User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 147

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    6
    Fun at first. Humor is good but gameplay isn't as smooth. But get's really really repetitive. A lot off things I don't understand (what in the blue hell is a "mosh pitt"?). The tower defense is not very fun after a long while. But the worst thing: the later levels are very difficult and I was stuck on it for a long time.
    What kept me going was: the humor off it all and the beautiful
    Fun at first. Humor is good but gameplay isn't as smooth. But get's really really repetitive. A lot off things I don't understand (what in the blue hell is a "mosh pitt"?). The tower defense is not very fun after a long while. But the worst thing: the later levels are very difficult and I was stuck on it for a long time.
    What kept me going was: the humor off it all and the beautiful detailed world created here.
    Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    6
    Jack Black can't save this game. I found it mostly annoying both from a conceptual and gameplay standpoint. There was some cool graphics. Basic hack n slash with some extras. The music was metal, good or bad. Clearly overhyped.
  3. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    when i first saw this game in stores i just skipped right over it because i thought it was some knock off of guitar hero or something but after i was informed otherwise i decided to pick it up and i couldnt believe what i was playing. this game is no guitar hero game it is an action game mixed in with real time strategy. now i know that real time strategy games usually turn people rightwhen i first saw this game in stores i just skipped right over it because i thought it was some knock off of guitar hero or something but after i was informed otherwise i decided to pick it up and i couldnt believe what i was playing. this game is no guitar hero game it is an action game mixed in with real time strategy. now i know that real time strategy games usually turn people right off but this game is different because not only are you in control of your army but you can fight along side them as well and doing this is easy since the controls are nice and its easy to remember. this game's story is also mind blowing the actual story is great and kept me interested with amazing actors that you can tell are so into the game that it is more than a paycheque for them. the graphics arent the best around but they still do a good job of presenting the game and the game turns this into charm and makes the graphics feel right and normal. all of this in one package is a good game already but throw in the fact that the music is simply orgasmic i love heavy metal and these are all amzing and original songs not songs that the big names ripped off. all in all this game is amazing and should be experianced by everyone Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2014
    5
    It was a creative and funny game, i liked the soundtrack, the metal world, and the awesome performance shop. Graphics were OK too.

    I didn't like the combat system. It became so boring at the end, and irritating. I played that game for around 5 hours and i stopped because of boredom. I would love this game if it could be different battle system.
  5. Nov 18, 2010
    6
    A couple of years ago i bought psychonauts, a game made by Tim Shafer, and loved it. It was original, fun and unique. since Brutal legend was made by the same guy, i simply had to buy it. I was somewhat disappointed. the game isn't bad by all means, but it's just not that good either. the humor is really good and the characters are interesting but the story is short and the gameplay getsA couple of years ago i bought psychonauts, a game made by Tim Shafer, and loved it. It was original, fun and unique. since Brutal legend was made by the same guy, i simply had to buy it. I was somewhat disappointed. the game isn't bad by all means, but it's just not that good either. the humor is really good and the characters are interesting but the story is short and the gameplay gets boring quickly. the worst thing is that the game changes its own genre in the middle of the game, from a action adventure game to an rts. some gamers loved it but i did not. the rts elements are fairly basic so the game doesnt excel at anything. it tries to be some games mixed up but in my opinion doesnt succeed in doing so. it's a great tribute to metal and if you are a huge huge fan of metal you will love the game but if you are looking for a deep, unique and fun experience ,like usually found in Tim Shafer games, you might be disappointed. for me fun was really lacking in this game. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2012
    5
    I bought the game because I thought I had too little 'Hack and Slash' games in the house, and really loved the Metal genre back then. It's an 'enjoyable' game, but that's it. The story is horrible if you think about it (mostly because it doesn't make any sense, though that fits with the game overall). Graphics are good in harmony, but not up to date for a 2009 game. This game is based onI bought the game because I thought I had too little 'Hack and Slash' games in the house, and really loved the Metal genre back then. It's an 'enjoyable' game, but that's it. The story is horrible if you think about it (mostly because it doesn't make any sense, though that fits with the game overall). Graphics are good in harmony, but not up to date for a 2009 game. This game is based on sounds and music, but some of the sound effects have the bitrate equivalent to the heartbeat of a passed away elephant. It's noticeable they tried to make a 'fun' game but the humor in it is only funny if you're 13 years old or under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2010
    7
    It encapsulates the feeling and imagery of Heavy Metal with some lord of the ring aspects. It's just a shame the world is huge abut there isn't much to do.
