Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    100
    Forget your preconceptions of Bulletstorm as a foul-mouthed big dumb action game. It's an intelligent, nuanced design with fathoms of depth, which marks a return to the importance of player creativity in shooters and simultaneously evolves the concept of interactivity in an FPS world. And with two cleverly complimentary secondary modes, it will have serious legs for a good long while to come.
  2. Feb 22, 2011
    95
    An incredibly welcome breath of fresh air. Never underestimate the simple need to let loose and cause some mayhem, and the skill shot system is exceptionally done.
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    93
    An exceptional shooter brimming with personality and originality, but the concept is spread too thin in the later levels. New homicidal toys are constantly introduced in the first three-quarters of the game, which makes the final few hours a little stale. Mix in a ho-hum ending and the stellar experience goes out on a bit of a low note.
  4. Feb 27, 2011
    92
    At first, Bulletstorm didn't immediately give me the wow factor but as I played, this game just got better and better.
  5. Mar 13, 2011
    91
    Brash, unique and fun - refreshes old-school values to shame most modern shooters. [Apr 2011, p.80]
  6. A playground of destruction like nothing else you can buy. [Apr 2011, p.108]
  7. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    With Bulletstorm we're talking about a shooter that makes fun of its own genre, and games as a whole. At the same time, it's extremely funny to play. That combo is just priceless.
  8. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    It's a very fresh FPS in a genre that feels more stale every year. It's certainly one of the better new IPs that I've seen this year, and I'm very curious to see what People Can Fly do with the sequel.
  9. 90
    A creative and invigorating shooter that excels in expletives, over-the-top action and gratifying kills.
  10. Feb 25, 2011
    90
    Thanks to its addictive gameplay, compelling mechanincs and over the top narrative, Bulletstorm represents a breath of fresh air for any FPS fan out there. The Duke has finally found a worthy rival. Gearbox is warned!
  11. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    Behind the f-bombs and dick-t.ts are some incredibly mature and well thought out mechanics. Not only does the Skillshot system invite a completely new approach to shooting in single-player, it uses scores and leaderboards to inspire competition in a completely different vein to the amalgamate of contemporary shooters.
  12. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    This is a game that wants you to laugh so hard that you sneeze on yourself, but it's also a game that wants you to experiment as much as possible with the tools you've been given. Its cleverness is as lightly worn as it is unexpected. It's the best kind of guilty pleasure.
  13. Mar 7, 2011
    88
    As a sequel to Painkiller, spiritual or otherwise, Bulletstorm is a disappointment. The best way to approach it, if you played Painkiller, is to forget there's a link between the two games at all. Instead, take Bulletstorm for what it is: a ridiculous arcade-ish FPS with a goofy sense of humor and a talent for amazing action sequences.
  14. Feb 28, 2011
    88
    Bulletstorm manages to make itself relevant by spending the right amount of time on character development while balancing the adult nature of the content with gameplay and presentation that are likely to have staying power.
  15. Feb 22, 2011
    88
    It's a lot of fun and fast as hell, at least in the first half. The pace sometimes slows down as you get to the end, and the Skillshot system dowsn't work smoothly all the way through. It's still an original and funny take on first person shooting: it won't last too long, but you'll enjoy a lot out of it.
  16. Mar 27, 2011
    87
    Bulletstorm is the NFL Blitz of first-person shooters.
  17. Mar 2, 2011
    87
    While Bulletstorm isn't going to bring the FPS genre to its knees, it is a game that tries to stand out from the mundane, and to a certain extent it achieves just that.
  18. Mar 1, 2011
    87
    Differentiating from your everyday shooter, Bulletstorm is more "action thrill-ride" with an emphasis on stylized killing, edgy dialog and extreme set pieces, a change of pace from the overly dramatized shooters that usually dominate the top of the charts.
