything larger. [Aug 2011, p.86]
  2. Play UK
    Jun 26, 2011
    67
    You can get a sense of the minute-to-minute gunplay being something special with the right group of friends. [Issue#206, p.87]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 19, 2011
    80
    Get/bribe some mates and there's a great game here. [July 2011, p.92]