  8. Jul 15, 2014
    4
    I feel genuinely bad giving this review, because this game did make me smile and was quite fun for the first few hours. Jack Black is quite funny, the theme of metal music is a good one for the setting and allows for humorous level design and characters; it really had potential... and then it fell apart.

    The world quickly started to seem slapdash once the game opens up and the shift in
    I feel genuinely bad giving this review, because this game did make me smile and was quite fun for the first few hours. Jack Black is quite funny, the theme of metal music is a good one for the setting and allows for humorous level design and characters; it really had potential... and then it fell apart.

    The world quickly started to seem slapdash once the game opens up and the shift in gameplay style is jarring and irritating. The combat, though sluggish at times, was serviceable and could have been used far more effectively, likewise for the driving sections of the game, but the strategy sections which start to dominated the game are simply terrible. With difficult control and limited visibility, this quickly begins to feel like a PC real time strategy game that you're forced to play with a controller and the camera settings of a third person action brawler game... and yes that's as bad as it sounds. It takes an otherwise interesting and amusing game and destroys the element of fun it started with.

    This game would have been far better if it was, as advertised, a game where you spend 6-8 hours playing as Jack Black; hitting the things from 80s heavy metal LP artwork with your guitar whilst cracking silly one-liners. For the first 2 hours, and intermittently after that, this is what you get; but the awful strategy game hidden in here make it a chore to play. If you see it for bargain bin prices, pick it up and play through the first few hours if you want something light-hearted and amusing, but don't expect to ever actually finish it... I know I couldn't.
    Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This game is the most awesome game EVER! The soundtrack is perfect, but it would be a lot better if ther was any led zeppelin song. As a piece of art, this game is a 10, but, technically it's not very good. There a **** bug issue.
  10. DannyC.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Got it last night, played through the first couple hours and have really enjoyed it so far. It's VERY funny and you can tell it's a Tim Schaffer (sp?) game. In case you don't know, this is the guy that did Monkey Island among other hits. Like I said, I'm diggin it so far. I don't have a problem with any of the game play mechanics, it seems to me that everything Got it last night, played through the first couple hours and have really enjoyed it so far. It's VERY funny and you can tell it's a Tim Schaffer (sp?) game. In case you don't know, this is the guy that did Monkey Island among other hits. Like I said, I'm diggin it so far. I don't have a problem with any of the game play mechanics, it seems to me that everything works fine as long as you use it correctly. All and all, I'm pleased with my purchase. Expand
  11. JakeK
    Oct 18, 2009
    8
    Not a metal fan here, but great fun and beautiful environments. Story has the feeling of an animated film and almost the graphics to match, a variety of missions, but the second half of the game passes incredibly quickly and adds little new to the game. Unless you're a fan of the multiplayer I'd say this is a great weekend rent, maybe a waste of buying though.
  12. dene
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Simply a legendary game. Soundtrack is unbelievable. Gameplay is awesome, the humour is great, even the story is awesome. Definitely the game of the year for me.