  19. Mar 21, 2011
    86
    An inventive FPS with a sense of humour. [Issue#203, p.76]
  20. Feb 28, 2011
    86
    Bulletstorm is an adult game that takes the principles behind Geometry Wars and sets it in a First Person Shooter shell. With a market saturated with thought-inducing fodder like the Mass Effect franchise and Red Dead Redemption, sometimes a thumping whip into a Flyswatter is exactly what the doctor ordered.
  21. Feb 24, 2011
    86
    It might not have Gears of War's deep budget or high level of polish, but it more than makes up for it by giving you a bunch of locations and missions you haven't yet experienced and won't soon forget.
  22. May 24, 2011
    85
    Bulletstorm is not only offering a lot of enemies to shoot. We did not expect such good character development and such an entertaining story.
  23. Mar 21, 2011
    85
    So the "kill with skill" gameplay and the hilarious, raunchy dialogue more than make up for the game's shortcomings, and a murdery good time for mature gamers can be had without devoting eighty hours of your life.
  24. Mar 10, 2011
    85
    It's a game everyone should experience.
  25. Mar 1, 2011
    85
    It felt like a delicious goulash of past shooters like Duke Nukem, Unreal Tournament, Serious Sam and Borderlands. But I still found myself laughing shamefully, cringing sympathetically and then replaying levels over and over to unlock a new kill achievement or just to let off some steam. It's the best kind of guilty pleasure.
  26. Mar 1, 2011
    85
    It is not the game of the year, but it is a very welcomed blast of fresh air for the first-person shooter genre, and also a very charming game with its own personality.
  27. Feb 28, 2011
    85
    Bulletstorm turns out to be a great game. There are still some minor griefs, but it's nothing too serious. The skillshot system is a real pleasure and you'll be using it for a long time without getting bored. Bulletstorm demonstrates pefectly that shooters these days can be about just having fun.
  28. Feb 27, 2011
    85
    It's hard to describe what it is that makes Bulletstorm that special. Featuring a great storyline, 15 hours of gameplay, cool optics and a pretty rough sense of humor, even non-shooter players could be convinced by this one. Unfortunately, the handling deserves better than the status quo, especially when you're in a hurry.
  29. Feb 24, 2011
    84
    Bulletstorm is a game that achieves a unique feel despite being pieced together from other shooters. May be not a AAA stunner, but People Can Fly has proven themselves as a developer to follow.
  30. Mar 2, 2011
    83
    Bulletstorm, in short, looks good, plays great, and is fun as f**k to play. So put that in your pipe and smoke it Call of Duty fans...I come from the old school, and my friends of frag fest...this game is old school with a new coat of paint.
  31. Feb 25, 2011
    83
    The online multiplayer can be crazy fun and retribution has never been so satisfying. It's not technically perfect but then again, nothing about this game is "technically perfect." It looks good, though, and certain parts look great.
  32. Mar 14, 2011
    82
    Go in expecting a puerile romp in much the same way you would going to a summer movie and you'll most likely finding yourself having a good time.
  33. Feb 28, 2011
    82
    Bulletstorm is a game that is most of all very funny with weird possibilities to kill the enemies and to use the environment to kill the opponents. There are also unique and funny weapons and the humor is pretty cool. The only sad part of this game is the playable length of this game. The singleplayer is around six hours and the multiplayer is a bit too limited.
  34. Feb 24, 2011
    82
    Bulletstorm is probably the most politically incorrect game of all time ... and to me, that's a good thing! Its humour will certainly not be to everybody's liking, but I totally recommend it to every single shooter fan out there that wants to try something new.
  35. Epic Games' new first-person shooter franchise packs so much tongue-in-cheek machismo and comically exaggerated action we're going to run out of ways to say "over the top." [April 2011, p.76]
  36. 80
    Bulletstorm promised fun and fulfilled that in an exemplary manner.
  37. Mar 8, 2011
    80
    With that being said, it's extremely difficult to complain too much about a game that is as pumped-up, gratifying and shameless as this and that features a skillshot-system with the potential to launch an entire franchise.
  38. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    There's no doubt that Bulletstorm delivers a solid ten hours of fresh, bloody fun, but any more time spent with Grayson and crew seems a confused antithesis of modern first-person shooters.
