Call of Duty 3 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty 3 delivers the intensity of being closer than ever to the fury of combat during the battle for the Liberation of Paris, the most harrowing campaign of WWII, known as The Normandy Breakout. Through a seamless narrative, Call of Duty 3 delivers the rush of unrelenting battle andCall of Duty 3 delivers the intensity of being closer than ever to the fury of combat during the battle for the Liberation of Paris, the most harrowing campaign of WWII, known as The Normandy Breakout. Through a seamless narrative, Call of Duty 3 delivers the rush of unrelenting battle and breathtaking action of the Allied offensive that changed the fate of the world. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. The PS3 version of the game is just as impressive as the Xbox 360 version and while it doesn’t have split-screen multiplayer, it makes up for this with the Sixaxis functionality.
  2. If you own both an Xbox 360 and a PS3, choosing which version of this accomplished WWII shooter to buy comes down to how much you like or dislike the motion-sensing elements.
  3. Engrossing, frantic and exciting.
  4. The 360 version flat out stomps the PS3 this time.
  5. The PS3 version suffers, however. The outstanding visuals shine, but the frame rate has a tendency to jump around.
  6. Terrific multiplayer fun. [Feb 2007]
  7. 60
    While it lacks the polish we’ve come to expect from original developer Infinity Ward, it’s still a fun, if dangerously familiar campaign through 1940’s Europe. It’s just doesn’t offer anything unique or new to the genre.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. JamesP.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    This has to be one of the best games i have ever played in my life. i think combined with the graphics the ps3 can withstand it is the BEST.
  2. ChrisF.
    Apr 21, 2007
    10
    This game is superb, buy it
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    8
    As my all time favourite CoD being World at War, i bought call of duty 3. this game could be completed in about 8 hours. But it's just aAs my all time favourite CoD being World at War, i bought call of duty 3. this game could be completed in about 8 hours. But it's just a really nice shooter, it is a lot like the other CoDs, but call of duty is a great franchise. Multiplayer was good too. Overall, this is your typical first person shooter, buta really good one. in case you haven't noticed, i LOVE shooters. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    The best COD ever. Although it may seem repetitive this genre is not boring. The PS3 version is more dynamic according to the control, unlikeThe best COD ever. Although it may seem repetitive this genre is not boring. The PS3 version is more dynamic according to the control, unlike the PS2 has higher quality graphics, but the trouble is the online mode because the servers are somewhat decayed Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2015
    7
    One of the first PS3 games, and somehow a little disappointment after playing Call Of Duty, the graphics were very nice at the time, with anOne of the first PS3 games, and somehow a little disappointment after playing Call Of Duty, the graphics were very nice at the time, with an honest 8-10 hours lenght campaign and I should congratulate Treyarch for the implementation of the Sixaxis options (that became pretty useless in the future).
    The game itself is pretty good, a classic WW2 FPS, but when compared to the previous episode, there are some obvious defaults to this third installment : the first one is the sound, how in hell did we passed from the near perfection in 2, to this plastic guns sound we have in 3, and to top it off, actors (in the french version at least, and given that this is one of the few games where you can't have the english voices if you didn't bought your game in a English speaking country I'll count it in my mark) are horribles not helped by very "cliche" dialogues that tried to copy "Saving Private Ryan" without an ounce of talent.

    The other biggest issue I have is concerning the level design, and the fake difficulty of the infinite respawn (at least 2 by levels), an old trick to the lazy developer, so yeah that gives some challenge, but that's purely unfair, you can kill 20 nazy in the same spot there will always be another to come like if Adolf was cloning them.... Simply lazy.

    And for that Call of Duty 3 comes as one of the worst installment in the franchise, in my opinion (alongside with Big Red One and Ghosts), if you want some WW2 COD, you'd better go with the number 2 or World At War.
    Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2012
    6
    My review for this somewhat disappeared so i'm going to have to re-write it. Call of Duty 3 is the game before the game which shaped theMy review for this somewhat disappeared so i'm going to have to re-write it. Call of Duty 3 is the game before the game which shaped the following games in the Call of Duty series, the squeal to that game which will then make the future of Call of Duty games and the multiplayer in every multiplayer game ever from then on, also making the series from then on being one of the most hated upon and most bought game series ever. Holy poop that's confusing huh? In simple form, this was a forgotten part of the series. Its the game which led to Modern Warfare, one of the biggest game changers in the series. This game however is a singleplayer based game(shows how the series has changed ay!?), which is great. It feels very capable of capturing the mood of WWII, which is good. You feel tense as you walk down a trench feeling that you could be shot at any moment, this is brilliant and really captures the game. You can see its a CoD game and it plays fairly well. The multiplayer is crap. Mind you its CoD at its routes which is very nice to see. Has lots of graphical flaws though which sometimes takeaway from the mood. E.g. you're supposed to be in a tense situation and a team mate runs into a tank which should kill them but ignores them to shoot near you despite the fact your in cover. The game plays well and is perfect for CoD fans who want a difference. Expand
  7. AAAA
    Nov 18, 2006
    0
    I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me I was a huge fan of RRT 3 who had solid "true 3D" graphics, good sound and the best economy/RR sim model ever made to day. You still find me under "Champion_Tycoon" in the multiplayer once in a while (I have not lost a multiplayer game in more than a year so strong players are highly welcome). I am also a long time fan of Sid Meier's games, some of which brought me many hours of relaxation over the past 15 years. That being said I expected 'Railroads' to come at least close to what RT3 was: a budget game. Oh boy was I wrong... Sid Meier's game is pure crap; I spent about 6 days playing the single and multiplayer maps and I was disappointed with every aspect of the game: graphics, sound, controls, design, game logic, economic model, RR model, historic accuracy, replayabilty and last, but not least, overall entertainment value. It is one of the worst games I have ever played... and I have played more of them than I should have. This game is an absolute ***ZERO*** Like some1 said b4: "Shame on you Sid." Expand

See all 18 User Reviews