  13. JamesD
    Jan 9, 2010
    8
    Some might see Brutal Legend as a very innovative game and others will see it as a watered down collaboration of the sums of its parts. Brutal Legend is funny and over the top with some clever humour and a good story for those interested. The themes and level design and structure are breathtaking and gives a brilliant immersion into this vibrant world of Metal. It's such a shame Some might see Brutal Legend as a very innovative game and others will see it as a watered down collaboration of the sums of its parts. Brutal Legend is funny and over the top with some clever humour and a good story for those interested. The themes and level design and structure are breathtaking and gives a brilliant immersion into this vibrant world of Metal. It's such a shame though that most of its parts are watered down, the combat and missions are repetitive and there is little attension to upgrading fighting moves. Customisation is decent but the depth of it isn't so compelling. If you like Jack Blacks brand of comedy and music and if you are a fan boy of his, then this game will satisfy your needs. If not at least check it out but if you're the demanding type this might not be for you. Expand
  14. EvanB
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    This game is truly for metal fans. The cameos alone are worth a single play through, and the combination of guitar and axe attacks are very satisfying. It does suffer from repetitive side missions, but they are usually very short. The upgrade system keeps the player engaged and on the lookout for more "fire tributes" to pay for all the new stuff that flows out until the very end. A great This game is truly for metal fans. The cameos alone are worth a single play through, and the combination of guitar and axe attacks are very satisfying. It does suffer from repetitive side missions, but they are usually very short. The upgrade system keeps the player engaged and on the lookout for more "fire tributes" to pay for all the new stuff that flows out until the very end. A great experience for any fan. Expand
  15. BrandonL
    Oct 13, 2009
    8
    I've been waiting to get my greedy hands on this title since I first heard about it almost a year ago. Now that I have it, I feel that the anticipation and wait was more exciting then the game itself. Yes, Tim Schafer makes this game original and better then what it would have been if someone else would have made it; and yes, Jack Black does an amazing job as Eddy Riggs. It's I've been waiting to get my greedy hands on this title since I first heard about it almost a year ago. Now that I have it, I feel that the anticipation and wait was more exciting then the game itself. Yes, Tim Schafer makes this game original and better then what it would have been if someone else would have made it; and yes, Jack Black does an amazing job as Eddy Riggs. It's just, there's nothing making me wanting to come back to this game. Nothing wanting to pull me in. I doubt I'll ever enjoy the multiplayer much either, albeit it's hell bent with originality I've not seen for a while. Don't get me wrong, the game is good. It's just not $60 good. Expand
  16. ACKMINDSEYE
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    I loved this game but the tower defense RTS element is absolutely aggravating. Granted, I have always hated the micromanagement of RTS and TD games but this one just needs to be thrashed with broken guitar strings. Aside from these segments, I pressed on to discover the rest of what Tim Schaffer had to offer and I enjoyed it. PLEASE get rid of the RTS/TD elements for Brutal Legend 2! I I loved this game but the tower defense RTS element is absolutely aggravating. Granted, I have always hated the micromanagement of RTS and TD games but this one just needs to be thrashed with broken guitar strings. Aside from these segments, I pressed on to discover the rest of what Tim Schaffer had to offer and I enjoyed it. PLEASE get rid of the RTS/TD elements for Brutal Legend 2! I don't know if I can survive a second game with so much fun and such irritating parts! Expand
  17. MatthewC.
    Oct 14, 2009
    8
    There were some graphical issues and sometimes the game throws you into a situation without any idea what the hell your supposed to do. With that said I thought the rest of the game was pretty solid. The environment and music really set the scene and make you feel like your in the world or rock. The voice work is pretty good and the script is awesome. The game does what it set out to do, There were some graphical issues and sometimes the game throws you into a situation without any idea what the hell your supposed to do. With that said I thought the rest of the game was pretty solid. The environment and music really set the scene and make you feel like your in the world or rock. The voice work is pretty good and the script is awesome. The game does what it set out to do, melt your face and make you laugh. I suppose that the only thing else worth mentioning was how frighteningly plastic the two lead females faces were. They always looked suprised. I think Double Fine did an excellent job and I can't wait till their next adventure. Expand
  18. Chris