  39. Mar 1, 2011
    80
    If you can handle the pubertal humour and crappy dialogue and like the idea of a gory FPS with points for nice kills - this might be something for you.
  40. Mar 1, 2011
    80
    Bulletstorm is rude, exaggerated and even a bit stupid. And we love it. In a genre where everybody tries to be like Call of Duty, People Can Fly not only has tried to do something different, but succeeded in it.
  41. Feb 28, 2011
    80
    Relaxed and unpretentious ultra-violence, with addictive killshots and a color scheme like a tropical drink.
  42. Feb 24, 2011
    80
    It seems almost impossible to not have a special place in your heart for Bulletstorm. People Can Fly could have spent more energy in creating a more substantial multiplayer, but the singleplayer and Echoes-mode make up for a lot, if not all of it. The unique gameplay, ballsy humour and colourful environments make us take our minor griefs with the game for granted.
  43. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    After being really down on Bulletstorm for the first couple of hours, I was pleasantly shocked to see how well it started coming together once I started getting better at using the different weapons and once the story started moving at a faster pace.
  44. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    Multiplayer failings notwithstanding, Bulletstorm shines as a single-player shooter. Despite its crass humor and wang-flinging bravado, it's got some real character and heart to it.
  45. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    Unspectacular online play, an abundance of shooter cliches, and forced vulgarity keep it from joining the shooter elite. But the creativity of the skillshot system paired with the engrossing nature of moving up the Echoes leaderboards gives Bulletstorm some muscle and will inspire a dedicated following of talented players eager to show off their incredible mastery of its gratifying mechanics.
  46. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Bulletstorm is a solid shooter that turns back the dial about 15 years - to a time when ultraviolence, arcadey gameplay and outrageous scenarios were the staples of a shooter. But it still manages to feel fresh and on par with the higher quality shooters we've seen emerge since 1995, and kicks it up with a brilliant scoring system that keeps the gameplay varied.
  47. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Bulletstorm kerb-stomps the dominant FPS orthodoxy, replacing tired old conventions with fresh new mechanics. Its gorgeous sci-fi aesthetic and fluid ultraviolent action make the game almost as fun to watch as it is to play and, although it lacks adversarial deathmatches, Bulletstorm's Echoes and Anarchy modes significantly extend its appeal.
  48. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    Does Bulletstorm revolutionize the FPS? Clearly not! Nevertheless, it adds a personal touch to the genre by making a real scroring game like in the old times. All of this in an adventure which is not perfect, but refreshing and fun at once... and the game system is really excellent. Frankly, if you like the genre, do not hesitate to make yourself happy!
  49. Feb 22, 2011
    80
    In the end, that's what'll keep you playing, trying to discover the hidden death-dealing methods, like throwing a group of enemies up into the air and using the flare gun to set them all on fire. That's a freebie, use the knowledge wisely.
  50. 80
    Bulletstorm is every action fan's wet dream. It has excellent playability, grand visuals and many hours of entertainment. The story is a bit average, and the violence and gore may be a little too much at times, but the game makes up for it with great gameplay, and the skillshot system will keep us coming back to perfect our scores.
  51. Mar 2, 2011
    75
    The campaign is really where the bulk of the entertainment is to be had, despite the astonishing omission of any kind of co-operative play. It's just a shame the writers felt as if they needed to try to impress the audience with such B-grade subject matter.
  52. Feb 23, 2011
    75
    Sadly, Bulletstorm's multiplayer features make it a mixed bag, but there is a solid and enjoyable single-player campaign mode in there.
  53. The biggest problem Bulletstorm has is that it's at odds with itself. It wants you to have a blast killing imaginatively, but gives you limited ammunition, uses cheap tactics and saves the best toys until way too late in the game. It wants you to revel in the wonderfully hackneyed story, but then suddenly gets all touchy feely, serious and humourless for no reason. [May 2011 p.75]
  54. Feb 22, 2011
    70
    Bulletstorm is the world's longest dick joke...Despite the fact that it boots you out to loading screens every time you finish a segment or die, it's a polished-enough piece of work. The point system incentivizes you to play the game using all the tools at your disposal...It's just a shame the developers couldn't stop thinking about reproductive anatomy.