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    Actually 2 scores. Multi-player 10. Single player 8 (probably 8+, but not a 9) Excellent game, but needs some tweaking up. Dunno what Tim is talking about, but this game definitely is enough of an RTS to qualify for the phrase. Yes you can hack n' slash during it, but heroes in WC3 didn't suddenly make it an "action" game. I wish they actually would balls up and say it's an Actually 2 scores. Multi-player 10. Single player 8 (probably 8+, but not a 9) Excellent game, but needs some tweaking up. Dunno what Tim is talking about, but this game definitely is enough of an RTS to qualify for the phrase. Yes you can hack n' slash during it, but heroes in WC3 didn't suddenly make it an "action" game. I wish they actually would balls up and say it's an RTS game, because it's probably the most brilliantly done RTS game on a console ever. It controls well, once you get past how many buttons their are too it. It's probably one of the most pure joy Action/RTS experiences I've had on console. As far as single player goes. Side mission variety is a bit lacking (but overall still fun). Lack of jump is missed, but not for gameplay reasons (jumping is just fun in this sort of game). And I wish it was more hack n' slash. The single player stuff was great, the RTS stuff isn't bad, but I was looking for a different experience for single player (as far as the main campaign goes). Good game. Expand
  19. StevenA
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    A very different kind of game. A game that takes time getting used to. A somewhat slow beginning that is linear and moves into a non-linear, open-world game with tons of unlockables and minor issues of repetativity. Brutal Legend is labeled under the action-adventure genre, while it also contains strategy elements, a few RPG elements and driving, as well. It's a mixed bag that works A very different kind of game. A game that takes time getting used to. A somewhat slow beginning that is linear and moves into a non-linear, open-world game with tons of unlockables and minor issues of repetativity. Brutal Legend is labeled under the action-adventure genre, while it also contains strategy elements, a few RPG elements and driving, as well. It's a mixed bag that works out really well. The graphics aren't too advanced, but the environments are incredible and the character animations are interesting and entertaining. Few minor graphical issues forgiven. The music in this game is absolutely godlike and the voice acting and story is top-notch. I will admit: for an open-world adventure game, the main story is short. It's no Legend of Zelda, but Brutal Legend holds it's own, because it's fun and unique. The multiplayer isn't excellent but it's better than "OK". It's good. To soem extent, it's challenging and PS3 trophies are fun to collect. To make worth of your money, play the game a second time with a friend. It's much more fun, that way. Glad to have a fun adventure game for my PS3. I would give this game a 8.5/10. But I'll be generous and give this game a 9/10. Expand
  20. [Anonymous]
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Excellent immersion into a heavy metal world, it's just as if you were inside a classic metal album. Don't worry about the gameplay, this game is for fans of the music.
  21. brada
    Oct 28, 2009
    7
    Great game, funny as all get up. The problems are the game is VERY short and the multiplayer is very lacking....still though, this game is a definite game to pick up and play for a few days. This is an excellent rental game....a purchase may be quite too much. I beat it, played some multi player, and will probably never pick it up again.
  22. GoergeB.
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Great game. It didn't have any bad songs. The main story could have been a little longer since you don't see all the third factions troops before finishing and heading to multiplayer.
  23. danm
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    this is truly a metal master piece game great soundtrack great story great game youll love this game!
  24. MarkW
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    I almost let this one pass me by...I thought it was some sort of Guitar Hero game...luckily I figured it out. It's one of the most mind blowing games I've ever played. The second I saw Lemmy, I knew I was in for a ride. It featured some of the original bands that Metalica stole from. My heart skipped a beat as I was flipping through song selections (during a high speed chase) I almost let this one pass me by...I thought it was some sort of Guitar Hero game...luckily I figured it out. It's one of the most mind blowing games I've ever played. The second I saw Lemmy, I knew I was in for a ride. It featured some of the original bands that Metalica stole from. My heart skipped a beat as I was flipping through song selections (during a high speed chase) and found Budgie's "Breadfan". The game has over 100 songs and not one of them from a "sellout" group. The story is epic and sublime...not spoon fed like so many others. A couple of the cut scenes sent shivers up my spine while others made me trip out a little. You'll want an HDTV and a cranked up surround sound to truly get the full effect of this wonderful game. Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. 90
    Brutal Legend is a tour de force that wraps up humor, music, and clever gameplay into one highly polished package. You haven't played a game quite like this before and won't want to miss it.
  2. 93
    Charming and clever in equal portions, Brütal Legend is a classic example of cohesive game design...In an age of ever-increasing monotony and creative stagnation, a game like Brütal Legend is brash, proud, subversive and triumphant - and it deserves to succeed. Get on board, crank it up and make it so. Two horns up.
  3. There are very, very few games which truly make me sit back and go “wow”. Among the slew of games that I’ve reviewed this year, there are only a couple that I really enjoyed playing, and continue to do so. Brutal Legend is one such game – even though I aced my Public Speaking and English Literature classes, words only slur together when I try to describe this game. Truth be told, I only heard about the game in the last month or so, but after spending a good amount of time with it, I was transformed from a mere gamer into a rocking, die-hard fan.