  55. Feb 22, 2011
    67
    A game unsure of what it wants to achieve. When it lets itself, it's a fantastic adrenaline rush through well-constructed set-pieces and gloriously fun-to-watch violence. But it too often drags itself down with overly structured situations and restrictive, strategy-heavy gameplay.
  56. Mar 8, 2011
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  57. Mar 16, 2011
    58
    An otherwise thoroughly enjoyable experience is riddled with technical problems and hiccups throughout a majority of the single player campaign. Thankfully, you will only be spending a couple of hours in that made; the other modes provide great spurts of intense and enjoyable gameplay with a new gameplay mechanic that is a whole lot of fun.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 77
  2. Negative: 6 out of 77
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    6
    I am having mixed feeling about this game. It seems like a great idea but in my opinion it lacks game play and gets old very fast. i wouldI am having mixed feeling about this game. It seems like a great idea but in my opinion it lacks game play and gets old very fast. i would recommend this game to someone who is just looking for pure fun. This just was not a game for me. Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    7
    ill start off with the negitive on this game. first off this game is pretty damn buggy and glitched up both online and off. in the story modeill start off with the negitive on this game. first off this game is pretty damn buggy and glitched up both online and off. in the story mode the biggest 2 ive had issues with is one the ammo . when you go and in resupply your ammo and upgrade ive had the issue in almost the entire second half of the game where all my ammo would be reset to 0 and my power shots so id have to buy them all over again . another one is when starting a new chapter my guns wouldnt fire and grey's arms and gun would be all goofy on the screen . also ive had a few times of getting stuck into the floor and having to restart my game . obvously theese things can and will most likely be patch some time this year but still playing half the game stuck in that ammo glitch sours my experiance with this game . also online the special kills are very glitched and will not register. that out of the way the rest of this game is very fun . the special kills are great and alot of fun to pull off . the wepons are pretty cool and the story is actaully pretty decent . very suprising Epic manage to tell a story decently looking at Gears of war which was a very intresting concept for a story but told extremely half assed . the game has some amazing cinematics the enviroments are nice and change up very smoothly never making me feel bored of what i was looking at . the games about 7-8 hours long which is pretty typical for FPS games . the online horde mode style game mode is ok but im already gettin bored of it after just a few days of playing it . i cant play the full online since i only rented it and you have to enter a stupid code to play it and since i wanted to rent it to test the online mode to see if it was any good before i did . i will not be buying it . its worth atleast a rental but i would not really recoment buying it till theres a price drop and its been patched and with epic that patching process will most likely be slooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow. Full Review »
  3. Apr 8, 2011
    6
    Not a bad little game, fairly far from perfect, but not at all bad, or unenjoyable. The biggest problems here are: 1) The novelty ofNot a bad little game, fairly far from perfect, but not at all bad, or unenjoyable. The biggest problems here are: 1) The novelty of creatively killing enemies eventually wears off and reveals itself to be the clever gimmick we always suspected it was. Most people's reviews, and enjoyment of this game, will likely be directly related to how long it takes for this process to happen. 2) The humour is really poor. At times feeling as if the authors lacked a sense of one! It's as if they were so desperate to be considered funny that they succumbed to forcefully cramming the word "dick" into as many conversations as possible, and contrary to what most contemporary comedic films would have you believe, this DOES NOT neccesarily equal funny dialogue. There's quite a sophisticated craft to selling a quality dick joke... and this game has maybe (MAYBE) 1 or 2 instances where it even comes close to that level. Overall, however, I genuinely enjoyed this game for several hours... right up until the repitition tired me out. Still, enjoying 5-6 of the games 8 hours is worthy of at least a rental, if not an outright purchase. Full Review »